News NMFC AFLW 2019

Thanks mate - really appreciate that

Indeed recommended it to many people.

Is there any plans to have a signing session for the Shinboners book?

A few of us were a bit disappointed that we missed out on the Archer signature and there was talk on here of a book signing organised at the Club...whether it be Arch or others.???

<I am sitting here having a cackle that none of the doomsdayer posters are hear to ask a question..Gold!>

Ok, I'll ask one.

Heath, does the club feel that it's treated differently to other clubs?

You mentioned that three Melbourne clubs are in the AFL's highest concern category, and I will assume that these are St Kilda, Melbourne and Western. Two already have an AFLW license and St Kilda to follow in 2020 but none needed a shared presence. Internally, is there a view that we need to present over and above other clubs, or are held to different standards?

Further to that, is there any news about a new Etihad deal, now that the AFL are our overlords?

Ok, I'll ask one.

You mentioned that three Melbourne clubs are in the AFL's highest concern category, and I will assume that these are St Kilda, Melbourne and Western. Two already have an AFLW license and St Kilda to follow in 2020 but none needed a shared presence. Internally, is there a view that we need to present over and above other clubs, or are held to different standards?

Further to that, is there any news about a new Etihad deal, now that the AFL are our overlords?

...well i was more thinking the BBB3 posters.

Indeed recommended it to many people.

Is there any plans to have a signing session for the Shinboners book?

A few of us were a bit disappointed that we missed out on the Archer signature and there was talk on here of a book signing organised at the Club...whether it be Arch or others.???

Yes, we had arranged one with multiple legends but a few cancelled at the last minute. We will do one pre-xmas for sure

But we have to keep it that way and that’s why we need more revenue and more fans - hence the need for a secondary market in Tas. But it’s not a cash grab either, we are legitimately putting in the hard yards down there and giving back as much as we can. Our NGA registrations were off the charts down there - best in the AFL by a mile.

I think the not "cash grab" from a Tasmanian person's perspective has been very important decision by you guys within the club.

If it were a Saints style (from years back) just bring the footy there and expect people to support it is doomed for failure. People will lose interest quickly as it has to be beyond the product itself (geing the actual game).

Don't want to mention the Hawks but have to, i think our model replicates how they went about it (to a certain degree at least). Just a shame we were stuffing about in Sydney previously rather than doing what Hawks did with Tas but that's hindsight, move on and what we have is still so productive.

My daughter met LT, BBB and co at a school footy gig earlier this year (i posted the card they signed and gave out in the LT thread) and to me it's that regukar community effort/involvement which is as much, if not more, important than the actual footy itself.

Makes people want to get involved and as per your previous comment, not appear just a cash grab (even though based on money sure, that's fine), and abuse the State as people see it's a two way street with muliple benefits.

Excellent work so far, as a Tasmanian (and in Gov't) I've hardly heard any complaints about how we (North) have handled our secondary market, so just wanted to pass on some local feedback :thumbsu:

From what Carl is telling us, very amenable on all fronts. Our priority is building on the slab and that’s tracking nicely - plans have been drawn up etc. hoping to start ASAP so it will be ready for the AFLW side.

On the broader Arden plans, we have a great track record with sharing facilities with the community and that’s the approach again. If we can get another oval, it would be free for community use also. Same with a pool and indoor centre - we would have booking rights as we do now but outside of that, the locals have access.
Cheers man.

Whats the time frame on the slab dev? Also, how are preparations going for hosting VFL games next year? Much like the JLT game this year?

Ok, I'll ask one.

I think that with Melb and Dogs, they were in the space first with AFLW so got an automatic licence. By having a joint partnership with Tas, we don’t have to wait another year like StK so it worked to our advantage. While we feel we could have obtained a licence on our own, the pros for the Tas arrangement outweighed the cons in a variety of areas. There was also the possibility of missing out completely (you never know with the AFL) - and we negated that risk by joining forces.
It was a pretty significant coup for us to trump all those “powerhouse” clubs to get in with Geelong for 2019.

Etihad wise I believe the arrangement is looking good for us and the other tenant clubs - we will be much better off. Not sure if the details though

I think the not "cash grab" from a Tasmanian person's perspective has been very important decision by you guys within the club.

If it were a Saints style (from years back) just bring the footy there and expect people to support it is doomed for failure. People will lose interest quickly as it has to be beyond the product itself (geing the actual game).

Don't want to mention the Hawks but have to, i think our model replicates how they went about it (to a certain degree at least). Just a shame we were stuffing about in Sydney previously rather than doing what Hawks did with Tas but that's hindsight, move on and what we have is still so productive.

My daughter met LT, BBB and co at a school footy gig earlier this year (i posted the card they signed and gave out in the LT thread) and to me it's that community involvement which as is much, if not more, important than the actual footy itself.

Makes people want to get involved and as per your previous comment, not appear just a cash grab (even though based on money sure) and use the State as people see it's a two way street with muliple benefits so to speak.

Excellent work so far, as a Tasmanian I've hardly heard any complaints about how we (North) have handled our secondary market :thumbsu:

Great feedback - thanks. I suppose to an end, everything has to make financial sense, but that doesn’t mean you can’t give back too.

We have full time staff in Tassie with more to come. We are rolling out Huddle programs and have connections with so many schools now - players are now doing Skype style sessions with the kids front Melbournw when they can’t be in class in person. So the investment back the other way is genuine

Cheers man.

Whats the time frame on the slab dev? Also, how are preparations going for hosting VFL games next year? Much like the JLT game this year?

We want the slab to be completed by 2019, so it’s all guns blazing.

We have also put in proposals to get coaches boxes, benches, better lighting and a scoreboard in order to host VFL games long term. Short term we may have to replicate JLT set up minus the fences around the ground.

There will be games there next year at this stage

Is a supporter social club/bar planned for anytime in the future, or are we forever damned to the soulless chasm of the Victory Room?

We want the slab to be completed by 2019, so it’s all guns blazing.

We have also put in proposals to get coaches boxes, benches, better lighting and a scoreboard in order to host VFL games long term. Short term we may have to replicate JLT set up minus the fences around the ground.

There will be games there next year at this stage
Great to hear.

Onwards and upwards.

Great feedback - thanks. I suppose to an end, everything has to make financial sense, but that doesn’t mean you can’t give back too.

We have full time staff in Tassie with more to come. We are rolling out Huddle programs and have connections with so many schools now - players are now doing Skype style sessions with the kids front Melbournw when they can’t be in class in person. So the investment back the other way is genuine

No probs. Well deserved.

Yes i see the Mazda/s with North graphics regularly.

I think people down here were sceptical initially but as you say it's clear investment is being made by both parties, that's all can hope for.

If our results are poor early it might hurt crowds a bit next year (just like in Melb), but the community itself understands the benefits North bring beyond that, and now with the AFLW partnership, it's a pretty awesome result for the club financially to more easily progress other projects as you explained.

I'm very happy with this development. While I can understand the concern regarding another step to relocation, I don't share this view. Relocation will only occur if we, the members, allow it. The Club is being managed very effectively with the debt reduction, seeking to further develop Arden St, etc. Our relationship with Tassie further strengthen us.

This.

Would be tough I reckon due to council rules and regs. I did ask if we could have a function space on top of the new extension though - like a beer garden where you could watch games and training.

What rules and regs?

An excellent social club was well utilised by the members and stood at Arden Street for decades.

Is the club compelled to marry itself to a variety of social causes (multiculturalism, feminism) in order to gain funding and development, or is this driven by internal elements?

What rules and regs?

An excellent social club was well utilised by the members and stood at Arden Street for decades.

Is the club compelled to marry itself to a variety of social causes (multiculturalism, feminism) in order to gain funding and development?

All I’m suggesting is that a bar probably wouldn’t be received well.
I think you know the drill.
Put it this way, the coffee cart isn’t allowed to sell any “unhealthy” food or drink.

All I’m suggesting is that a bar probably wouldn’t be received well.

By who?

The cultural elites that exist to serve their own agendas and have **** all in common with the rank and file members?

I'm certain it would attract a thousand plus hard paying, thirsty North supporters after each home game, serve as a meeting place, historical centre, get people to training, playground for kids, etc.

By who?

The cultural elites that exist to serve their own agendas and have **** all in common with the rank and file members?

I'm certain it would attract a thousand plus hard paying, thirsty North supporters after each home game, serve as a meeting place, historical centre, get people to training, playground for kids, etc.
Council would likely need to sign off on any licence to sell food and drink in what is ostensibly as community venue.

The community doesn't eat and drink?

It seems that we are in fact beholden to unrepresentative cultural elites. I don't remember the Geelong footy club being shackled to a swathe of social causes when they were granted $50 million bucks.

Perhaps I am being naive? Perhaps it's the only way we will get anything?

I just figure that if the club is going to beat it's chest about these developments then it is reasonable to expect that there is something actually useful in it for the members.

By who?

I don’t disagree with you and we at the club would love that, but it wouldn’t fly.
I remember in the early days, Euge made it a Dry Zone because of all the kids that come through on a daily basis with the Huddle etc. That meant we couldn’t hold functions or reunions etc. we do now though

The community doesn't eat and drink?

It seems that we are in fact beholden to unrepresentative cultural elites. I don't remember the Geelong footy club being shackled to a swathe of social causes when they were granted $50 million bucks.

Perhaps I am being naive? Perhaps it's the only way we will get anything?

I just figure that if the club is going to beat it's chest about these developments then it is reasonable to expect that there is something actually useful in it for the members.
There is a lot in it for members i guess, but yeah, its a hard sell when dealing with council who want to be seen to be promoting health and wellbeing, then permitting the sale of booze at a site dedicated to that cause.

Personally i would love it but it would take some pretty decent lobbying to make it happen.