stanley86

has anyone else noticed lately how many fumbles and his inability for one touch clearance work is lately?

i have really noticed it the last 2 weeks as the old man was over from perth and we went to the lions game and then watched to crows on tv and we both commented at how bad they had gotten

is it just a confidence thing at the moment? i dont think he is playing all that bad, just seems to have lost that 1 touch around the clearances

Yeah could be a confidence thing, but if you watch youll also notice he gets pressured a lot more lately around the scrimmages than i can remember.
I think opposition coaches may have realised he is the cog that gets the engine going, either that or hes just had a couple of poor ones.

He wasn't alone on Saturday for most of the game. It was just one of those nights. Every time the ball came loose and one of our boys was on the receiving end, the ball just didn't bounce right. It would go anywhere bar where we wanted it. Conversely, every time a Crow player ran onto the ball it just sat up perfectly into their hands. Very frustrating:mad:

has anyone else noticed lately how many fumbles and his inability for one touch clearance work is lately?

I have. Any I have gotten stuck into O'Bree many times on this forum and have been blasted for it.

My main issue is he does have the skill and often makes mistakes by foot whether there is pressure or no pressure. For a 220 gamer he should have more poise. Eg, The Kick against Carlton a few week ago when he tried to centre the ball across our halfback line. It went of the side of his boot and the filth got one of their 4 goals for the night from it.

Now having said all this and along with my past comments. I have watched him closely over the last 4 weeks as per the advise of some other members I've looked at the things he doesn't get credited enough for and I take my hat off to the guy for his effort. He sacrifices his game quite often for the better of the club and other team mates. More often than not will handball to Didak or Pendles when he gets the first chance then follows by shepparding them all the time.

He does all the stuff that other playes don't like doing because its not flashy.

He wasn't alone on Saturday for most of the game. It was just one of those nights. Every time the ball came loose and one of our boys was on the receiving end, the ball just didn't bounce right. It would go anywhere bar where we wanted it. Conversely, every time a Crow player ran onto the ball it just sat up perfectly into their hands. Very frustrating:mad:

I thought both teams fumbled a bit the other night not just the pies, probably just seems like Adelaide were clean with their hands due to the frustration of our fumbling.

On Obrees fumbling I think the main thing is that he is still getting to the right places and doing everything he normally would but its just not sitting right not so much bad form or anything. I know when I play some weeks are really clean and some weeks I have the fumbles but I'm not doing anything different. O'brees touch will return, I don't think its to much to be concerned about.

as i said in my OP, i dont think he is playing bad, and i quite like him as a footballer, because he is very much our grunt and dirty work, was just an observation between me and my dad (who i rarely get to watch the footy with due to the distance factor) and this may be why it is more noticeable also

Give him a week off

I have. Any I have gotten stuck into O'Bree many times on this forum and have been blasted for it.

My main issue is he does have the skill and often makes mistakes by foot whether there is pressure or no pressure. For a 220 gamer he should have more poise. Eg, The Kick against Carlton a few week ago when he tried to centre the ball across our halfback line. It went of the side of his boot and the filth got one of their 4 goals for the night from it.

Now having said all this and along with my past comments. I have watched him closely over the last 4 weeks as per the advise of some other members I've looked at the things he doesn't get credited enough for and I take my hat off to the guy for his effort. He sacrifices his game quite often for the better of the club and other team mates. More often than not will handball to Didak or Pendles when he gets the first chance then follows by shepparding them all the time.

He does all the stuff that other playes don't like doing because its not flashy.
That's a pretty good description. I think he has carried a lot on his shoulders as (with Burnsie) the main extractor of the team for many years and for very little appreciation.

I just think he is probably a bit shell-shocked right now, and should be given the week off this week vs Poormond. That includes a week off from the VFL and maybe even a week off training.

He is so experienced that it wouldn't harm his game and he should come back refreshed for the final run. he is still extremely important to the side.

I said the same thing on the weekend - he didnt look as sharp as usual. He's just had an off week or two so he'll be fine. He contributes so much even when he's not playing well because as previously mentioned, his work when he doesn't have the ball is just about the best in the side.

The thing that has worried me about O'Bree this year though that hasn't before is his tendency to start games poorly and get better as they go on. He seems to be taking longer to adapt to the pace of a game than he used to. This has resulted in some serious blunders in first quarters or just general shocking starts to games. Has anyone else noticed this?? I think he is an important member of the team and a good player regardless - it just worries me a little bit as it's happening more regularly.

I said the same thing on the weekend - he didnt look as sharp as usual. He's just had an off week or two so he'll be fine. He contributes so much even when he's not playing well because as previously mentioned, his work when he doesn't have the ball is just about the best in the side.

I think Maxy would have a bit to say on that, but yes, O'Bree does well. Shocking game on the weekend though.

Usually he is like a hoover off the deck. Very assured, and its normally only his skill by foot that is his weakness. But I agree with the OP, last few weeks his ball handling has been pretty bad.

Yeah, his form has been down the last few weeks and this lack of form/confidence has meant he has fumbled a bit. His greatest strength is his clean hands so this little slump is probably only temporary.

Insightful post.:thumbsu:

Great post. There aren't too many posters on here that will say "I used to bag <insert player here> but after being told to really watch him I see your point(s) and realise he is actually a huge contributor and a very important cog in the wheel"

Cheesy does just as much work when he doesn't have the ball. The poster who said something about a bad kick V Carlton.... If I looked I think I could find a kick from every player that has played AFL this year for Collingwood that went straight to the opposition. (I know your point was that he seems to do it fairly often....but come on if you sit there looking for it long enough you'll find it.)

There is heaps of diversity in the comments on our board. And I will continue it.

I watched the game with a bunch of Geelong supporters who play footy in Geelong and they were saying that O'Bree should have won the TV on the Ten broadcast (for best on ground). Their reason was that he is always doing the hard stuff and is so so often part of the chain in play. And his clearances were awesome (just a grab and boot, but still, getting that centre clearance). 6 clearances I think - the most by a Collingwood player.

Conversely, I thought Daisy was very poor (so unsure of himself by foot and in his decision making) and whilst Jack was very good, man did he make some bad mistakes (I have a Jack guernsey, so I never bag this guy. In fact my support of him makes my friends sick). But a lot of people have said how well Daisy played on BF that I have seen (Jack did play well on the whole)

Just while we are on Daisy, I think the nickname Daisy sucks. I far prefer either 'White Wizard' (coined on a day when Jeff Farmer played crap and Thomas tore it up), or more recently, Shadowfax (Gandolph the Gray's horse with its flowing maine whilst taking six bounces down the wing at the 'G)

my dad's mate calls him the bikie
cos they are known as 1 percenters
he calls him that because he hates the pies and reckons thomas plays well for 1% of the game
i quite like it in a different context because this year he has generally being doing more of the team/1% things, although saturday night was an abberation

just while we are on daisy, i think the nickname daisy sucks. I far prefer either 'white wizard' (coined on a day when jeff farmer played crap and thomas tore it up), or more recently, shadowfax (gandolph the gray's horse with its flowing maine whilst taking six bounces down the wing at the 'g)

omfg

Shouldn't really be in the side to be honest. Don't need him.

Past his best now and should go out gracefully.

He DOES get a lot of clearances though. Problem is, he cancels out those clearances with VERY costly turnovers and fumbles.

His clearance work is still top notch. He has gone up against the likes of Black, Mitchell and Edwards in recent weeks as well.

As for fumbling over the last month....all our games have been freezing night games.

Hawthorn a wet miserable night at the G, Carlton a very cold rainy night at the G, Brisbane another cold saturday night game and it was very dewy at AAMI last saturday night.

O'bree is not the most talented footballer in the dry weather, so you would expect him to not be as clean in these sort of conditions. But his workrate and tackling and clearance work has been right on. I still think he is one of the most important players in our structure.