Official Trade Thread...

Okay, I know this is early as this period doesn't start for a while yet, but I couldn't help myself. I always love this time of the year, as I am enjoy tossing trades around to see what we can get. This thread is for trade talk only, and only decent trades, not stupid ones. So, I'll kick things off....

In search of a CHF, I was talking to mish and watching the Sydney game. Then I was reminded of reading an article in the paper of potential trades and how they mentioned that one player we could go for could be....

Adam Goodes. This is not for real at all just yet or anything, but it did get me thinking. He could fill the void out at CHF for us, and heck, he can play either end too. I thought about a possible trade for him we could try, and came up with....

Robertson and 2nd round pick for Goodes. What do you think?

Thought we may need to offload a midfielder as we have too many? What about Carey, Richo?

Let's get some thinking and good discussion going. We are capable of it, we just don't do it often enough! ;) :D

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

Robertson and 2nd round pick for Goodes. What do you think?

No I dont think I like that idea. I don't like Robbo at all, but I don't think I'd be any more of an Adam Goodes fan.

But you're right that we should get rid of a midfielder. If we want to talk trades, the midfielder has to be decent though.

I'd prefer to make sure we use the draft properly this year.

I'd go for Goodes on the basis that he is the best thing for CHF we can get. We are not going to get Carey or Richo really, and the likes of Tredrea, Jonathan Brown, Pavlich etc are not going anywhere. We need a CHF, and need one fast. I reckon Goodes can be that man.

Midfielders who can go - Febey, A Mac (both retire). I am not sure of others we could off load. Yze, Woey, Powell and Johnno are untouchable, Chell could be offloaded? Lesser ones like Thompson?

You're right - we need a CHF, but whether Goodes is the right player for that spot I don't know. He's 191cm and a fairly solid fella so yeah your suggestion isn't too bad I guess. He could be a player Sydney want to try and offload too.

Yze, Johnno and Powell are our untouchable midfielders for sure. I don't think Leoncelli would be in hot demand in trade talks because he's past his best IMO. Maybe someone could see he has a few years left, who knows. Scott Thompson has shown a bit of promise, but probably won't play again this year. If we traded him now I don't think we'd get what we paid for him.

I reckon a Woewodin/Pavlich trade would be OK, but it's most likely Pavlich will stay at Fremantle or go home to Adelaide. Woewodin is not an untouchable.

Originally posted by footyman
You're right - we need a CHF, but whether Goodes is the right player for that spot I don't know. He's 191cm and a fairly solid fella so yeah your suggestion isn't too bad I guess. He could be a player Sydney want to try and offload too.

Yze, Johnno and Powell are our untouchable midfielders for sure. I don't think Leoncelli would be in hot demand in trade talks because he's past his best IMO. Maybe someone could see he has a few years left, who knows. Scott Thompson has shown a bit of promise, but probably won't play again this year. If we traded him now I don't think we'd get what we paid for him.

I reckon a Woewodin/Pavlich trade would be OK, but it's most likely Pavlich will stay at Fremantle or go home to Adelaide. Woewodin is not an untouchable.

I like your thinking, but that last statement about Woewodin won't win you any friends with one or two people! ;) *calm down Mish!*

Thompson was a first rounder, and yes, he has shown promise, but I think we need to add another dimension to the team. Okay, he is not going to get us that player, but I think we need take a risk come trading time. I can see the reasoning behind Woewodin, but I really do believe that Melbourne would not trade him. I would dearly like Pav at Melbourne, but like you said, it won't happen.

Riewoldt may be a possibility, but I highly doubt it. Molan and Miller won't come on properly for a few years either, same with Rogers. There are other players like your Tarrants, Ottens etc who we would like to have, but how in the world could we possibly get them?

Maybe we could go for a back, and move Biz to CHF? Not a true CHF, but more of a roaming type player a bit more up the ground. He looks good through there and has very good disposal. HOWEVER....if Lamb continues to play well, bring in Nicho with Ellis and we have room for Biz to play down forward?

Hmm, never thought of it like that!

Would you consider trading one of our smaller defenders, like Walsh or Ward?

Hmmm... Walsh no, Ward yes. But the thing is, I am not sure Ward would get us alot. That sounds harsh, but outside of the people who watch him like us, he is not too well known, where as Walsh is. But he is a hard nut, and I like him, lol. He is an essential part to them team, where as I think Ward is more expendable.

How about a Wellman or a Barnard?

Sorry to the Woewodin fans...but I have to give my honest opinion.

Not a bad suggestion you have there CFH about Bizzell being able to play forward if Lamb keeps going well. I hadn't thought of that either.

Wellman - a defender really so probably not a forward option, while Barnard I think is past his best. There is not much point handing over a draft pick or whatever for a 30 year old. I'd probably pass on those two.

But stay with Essendon - would Aaron Henneman be a player worth trying to get? He's very athletic, seems to have hit the wall at Essendon this year a bit and is a nice height at 193cm and 94kg. Would have plenty of good footy ahead of him.

Sorry to the Woewodin fans...but I have to give my honest opinion.

Not a bad suggestion you have there CFH about Bizzell being able to play forward if Lamb keeps going well. I hadn't thought of that either.

Wellman - a defender really so probably not a forward option, while Barnard I think is past his best. There is not much point handing over a draft pick or whatever for a 30 year old. I'd probably pass on those two.

But stay with Essendon - would Aaron Henneman be a player worth trying to get? He's very athletic, seems to have hit the wall at Essendon this year a bit and is a nice height at 193cm and 94kg. Would have plenty of good footy ahead of him.

Thanks mate! :)

I mentioned Wellman was he could go down back, Bizzell forward etc, but if Nicho comes back okay and Lamb keeps going okay too, then we won't have to get him, and Bizzell can play CHF.

Henneman is not a bad idea at all. As you mentioned earlier, someone like a Ward would be a decent trade. Ward maybe worth more, but I think Henneman is younger and heck, the kids has those good years left ahead of him and the boy can play.

What about, say, a Green as trade bait with Robertson? One second thoughts of our forward line, I really think we need a genuine crumber, a Lappin, Medhurst type player. Vardy does alright, but we need a real deal crumber. People may not like me using Green there, but I think he can get us a decent player.

I still like the look of a Goodes......do we need another star midfielder? Maybe trade off one for another?

What about, say, a Green as trade bait with Robertson? One second thoughts of our forward line, I really think we need a genuine crumber, a Lappin, Medhurst type player. Vardy does alright, but we need a real deal crumber. People may not like me using Green there, but I think he can get us a decent player.

You read my mind mate! I was going to suggest Green 10 minutes ago but I thought the Woey comment was enough if I want people to keep talking to me on the Demons board.

Since you raised it - yes I would throw Green up for trade. Robbo isn't a ground level player at all, neither is Green, while Vardy has shown a little bit of ground level ability. Robbo and Green are very similar players - they are the same height and both like to the mark the ball. We don't need two of them IMO.

I found yesterday that we used Neitz as a focal point in the forward line, but we had no one at his feet for the spillage. I guess for the crumbing player it's something we could try and address perhaps through the draft. There are plenty of those yapping little forward pockets who are 175cm-180cm tall in the U18 competition. Maybe that's a better option for finding a crumbing player?

Green will get a better player than Robbo I think if we put him up for trade. Yep - certainly I would put him up.

Glad you agree on the Green front, and I do agree to an extent that Green would pull more than Robbo, but not to much. I think Robbo is just a little bit better forward, but Green can play well in the midfield. Robbo can't. Come trade time, I think they will both pull around the same. The recruiting staff would be wise to feel things out early with both.

I like the idea of getting a crumber through the draft. Unlike key position who take time to develop, they can come right into the line-up and make an impact. However, if we wanted a crumber from another side, who could we get if we threw Robbo, Green or someone like Ward around?

However, I think we need a solid tall. We probably won't get a superstar, but a solid player would be very handy. A forward or back, it doesn't matter. An Andy Kellaway even?

I think we need to trade for a key position, draft a crumber - what sort of tall would be gettable though? And for what price?

what sort of tall would be gettable though? And for what price?
Probably one who is stale at his current club. That's probably why a Goodes or Henneman are realistic options. They are the sort of players who have a lot of talent, but maybe a new club might be the best way for that talent to come out.

A crumber - tough one. My obvious preference is the draft and I think there is the option there of finding a bargain basement crumber. There isn't a high population of talls in the U18 comp, but a good crumber could be found I reckon and there are plenty of that sort of player around to look at.

Most clubs have a good crumber - we need a Luke Power, Stephen Milne, Jim Plunkett, Leon Davis or Brent Harvey type. I don't know what's on offer in the crumbing forward department, but obviously the best aren't going to be available.

But if you look at the five I have just mentioned - two of them came from Rookie Lists and I reckon they are two of the better fall of the ball players in the AFL. Just backs up what I said about the draft being a good place to pluck a crumber I think.

Wow, an actuall discussion thread!
As for players we might be interested in how about the likes of:
Ray Hall (Richmond), Cloke (Collingwood), Riewoldt (St. Kilda), Danny Jacobs (Essendon) Danny went for Melbourne as a kid, Luke Penny (Bulldogs).
This is only a small list, I'm sure there are plenty more. Obviously each player on the list I created is at a different skill level, and some would be worht more than others. As for players Melbourne may be willing to trade:
*Leoncelli
*Woewodin
*J Macca
*Robertson
*Green (a long shot, but he has been inconsistant, and could be worth a bit)
1 or more of these, with a draft pick going one way or another.

We have plenty of money to play with, especially with Febey, Schwarz, Rigoni, A Macca and others opening up some space in the salary cap. One thing is for sure, we need to be agressive in our strategy this year (getting talls), so we can compete for a premiership over the next few years.

I wouldn't touch Moorcroft, he's too much like Robbo in that he does everything one game, and nothing in another. Plus lately he's been in very poor form.

As for Lucas, he has potential, but will be 25 this year. I question the need for another inconsistant player in the forward line, a trade for Robbo might be ok, as both are as 'bad' as each other. But then Robbo is younger, and probably has more 'up' days than Lucas has.

I haven't had the time to get stuck into this topic yet.

However I don't see how we could trade Robbo on the form of his last 2 games. It'd want to be for a better player than Adan Goodes, I've seen countless games where he's looked ordinary. Not underestimating his potential though.

Green, on this season's form yes but he has so much potential as a midfielder, never mind his sometimes brilliant form up forward. At least 1 more year for him please.

I wouldn't get rid of Thommo yet either, i've seen enough class in him to think he'll replace the likes of A.Mac,Chell etc... soon enough.

I do think we'll go very hard after a CHF, and realise we'll have to trade someone good to get a decent one, just haven't made my mind up yet about who'll we'll offer.

I'll get back to ya :)

I really do think the man we need to aim at is Scott Lucas. Good mark, excellent kick and normally a good work ethic.

I think we really do need to take a risk and trade something good to get something good in return, and if it's a Robertson, Green or whatever, I just hope we take a risk. I don't want them to go out a trade poorly or not at all, as I think if we can see our weakness, then surely they can. Jolly, Wheats, Robbo etc all can't play CHF as they are either not Big, tall or strong enough.

I reckon Lucas is our man. No Carey, No Richo. I can't see who else we could put at CHF. Any ideas?

P.S - BT, agree with Thommo. I think I mentioned we could trade him, but he has has shown enough to say he will be a real talent.

I really do think the man we need to aim at is Scott Lucas. Good mark, excellent kick and normally a good work ethic.

Yeah I agree with you CFH. Lucas is the man we need at the Dees. I wonder how he'd look in a Demons jumper? Maybe BPP can try out some more of his wizardry with the computer ;)

That would be very handy! :D

With the focus on Carey, Richo and Pav, we can sneak right in and do a deal with the Bombers for him! We add him to CHF and I tell you what....... :D :D