Nick Davis

• Thread starter Thread starter Roy boys

Sounds like Dicky to a tee. The most frustrating (from a fans point of view) player in the AFL!

i dunno about MOST frustrating...i was just taking to a north melbourne-supporting mate, and he started in on daniel wells ....
and then there's chris tarrant

bird should not be dropped
on form alone, he's improved in each of the three games and if you're talking about putting pressure on ball carriers, bird is a gem
i am a davis fan, although i am as fed up as roos or anyone else that he lets himself down with a lack (or apparent lack) of commitment and application
and i agree davis' experience and his goal-kicking ability are still very important to the club, but bird cannot be the player dropped to make way for him

I'm not saying bird should be dropped either, just saying at this early point in his development his output is about as effective as Davis when he has an average game. I think that Bird will develop and become a better player who holds his spot but Geelong seemed to do it right with Tom Hawkins giving him games then resting him so the rigours of AFL don't burn him out before the body can handle it. Please though don't get me wrong I'm not saying Davis in Bird out I'm just making a case for Davis in that his average game is still as effective as some of the Swans players best games at this point on their careers and that mainly stems from being a good finisher and pressure kick. Perhaps only injury can help Davis at the moment and I for one don't wanna see that.

So what do you guys reckon about him, gets the recall this week? Not for some time? Maybe in a week or 2?

Dreamteam? Yeah, I wouldn't hold my breath on it - could be anything from next week to a month before he comes back, you never know with Roos and Davis ..

Not exactly dreamteam, though something like that. But just interested, when do you guys persoanlly think he'll be back?

it's not just about his own contribution. Davis always attracts a good opposition defender which must take a bit of pressure off the other forwards. Perhaps he doesn't work hard enough when the pressure is on to create opportunities but if left with some space he will do a LOT of damage.

So what do you guys reckon about him, gets the recall this week? Not for some time? Maybe in a week or 2?

Personally, I'd love to see him back. I know he's lazy and he's everything shocking in a footballer :eek:, but he has that X factor that no-one else in our team does and while we may not see it very often, when we do it's superb!
But Roos is loathe to change a winning team and seeing as we have not acquired any new injuries, I don't believe we'll see him for a few weeks yet.

I reckon Roos'll take the chance to bring him back in when Malceski comes out of hibernation. It'll give Bird & co. a hard earned break. Although if they're going strong .. :D

I watched the reserves game from the weekend again last and I am a big enough man to admit that my initial post about Davis might not have been as accurate as it should be.
His work rate in the second half playing on-ball was top notch and without his efforts (and those of a few others) the ressies would have been beaten by a lot more.
Maybe the expectations I had on him before the game were that he would dominate the game from go to whoa. He may not have done that in the first half in the forward line, but the delivery to him was under pressure and not always clean. His possession rate and disposal in the second half was very good and he did kick goals while on-ball and pushing into the forward line. He worked hard in defence.
After viewing it again I think he will be pushing for selection sooner rather than later.

Not my favourite player.I see him as a selfish footballer who has some lazy habits.I haven't forgotten about his miracle goal which got us into the GF. A big problem of Nicks IMO...he only does cameos and can be arraogant.

I watched the reserves game from the weekend again last and I am a big enough man to admit that my initial post about Davis might not have been as accurate as it should be.

Thanks again one4 for all your comments on the game. It is really appreciated here.

I think it's a really good thing that some of the better teams will be able to take it right up to the Swans this season. And with Tuggernarong (I know I've spelt that wrong:o) and Western Creek merging, and Ainslee looking to have improved this season, maybe there won't be any really weak teams. I do feel a bit for some of the top-ups that will be playing for the Swans. Most of these are 16 and 17yos and with the number limitations on listed Swans players, it won't be possible to hide these players in the pockets. Some of our own listed players will find the intensity of playing against grown men a big step up from u18 level - it must be harder for those who are still kids (and most of whom are not of the level to ever make it at AFL level). I realise that other senior teams in the competition will have a few youngsters playing, but I doubt many will have 6 or 7 on the ground at any time.

On Davis, I suspect it is hard for him to adapt to this level of footy. At senior level he is more often than not on the receiving end of others' hard work. When you are no longer relying on delivery from the likes of O'Keefe and Malceski it must be harder to adapt.

That said, if this sojourn gives him more chance to go in and win the hard ball in the middle, that's got to be good too. I think he's underused in this type of role at the Swans. When he get sent onto the ball he's usually very effective. He may not be able to run distances at speed but he has very good acceleration over one or two steps and that often enables him to get clear enough to get a good kick away.

I agree with whats been said. I think that he should spend another week or so in the ressies,mainly because he is learning that you cant just camp yourself in the forward line expecting the ball to come to you,you must find
the ball yourself.And he has been guilty of this camping on numerous occassions. Mickey and Baz have the ability to go and get the football further
upfield if need be,and the midfield move forward to create targets inside 50.
Davis can be lazy in this area,and in his tackling opposition defences,when they try to run out of defense.

Thanks again one4 for all your comments on the game. It is really appreciated here.

I think it's a really good thing that some of the better teams will be able to take it right up to the Swans this season. And with Tuggeranong (I know I've spelt that wrong:o) and Western Creek merging, and Ainslee looking to have improved this season, maybe there won't be any really weak teams. I do feel a bit for some of the top-ups that will be playing for the Swans. Most of these are 16 and 17yos and with the number limitations on listed Swans players, it won't be possible to hide these players in the pockets. Some of our own listed players will find the intensity of playing against grown men a big step up from u18 level - it must be harder for those who are still kids (and most of whom are not of the level to ever make it at AFL level). I realise that other senior teams in the competition will have a few youngsters playing, but I doubt many will have 6 or 7 on the ground at any time.

On Davis, I suspect it is hard for him to adapt to this level of footy. At senior level he is more often than not on the receiving end of others' hard work. When you are no longer relying on delivery from the likes of O'Keefe and Malceski it must be harder to adapt.

That said, if this sojourn gives him more chance to go in and win the hard ball in the middle, that's got to be good too. I think he's underused in this type of role at the Swans. When he get sent onto the ball he's usually very effective. He may not be able to run distances at speed but he has very good acceleration over one or two steps and that often enables him to get clear enough to get a good kick away.
Totally agree liz.
It will be even tougher on the top ups who aren't in the RAMS squads and will have to used when the RAMS are playing, (that starts next weekend and will go for about the next 8 to 9 weeks).
pace over long distances is not the be all and end all, Davis has the ability to read the game well and as long as you get to where the ball is going you don't look slow. What hinders him IMO is when the turnover comes and he is working to a certain area and his opponent peels off and maybe quicker, his leg speed is shown out and it makes him look slower than he really is.

Not my favourite player.I see him as a selfish footballer who has some lazy habits.I haven't forgotten about his miracle goal which got us into the GF. A big problem of Nicks IMO...he only does cameos and can be arraogant.

I agree with some of your sentiments but some people seem to forget that he also put in a bloody good effort in the '05 GF. Some of his defensive pressure and tackling in that game was amazing. I just wish he could motivate himself to do that kind of stuff more often.

And in the 06 GF. He was instrumental in us getting back into the contest. I was convinced he was going to win the game for us. Then Drew Banfield was moved on him and shut him down cold.