rgauci

DOCKERS
For the first time in our history, we have a FB (not a CHB) capable of competing physically with the gorilla full forwards.

I'm talking about Luke McPharlin. His stint in the forwardline has proved an education process, he has played against the best fullbacks in the comp and has learned the art of the trade.

His game against Rocca and Neitz has given me the utmost confidence is his ability to play on the last line. Even when Luke was dominating at CHB he was never given the task of the big guys. I remember several games where he was tried at fullback and failed dismally.

When he lined up on Neitz, i thought he matched him for size, we know he matches him athletically, and it proved a great matchup.

Hopefully Luke can keep this form in the backline, as it will go along way to securing us September action.

Gone are the days where Fremantle are dominated by Gorilla forwards. Hopefully. Though our backline looks a treat at the moment, and will go from strength to strength with the return of Grover.

rgauci said:
For the first time in our history, we have a FB (not a CHB) capable of competing physically with the gorilla full forwards.

I'm talking about Luke McPharlin. His stint in the forwardline has proved an education process, he has played against the best fullbacks in the comp and has learned the art of the trade.

His game against Rocca and Neitz has given me the utmost confidence is his ability to play on the last line. Even when Luke was dominating at CHB he was never given the task of the big guys. I remember several games where he was tried at fullback and failed dismally.

When he lined up on Neitz, i thought he matched him for size, we know he matches him athletically, and it proved a great matchup.

Hopefully Luke can keep this form in the backline, as it will go along way to securing us September action.

Gone are the days where Fremantle are dominated by Gorilla forwards. Hopefully. Though our backline looks a treat at the moment, and will go from strength to strength with the return of Grover.
I was saying the same thing to my mate at the game yesterday.
Can't wait for Grover to come back to take the other big dude.
Saw Johnson on the wing on a number of occasions.
Wonder whether that will last?

Dead right, rgauci. The part about what he would have learned while playing FF was pretty insightful.

As for Johhno (Lach72) playing on the wing I noticed that aswell but looking more closely I think he was playing on HB flank and was just following his man for the centre bounces.

Yes it was great watching him wasn't it. I reckon it was one of the few occassions where across the board our backline was fighting within its weight/height division. Usually there are mismatches, sometimes in our favour, and often involving Parker, be it on someone small, or much bigger. And yet it is the backline where three of our better players with injuries would slot in.

Well done MacP.

Lach72 said:
I was saying the same thing to my mate at the game yesterday.
Can't wait for Grover to come back to take the other big dude.
Saw Johnson on the wing on a number of occasions.
Wonder whether that will last?

He was playing in the ruck

The reasons for improved form is Sandi accepting the challenge of rucking most of the games solo - he's in the groove and he should be allowed to ruck most of the time even if Tallmuir comes back(80%) of the time.

Elvis in the backline

Big Carr taking on a "run with role" releasing One Melee Dodd to the backline

Roger recapturing his 2003 form

Josh taking over the centre role, Bomber gaining in confidence, Second Chance Crowley grabbing his chance, DJ repaying the faith from Connolly.

Tatter , Pav and Wiz not getting in each other's space

rgauci said:

McPharlin has the potential to be a very good player down back or forward but I wouldn't get too excited these are two fading Gorilla forwards that he has done a job on. Rocca is washed up if he could only manage one goal against that pathetic Eagles outfit that turned up on Saturday, he is truly struggling 11 goals in 7 weeks for a supposed quality forward. As for Neitz he hasn't kicked a goal in his last two matches and never stands up when he is really needed. I would like to see how McPharlin goes this weekend on a quality FF in Fev.

i agree 110% will be nice to have roger delivering ball from backline with munday there also

then i reckon we should release jono to wing at times with his atletism he can run circles around others munday to jono or roger the doger to munday to jono or doger to jono to forward line....

man tiems are looking nice...especially with grover and rash to come back can free up munday to midfield also...

kanabar said:
i agree 110% will be nice to have roger delivering ball from backline with munday there also

then i reckon we should release jono to wing at times with his atletism he can run circles around others munday to jono or roger the doger to munday to jono or doger to jono to forward line....

man tiems are looking nice...especially with grover and rash to come back can free up munday to midfield also...

Dude can you speak english, type or spell? Until then please stop posting rubbish that hurts the eyes and damages the brain.

Malpaso, I understand what he was saying, he is a loyal docker supporter , not everyone has education standards of einstine. I suggest you go elsewhere.

Gee, we forget one Steven O'Reilly pretty quickly don't we! He was the best full back in the league in the late 90's - and unlike Silvagni he could actually kick.

But back on topic - with McP back there the backline looks a whole lot better. Johnson is allowed to roam free a lot more and use his run - as does Hayden. If he can keep Fevola to 3 goals or less this week we should have a comfortable win.

Thinking back to the start of the year, I remember McPharlin stating he'd done a lot of gym work in a move to become a better forward. Little did he know he was actually becoming a better FB at the same time.

I agree Ripper, but I also have had trouble reading Kanabar's posts and have tried to suggest a number of times (without offending) that he proofread his posts so we can all better appreciate his opinions.
Not having a dig here, but am I right in guessing that English may not be your first language Kanabar?

Roundhouse said:
I agree Ripper, but I also have had trouble reading Kanabar's posts and have tried to suggest a number of times (without offending) that he proofread his posts so we can all better appreciate his opinions.
Not having a dig here, but am I right in guessing that English may not be your first language Kanabar?

I understand peoples frustration , but has it occured to you all that karnabar may be trying as hard as he can?

I for one am would rather decypher his input than not have him here at all.

He does not need or deserve to be belittled because of his poor grammar.

Some of the smartest people in the world are dyslexic.

We are supposed to be the peoples club.

Ripper said:
I understand peoples frustration , but has it occured to you all that karnabar may be trying as hard as he can?

Agreed. That is why I suggested, and am beginning to suspect, that Kanabar may have attained fluency in a language other than English before being exposed to written English. I am no expert, but some of the mistakes made seem to me to indicate that. I never said he wasn't intelligent, and I would not belittle someone for poor English skills (for supporting the slime maybe). In any case, tolerance is a good thing and if Kanabar could tolerate a little judicious editing by the mods, or whoever, I think that his opinions could be more clearly heard, which is what we all want.
(Edit:I hope I don't sound like a condescending pr1ck. I think everyone deserves to say what they want, and get their message across.)

Rob said:
Gee, we forget one Steven O'Reilly pretty quickly don't we! He was the best full back in the league in the late 90's - and unlike Silvagni he could actually kick.

Tell me you're joking please...

Ripper said:

Yeah, I thought malpaso was a being a bit oversensitive.

But the real question is, do we have any evidence that kanabar is a bloke?

I believe Kanabar hails from another country and is not the most fluent in english.

It is great to have an international freo fan.

In response to the actual thread, I am so glad we have turned the corner and managed to avoid the roundabout and miss the 2 parked cars!!
(hehe twisting the thread myself now)