Review Numb

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

Well said Feenix. Just on one point you raise re why has there been no change in support coaches in 5 years - because it is comfortable. There is no challenge pressure on Sando from within the ranks. I know this flies in the face of the oft touted 'get the best people around you' and I don't want to say it but I think he is vulnerable. I don't see him as a commanding personality with iron fist wants with his coaching. He is certainly fluffy with the media, unlike the positive, clear, direct, on-the-line words coming from coaches like Hinkley etc. A media which, when he was appointed, posed the question as to whether he could make the hard tough decisions. But its not all Sando's fault. The AFC are slowly losing the essence of spirit which makes a football club.

The only team putting us in this situation is our team, putting up shit performances

This is the one thing that I cannot fathom. How the hell can people (Tex included - flog!) question anything the supporters do, when the team turns up and dishes up a turd of a performance like that?

It's deflection at its finest!

The players/club should be embarrassed by that performance. But no, Sando says they were 'gallant but inexcusable!' Our players and club are dumb.

The fact a player can tweet what Tex did shows how dumb some players are. You'd think after dishing up a performance like that, he'd just shut his gob. Tosser!

I've actually lost my joy in football. Completely. My level of investment was 4 x Gold memberships (one from when I was 5 years old at inception, one for my wife who doesn't even follow us and one for a mate who rarely can go) which continued when I moved interstate even though I knew I'd be attending a maximum of 2 games a year. Add to that the fact I purchased a guernsey each year (up to the abomination of a new logo) simply to give the club funds. I used to attend most Vic away games too (when I was still a native).

That transitioned to 0 merchandise purchased upon changing to the logo just because velociraptor. It then evolved to cancelling all memberships with a letter to the club after the Tippett saga and a whole pile of anger. Fast forward to today and honestly this is terrible but I actually didn't care. I wasn't shocked nor outraged. I watched on not in disbelief but moreso with a sense of inevitability. The worst part? This isn't even rock bottom (not even close) The boys club will ride this out because they're huge fish in a miniscule pond. They control the media in SA. People in Victoria don't give a **** about us anymore so none of this matters to them. We'll just keep coasting along.

I used to thrive on banter with my mates via text/email/workplace. Now they rib me and I generally just agree with what's said because most of it is true. I copped 4 texts relating to today within 15 minutes of the game finishing and I genuinely didn't care. There was no thrill for me even when we were a goal down with a quarter to go. Footy used to be my hobby and I'd watch almost every game of the round (work/study permitting). Now I can go weeks on end without seeing anything other than what the Crows dish up. I'll always be loyal to whoever pulls on the hideous guernsey but our admin has killed what was once my life and in many ways turned it into a routine afterthought and for that I'll always hate them.

The epitome for me was watching Bernie (a man who needed a kick up the ass at times there's no denying) but who loved the club and was pushed out just so we could appear semi involved and draft a kid who rightfully should be ours anyway if we're not sanctioned. Watching him interviewed today was painful - it's pretty clear he still loves the club. His form wasn't always great, he underperformed at times but was well liked and would be perfect to play Reserves footy and made an example of if he needed to pull the finger out. Instead he finishes his career at Melbourne and effectively loses his job with us. Another victim of Tippettgate whilst the true culprits remain employed.

I'll still watch. I'll still call myself a supporter. Doesn't feel like it though. Everything's changed. **** the admin and thank god for ice hockey.

Came here for the LOL's but then read this post

This is how it felt for a lot of Port supporters during our dark days

Stick with it - pressure will build for changes and they will happen

I said the same to my wife. One of the worst AFC performances I have seen live.

I've seen us play just as bad on a number of occasions over the years. It appears to be a little like childbirth - the pain from poor games are soon forgotten, but resurface when it happens again.

In terms of the play itself, we've done as bad or worse before (though it was up there as one of our worst performances of all time).

In terms of where we are as a club in terms of the season and off-field, though, it's definitely the worst performance we've ever put forward.

This is the one thing that I cannot fathom. How the hell can people (Tex included - flog!) question anything the supporters do, when the team turns up and dishes up a turd of a performance like that?

It's deflection at its finest!

The players/club should be embarrassed by that performance. But no, Sando says they were 'gallant but inexcusable!' Our players and club are dumb.

The fact a player can tweet what Tex did shows how dumb some players are. You'd think after dishing up a performance like that, he'd just shut his gob. Tosser!

What did tex tweet?

In terms of the play itself, we've done as bad or worse before (though it was up there as one of our worst performances of all time).

In terms of where we are as a club in terms of the season and off-field, though, it's definitely the worst performance we've ever put forward.

There were several in the Craig final years that matched that on every level.

Sanderson definitely got outcoached by Roos. I don't really rate Milburn at all either.

We are in a state of mid-table flux. We are neither here, nor there.
Look at Richmond, North and Carlton. We are heading their way if we don't fix something.

They have a lot of work to do :(

I've actually lost my joy in football. Completely. My level of investment was 4 x Gold memberships (one from when I was 5 years old at inception, one for my wife who doesn't even follow us and one for a mate who rarely can go) which continued when I moved interstate even though I knew I'd be attending a maximum of 2 games a year. Add to that the fact I purchased a guernsey each year (up to the abomination of a new logo) simply to give the club funds. I used to attend most Vic away games too (when I was still a native).

That transitioned to 0 merchandise purchased upon changing to the logo just because velociraptor. It then evolved to cancelling all memberships with a letter to the club after the Tippett saga and a whole pile of anger. Fast forward to today and honestly this is terrible but I actually didn't care. I wasn't shocked nor outraged. I watched on not in disbelief but moreso with a sense of inevitability. The worst part? This isn't even rock bottom (not even close) The boys club will ride this out because they're huge fish in a miniscule pond. They control the media in SA. People in Victoria don't give a **** about us anymore so none of this matters to them. We'll just keep coasting along.

I used to thrive on banter with my mates via text/email/workplace. Now they rib me and I generally just agree with what's said because most of it is true. I copped 4 texts relating to today within 15 minutes of the game finishing and I genuinely didn't care. There was no thrill for me even when we were a goal down with a quarter to go. Footy used to be my hobby and I'd watch almost every game of the round (work/study permitting). Now I can go weeks on end without seeing anything other than what the Crows dish up. I'll always be loyal to whoever pulls on the hideous guernsey but our admin has killed what was once my life and in many ways turned it into a routine afterthought and for that I'll always hate them.

The epitome for me was watching Bernie (a man who needed a kick up the ass at times there's no denying) but who loved the club and was pushed out just so we could appear semi involved and draft a kid who rightfully should be ours anyway if we're not sanctioned. Watching him interviewed today was painful - it's pretty clear he still loves the club. His form wasn't always great, he underperformed at times but was well liked and would be perfect to play Reserves footy and made an example of if he needed to pull the finger out. Instead he finishes his career at Melbourne and effectively loses his job with us. Another victim of Tippettgate whilst the true culprits remain employed.

I'll still watch. I'll still call myself a supporter. Doesn't feel like it though. Everything's changed. **** the admin and thank god for ice hockey.

Really enjoying your posting of late.

As for the game, we should've won, but I expected us to lose.

I was furious, but at the same time, I kind of tuned out and shrugged my shoulders - this is where we are at, this is what our admin has done to us; and until the admin changes, this won't.

We lost our first three games by TEN GOALS EACH, we then beat 3 shit teams; and we didn't beat them anywhere near as convincingly as we should have.

We are shit.

So get used to it, no point getting worked up about it when the changes required to address it, don't look like happening.

Craigy was a great coach, we played some amazing footy under him esp 2005, 2006, late 2009. But was let down by our poor efforts in finals, when the pressure was on we faltered, 2009 semi final was a great example. If Craig was coaching Hawthorn they would be just as unstoppable. You play so good after success, if you fail at success you struggle.

I kind of miss Neil Craig.
Correct up to a point. When the pressure was on in finals "he" faltered not "we".

Fantastic post creme. Had to read it a couple of times. You sumed up the hopelessness most of us now feel beautifully.

From FB
Pride members and Crows fans in general, without deflecting from what was a spectacularly poor performance, the next time someone around you gets up and leaves their club before the game is over, tell them THEY ARE AN EMBARRASSMENT. Tell them to SIT BACK DOWN, or don't come at all.
It is about time the true supporters of this club united to tackle this pathetic habit that attracts league-wide ridicule.
We need to change this crowd's culture in order to make it the imposing fortress we know it can be, and this is a vital step.
We hope no other team puts us in a situation where people think an early exit is appropriate, but If they do, use your voice and tell these pathetic fans what you think.
:rolleyes:

And THIS is why the club is in the position it is , not because of the fans who pay good money to watch and don't want to watch INEPT performances , it's because of fans who'd rather sling shit at each other instead of crack it at the club and demand change.

Whoever wrote that shit , GET ****** , spend less time worrying about other crow fans and start thinking of solutions to fix our broken club.

Top post. People will do as they f******well please at a footy match. Anyone dares try that shit on me will be in for a mouthful and maybe more. For the first time in my life I left before the final siren on Saturday and I will again if our team keeps serving up pathetic crap disguised as football. And please, don't tell me the game was in the balance because we only lost by 3 points.

McLeod last night said there are players on the field that don't know the game plan. A huge worry when the coach is in his third year.

Seemed like everyone had a handle on it Saturday. I am, of course, assuming that our gameplan is:
1. Handball to opponents or the ground
2. Kick to contests, or to opponent's advantage
3. Make ordinary opposition forwards look like Tony Lockett
4. If at all possible, do not kick it between the tall posts

What did tex tweet?

Apparently the fact that 44,000 of us spent our hard earned cash to go and watch these guys who are getting paid 6 figures to play footy, isn't enough incentive for them to play properly.

I love Tex but when they serve up shit sandwiches like that, what can you expect?
But we're not the only ones who are pretty quiet when we are losing, especially convincingly to Melbourne..
Watch any team -even Collingwood- and it's the same..

Same way we aren't the only ones who leave early, with a few of the recent games that are over by 3/4 time there's been some nice half empty stadiums on tv during last quarters..

Carlton/Collingwood the other night, bays and bays were empty yet I don't see the tv cameras following all the Carlton supporters out the door like lemmings, or talking about the empty bays.. Funny that..

Seemed like everyone had a handle on it Saturday. I am, of course, assuming that our gameplan is:
1. Handball to opponents or the ground
2. Kick to contests, or to opponent's advantage
3. Make ordinary opposition forwards look like Tony Lockett
4. If at all possible, do not kick it between the tall posts

I think the game plan also includes: mark the ball, take five minutes to turn around and run back, then wait a few more minutes before kicking, OR alternatively turn around and handball or kick to the furthererest player behind you, bonus points if you're in the opposition's 50 m arc.

Sanderson definitely got outcoached by Roos. I don't really rate Milburn at all either.

We are in a state of mid-table flux. We are neither here, nor there.
Look at Richmond, North and Carlton. We are heading their way if we don't fix something.

They have a lot of work to do :(
that's what I don't get. surely they watched the Melbourne game the week before and have seen what Melbourne have been dishing up all year. They get numbers back, so our game plan is to bomb it long.... Just shows how important Bailey was to us.. RIP

Get your facts right about our game plan before you run your mouth off.

Our plan wasn't just to bomb it long .......

.... It was to bomb it long to Eddie!

So brilliant no one would have expected it.

Get your facts right about our game plan before you run your mouth off.
Our plan wasn't just to bomb it long .......
.... It was to bomb it long to Eddie!
So brilliant no one would have expected it.

My memory of the game is that we bombed it on Eddie's head two or at max three times during the game--Dangerfield was one culprit. Bombing the ball long into the forward line is not the major problem with our gameplan.