Nick Salter

• Thread starter Thread starter lunacy

Hetschel and Burton off the top off my head. Bock is another one who is a gun CHB.

No doubt we have been WWT happy in our recruiting but we have also had some good results by drafting WWT players.

Currently we have a lot of WWT, but reckon we ought to hit up westies for a few more recruits, yes Jericho's been a bit of a dud but there is a fair list of westies blokes who you could say have been more than successful:

Ricciuto, Edwards, Rutten, Welsh, Rehn, Modra and Porplyzia all spring to mind, although sitting at the bottom of the ladder at the moment you'd be a little sceptical recruiting from them.

Although WWT do do us a pretty good service, much better than your Norwoods, Sturts and Glenelgs to tell you the truth.

Definetly but SANFL club culture plays a big part IMHO!

Oh I agree with that but it is a combo of the two. Look at Surjan and Centrals I couldn't picture a better run SANFL club for a new draftee to go to but cause they didn't play him once he threw his skirt over his head and demanded a move. I hope North Adelaide show some balls and boot Lonie right on his ass and out of their club after what he did this week. But there have also been instances where the club havent made life easy either and my club was one of those at the beginning of the Crows life. Not a stance I ever agreed with by the way.

Currently we have a lot of WWT, but reckon we ought to hit up westies for a few more recruits, yes Jericho's been a bit of a dud but there is a fair list of westies blokes who you could say have been more than successful:

Ricciuto, Edwards, Rutten, Welsh, Rehn, Modra and Porplyzia all spring to mind, although sitting at the bottom of the ladder at the moment you'd be a little sceptical recruiting from them.

Although WWT do do us a pretty good service, much better than your Norwoods, Sturts and Glenelgs to tell you the truth.

:eek: OK can we please remember that football has been played longer than five years. Nathan Bassett recent AA, David Pittman and Brett James both double premiership players.

Oh I agree with that but it is a combo of the two. Look at Surjan and Centrals I couldn't picture a better run SANFL club for a new draftee to go to but cause they didn't play him once he threw his skirt over his head and demanded a move. I hope North Adelaide show some balls and boot Lonie right on his ass and out of their club after what he did this week. But there have also been instances where the club havent made life easy either and my club was one of those at the beginning of the Crows life. Not a stance I ever agreed with by the way.

Centrals are a poor club at developing AFL talent. They dont really seem to want the AFL players, and they dont play them. Would be near the bottom of my list of clubs where id want to send players.

:eek: OK can we please remember that football has been played longer than five years. Nathan Bassett recent AA, David Pittman and Brett James both double premiership players.

Some how I don't think those 3 quite compare mate, come back with a better list if you can find one.

I don't really support any team in the SANFL, I like to see basically any team apart from Port Adelaide and perhaps centrals do well, from a pretty un-biased point of view thats how I see it, would love to see a few more Norwood boys as well as the Sturt ones do well, so this isn't some vendetta against Norwood, just an observation.

Centrals are a poor club at developing AFL talent. They dont really seem to want the AFL players, and they dont play them. Would be near the bottom of my list of clubs where id want to send players.

Definitely agree here, they seem to be the masters of finding the players who would be duds at AFL and yet guns at SANFL level, although I think there is a few blokes on the crows list who would fit this description, Griffen tends to play better in the AFL than in the SANFL.

Although, being at the top of the ladder recently, they tend to get the last pick of the interstate players coming in.

This is pretty true! I was listening to their president on 5AA today before the GF and he was talking about their recruiting strategy amongst other things. He specifically said that they are not interested in recruiting dlisted AFL player and that they go for the level below that. This allows them to recruit players that don't have a goal of making it to the AFL but to rather be a good to great SANFL players and play for the club rather than for their own agenda. And if the player was to be "accidentally" picked up its great but they specifically go out to recruit players that have no AFL ambitions.

It was a VERY interesting point he made and when you really think about it, it makes a lot of sense for a SANFL club to go down that path. You are pretty right in saying that Doggies would be the last place you would want to send a young recruit to. They are a super successful club whose sole purpose is to be a powerhouse SANFL team and as such, they cater for those needs by recruiting players who will consistently and regularly play games for them and are ready made players.

Send them all to the Bays....

We play sexy football.

This is pretty true! I was listening to their president on 5AA today before the GF and he was talking about their recruiting strategy amongst other things. He specifically said that they are not interested in recruiting dlisted AFL player and that they go for the level below that. This allows them to recruit players that don't have a goal of making it to the AFL but to rather be a good to great SANFL players and play for the club rather than for their own agenda. And if the player was to be "accidentally" picked up its great but they specifically go out to recruit players that have no AFL ambitions.

It was a VERY interesting point he made and when you really think about it, it makes a lot of sense for a SANFL club to go down that path. You are pretty right in saying that Doggies would be the last place you would want to send a young recruit to. They are a super successful club whose sole purpose is to be a powerhouse SANFL team and as such, they cater for those needs by recruiting players who will consistently and regularly play games for them and are ready made players.
Also a point about playing for the jumper, not personal agendas.

Should be something that we look at.

Something which Port have perfected and the reason they will continue to win premierships.

A losing culture like Carlton/Richmond (no matter how many great players they get out of it) will not ensure this long term success.

Some how I don't think those 3 quite compare mate, come back with a better list if you can find one.

I don't really support any team in the SANFL, I like to see basically any team apart from Port Adelaide and perhaps centrals do well, from a pretty un-biased point of view thats how I see it, would love to see a few more Norwood boys as well as the Sturt ones do well, so this isn't some vendetta against Norwood, just an observation.

You are seriously deluded if you don't think Pittman and Brett James were crucial players in the finals in the two premiership years.

I am sure he is a good lad ......... but PLEASE.......... Leave him in the SANFL with Chambers and Alloway and lets bring on Sellar, Tippet and Walker.

We've got McGregor and Gill, and Hentschell , Burton who now needs to be just a forward and Welsh - who is still our best kick at goal, Stevens if necessary, Bock if we are desperate and he can be spared from his natural CHB position, not to mention Biglands - who I think should be in the forward line with Griffin and Maric in the ruck - to last us for a year or so while these guys grow into their roles.

By the way yell some of that local recruiting stuff to Jack down at South. The AFL fringe list from last year was a DISASTER!

You are displaying your ignorance. AFL listed players when playing a game at AFL level and are dropped back to SANFL, must be played in at least 2 conseqecutive SANFL league games. Centrals played him only once and therefore contravened the agreement. The player then has the option to move out of the offending SANFL team. Surjan took that option and moved to Port Maggies. No doubt now exist that this was good for his development.

Port Maggies development and learning culture was responsible for Surjan florishing and regaining AFL selection. The rest is history.

You are displaying your ignorance. AFL listed players when playing a game at AFL level and are dropped back to SANFL, must be played in at least 2 conseqecutive SANFL league games. Centrals played him only once and therefore contravened the agreement. The player then has the option to move out of the offending SANFL team. Surjan took that option and moved to Port Maggies. No doubt now exist that this was good for his development.

Port Maggies development and learning culture was responsible for Surjan florishing and regaining AFL selection. The rest is history.

You are showing your Port bias, I know exactly what the rules are when it comes to AFL listed players and SANFL. Surjan was not played by Centrals at the time cause of his piss poor attitude when he went back there. That's why he wasnt played.

Carry on all you like. You know jack about that rule otherwise you would have mentioned it rather than trying to forge an argument around it .You got caught out trying to be smart. Centrals AFL player development sucks compared to Port Magies, plain & simple. Centrals is only interested about Centrals and that's fine but not if you are an afl listed player.

And remind me who has the most premierships in the last decade.... thats right

Basically if we are arguing from an AFL level, yes we (the Dogs) suck at developing AFL players but if we are arguing from an SANFL level then why the hell should the Doggies do anyone else any favours, Surjan didnt want to be there so the coaching staff said **** ya you can play in the reserves, im sure if he was playing like Knights or Boak he would have been playing when available

Seriously put forward one argument why it is in the Dogs favour to develop players for someone else?

If Centrals wish to continue recieving players (and funds) from the AFL clubs, they need to hold up their end of the bargain, which means playing the AFL players they draft when it is reasonable to do so.

Thats a good point, see Griffen this year, Ports Ryan Williams was named in the GF extended squad, but in the case of Surjan, who clearly did not want to be there, they did the right thing.... which is exactly the same thing Craigy did at Norwood. Their primary interest is to themselves, their members and supporters, not the AFL clubs

Yeah, Surjan may fall into the 'when reasonable' clause.

Im not sure Griffen is a good example this year though, because i dont think he was always given the best opportunity last year, when this year shows he was probably up to it.

Yeah, Surjan may fall into the 'when reasonable' clause.

Im not sure Griffen is a good example this year though, because i dont think he was always given the best opportunity last year, when this year shows he was probably up to it.

True, but, a 6'10" rake of a ruckman, honestly if it wasnt for no other option I doubt the Crows would have played him either

I do agree with you thou ST, when my Crows hat is on I wouldnt want our boys sent there, for the same reasons I am arguing for in my doggies hat (which doesnt smell the best today I can assure you:D)

So you are a mind reader now? **** off back to your own board.

I think the likes of Central and some other clubs could do it alone without the 400K distribution from the SANFL's AFL Licenses to be honest. Each club is turning over 8 Mil/year so 400K doesn't make much difference , they would be better off selling the land that footy park is on and distributing the proceeds to the 9 SANFL clubs than the loose change they receive each year. Its not the SANFL clubs responsibility to develop AFL listed players, if they are good enough they play A grade if not its the B's. If they are playing B's then I would look at Port and Adelaide for reasons rather than the SANFL club

Getting back to Nick Salter...

I really like the look of him. MAYBE there's a question on his self belief and dedication? He had all but quit footy during this year, and was convinced to stay with some last minute talking from the WWT club. Hopefully he isn't of the mindset that he doesn't want to challenge himself.

As a player, I think he wouldn't come in and dominate a game yet but really has the make-up to be a really good player. He reminds me of a Matthew Pavlich in some ways with his movement and reading of the play. He's far from silly, and can change the dynamic of a contest similar to Matthew.

The Crows could do a LOT worse if they didn't pick him up.

I'd be quite happy if the AFC gave salter a go, seems to have promise and ability and most importantly appears to be a smart footballer.

I think the likes of Central and some other clubs could do it alone without the 400K distribution from the SANFL's AFL Licenses to be honest. Each club is turning over 8 Mil/year so 400K doesn't make much difference , they would be better off selling the land that footy park is on and distributing the proceeds to the 9 SANFL clubs than the loose change they receive each year. Its not the SANFL clubs responsibility to develop AFL listed players, if they are good enough they play A grade if not its the B's. If they are playing B's then I would look at Port and Adelaide for reasons rather than the SANFL club

Sorry, but i really doubt the SANFL as a whole could survive if the Crows were completely autonmous and kept all of their own profits. It IS the SANFL clubs responsibility to uphold their part of the deal. These players are made available under the conditions that they are played when its reasonable to do so, Centrals are a party to this agreement, they should uphold it. Not playing players who are good enough is disgraceful, and is part of the reason many of us every year start thinking we need more direct control over our players in the SANFL.

If you claim to have the financial figures from Centrals, can you please show me their expenses, profits, and all the other relevant figures that suggest they have absolutely no use for the large amounts of money filtered to them and all the other SANFL clubs from the AFL clubs?