Todd_Grima_small.jpg

Todd Grima

Fast Facts

Jumper No: 36
Height: 192 cm
Weight: 90 kg
DOB: 5 February 1987
Recruited From: Northern Bombers (Tas)

Didn't play in the VFL this week. Injured?
Hasn't continued his early season form, but he is getting a better opponent now

I'd be surprised if many non-basketball followers (or just anyone, really) knew who Hollie was, despite her obvious talents and resume to date.

Grima aims to take his chance

12:47 PM Thu 28 June, 2007 | Back

By Jennifer Witham

for gfc.com.au
News

WHILE most people relish the opportunity to enjoy the occasional lazy Saturday morning, Todd Grima recalls there was no such thing in his household when he was growing up.

With three sports-mad siblings and parents who were pretty handy in their own right, Grima recalls the weekend's activities in his Evandale family home were anything but relaxing.

Grima is the second youngest of four children and is currently on the Cats' rookie list. His older brother Nathan plays football for Central Districts in the SANFL, his sister Hollie is a world championship basketball player for Australia, and his younger brother Alex is currently pursuing his own footballing career through the Tasmanian under 18 side.

"Mum and Dad have done a good job," Grima told gfc.com.au, when asked about how his parents managed the four during their junior sporting days.

"Mum played state netball and she's really sporty herself, and dad loves his sport and is fanatical about it. He used to be a pretty handy footy player himself."

Grima said while the four were traditionally competitive growing up, they now have a more mature outlook on each other's good fortunes.

"It was good growing up together, and we all enjoy each other's success now, so that's good too," he said.

As far as his footballing brothers are concerned, Todd said Nathan plays a similar role to the one he currently fulfils for the Geelong VFL side, while Alex is more of a pacy midfielder.

"Alex is a lot different to me and Nathan. We're a lot bigger and have pretty big engines, and can run all day. Alex is pretty quick and we're pretty slow," he said.

"But, I still managed to catch him when we were kids."

Grima, who hails Tasmania, said he continues to miss his home town of Evandale and is confident he would remain there today had he not been rookie-listed by Geelong in 2005.

"I miss it heaps. I'm going home at the end of next month, so I'll look forward to that," he said.

"I reckon if I didn't play footy, I'd be in Tassie. I don't know if I could go back now after living here, it might be hard.

"If I didn't play footy, I might go to Adelaide and live with Nathan."

The 20-year-old is a fully qualified personal trainer and also works part-time in a bar when away from footy. He said while he still enjoys his time at Geelong as much as he did the day he walked into the club, being on the rookie list can be frustrating at times.

"Being a rookie is OK. But sometimes it's a bit frustrating because no matter how well you play, you can't play an AFL game because you're not on the senior list.

"Even though you're playing well, you know you're not going to get a chance this year, unless someone gets hurt, and you don't want anyone to get injured.

"You can't afford to do anything wrong; you just have to keep doing everything you can to try and get that chance."

As a second-year rookie, Grima knows what he has to show this year in order to remain at the club next season, and admitted the pressure to do that has increased as the year has progressed.

However, he is encouraged by the successful senior careers forged by other former rookies such as Dean Cox, Tarkyn Lockyer, Mal Michael, Tadhg Kennelly and Max Rooke.
"You've got a good opportunity, being a rookie. You've just got to make the most of it."

This kid is an absolute gun, and has the stuff to play afl.

But unfortunatly he will always be behind mooney, nablett, hawkins, ottens etc. at geelong. And no other club will want him because he's not proven at afl level.

Being a rookie doesnt help him at all. He is MILES better than playfair and mccarthy(delisted) who have played afl.

If one of our players had a long term injury, I reckon Grima would be elevated and could pass players like Hawkins and even Nablett. I know Nath was playing injured today, but with all the bags he is kicking, he could slot straight in to the side if Nath went out.

yeh but the ablett name would always get him a game ahead of grima. nath was good today for an injured player.... without staring, he had quick hands and set up a few goals, as well as booting one himself.

But unfortunatly he will always be behind mooney, nablett, hawkins, ottens etc. at geelong. And no other club will want him because he's not proven at afl level.

Being a rookie doesnt help him at all. He is MILES better than playfair and mccarthy(delisted) who have played afl.

Anything Charlie can do this kid can do better. Similar height, build etc. But at only 20 years old Grima has a lot more potential.

Anything Charlie can do this kid can do better. Similar height, build etc. But at only 20 years of age Grima has a lot more potential.

Tasmania's VFL team showing interest....

Little respite for Devils
BRETT STUBBS
July 31, 2007 12:00am

AFTER the train wreck of this VFL season, the Devils will begin pre-season for 2008 barely a month after playing their final home-and-away game.

Following another dismal second-half fade out on Sunday, which saw the Devils go from a point up early in the third term to 109-point losers against North Ballarat, Devils coach Daryn Cresswell said talks had already started for next season's preparations.

To top off Sunday's horrendous performance, it seems Geelong recruit Paul Koulouriotis (hamstring) will join fellow former AFL player Cameron Thurley (hip) on the sidelines for the rest of the season.

And Kangaroos-listed Leigh Adams (shoulder) and possible AFL draftee Brodie Moles (knee) could spend close to, if not all, the remaining three games on the injured list, resulting in - if it is possible - an even bleaker finish to the season.

It appears the first casualties of the dismal season could be the Devils' fitness staff, with AFL Tasmania already looking at new personnel.

"Obviously it is an area that we need to look at in terms of we need someone who has got the knowledge and who's very much qualified in getting players fit so they can play at a higher level," Cresswell said.

"We are in discussions at the moment with some people who might be looking after our fitness department, so we see that as very important.

"We will be starting (pre-season) relatively early, four or five weeks after we finish playing, so it is important we get those guys in place."

Cresswell said the loss just before half-time on Sunday of Koulouriotis and Adams had a huge effect on a team that contained 10 18-year-olds and two 19-year-olds, but was still no excuse for the abysmal second-half fade out.

"It was a totally unacceptable second half and we apologise to all our fans out there," he said.

"We take responsibility for it and we will be doing our best this week to make sure we can rectify things. It is my job as coach to make sure that doesn't happen again and we need to be more competitive."

Cresswell said up to 11 players from Sunday would not be in the Devils' round-one team next season.

"We need to recruit five or six players, quality VFL players, and I'm talking of the likes of Timmy Hazell, if Barry Brooks was available or Sam Lonergan was available, or Todd Grima, Nathan Grima, Ian Callinan," he said.

"I've had a discussion with former Geelong forward Matt McCarthy last week and he is assessing the situation."

Just watched the replay of the match against Nth Ballarat. HOW BLOODY GOOD IS THIS KID!!! If he doesn't get promoted to the AFL list next year someone at GFC needs to be necked.

Sitting 2nd on the VFL goalkicking list:

Nicholas Sautner-56
Todd Grima-46
Andrew Williams-42
Jeremy Dukes-41
James Podsiadly-40

Just watched the replay of the match against Nth Ballarat. HOW BLOODY GOOD IS THIS KID!!! If he doesn't get promoted to the AFL list next year someone at GFC needs to be necked.

You'll have to enlighten me. I've heard lots of encouraging signs but still haven't seen him. You would think after this year he'd be a certainty to get promoted wouldn't he?

Without question. He and Davenport should get promoted, although Davenport has another year to go on the rookie list.

Grima is very fast and takes a strong mark. The only problem I really have is with his kicking, which has been haphazard at times. But nonetheless, we should have a plethora of forward options in the next few years; Hawkins, Nablett, Grima

I admit I haven't seen an absolute shitload of his performances, but from I have seen, he really looks good, he'll surely be promoted next year and we'll see if that good VFL form can translate to AFL level, he's still only young so he should still have plenty of room to improve. Better to take a punt on a up and coming gun than say..........Charlie for next year. Grima's unlucky that he's rookie listed, otherwise you'd think he'd have played at least a few AFL games this year.

Without question. He and Davenport should get promoted, although Davenport has another year to go on the rookie list.

Grima is very fast and takes a strong mark. The only problem I really have is with his kicking, which has been haphazard at times. But nonetheless, we should have a plethora of forward options in the next few years; Hawkins, Nablett, Grima

Cool, thanks for that. How would you compare his marking to Nathan Ablett or Hawkins, just as a matter of interest?

His lead up work is pretty impressive. Moves very well for a lad his size, and his skills are reasonable enough to suggest he'd be a decent option, at the very least, as the third tall option leading up the flanks. Solid hands, seen him show some handy body-on-body work in one-out contests, and pretty switched on upstairs I'd say. Grunt factor as well.