Opinion Non-Crows AFL 12: Willie and the Port Boys

I wonder if Port would have sanctioned Willie if it wasn't Showdown week.

The standard you walk past is the standard you accept. I would be embarrassed if a Crows player did this, especially after they whacked the guy on the Footy field in the first place.

No excuse for threatening violence.

Let's see if the AFL accept it, as Port has.

And you just know the Tealsters will give Willie an extra cheer this week as a sign of "support".

Any Tealster reading this and think we do the same with Tex. Tex copped his whack, learnt his lesson and is now a better human.

Anyone going to pat Rozee on the bum or something equally as niggling like the dogs players did to unsettle him? he copped it from the dogs players and never reacted back...so he has telegraphed he can be got at.
Nah just make him accountable and don't let him get the cheap ball the move was done for.

Yet no club sanction? - but the again, we seem to be an outlier club that will self harm when it comes to suspending its own players. I suspect while they may not be happy, they prioritise winning this weekend far above optics

Only a piss weak club would sanction a player for that. Deserves AFL intervention though.

you dont think a coach, the leadership group, the board wont be happy a player strayed so far away from the expectations of the club by threatening another players welfare. The dude is ****ed in the head. like openly ****ed. I wouldnt be surprised if he is failing drug tests to be honest with ya. You dont act like a ****ing moron out of the blue. There is way more to this story.

Have a word with him for sure, read him the riot act if you want. But don’t penalise the other players, if the AFL come in over the top, no worries. But suspending a player for that would be self sabotage, only weak clubs would do it.

I can't believe a threat of violence is not being sanctioned by the club or the AFL.

Just weak all round, AFL house look absolutely hopeless right now. They can not make any decisions to protect or help the game they are just whispering nobody move and it'll blow over.

Have a word with him for sure, read him the riot act if you want. But don’t penalise the other players, if the AFL come in over the top, no worries. But suspending a player for that would be self sabotage, only weak clubs would do it.

no it wouldnt. got to have standards over and above winning. the standards you walk past are the standards you accept.

I can't believe a threat of violence is not being sanctioned by the club or the AFL.

Just weak all round, AFL house look absolutely hopeless right now. They can not make any decisions to protect or help the game they are just whispering nobody move and it'll blow over.

tex does nothing but says a racist slur the actual player never heard and gets sanctioned for 6 weeks, this guy openly threatens someones welfare and says he will get his mates to bash him, basically interfering with another teams prep, and the afl does nothing. **** off. That is 10000% the wrong call. He wouldnt have sent the text if he didnt mean it. Bottom line im saying it now, is rioli was white, and it was a black player he was threatening, he would not only be suspended for half the season probably threatened with deregistration. utter disgrace. The club and the afl should be ripped for it.

It's got nothing to do with him being black.

We know how the AFL treat the Power.

It's not even that he's that important on field, it's that they would really not want to hit them with a negative news story going into a Showdown.

Just overall it's such a childish, shitweak taunt too. Texting "I'm gonna get my friends to bash you" scary stuff mate, grow a set and face someone face to face if you're gonna talk crap.

Has real primary school "my dad will bash your dad" vibes

Just overall it's such a childish, shitweak taunt too. Texting "I'm gonna get my friends to bash you" scary stuff mate, grow a set and face someone face to face if you're gonna talk crap.
I wonder what the news cycle would be if it was say Tex who did something similar.:think:

Opinion Non-Crows AFL 12: Willie and the Port Boys

Write your reply...