Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

I agree with u on Green, hes terribly overrated, very unaccountable and slow. I think Ben Birthisel from Benalla would push for a spot, very agile and provides good run off half back. He played on Jeff Anderson when Benalla played Seymour and did a reasonable job..... Rockliff either in forward line or midfield, certainly not a backline player!

Birthisel is a great player IMO.. only didnt put him in bcoz he has played mostly bushies games this year.. there r a heap of bushies u could put in there that have played seniors this year.. players like Hockey, Normington, Martinello, Warnett, Browne, ect would all go straight into that team

Also would have sheahan in the team but he plays mostly school footy..

Are you worried about hitting a page limit or something. Not too hard to skip over is it?

Yeah mate - read my follow up post - I think that's what I said. You're spot on - it's not too hard to skip over it if I don't want to read it. It's all good:)

Very interesting results on the w/e thought it may generate a bit more comment... Can some one give us an op of where the pies are at in relation to flag hopes. Seems very hard to get a form line from the w/e results. Have the swans eased in the betting?

Echuca 3.4 3.3 6.4 6.7 (18.18) d. Euroa 3.1 2.6 2.4 2.1 (9.12)
Goals
Echuca SEAN MURPHY 3, CAIN GREGOR 3, JAMUS CAMPBELL 2, ADRIAN DOHNT 2, COLIN DURIE 1, CHRISTOPHER CASEY 1, LIAM VOIGT 1, BRAYDEN WILLIAMS 1, BRADLEY SMITH 1, SIMON MADDOX 1
Euroa Not recorded
Best
Echuca ADRIAN DOHNT, DYLAN BUTLER, COLIN DURIE, SIMON MADDOX, SEAN MURPHY, JAMUS CAMPBELL
Euroa Not recorded
Its been update for you Brad.

TeamvTeamLocationDate/Time » Echuca 3.4 3.3 6.4 6.7 (18.18) v» Euroa 3.1 2.6 2.4 2.1 (9.12) Victoria Park - Echuca TBA
space.gif

Goals Echuca SEAN MURPHY 3, CAIN GREGOR 3, JAMUS CAMPBELL 2, ADRIAN DOHNT 2, COLIN DURIE 1, CHRISTOPHER CASEY 1, LIAM VOIGT 1, BRAYDEN WILLIAMS 1, BRADLEY SMITH 1, SIMON MADDOX 1 Euroa MARK JANSZ 5, SCOTT GRAINGER 2, ASHLY HOBBS 1, CRAIG BAMFORD 1 Best Echuca ADRIAN DOHNT, DYLAN BUTLER, COLIN DURIE, SIMON MADDOX, SEAN MURPHY, JAMUS CAMPBELL Euroa DAVID KING, MARK JANSZ, NATHAN HARPER, ADAM MCBRIEN, SHANE CLAYTON, LUKE HYATT

Very interesting results on the w/e thought it may generate a bit more comment... Can some one give us an op of where the pies are at in relation to flag hopes. Seems very hard to get a form line from the w/e results. Have the swans eased in the betting?

Gday head,

Our flag hopes have taken a bit of a dip in recent weeks. We have been playing pretty poorly and need to lift dramatically if we are to have any hope come September. We have a couple of injuries at the moment which look to be long term and some players that are playing below their best form. Hopefully we can get back on the winning list against an injury plagued Swans outfit. Not to sure on who they will get back this week, if any at all. Still the smart money for the flag would be with Seymour.

The lions could now be favorites. Still a long way out from finals.The Echuca midfield has dominated the last few weeks and with Dohnt, Durie,Casey(a kid who leaves nothing in the tank) and Butler in the midfield most teams would struggle to contain them. Any thoughts?

Gday head,

Our flag hopes have taken a bit of a dip in recent weeks. We have been playing pretty poorly and need to lift dramatically if we are to have any hope come September. We have a couple of injuries at the moment which look to be long term and some players that are playing below their best form. Hopefully we can get back on the winning list against an injury plagued Swans outfit. Not to sure on who they will get back this week, if any at all. Still the smart money for the flag would be with Seymour.

Hopefully Veale will be back this week. Also Hackett wasn't 100% on Saturday and was used sparingly so look for him to have more game time and a bigger impact this weekend.

The lions could now be favorites. Still a long way out from finals.The Echuca midfield has dominated the last few weeks and with Dohnt, Durie,Casey(a kid who leaves nothing in the tank) and Butler in the midfield most teams would struggle to contain them. Any thoughts?
Worth a wager on Echuca, play as good a football as any side,probably lack options up forward good sides may be able to match up pretty well, may just lack 1 more forward option, all forwards would have to be on song on the day but keep them in mind

Gday head,

And a little bit of form by your good self i see Boss. Thanks champ:thumbsu:

So Veale was tender, and the other bloke couldn't hack it.....

Not quite, Hackett actually made a couple tackles running a couple of the players down on pretty much one ankle, he also ran up a guys back knees on his shoulders taking a mark. Not too bad by a kid who probably should have had the weekend off with ankle ligaments.

So Veale was tender, and the other bloke couldn't hack it.....

nice....let me guess...you're on every thursday..try the schnitzel? hahaha

Obviously it's all about list management for the swans, particularly given the quality of players in question. They need to balance the best semi-fit/fit team each week but at the same time, make sure blokes are right for the business end. Minimal depth adds another dimension..

Should be interesting...lets hope they all get back on deck soon...

nice....let me guess...you're on every thursday..try the schnitzel? hahaha

Obviously it's all about list management for the swans, particularly given the quality of players in question. They need to balance the best semi-fit/fit team each week but at the same time, make sure blokes are right for the business end. Minimal depth adds another dimension..

Should be interesting...lets hope they all get back on deck soon...

The bandwagon is looking very shaky!

I think you are right about their depth. I don't know too much about them, but there ressies are 7th (but lost by 177 points on the weekend) and the thirds are 10th.

The Swans have the high-end talent, it will just be matter of getting them all fit at the right time.

The bandwagon is looking very shaky!

I think you are right about their depth. I don't know too much about them, but there ressies are 7th (but lost by 177 points on the weekend) and the thirds are 10th.

The Swans have the high-end talent, it will just be matter of getting them all fit at the right time.

Exactly my point..I mean they weren't disgraced but the injuries hurt moreso with little depth

..the bandwagon is running on empty, a couple of punctures in recent weeks and its been up on blocks mid week to get it right, but it is still moving....

whats the go with shepp????????? Losing to Rochy, and can rochy still make finals?

Nah, Rochy would have to win every game (and by a fair margin judging by the weak %) and rely on other results. Tough run home too, with Seymour, Swans and Echuca.

And I also noticed that the Rochy ressies are trying to qualify some senior blokes for a tilt at the flag - Bubb was named in both 1's and 2's...Not the proper way to qualify blokes but they are taking advantage of this loophole. Will be very hard to beat come September.

Not quite, Hackett actually made a couple tackles running a couple of the players down on pretty much one ankle, he also ran up a guys back knees on his shoulders taking a mark. Not too bad by a kid who probably should have had the weekend off with ankle ligaments.
So how many did the Swannies actually have out? The Shepp news said they had up to 9 out?

wat bout the 2's beardo can they win the granny

About 9 regular senior players.
Seeing as they had so many out you'd think they're a better chance to win it than Seymour and they would have to be pretty pleased to only lose by a couple goals at the Den.

Depends how many get back and if we make the finals. Michael Hare is out for the season with his knee.