Opinion Non-Crows AFL 4: The Centre Cannot Hold

This season is done.

I don't think Ken will be sacked this year. AFL won't allow it. The AFL made them promote from within to get their new CEO. They won't let them pay out a coach who just made two Prelims.

They will get a soft draw next year, with most of the older players still playing.

Could easily flat track their way back into the 8 in 2023.

Then Ken Hinkley's auto extension if make Finals clause kicks in. He had that clause before, no way he doesn't have it again.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Bassett is being lined up to take over from Ken, I think he'll do a good job.

No. I’m saying they’re done, period. Not just 2022, this entire cycle is over.

There will be no bounce back to contention in 2023, just like there wasn’t for us in 2019

It’s not that this year is a write off, the cumulative effect of 2021 + 2022 = 0 left over

You’ll see mass turnover at the end of the year. Guys like Gray, Boak, Dixon all retired. Ken steps down, Koch steps down.

All change. There’s no coming back from this, it’s reset time
If that reset is now, and yeah I can see it too if that exodus happens, they are in trouble financially.

And yeah tge scenario I suggested earlier is just kicking the "reset" can down the road. It is coming.

Their fickle supporter base won't go to games or actively support them through a similar period we are going through.

Wasting resources on China coupled with a rebuild period starting with a $10m debt position is scary.

We were somewhat lucky two of our rebuild years come during COVID. Coming out of COVID attendance /resource restrictions with some positivity and overall goodwill among supporters.

Bassett is being lined up to take over from Ken, I think he'll do a good job.
The melts among Tealsters will be fun if that happens.

His AFL coaching career hardly stellar. Sacked twice, old Norwood mate KT employing him.

Yeah he had success at Norwood. The first SANFL coach to bring AFL style footy to the league. Plus broke the salary cap?

The melts among Tealsters will be fun if that happens.

His AFL coaching career hardly stellar. Sacked twice, old Norwood mate KT employing him.

Yeah he had success at Norwood. The first SANFL coach to bring AFL style footy to the league. Plus broke the salary cap?

Bassett sacked twice from where?

We were somewhat lucky two of our rebuild years come during COVID. Coming out of COVID attendance /resource restrictions with some positivity and overall goodwill among supporters.

This cannot be more emphasized. I think supporters and a Club may have dodged a hard bullet, where the rebuild would have hurt a lot more and felt a lot harder.

Due to the pandemic, the 2020,21 seasons have become a blur.

Footy is returning to a sense of normality after a few years.

There will be no bounce back to contention in 2023, just like there wasn’t for us in 2019

It’s not that this year is a write off, the cumulative effect of 2021 + 2022 = 0 left over

You’ll see mass turnover at the end of the year. Guys like Gray, Boak, Dixon all retired. Ken steps down, Koch steps down.

2020 was their big shot and they blew it

2teams1cup.gif Hamish Hartlett.gif

I went to a Glenelg dinner at the Grand

Bar staff didn’t know how to pour a beer. Clearly had never done it before. Not entirely sure why they couldn’t have got them in 30 mins earlier to show them

Waiting staff didn’t clear the dinner plates from the table before dessert came out. Not enough to do it all. We ended up doing it ourselves
So my suggestion is to folk right now, is be patient - with the staff and with the business.

2020 was their big shot and they blew it

View attachment 1364060View attachment 1364059

Awesome gifs by flashcrow

In reality, these moments did cost the Power the Prelim. More so Duursma hatching an egg. He takes that mark and goals, Port go into HT with the lead and momentum into the 3rd.

Genuinely believed they could have won this prelim and then who knows Cats in a GF at the GABBA could have gone either way.

Hinkley and Port blew their best only significant chance of a flag since he coached them. His failure in 2020 Prelim, is what really cost him his coaching job.

So my suggestion is to folk right now, is be patient - with the staff and with the business.

Or stay home and cook decent food yourself.

Between the Covid restrictions, the lack of service and the prices that have escalated, going out for a meal is shit atm.

I reckon you can add to that the possibility of players (especially younger ones) wanting to go elsewhere.

Is it Thursday they are re-honouring Ebert or are they putting it off to a more winnable game?
Reckon that ship has sailed. If what was suggested was true, in that Port were ready to don the No7 'when' (hahaha) they won the showdown, it surely would be too late and too embarrassing to do it now.

But will the Alberton crowd accept him…
I mean wasn't Nicksy at port for nearly a decade and we accepted him?
The port people I know respect bass, probably prefer Schofield but wouldn't be totally against Bass, he's been an important guy there for a while.
Also their CEO is a Norwood guy too.

I reckon you can add to that the possibility of players (especially younger ones) wanting to go elsewhere.
Oh let's pick over their carcass and target a couple of their players. That should make the round 23 showdown pretty exciting.

Could be total war!

BTW, who do you think is sleeping better. Putin or Hinkley?

Heard some comments from Lycett. **** me his is just such a big dumb idiot isn't he?

"We definitely think we can still make finals. It's not about how you start, it's about how you finish! I'd rather have good form at the end of the season."

Yes, well, that's nice. But you need to have won the games throughout the season to make finals you meathead. And the final sentence doesn't mean it's okay to shit the bed early, lose your first three games, and then head into 4 difficult weeks being 0-3.

They really eat up the clichés over in pufferland, don't they?

Heard some comments from Lycett. fu** me his is just such a big dumb idiot isn't he?

"We definitely think we can still make finals. It's not about how you start, it's about how you finish! I'd rather have good form at the end of the season."

Yes, well, that's nice. But you need to have won the games throughout the season to make finals you meathead. And the final sentence doesn't mean it's okay to shit the bed early, lose your first three games, and then head into 4 difficult weeks being 0-3.

They really eat up the clichés over in pufferland, don't they?

How's their end of season form been lately as well?