Gogeelong

Who was the young cap wearing the number 33 jumper who ran out with our players? I got the feeling he will play for us in the future

It was on the news last night.

Have you seen the new TAC ads? With a dad, brother and mother of a teenager that died whilst speeding - very emotional and brave ads for this family to do.

Well, the kid that ran out is the brother of the teenager. And the dad tossed the coin.

Was really good of Geelong to have them do that!

It would be a good story if the kid did eventually play for Geelong though!

Thanks, I am rather somber about it.
It puts it into perspective that the club we support does many great things besides giving us joy on the field. I am glad to think that the kid got / gets support from GFC.

Didn't that car accident happen out in Winch ?

Hmmm.. not sure

Is Winch near Lara? The news report said it happened near Lara.

Pretty horrific accident.

Glad to see the family had a good day though - I mean, could you get better then running out with the players, watching them win comfortably on a lovely day at Skilled!

Didn't that car accident happen out in Winch ?

Nah.. It was on Anakie Rd in Lovely Banks (near Lara).

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2010/03/29/159191_news.html

A HIGH-SPEED crash in Lovely Banks has left one teenager dead and another three seriously injured.

Geelong Traffic Management Unit Sergeant Frank Cernjavic said it was the worst crash he had seen in his 22-year career.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2010/03/29/159191_news.html

I attended that car crash, was terrible. The car was a pancake.

Are you an ambo, rizzo? Was talking to a few ambos down the pub the other night (off duty and out of uniform, of course) and seriously, they don't get NEARLY enough credit for the vital work they do...
rizzo is a journo. ;)

Who was the young cap wearing the number 33 jumper who ran out with our players? I got the feeling he will play for us in the future
----------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope it is not an ominous sign, that you talk about a future player wearing 33. I have a bad feeling that we will never be seeing the current owner (Max Rooke) wear it again. I fear that maybe he will be forced into retirement by this injury.

Some of the shit they deal with is horrendous, really is. Long hours, dealing with a lot of scum, lots of death, sick people etc.Tragic.

Do yourself a favour and watch this Youtube video. Best TAC ad ever.

[YOUTUBE]kI85VrDHonc[/YOUTUBE]

Some of the shit they deal with is horrendous, really is. Long hours, dealing with a lot of scum, lots of death, sick people etc.Tragic.

[youtube]kI85VrDHonc[/youtube]

The reason that ad is the best ever is because it's 100% real. No acting whatsoever. I must admit watching the father near the end there nearly sets me off everytime I see it. Heartwrenching stuff.

Makes you wonder what that chick in Moe was doing driving at 130kmh in a 60 zone while on her L plates and intoxicated while a sober, fully licenced driver was sitting in the passenger seat. Then she had the audacity to say "I'm a good person, because no-one was hurt." Sorry, but that doesn't make you a good person. It just makes you a lucky one.

The reason that ad is the best ever is because it's 100% real. No acting whatsoever. I must admit watching the father near the end there nearly sets me off everytime I see it. Heartwrenching stuff.

Same here. It is just raw emotion. The sad thing is that the people who hardly ever speed are the ones that listen to it. The tools don't.

[YOUTUBE]kI85VrDHonc[/YOUTUBE]
I wonder how many idiots will watch this and still drive like a maniac on the road? Fair dinkum people will never learn :(

As what Rizzo said above, it's raw emotion. The tools just don't listen.

I tried to watch it, but had to turn it off after watching the father. It hurt so much I broke down......

My partner and I lost her youngest boy in a car accident last year, and although speed wasn't a factor (driver fell asleep) the pain and the message is the same.

I just wish the message would somehow get through to the idiots. I'd give anything for people to avoid the pain and distress we've suffered. It's incomprehensible and indescribable.

Please think of those you love, and those who love you.

I tried to watch it, but had to turn it off after watching the father. It hurt so much I broke down......

My partner and I lost her youngest boy in a car accident last year, and although speed wasn't a factor (driver fell asleep) the pain and the message is the same.

I just wish the message would somehow get through to the idiots. I'd give anything for people to avoid the pain and distress we've suffered. It's incomprehensible and indescribable.

Please think of those you love, and those who love you.

Commiserations on your loss. :(

I think that for part of the process to go for your licence, prospective drivers should have to visit a trauma centre, just to see for themselves what could happen if they speed, drink or drive while fatigued. It seems like all these ads aren't hitting the mark, but maybe seeing what could happen first hand might shock a few of them into making sure they do the right thing.

But then again, some of those people might be of the opinion that it'll never happen to them...

Commiserations on your loss. :(

I think that for part of the process to go for your licence, prospective drivers should have to visit a trauma centre, just to see for themselves what could happen if they speed, drink or drive while fatigued. It seems like all these ads aren't hitting the mark, but maybe seeing what could happen first hand might shock a few of them into making sure they do the right thing.

But then again, some of those people might be of the opinion that it'll never happen to them...

Thanks.

I suppose it's part of being young that you feel 6' tall and bulletproof, but with increasing traffic volume, lighter cars and a growing prevalence of riskier behaviour among the young, the chances of something going wrong have narrowed considerably over the years.

I agree with you - these ads have just never seemed to hit the mark, and I think it's time the powers that be looked at the driver education and prerequisites that some countries overseas impose on the young.

What we're doing here is obviously not working. Cars are deadly in the hands of uneducated and careless people, yet we give young people the right to 'control' one with minimal education and appreciation of the responsibility they're being given.

Trauma centre visits, defensive training courses etc etc should all be part of the licence apllication process.

Rant over. Sorry :o Lets get back to the footy.

Go Cats!

Makes you wonder what that chick in Moe was doing driving at 130kmh in a 60 zone while on her L plates and intoxicated while a sober, fully licenced driver was sitting in the passenger seat. Then she had the audacity to say "I'm a good person, because no-one was hurt." Sorry, but that doesn't make you a good person. It just makes you a lucky one.

The driver and the passenger should both be made to attend a funeral where there's been a car accident victim, so they know stupidity can do. If a funeral isn't the right option, probably an intensive care unit.

They try their best for shock value on the TV, the message doesn't seem to get through, but when it comes to real life experiences, that's where it can make a difference.