Non-AFL chat thread

• Thread starter Thread starter d0gs

I guess the problem is that she didn't have a way to put him in his place without being unprofessional. While i don't think it was the worst thing in the world id still say its a bit shit and i'm usually pretty anti PC

Sexual harassment is unlawful under the sex discrimination act (1984).
Employers also have a duty of care towards their employees, so it is only reasonable that media companies and sporting bodies have shown their displeasure over last nights incident, if only to convey to their own employees that this sort of thing is not tolerated within their own company and that all employees should be able to work in a non threatening work environment.
Chris Gayle is not a resident of this country, and by all means the laws and social acceptance of his home country may be far different from ours however in this country, 'ignorance is no defence', and by agreeing with his employer to receive payment for goods or services rendered, he has also agreed to work within the laws of the country.

One of the main arguments people have with the Gayle situation is that no one should have to be made to feel uncomfortable like that while they are at the work place. Personally I think the whole TV thing is irrelevant, because that's the very nature of the workplace.

I am more than happy for people to use that argument as long as they have never done any of the following....

Had a go at a parking inspector who is doing his job giving someone a ticket, or the poor kid at woolies behind the only register that's opened while you had to line up. If the item you want isnt on the shelf you've never expressed your displeasure to the 15 year old grocery kid. You have never bailed up the bloke at the counter at Maccas because the cook out the back forgot to take off your pickles or expressed severe frustration when the cashier finally brings out your meal after you had to wait a whole 5 minutes.

You've never had a go at a teacher and made them feel uncomfortable or the teacher of one of your kids, you've never attacked them or demanded to know why they don't believe that your kid wasn't involved in a particular issue.

You weren't involved in the booing of Adam Goodes, or the booing of any player really, because deep down you don't know how they feel, and after all they are only trying to do their job.

You've never lost your cool or treated the call centre worker with disdain because you were left on hold a little longer than you would have liked and when Telstra palm you off to an Indian guy you can't understand, you've never let your frustration out on him.

You've never cracked it at the staff of a venue, where it's taking a long time to get in or at the security guy who has emptied every last thing out of your bag, to make sure you're not bringing anything dangerous in.

You've never hurled abuse at or booed an umpire for making a call against your team at the footy, basketball or any sport professional or local.

I could go on and on and on. If your issue is with it being unacceptable because she is a professional in her workplace then I truly hope you are one tolerant person when it comes to others and theirs.

I also hope that since you are so passionate about it to express your displeasure so verbosely, that if you witness any of these things you'd be stepping in to provide some assistance. You'd be one busy person!! If not then I guess it's glass houses and stones.

One of the main arguments people have with the Gayle situation is that no one should have to be made to feel uncomfortable like that while they are at the work place. Personally I think the whole TV thing is irrelevant, because that's the very nature of the workplace.

I am more than happy for people to use that argument as long as they have never done any of the following....

Had a go at a parking inspector who is doing his job giving someone a ticket, or the poor kid at woolies behind the only register that's opened while you had to line up. If the item you want isnt on the shelf you've never expressed your displeasure to the 15 year old grocery kid. You have never bailed up the bloke at the counter at Maccas because the cook out the back forgot to take off your pickles or expressed severe frustration when the cashier finally brings out your meal after you had to wait a whole 5 minutes.

You've never had a go at a teacher and made them feel uncomfortable or the teacher of one of your kids, you've never attacked them or demanded to know why they don't believe that your kid wasn't involved in a particular issue.

You weren't involved in the booing of Adam Goodes, or the booing of any player really, because deep down you don't know how they feel, and after all they are only trying to do their job.

You've never lost your cool or treated the call centre worker with disdain because you were left on hold a little longer than you would have liked and when Telstra palm you off to an Indian guy you can't understand, you've never let your frustration out on him.

You've never cracked it at the staff of a venue, where it's taking a long time to get in or at the security guy who has emptied every last thing out of your bag, to make sure you're not bringing anything dangerous in.

You've never hurled abuse at or booed an umpire for making a call against your team at the footy, basketball or any sport professional or local.

I could go on and on and on. If your issue is with it being unacceptable because she is a professional in her workplace then I truly hope you are one tolerant person when it comes to others and theirs.

I also hope that since you are so passionate about it to express your displeasure so verbosely, that if you witness any of these things you'd be stepping in to provide some assistance. You'd be one busy person!! If not then I guess it's glass houses and stones.
I actually haven't seen anyone use the argument that people have with the Gayle situation is that no one should have to be made to feel uncomfortable like that while they are at the work place. At least not on this forum.

It's been the main argument across most threads on it. Just to address your earlier post too... im no legal expert but I don't think what he did and said constitutes as sexual harassment in any way.

If it was repeated then perhaps. But a once off, definitely not.

It's been the main argument across most threads on it. Just to address your earlier post too... im no legal expert but I don't think what he did and said constitutes as sexual harassment in any way.

If it was repeated then perhaps. But a once off, definitely not.
righto

Random question. My kid is really starting to get into the NBA. If you were to liken a NBA team to the Bulldogs which one would it be? I need a team to follow and I know little NBA history

None of those examples that you list are examples of sexual harassment, so I'm not sure of their relevance.

Random question. My kid is really starting to get into the NBA. If you were to liken a NBA team to the Bulldogs which one would it be? I need a team to follow and I know little NBA history
I'll reply in here, a bit more relevant. :)

Biased here but the Timberwolves are similar in a few ways. Small club; long starved of success but still maintains a very devoted (but often pessimistic and cynical) fanbase, particularly in its home town; exciting young talent; in the latter stages of a rebuild, etc. Downside is that they're still building and developing and aren't there yet - in fact we lost to one of the worst teams ever compiled this afternoon. There's some great talent there though, we just have to get the supporting pieces in place. Can still be frustrating to watch.

Golden State Warriors. Done absolutely nothing for decades and have now come good.

I don't think this is a very strong argument.

So no-one who has ever driven a car is allowed to criticise oil companies for promoting climate change enhancing policies?

There is nothing hypocritical about criticising others for actions that you have been personally guilty of if you are intellectually consistent. Especially if their actions are of a different degree to yours.

Also importantly, one can acknowledge that conduct isn't ideal without "condemning" it. I think generally speaking much of the discussion on this board about the Gayle issue has been quite respectful and restrained. If only discussion in the broader community was like this!

I don't think this is a very strong argument.

So no-one who has ever driven a car is allowed to criticise oil companies for promoting climate change enhancing policies?

There is nothing hypocritical about criticising others for actions that you have been personally guilty of if you are intellectually consistent. Especially if their actions are of a different degree to yours.

Also importantly, one can acknowledge that conduct isn't ideal without "condemning" it. I think generally speaking much of the discussion on this board about the Gayle issue has been quite respectful and restrained. If only discussion in the broader community was like this!
I agree that you can say that the conduct wasn't great, but the condemnation has been way over the top.

Golden State Warriors. Done absolutely nothing for decades and have now come good.
They've won the title though.

New Orleans Pelicans. .. pretty ordinary historically but now have the best young player in the league locked down for 5 years on mega Bucks.

I don't know where you work but that would most definitely be classified as sexual harassment where I work.
They aren't colleagues and a one off. A warning might be appropriate but it wouldn't be written up. If he knew she wasn't interested and he tried again in similar fashion, then I'd 100% agree.

Haha I think a similar comparison is actually my team the Milwaukee Bucks. Were once a proud and fairly successful team (70's) but have been very poor since with some close calls in-between (early 00s). Both teams are "small markets" with not a lot of supporters, but have very promising young lists and could be successful soon. Giannis Antetokounmpo (didn't even need to spell check) and Jabari Parker could both be absolute superstars which is what you need in the NBA to win and both very exciting and marketable for kids.

I wouldn't necessarily suggest people to join the Bucks bandwagon because like the Dogs, it's a tough slog at times and especially in the NBA, it's VERY hard to win as a small market team. New owners have recently taken over (NY hedge fund billionaires) and the team is a lot more professional and with a new impressive arena on the way, the future looks to be a lot better. You do get that real sense of belonging and togetherness with other fans of smaller teams and the success is a whole lot sweeter so that's why I originally chose the Bucks.

Side note our new jerseys and colours are now some of the best in the league, all bias aside, they were voted in the top 5-8 for best jerseys in the league in the last few polls.

I would go TWolves. They would have to stuff up royally to not have some sort of success in the future with their young and exciting core.

In terms of their history, they've had no real success despite being a good team in the early 2000s without taking the next step.

They've won the title though.

New Orleans Pelicans. .. pretty ordinary historically but now have the best young player in the league locked down for 5 years on mega Bucks.
I didnt even know the NOP's existed until a year or so ago (coinciding conveniently with the GS coming good ). Who did they replace?

They were originally in Charlotte, and named the Hornets.

Relocated to New Orleans about 15 years ago, and were recently rebadged as the Pelicans. The current Charlotte franchise, which was known as the Bobcats, took the Hornets name back, as well as their history up until the time of relocation.