• Thread starter Thread starter PieLebo87

PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
In light of his recent comments of wanting to be a captain at your club, it reminded me of the days he was a Magpie, and was curious as to what you guys think of him as a footballer. I certainly do miss his talent at the Pies, definitely not the attitude though.

He's a match winner. There aren't to many of those going around. The final against the Cats is testimont to that.

I doubt he'll become the captain, but it looks like he's had a good pre-season and hopefully he'll have a good consistent year in 2008. :thumbsu:

In light of his recent comments of wanting to be a captain at your club

Go and read the articles properly. Davis has so clearly got his tongue stuck firmly in his cheek when he uses the words "me" and "captain" in the same breath.

I suspect the prospect of even being in the leadership group would scare the pants off him and he knows it. That's no problem. He's his own maverick self and is valuable for it. And he knows that too.

Go and read the articles properly. Davis has so clearly got his tongue stuck firmly in his cheek when he uses the words "me" and "captain" in the same breath.

I suspect the prospect of even being in the leadership group would scare the pants off him and he knows it. That's no problem. He's his own maverick self and is valuable for it. And he knows that too.
thats why we love him(some of us anyway) he can be a match winner,good call liz

Matchwinner when he actually gets a kick !!!!!! Most inconsistent under achieving player fotrunate enough to still to be on Swans list.Thats understandable though as most clubs would have no inteterest.

i'd rather see the name n davis on the team sheet than j mcveigh
davo's 3 kicks a game could easily be 3 goals
mcveigh's 10 kicks a game are more likely to be clangers

i'd rather see the name n davis on the team sheet than j mcveigh
davo's 3 kicks a game could easily be 3 goals
mcveigh's 10 kicks a game are more likely to be clangers
Couldnt agree more on Mc Veigh and fully appreciate what you are saying about Davis opportunist qualities but for a player of his talent doesent happen often enough imo.Dont want to go on and on about Davis as he frustrates the sh-- out of me but having said that,maybe if his inconsistencies continue in 08 he could make way for one of the younger guys as well,similar to what plenty of posters have been saying about the older guys in Crouch, Barry and Matthews,because whats good for the goose is good for the gander.Just my opinion.

no, you're spot-on
davis is infuriating, so much ability, so little application
if he could fire consistently he'd be a superstar
but after all the chances he's had, he's surely as much "on notice" as the likes of leaping leo
if he can't deliver something this season, he'd be no certainty to be in the top 22 come season's end, and a younger player will have his spot

read what liz was saying!
Did read what Liz said and posted my reply.Agree with the tounge in cheek call as only a fool would think a halfwit like Davis would ever captain an AFL club.I was just giving an opinion on what i think of Davis as a player.Good to see you are back on Liz bandwagon.She along with your mate Rancid are very astute posters who always offer up a good read, but start offerring up some of your own instead of backing everything they say.Maybe excepting Mc Veigh is what he is while he is still on the list would be a start.

Whilst the script is totally in character... I doubt it. I posted thoughts on main board. Probably wrong ANYWAY:D:o

But if you think he is playing funny buggers at this stage of his "career"..... then he is out for the count!

He is not, couldn't possibly be, that dumb and ill advised

I just hope he realises 50% OF HIS footy POTENTIAL.

I reckon he will get a NAB captain gig to stirrrrrr HIM up!;)

Interesting read. The general consensus around the Collingwood fan base was that he has what it takes to be a great player, but just doesnt have the heart to match the talent. I viewed him as a potential midfielder had he stayed, but doesn't have that heart and courage to play as a midfielder.

he's not the greatest player and never will be but you have to watch him closely.

in the 2005 G/F in the last 1/4 he ran into a pack going the wrong way keeping his eyes on the ball and punched the ball away from the waiting eagles forward line.

that's what wins matches.

i think he does a lot of little things that go unnoticed :thumbsu:

Lol @ the people thinking he was actually being serious when he said he put his hand up to be captain.. haha.

As a footballer i'd obviously like him to do more, but when he gets the ball he can be very damaging and doesn't need many possessions to have a great impact on a game. So yeah more would be great, but regardless.. he's still a valued player at the Swans.

Interesting read. The general consensus around the Collingwood fan base was that he has what it takes to be a great player, but just doesnt have the heart to match the talent. I viewed him as a potential midfielder had he stayed, but doesn't have that heart and courage to play as a midfielder.

I completely agree with your thoughts Re Dicky. He is frustratingly lazy and if he lifted his work rate by just 10% he would be a superstar. Having said that though, I don't think there's a team in the comp that he wouldn't be in the starting 22, his freakish abilities (when he can be bothered) could not be overlooked.

New year, clean slate, better attitude, fitter.

Even if he does score 3 or so goals in a game, you can be damned sure at leastone them was a speckie.

But, yeah, he's my favourite players, so I may be biased. Just a tiny bit :D

Im hoping his tongue in cheek coments about being captain, are a road to him
getting serious about turning up,and playing to his potential! He is one of our
best marksmen,and if he keeps being lazy.the rest of the team are gonna get
the shits,and not bring him into the play. I read that he is part of the mentoring program now,so hopefully the responsibility will help him mature.

He reminds me of Dale Lewis, another talented individual that never quite lived up to his potential.

I'm happy to keep him in the 22 based on last years form but I think I've almost given up hope of him having a breakout year and becoming a superstar.

He reminds me of Dale Lewis, another talented individual that never quite lived up to his potential.

I'm happy to keep him in the 22 based on last years form but I think I've almost given up hope of him having a breakout year and becoming a superstar.

Hopefully 2008 will be his year. :thumbsu:

Lewis may have been tantalising but he had a superb season in 1997 when he was neck and neck with Cressa for the places in the B&F count (behind Kelly as the clear stand out). I think he just missed out and finished 3rd.

Davis hasn't really threatened a top 10 finish in the B&F in his 5 years at the Swans.

Also, soon after Lewis came of age and produced that one great season, he suffered 3 consecutive years of horrendous luck on the injury front, including twice fracturing his forearm on the eve of the season. I reckon we were robbed of his best years by those injuries.

Davis is a wonderfully gifted player but for someone who reckons he could have won a Brownlow or two, he is a woeful underachiever in the consistency stakes. I'd have him in my team, for sure, but he's delivered nothing like the talk that he's talked, notwithstanding one quarter that we'll always cherish him for.

Lewis may have been tantalising but he had a superb season in 1997 when he was neck and neck with Cressa for the places in the B&F count (behind Kelly as the clear stand out). I think he just missed out and finished 3rd.

Davis hasn't really threatened a top 10 finish in the B&F in his 5 years at the Swans.

Also, soon after Lewis came of age and produced that one great season, he suffered 3 consecutive years of horrendous luck on the injury front, including twice fracturing his forearm on the eve of the season. I reckon we were robbed of his best years by those injuries.

Davis is a wonderfully gifted player but for someone who reckons he could have won a Brownlow or two, he is a woeful underachiever in the consistency stakes. I'd have him in my team, for sure, but he's delivered nothing like the talk that he's talked, notwithstanding one quarter that we'll always cherish him for.

yep, agree...davis has amazing ability but he must be close to being told "this is it, produce or your career is on the line"
dale lewis was also a super player, and i'm not sure if people would agree but i remember him being a bit more consistent than davis, if not as much of a match-winner