One qtr is not enough

astro_toby

I understand we are growing and there is a massive gulf between us and the pies - but one qtr is not enough. AS good as our 3rd qtr was, its ridiculous to be outscored by 90 in 2 qtrs of football like we did in the 1st and 4th qtr.

The effort and heart is there, but the poor starts and poor ends have got to stop

In our 4 games this season, we have been outscored 21.21.147 to 8.9.57 in the 1st qtrs, and smashed 22.18.150 to 8.12.60. When you take into account half that 4th quarter time score on our side is against the saints - wow, thats a massive smashing.

That means our 1st and 4th qtr scores are 297 to 117, 88 scoring shots to 37 - no matter how you look at it - its a ****ing disaster. One great quarter is a start, but the difference between our best and our worst needs to be addressed.

This was also a big issue & trend over the pre-season. I refuse to get wrapped up in little wins while we are still letting ourselves be smashed on both bookends of the game.

i just dont get it, i can understand collingwood being too good for us skills wise but the effort isnt there, we look unfit and static for 3 of 4 quarters/

Relax astroboy if this was round 4 last year we would have been belted by 20 goals, there has been lots of improvement it's just a matter of getting more consistency and a winning mentality we'll improve a lot more.

Relax astroboy if this was round 4 last year we would have been belted by 20 goals, there has been lots of improvement it's just a matter of getting more consistency and a winning mentality we'll improve.

We were belted by 15 goals over 2 qtrs mate
Losing by 15 goals or twenty goals are only different in statistics. as a result they both sit in the same category for mine.

I see the positives, it was all over the 3rd qtr - but while we are getting so badly destroyed on the bookends we are shoveling shit up a hill. We are giving ourselves no chance - and it is a terrible terrible terrible habit to create.

The reason it is a massive concern is Hardwick himself expressed immense disappointment in the boys for doing it in the adelaide practice match - and despite him pin pointing and focusing on this error, which he described as "soul destroying" - we have totally failed to correct or improve on it.

Essentially, these drops in performance are soul destroying every week. How long can any team support such a dreadful habit before we see another 150+ drubbing like we saw a few years back against the cats. I think we all still live with that nightmare, and all remember how that just totally destoyed the club and the direction we were heading.

Rebuild takes time astro, stop whining and look at the positives, the good times will come just show some patience.

We played 1 amazing quarter.
We played 1 good quarter.
We played two ok 1/2 quarters.
We switched off for the start of the game and end of the game.

To look at this in a positive manner. We gave up too many easy disposals and also lacked experience in many key positions. It was not so much that we didn't show up, it was we had to work so much harder for goals. I think we have to realise that our inexperiend backline probably cost us 3-6 goals. Our forward though it looked ok should've kicked another 3-6 goals. Then i guess the other areas are our outside players and small forwards/defenders. Realistically the likes of nahas, edwards, king didn't do enough around the ground to prevent easy run and carry. This ultimately cost us many goals.

Add a couple seasons to the likes of Astbury, Griffiths, Grimes, Vickery, Rance, hopefully Post and we should see a marked improvement in our key positions. Add on too this the upgrades from players like Conca, Batchelor and Helbig and there is no doubt in my mind we will be a very good team. We probably need a quality ruckman or need to hope graham, browne, derickx or vickery turn a sharp corner. Hitouts to Collingwood players from Graham was ridiculous tonight he needs to find his targets.

IMO when these players are ready that 3rd quarter wouldn't have been a 4 goal advantage but rather a 10 goal. We probably would've got 2 more goals in the second and lost the 1st and last by around 2-4 goals. Ultimately there is plenty of room for improvement.

well, that third quarter was good to watch but a few of the younger players are giving away some stupid free kicks.. it seemed every time i looked up that Graham was giving away a free kick in the middle?

Still in the baby steps stage IMO, good signs though I must admit. Going through the guts was great football. The guys do seem somewhat unfit apart from a few and Edwards kicking is atrocious.

The fact that we were able to dominate a qtr against the reigning premiers is still a good sign. At least our young players are showing something compared to Norf who are still being carried by Harvey and Rawlings.

well, that third quarter was good to watch but a few of the younger players are giving away some stupid free kicks.. it seemed every time i looked up that Graham was giving away a free kick in the middle?
Gave away four, but also got three in return

God I hate some of our supporters, astro don't you also support Carlton? Perhaps you should just give up on Richmond and piss off.

We have as much experience as Gold Coast, are dealing with the toughest start to the draw for ANY side in the AFL and have shown significant improvement over last year. Remember we were 0-9 last year, we're already ahead of that against some quality sides. We even smashed Collingwood in that 3rd quarter, I never saw us play football that good against such a quality side last year.

Wait until Gold Coast play Collingwood and see what happens if the Pies actually play a full strength side. It will be a 200 point margin.

God I hate some of our supporters, astro don't you also support Carlton? Perhaps you should just give up on Richmond and piss off.

We have as much experience as Gold Coast, are dealing with the toughest start to the draw for ANY side in the AFL and have shown significant improvement over last year. Remember we were 0-9 last year, we're already ahead of that against some quality sides. We even smashed Collingwood in that 3rd quarter, I never saw us play football that good against such a quality side last year.

Wait until Gold Coast play Collingwood and see what happens if the Pies actually play a full strength side. It will be a 200 point margin.

Good post infamy..:thumbsu:

what an absolute load of bollocks. People who simply look at players age's and use that as gauge of accpetable performances is a dill.

The reason the Gold Coast are so poor is not just the players are young, its because they are fielding a team that have barely played a game together. They are perfect strangers at the moment. One of them has barely played football ffs. We should not be comparing how we are progressing with a team who are 2 games into their history - ffs some of you are nuff nuffs.

In our three loses this season we are pretty much averaging being beaten by 90 points in 2 qtrs of football. We are being (well) over doubled in scoring shots.

If Carlton and St Kilda had kicked straight - i dare say we would not be talking so positively about those games either. In the 1st qtr of both those games, the potential was there to be 7 goals down if it wasn't for some very fortunate poor goal kicking from our opponent.

Players like Cotchin, King, Deledio, Newman, Thurstfield, Graham, Edwards, Riewoldt, white, Vickery, Jackson, Foley, Nahas have been playing footy with each other for anywhere betweem 3 - 6 years longer than the Gold Coast. This is not our ****ing yardstick of measuring our success surely?

The positives are obviously there, but **** me - the way we have rolled over and died in

*The final qtr against carlton when the game was there to be won

* The first quater against the hawks when the game was still there to be won

* The first and last qtr tonight when the game was there to be won

.. it is the seeds of an absolute massive smashing coming up.

its not bloody good enough. I'm all for being positive - but the difference between our best quarter and our worst quarter at the moment is ridiculous. We are essentially one qtr off being smashed by 170 points again. there is only so many times you can give the opponent a 7 goal lead at qtr time before this happens, and i am fearful that if it does happen - the obviously fickle confidence of this team will be shattered.

With a very winnable game against nth next week coming up - the last thing we needed to do tonight was bend over and spread our cheeks to the pies after a brilliant 3rd qtr. We needed to to take that confidence and momentum into next week and for once do more than just compete - but bloody win a game. Thats what success is built on

It amuses me watching all the fanboys come on here and regurgitate all the positive speak "blah blah" the coaching panel does each week, its all good an well talking about the 20 minutes of great football we played - but just ignoring and shrugging off the deplorable and meek football we played for 60 minutes is laughable.

There has to be some mental block that doesn't allow the tigs players to put up a 4 quater fight! Something like "we've showed enough and can get through another week without being in the shit" type of mentality!

Good thing that games of football are played over 4 quarters then and we aren't just judged on our bad ones.

shame they aren't played over the one quarter we are playing well. Then you guys would really have something to jerk off about tonight.

Cream always rises to the top, Collingwood are a very strong premiership team and for a quarter we out played them fantastic effort from our young cubs.The motto of the night was to be brave and they were!! ok a lot of mistakes a few players way out of their depth but they are a very exciting young group to watch I luv em

Personally find the 1st quarters more disappointing than the 4th.
With our young side I can understand being overrun in the last quarter by older more experienced sides.

But the first quarters have been so disappointing, and whilst our good quarters have been good, I still can't shake this nagging doubt at the back of my mind, that our third quarter performances have come when the opposition have dropped their intensity after getting a good lead.

The next couple of games will really show us where this group is at. There can be no excuses for letting poor north and lions sides jump to 30 point leads in the 1st quarter.

what an absolute load of bollocks. People who simply look at players age's and use that as gauge of accpetable performances is a dill.

The reason the Gold Coast are so poor is not just the players are young, its because they are fielding a team that have barely played a game together. They are perfect strangers at the moment. One of them has barely played football ffs. We should not be comparing how we are progressing with a team who are 2 games into their history - ffs some of you are nuff nuffs.

In our three loses this season we are pretty much averaging being beaten by 90 points in 2 qtrs of football. We are being (well) over doubled in scoring shots.

If Carlton and St Kilda had kicked straight - i dare say we would not be talking so positively about those games either. In the 1st qtr of both those games, the potential was there to be 7 goals down if it wasn't for some very fortunate poor goal kicking from our opponent.

Players like Cotchin, King, Deledio, Newman, Thurstfield, Graham, Edwards, Riewoldt, white, Vickery, Jackson, Foley, Nahas have been playing footy with each other for anywhere betweem 3 - 6 years longer than the Gold Coast. This is not our ****ing yardstick of measuring our success surely?

The positives are obviously there, but **** me - the way we have rolled over and died in

*The final qtr against carlton when the game was there to be won

* The first quater against the hawks when the game was still there to be won

* The first and last qtr tonight when the game was there to be won

.. it is the seeds of an absolute massive smashing coming up.

its not bloody good enough. I'm all for being positive - but the difference between our best quarter and our worst quarter at the moment is ridiculous. We are essentially one qtr off being smashed by 170 points again. there is only so many times you can give the opponent a 7 goal lead at qtr time before this happens, and i am fearful that if it does happen - the obviously fickle confidence of this team will be shattered.

With a very winnable game against nth next week coming up - the last thing we needed to do tonight was bend over and spread our cheeks to the pies after a brilliant 3rd qtr. We needed to to take that confidence and momentum into next week and for once do more than just compete - but bloody win a game. Thats what success is built on

It amuses me watching all the fanboys come on here and regurgitate all the positive speak "blah blah" the coaching panel does each week, its all good an well talking about the 20 minutes of great football we played - but just ignoring and shrugging off the deplorable and meek football we played for 60 minutes is laughable.
Did you watch the game last night Astro ?

They tried to play a brand of football against the bench mark that is very tough to play , one that i have never seen a Richmond team have a crack at .

The modern move and carry brand . play on at all costs . straight up the guts . The effort and endeavour is there . If supporters can't see that then they are kidding themselves , its just the execution that is not happening . Wouldn't you rather they began this "era" playing a good brand of footy that will in the future actually take us somewhere rather the Wallace model of containment and damage control to try and make the scoreboard look respectable ?

The first quarter they botched it but slowly they got it together in the next couple of quarters to wind up only 4 and a bit goals at three quarter time.

Now i was as p1ssed off as any supporter about the last quarter but the fact is thats our best game against the filth for a number of years and the fact is you can see incremental improvement . We have been Collingwoods bitch for years now and they have it over us mentally in a major way but for a couple of quarters last night you could see the worm turning .

I wanted to rant and rave last night as well about the fade out and how disappointed i was but after a good nights sleep , a bit of morning glory and a nice cup of coffee it aint so bad once you settle down and put it in its perspective

Did you watch the game last night Astro ?

They tried to play a brand of football against the bench mark that is very tough to play , one that i have never seen a Richmond team have a crack at .

The modern move and carry brand . play on at all costs . straight up the guts . The effort and endeavour is there . If supporters can't see that then they are kidding themselves , its just the execution that is not happening . Wouldn't you rather they began this "era" playing a good brand of footy that will in the future actually take us somewhere rather the Wallace model of containment and damage control to try and make the scoreboard look respectable ?

The first quarter they botched it but slowly they got it together in the next couple of quarters to wind up only 4 and a bit goals at three quarter time.

Now i was as p1ssed off as any supporter about the last quarter but the fact is thats our best game against the filth for a number of years and the fact is you can see incremental improvement . We have been Collingwoods bitch for years now and they have it over us mentally in a major way but for a couple of quarters last night you could see the worm turning .

I wanted to rant and rave last night as well about the fade out and how disappointed i was but after a good nights sleep , a bit of morning glory and a nice cup of coffee it aint so bad once you settle down and put it in its perspective
Yeah I agree with this:thumbsu: We were always going to lose so why not experiment. What we have found out in the past 4 rounds is that we have 3 new 10 year players in Grigg, Conca and Batchelor.....and that at this early stage of our development we can match it with the best, if only for short periods.

I reckon Bathcelor is an absolute beauty and the pick of the litter for mine .

He is a backline general of the Nick Maxwell variety

Love him

Will you all stop being naive? We are a truly hopeless and spineless outfit not fit to play in the AFL.

3rd quarter? The Pies eased off but they simply pushed away in the end with ease. They could have won by 120 if they had wanted to but were saving themselves.

Will you all stop being naive? We are a truly hopeless and spineless outfit not fit to play in the AFL.

3rd quarter? The Pies eased off but they simply pushed away in the end with ease. They could have won by 120 if they had wanted to but were saving themselves.
Geez, thanks for the epiphany:thumbsu: Ok then lets extrapolate that out...hmmmmm we drew with the Saints so off they go to the VFL.....and we really could have beaten Carlton so they are on shaky ground and Collingwood were only saved by that last quarter..:rolleyes:

Honestly mate do you truly believe Collingwood were only saved by the last qtr.? They coasted for a while then went up a gear. They won as they liked.

Why was the attendance 30,000 down on the Pies V Blues game last week? Because away for here where we try to find positives the majority of fans know what was going to happen....what did happen....a flogging.

I'm sick of all the touchy feely feelgood stuff. Richmond are a poor footy side.