New AFL Video Game - Part 4 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Re: New AFL Video Game - Part 4

I can remember Ross saying that Camera Angles are the hardest part, of making the game. He said he likes playing it as- (Sitting on the front row, on level 2.)

So, for instance, you're saying its as if, umm at the MCG on the MCC stand at the very front row on the second level overlooking the field? That would be good as!! I hope it is like that and understandably its the hardest thing to tweak since the field is 350 metres long and 150 metres wide! Either way just cant wait!

Hopefully create a player comes with Tattoo options (Dane Swan's, Dayne Beams' etc)

Does anybody know if we can edit current players guernsey numbers in game? Or even the boots they wear?

Cheers!

So, for instance, you're saying its as if, umm at the MCG on the MCC stand at the very front row on the second level overlooking the field? That would be good as!! I hope it is like that and understandably its the hardest thing to tweak since the field is 350 metres long and 150 metres wide! Either way just cant wait!

Hopefully create a player comes with Tattoo options (Dane Swan's, Dayne Beams' etc)

Does anybody know if we can edit current players guernsey numbers in game? Or even the boots they wear?

Cheers!
As I recall it, Ross said that you can edit player stats but not the physical part of it

Well then, I can see that the Cats will have about 5-10 players with 90 + overall and smashing the rest of the league

If you had to rate every team, including all the country leagues.
I think Geelong would be rated like - 98.05- And Richmond would probably be rated around 96.80.
V.F.L teams would be rated about- 93.5 to 95.
But the player ratings should be quite interesting, I wonder how they access the player's skills.

Alright, now i don't want to derail this thread any further, but you should seriously ask yourself before you post "will this post be a worthy contribution to the thread". If you have nothing interesting to say, then don't say it at all. Wait till you have something valuable to contribute, then do so in a vaguely articulate way. Posts such as this, just clog up the threads

Anyway, that is the last i will speak of such issues, lets continue the leveled discussion on this game

As I recall it, Ross said that you can edit player stats but not the physical part of it

Oh okay, that actually makes sense considering you wouldnt be able to edit their hair styles since they were all separately photographed and added into the game from there. Hopefully they fix Dale Thomas' hair colour by shipping time.

As most are saying in above posts, I have an inkling this game will be out by the end of September. To me, its not logical to update the squads as much as possible, have a representative of the company to say the draftee's are licensed but you cant draft new players (So 2010 rookies) and then to say the game is complete but just tweaking. It wont take till next season to complete tweaking, I just think late September will be when this game drops, or maybe its just my wishful thinking!

Cheers!

Not sure where you got 350 metres long from. :p
The M.C.G measures 171 x 146 metres in length, from fence to fence. The boundary line measures five metres from the fence.

I'll look up where Ross said about that camera angle.

If you had to rate every team, including all the country leagues.
I think Geelong would be rated like - 98.05- And Richmond would probably be rated around 96.80.
V.F.L teams would be rated about- 93.5 to 95.
But the player ratings should be quite interesting, I wonder how they access the player's skills.

Out of 100? :confused:

I'd expect Geelong to be early/mid 90's and Richmond to be early/mid 70's, with VFL teams being in the mid/late 60's.

The create a player option sounds great as Ross said they will look realistic and not just generic clones of eachother.

I wonder how customising faces will work, to get faces anything like the real players in terms of quality of detail, you'd think you'd need a face editor to the standard of Tiger Woods 2010 :eek:

Players I think will have above 90 overall:
G.Ablett
J.Bartel
J.Selwood
D.Swan
P.Chapman
J.Brown
C.Judd
M.Pavlich
L.Franklin
L.Hodge
N.Riewoldt
L.Hayes
A.Goodes
M.Boyd

Hopefully creating a player would work along the lines of FIFA or NBA Live, as in you have "Complexion, Head, Hair, Facial Hair, Eyes, Nose, Mouth & Jaw" or along those lines, then probably 10 options or so within each of those sub-categories

G.Ablett
J.Bartel
J.Selwood
P.Chapman
J.Brown
C.Judd
M.Pavlich
L.Franklin
L.Hodge
N.Riewoldt
A.Goodes
M.Boyd

There is NO way that Dane Swan isnt in that list, he's leading the AFL in disposals and although he isnt flashy, he definitely belongs in that category, as does Didak in my opinion. (My being a Collingwood supporter doesnt influence my response 100%, just goin by whats written in the newspapers also, Didak is 15th in player of the year voting)

there is no way that dane swan isnt in that list, he's leading the afl in disposals and although he isnt flashy, he definitely belongs in that category, as does didak in my opinion. (my being a collingwood supporter doesnt influence my response 100%, just goin by whats written in the newspapers also, didak is 15th in player of the year voting)

lenny hayes

There is NO way that Dane Swan isnt in that list, he's leading the AFL in disposals and although he isnt flashy, he definitely belongs in that category, as does Didak in my opinion. (My being a Collingwood supporter doesnt influence my response 100%, just goin by whats written in the newspapers also, Didak is 15th in player of the year voting)
Oh yeh sorry mate, forgot about him. I would have Didak as an 88/89 player

Ross said we could
Yeh im saying, that expect everyone to have teams with all players at 99
Although i would imagine that all rosters would have to be the same for online

And anyone should be able to release updated rosters online. In FIFA 10, and Ashes Cricket 09, i remember downloading a fully atributed Pro, and a updated names roster, so the same could be done for this game by a user here, as soon as the draft happens (this is if the game is released this year)

G.Ablett
J.Bartel
J.Selwood
D.Swan
P.Chapman
J.Brown
C.Judd
M.Pavlich
L.Franklin
L.Hodge
N.Riewoldt
L.Hayes
A.Goodes
M.Boyd

No Cox/LeCras love?

I can understand Kerr being left out.

Oh yeh sorry mate, forgot about him. I would have Didak as an 88/89 player

I would agree and say Didak belongs in the 88/89 category, but if the stats are updated until the end of the season, and he continues his form, he will definitely hit the 90-91 margin in my opinion.

Top 5 should be

G. Ablett - 97
D. Swan & L. Hodge - 96
N. Riewoldt & J.Brown - 95

Thats just my opinion of course, everyone is entitled to their own.

I have been a keen observer of this thread for ages. I too like everyone else crave an afl game. I have read all 4 threads on this game, and am getting more excited about the game each day. I think I have only posted a few times in thread three asking a question about the game. They weren't answered directly by Big Ant Studios but I didn't go into a hissy fit about it. I just kept reading and eventually I found an answer to my queries without even posting or asking thousands of questions.

The amount of information that Big Ant Studios has revealed about this game on Big Footy is staggering and if some people actually read all of it they would be more grateful of the work being done. For one the interchange system sounds awesome, the screenshots so far have been superb and the fact that you can create your own player, team and competition is exceptional. So what if there is no draft.

The way that Big Ant Studios have done it is perfect for everyone. A casual gamer might just want to continue playing with the same players year after year or a more dedicated gamer might want to trade and create players according to what happens in real life.

Eventually in future games more things can be added such as a be a pro mode, a full scale draft and trading management and a reserves comp. People asking for the wafl, vfl or sanfl to be included in this edition is ridiculous. Gameplay is the major focus in this game and thats the way it should be, so then in later editions less work will need to be done.

I with so many other people are looking forward to this game and Ross' feedback should be treated as a bonus. I wouldn't blame him for not posting in this thread again due to some people's behaviour.

Anyway back to the game who do people reckon will be the best player in the game based on the stats- I think it should be and probably will be ablett- with maybe hodge, goddard, judd and goodes behind him

I agree with 'themightybloods' here. Ross has been kind enough as it is with constant updates on this game and little snippets on previewing it (pictures). Most of us have been waiting 3 years for the next AFL game to come out, and we each have our own ideas of what it should be and how perfect and so on. All we need to remember is that hopefully AFL the game franchise will be a yearly release, so in around 3 years it will be near perfect after all the tweaking and new features it will have by then.

Thanks Big Ant and Tru Blu, we all appreciate the effort and are anxiously awaiting the arrival of AFL '10.

Out of 100? :confused:

I'd expect Geelong to be early/mid 90's and Richmond to be early/mid 70's, with VFL teams being in the mid/late 60's.

Nah, AFL teams are very good. Richmond and Geelong would surely have to be in the 90's together, there isn't much between them. (Speaking on all levels of football.)