North Robbed

You're right, he should have just punched a hole in the wall. That's much better image for the kids.

Aaaaand there is the trifecta!

Three replies to my post, not one of which made any attempt the defend the actions of the scotts.

Instead you all went on the attack bc i happen to barrack for hawthorn.

Speaks volumes....

Clarkson has small man syndrome, but at least he can take an umpiring decision like an adult.

So? What has clarko got to do with the Scott boys? Oh its because i support Hawthorn isnt it?

Clarkson has anger control issues, but he gets angry about his teams performances, he never moans about umpires like a child.

Not sure is serious?

You describes the Scott brothers behaviour as petulant, childish, and a bad example for children. I pointed out much worse examples of behaviour that is petulant, childish, and a bad examples for children in Clarkson. That you are a Hawthorn supporter is largely irrelevant. That you are something of hypocrite (given your ability to accuse the Scott brothers of such behaviour but defend much worse in Clarkson) is entirely relevant.

The thing that really gets me is that North supporters think the Selwood free kick was outrageous, because it was paid for something after Selwood got clotheslined. Seriously, you think it's fine that no free kick is paid when someone's arm is around his neck, and then complain when a high is paid for an incident a second later, which might not have been there. Massive double standards.

I suppose that if the first free isn't paid it could be that the umpires are taking the dropping of knees into consideration, which I think is something that most of the ootball public wants to see. But I would like to know what happened in the 2nd tackle to give away the free as all the media outlets seem perplexed(at least in eastern states) - genuine question.

Edit - have now seen a picture on ground and appears Adams' hand is on selwoods shoulder which is a free under current law introduced in preseason as mentioned earlier. Dumb rule as it is only a shoulder, what damage or interference can be done when on ground. Another KB stroke of genius. Counting down the days till Evans sacks his geriatric arse.

North was robbed? Ok, let's be HONEST about how the game went. If west coast had at least an average night in front of goals, instead of a disastrous night in front of goals, North would have gone down by 4-5 goals. West coast had 7 more scoring shots. Yet North were robbed? If North's midfield could find targets in their forward 50 they would have won the game. But they didn't. that's being HONEST. Look at the scoreboard and there's NO DOUBT that this is true.
Being honest this year that is WCE average night in front of goals. Accuracy has been a problem as I recall - feel free to correct

Not sure is serious?

You describes the Scott brothers behaviour as petulant, childish, and a bad example for children. I pointed out much worse examples of behaviour that is petulant, childish, and a bad examples for children in Clarkson. That you are a Hawthorn supporter is largely irrelevant. That you are something of hypocrite (given your ability to accuse the Scott brothers of such behaviour but defend much worse in Clarkson) is entirely relevant.

So the head coach of a professional outfit carrying on like a twat is ok, because you think there is someone else out there who is worse? Thats your defence??

And why am I a hypocrite? Im not defending Clarko, i said he has issues..

I gave my opinion on their behaviour in the box, I got no argument, just a barrage of attacks on someone else based entirely on who i support.

As I said, speaks volumes.

Personally I think we were not quiet good enough. We're to inexperienced to slow the pace of the game with a couple of minutes to go. What frustrates me is in an other wise great game of football everyone's discussing the umpires.

Umpires should be seen and not heard during a game. Games are so much better when they put the whistle away. Only pay obvious frees and not technical ones.

Freo supporters embarrassing themselves as usual with anything to do with WC, as per their massive chip

Brereton: time to tackle 'blight on the game'

Angst about players buckling in tackles to ''stooge'' umpires into paying free kicks resurfaced after West Coast's dramatic win over North Melbourne.

Dermott Brereton has implored the AFL to stamp out what he described as a ''blight on the game''.
Confusion reigned over the free kick to Adam Selwood just before Nic Naitanui's spectacular mark and after-the-siren goal won the game by two points on Friday night. Selwood appeared to fall backwards into his tackler to draw high contact.
The umpire said at the time he had paid the free kick because ''the second one was high, on the ground''. Brereton said if this was the case, the umpire had made an ''unforgivable'' mistake.

AFL umpires' boss Jeff Gieschen will not make a judgment on the decision until after he has viewed all available footage on Monday.

An earlier free kick to Luke Shuey, which allowed the Eagles to keep the ball in their forward arc, was paid when Shuey dropped forward from the knees, and an opponent crashed into his back.

Brereton said players could not be blamed for exploiting a loophole, saying he had done the same thing during his career. ''I disliked the fact that I did it. It meant that I didn't have the creativity to get out of the situation so I would try to stooge the umpire. It was a get-out-of-jail card.

''You can't blame someone for exploiting a loophole that is there. It's up to the rule makers and the umpires' department to become a cohesive unit and strike at the heart of this,'' he said.
''I hope something can be done about it before next year because it's an absolute blight on the game.''

art-353-svADAMS-300x0.jpg
Leigh Adams of the Kangaroos tackles Adam Selwood of the Eagles during the round eight match at Patersons Stadium on Friday.Photo: Getty Images

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/brereton-time-to-tackle-blight-on-the-game-20130518-2jtlx.html#ixzz2TgxkWcyG

which commentator exactly? the three on 774 this morning had a more intelligent analysis of the game than you'll find on any show eddie is on. and if its all over the radio then surely its all over the papers too? yet i read a lot about the game and the harshest comment i've heard is 'controversial' and that was in a murdoch paper.

I think it was the yokel 3LO/774. All three said the Eagles deserved the win

Whatley was interesting in his analysis. He repeated a number of times that the umpire said it was for the second contact, not the first. Also said that he had not seen a clear video view, so could not determine what the contact was.

I found his comments about the AFL response interesting. Said he did not want Geish to come out and say it was correct or not. Just wanted the to come out and say this is what the ump saw and why he paid it that way.

Later in the day i was listening one of the games on SEN where they were talking about commentators and fans views of the game. Said hey had Humphrey-Smith in the box for one game who explained the view that the umpire would have from a totally different angle and closeness.

With the amount of agenda driven sooking from the Vic media every time the Eagles win Im surprised we get a free kick ever !!

This photo tells the story, as it's almost the exact moment before the umpire blew his whistle. You can see the umpire in the background and his view of the contest.

A) Adams doesn't have his arm around Selwoods neck.
B) Swallow isn't even touching anyone
C) The umpire, from that angle, does not have a possible perspective to call that contest accurately.

Farce, no matter what way you look at it.

Umpires ****ed it up.

This photo tells the story, as it's almost the exact moment before the umpire blew his whistle. You can see the umpire in the background and his view of the contest.

A) Adams doesn't have his arm around Selwoods neck.
B) Swallow isn't even touching anyone
C) The umpire, from that angle, does not have a possible perspective to call that contest accurately.

Farce, no matter what way you look at it.

Umpires screwed it up.

Yeah, whatever suits your agenda mate.

For one, the arm doesn't have to be over his neck - it's over his shoulder, so you've argued completely the wrong point because if you were judging by that photo alone, it's a free kick.

But this isn't what the free was given for - it was a couple of seconds later. Adams and Selwood were on the ground, Adams re-applied the tackle around the neck with his left arm.

Swallow had nothing to do with it.

And unlike the shit you've posted, I'm not going to try and tell people what an umpire will and won't have seen. I can't decide if this is reflective of stupidity or arrogance.

Your post is arguably the worst case of offended that I've seen on BF since Friday night.

I've said elsewhere that the free kick was unfortunate in the context of the game - but trying to use one still picture that was taken before the incident resulting in the free kick to justify your point?

Nice work detective :rolleyes:

With the amount of agenda driven sooking from the Vic media every time the Eagles win Im surprised we get a free kick ever !!

Yes, it's a conspiracy. That is the only possible conclusion.

How's life in never never land these days?

Yeah, whatever suits your agenda mate.

For one, the arm doesn't have to be over his neck - it's over his shoulder, so you've argued completely the wrong point because if you were judging by that photo alone, it's a free kick.

But this isn't what the free was given for - it was a couple of seconds later. Adams and Selwood were on the ground, Adams re-applied the tackle around the neck with his left arm.

Swallow had nothing to do with it.

And unlike the shit you've posted, I'm not going to try and tell people what an umpire will and won't have seen. I can't decide if this is reflective of stupidity or arrogance.

Your post is arguably the worst case of offended that I've seen on BF since Friday night.

I've said elsewhere that the free kick was unfortunate in the context of the game - but trying to use one still picture that was taken before the incident resulting in the free kick to justify your point?

Nice work detective :rolleyes:
The umpire said that it was the second tackle, from swallow, that the free kick was paid for.

And incidentally, the amount of times I've seen the photo with Adams arm around selwood's neck...

The umpire said that it was the second tackle, from swallow, that the free kick was paid for.

And incidentally, the amount of times I've seen the photo with Adams arm around selwood's neck...
No he didn't. He never mentioned Swallow.

The umpire said "the second one - on the ground".

That doesn't exclude secondary contact from Adams as being a cause.

Can we at least get some facts right?

No he didn't. He never mentioned Swallow.

The umpire said "the second one - on the ground".

That doesn't exclude secondary contact from Adams as being a cause.

Can we at least get some facts right?
Fair enough, but that still makes the post that I quoted wrong.

What? How is that post wrong?

The post is talking about Adams' action, which is what was penalised?

The post was 100% right.

I would argue the post that I was replying to, which claimed the wrong free kick, that tried to use a still shot from before the free kick to justify his offended, and that tried to tell everyone what the umpire would've seen - I would suggest that post was pretty wrong ;)

What? How is that post wrong?

The post is talking about Adams' action, which is what was penalised?

The post was 100% right.

I would argue the post that I was replying to, which claimed the wrong free kick, that tried to use a still shot from before the free kick to justify his offended, and that tried to tell everyone what the umpire would've seen - I would suggest that post was pretty wrong ;)
I must have missed something. I thought that the umpire said it was the second tackle that was penalised, and it could have been referring to Adams or selwood.

No offended here, I was going for west coast (a very rare occurrence), just trying to sort my shit out. And both sides of this argument are using stills.

Yeah, this game that occurred in 2005 is relevant in this thread.

Since we're talking about it though, I thought the official excuse was that the Sydney players saw a trainer cark it at 3/4 time and then decided to show the true spirit of the Bloods and give up a 43 point lead?

Not the case?
You're being a little flippant about a man's death and the impact it may have on people who know him.

It was just an observation. It sucks when you lose a game and feel the umpires may have made a contributing error.

Yes, it's a conspiracy. That is the only possible conclusion.

How's life in never never land these days?

Coming from the bloke who's been suggesting the umpires were paid off

Something extremely bizarre happened in that match and 90% of the unaligned football public agree.

Maybe it was one of your false flags Mario?