Oops Chris

No chance of an Australian cricketer doing the same, we've media trained their personalities into oblivion following Warnies exploits over the years :p

Outraged seems extreme. Not sure why people keep using it.

I think it would still be inappropriate workplace behaviour technically but harassment is unsolicited and unwelcome advances. Her reciprocating would show she wasn't embarrassed, humiliated or disappointed as she put it and so it wouldn't be much of an event.

The wider story is Gayle has offended others in this way and the accounts of other journalists shows it is not limited to Gayle. The concern is really the bigger issue aside from Gayle.

I'd say outraged is pretty spot on, considering I've been bombarded from all media angles today about the whole thing, and heard the word 'harrassment' and 'inappropriate' about a thousand times each in the last 24 hours.

Are you being deliberately obtuse?

I have an interest in workplace harassment, not media reports on flirtatious tennis players.

I had zero knowledge of it until today and I gave an opinion on it when asked. I said that on the surface it is not appropriate but she may skate by because her compliments him on something that is actually a tool of his trade, his manner of speaking. She then talks about paying attention to his form, which is probably flirtatious in the way she said it, but could still be talking about his manner of speaking. It is further muddied by the fact that he reciprocated the compliments so it appears whatever was happening was mutual.

I asked you on a couple of occasions if these other examples you raised invalidated the McLaughlin example and you ignored it.

Oh and it's not a case of being outraged. It's a case of recognising why a female journalist would be offended.

It's in your best interests to make the opposing argument sound extreme however, because you haven't got much aside from rhetoric to support yours.
Never thought there would be a day where I disagree with you ODN, but here we go :D

The bolded bit is where the 'argument' breaks down. Because Gayle is being flamed for being inappropriate in the workplace - it didn't really matter how Mel reacted in the sense that what Gayle did was unnecessary and uncalled for, regardless. (So goes the story, anyway)

Now I'm no expert on gender equality, but I would have thought that the exact same standard must be upheld by both male and female sports starts in this instance. You're basically saying in the Sharapova case that because he took it well it more or less makes it okay? So if Mel took it well and there were no issues between her and Gayle, would that have made what he did okay? The answer can only be yes using the above logic. And that goes completely against those who are up in arms about this.

So if Mel took it well and there were no issues between her and Gayle, would that have made what he did okay?

I think that's pretty much the legal viewpoint (but will stand corrected). 'Harassment' is constituted by further approaches after the recipient has made it clear they are unwelcome. That's what my current employer teaches, anyway.

God what a media beat-up over something so insignificant.

He said he wanted to talk with her, that initial statement was fine in my opinion.

She seemed to be massively irritated with that, and got stroppy on screen. So Gayle then went and dug himself a hole in an attempt to patch it over.
When he added 'don't blush baby' - that was then very inappropriate.

Accordingly, Gayle apologised for the comment. And Ten apologised for the broadcast of it. End of.

This inane over analysing of a five second statement made by a sportsperson two secs after coming off the field is ridiculous.

Not everything in life has a deep and hidden meaning. Why did the magpie fly into the window? What was it looking at? Did the window do something to cause it? Should the window apologise?

No, it was just a magpie that flew into a window. It happened. It was unfortunate. It was unintentional. End of. Jesus Christ.

What's she doing there then?

I keep hearing people bleating about workplace harassment etc etc.

Mel is employed by Network Ten.

Chris is employed by the Melbourne Renegades / Cricket Australia.

It's like saying Channel 9's camera man making an inappropriate comment to a WACA hot chips vendor is workplace harassment. Chris is NOT a colleague of Mel's. While you find it cringeworthy and daggy, a chat up line to a random female is not illegal or harassment of any sort.

So the defences of his behaviour essentially amount to

- It was a bit of harmless fun
- She is hot and works in the media so she has to cop this
- He is a cricketer and can do what he wants in interviews
- Everyone is racist
- Not harassment cause its not a workplace

Have i missed any here?

No you haven't missed any. In fact, a fairly comprehensive list of cliches of which no person is saying.

You know, not everything has to be an extreme in life.

The positions are NOT simply 1) Chris is a sexist bastard that should be banned for life or 2) Oh it was fine and humorous.

There is a grey area in between, where most of the population lies, which would view this exchange and summarise that it was cringeworthy, inappropriate, warranted an apology but not worthy of further analysis and media comment for days afterwards.

No you haven't missed any. In fact, a fairly comprehensive list of cliches of which no person is saying.

The positions are NOT simply 1) Chris is a sexist bastard that should be banned for life or 2) Oh it was fine and humorous.

There is a grey area in between, where most of the population lies, which would view this exchange and summarise that it was cringeworthy, inappropriate, warranted an apology but not worthy of further analysis and media comment for days afterwards.

plus the fact that even tho CG is an international cricketer, his cultural language is Jamaican, yet we have transposed an Australia2016 cultural interpretation.

The fact that he is an international cricketer would insulate him from any cross-cultural language dialogue, part of the off-the-field demand of CG, is his Caribbean sensibility and cultural language. He is never forced into a situation to navigate the misinterpretation and misperception. until...

the devil's advocate to me (against me), "how will we (as a society/Aus culture) change in 2016 if this is acceptable?". Well, that is too simplistic, but 1. Brownlow night central casting, and 2. Buddy Fanklin/Warne nocturnal activities. If you can change this primordial motive and impulses, from men and females, great. But thowing a cult of feminism into the path of CG is just as ignorant as CG was in the first place. But CG is understandable, gender studies university grads should have an element of sentience

oh really

954864-angela-bishop.jpg

P.S
This is what she'll look like in 20 odd years

29July_BronwynBishop_800x600.jpg
Kelli Underwood did not last long as a commentator, Sam Lane on BeforeTheGame does not count cos that is more of an entertainment show

It's like I'm reading A Brief History of Sport in the Twentieth Century, by Yoda.
Boris Becker conceived a child with a waitress.

He just met the waitress.

It was called Noma.

A chi-chi restaurant.

The restaurant was Japanese culinary.

It was owned by Robert Deniro and the eponymous chef Noma.

The "conception" occurred in the cloakroom.

God what a media beat-up over something so insignificant.

He said he wanted to talk with her, that initial statement was fine in my opinion.

She seemed to be massively irritated with that, and got stroppy on screen. So Gayle then went and dug himself a hole in an attempt to patch it over.
When he added 'don't blush baby' - that was then very inappropriate.

Accordingly, Gayle apologised for the comment. And Ten apologised for the broadcast of it. End of.

This inane over analysing of a five second statement made by a sportsperson two secs after coming off the field is ridiculous.

Not everything in life has a deep and hidden meaning. Why did the magpie fly into the window? What was it looking at? Did the window do something to cause it? Should the window apologise?

No, it was just a magpie that flew into a window. It happened. It was unfortunate. It was unintentional. End of. Jesus Christ.

I keep hearing people bleating about workplace harassment etc etc.

Mel is employed by Network Ten.

Chris is employed by the Melbourne Renegades / Cricket Australia.

It's like saying Channel 9's camera man making an inappropriate comment to a WACA hot chips vendor is workplace harassment. Chris is NOT a colleague of Mel's. While you find it cringeworthy and daggy, a chat up line to a random female is not illegal or harassment of any sort.
Utter stupidity. Again, if it's not her workplace what's she doing there? She's a journalist. It's her job. It's her workplace.

Dude are you for real? Did you read what I posted, or not? Of course it's her workplace. I explicitly stated she is employed by Network Ten. I also explicitly stated that Chris is NOT a colleague of Mel's - and therefore, choose whatever phrase you want in the universe to describe it - it's not workplace harassment.
That's not a comment on the remarks themselves or their importance. Just a fact.

A police officer on duty being taunted by a member of the public is not workplace harassment.
A window cleaner being hit on the head by a stone chucked by a delinquent twerp on the street is not workplace harassment.
A garbo abused by a passing motorist is not workplace harassment.

A police officer rubbing against a fellow police officer outside her cubicle is workplace harassment.
A window cleaner being bullied by his superiors is workplace harassment.
A garbo having sexual advances made on him by a fellow garbo employed by the council is workplace harassment.

I can't believe I've had to explain something so simple to you.
As you said, utter stupidity. READ slowly and carefully next time.

Dude are you for real? Did you read what I posted, or not? Of course it's her workplace. I explicitly stated she is employed by Network Ten. I also explicitly stated that Chris is NOT a colleague of Mel's - and therefore, choose whatever phrase you want in the universe to describe it - it's not workplace harassment.
That's not a comment on the remarks themselves or their importance. Just a fact.

A police officer on duty being taunted by a member of the public is not workplace harassment.
A window cleaner being hit on the head by a stone chucked by a delinquent twerp on the street is not workplace harassment.

A police officer rubbing against a fellow police officer outside her cubicle is workplace harassment.
A garbo having sexual advances made on him by a fellow garbo employed by the council is workplace harassment.

She is at work. She is in her workplace. She was made to feel uncomfortable whilst doing her job. Simple. Come up with whatever abstract hypotheticals you like, or try to twist it by arguing it's not technically "workplace harassment". She was at work and made to feel uncomfortable whilst doing her job. Whatever you say, it won't change that simple truth.

If you're not spruiking one of the above I'm probably not talking to or about you.

Although someone else has done the whole "cultural differences" thing too so we need to add that.

She is at work. She is in her workplace. She was made to feel uncomfortable whilst doing her job. Simple. Come up with whatever abstract hypotheticals you like, or try to twist it by arguing it's not technically "workplace harassment". She was at work and made to feel uncomfortable whilst doing her job. Whatever you say, it won't change that simple truth.

No worries mate. You're arguing around in circles - I can't be bothered. I think I comprehensively covered the position in my post.

It's OK to admit you're wrong sometimes. Even if you don't want to admit it - just sit in silent defeat and take it humbly. :)

No worries mate. You're arguing around in circles - I can't be bothered. I think I comprehensively covered the position in my post.

It's OK to admit you're wrong sometimes. Even if you don't want to admit it - just sit in silent defeat and take it humbly. :)
k

No, it is, and you've missed the point, and all your examples are of someone at work being harassed by a random. He was at work, she was at work. While they have different employers, it's the same as someone harassing a contractor or cleaner, which industrial law and precedent has found is covered.

It's pretty open and shut. I don't understand why people are rushing to defend him so, particularly as all the other cases involving other female journalists have started coming out.

People at work should feel safe from harassment, bullying and humiliation. She was not due to his actions. Channel 10 have a responsibility to ensure she isn't put in that position again, and Cricket Australia have a responsibility to ensure Gayle does not continue acting in this way.

Again, I implore everyone to go and listen to Neroli Meadows and Melinda Farrell discuss it.

It's only a joke if the journalist is in on it. If it offends her, upsets her or angers her, it's completely unacceptable for him to try and maintain that it's a joke.
If it offends her, upsets her or angers her it is completely unacceptable to believe the joke didn't fall wide of the mark and wasn't inappropriate. It is still a joke though.

Never thought there would be a day where I disagree with you ODN, but here we go :D

The bolded bit is where the 'argument' breaks down. Because Gayle is being flamed for being inappropriate in the workplace - it didn't really matter how Mel reacted in the sense that what Gayle did was unnecessary and uncalled for, regardless. (So goes the story, anyway)

Now I'm no expert on gender equality, but I would have thought that the exact same standard must be upheld by both male and female sports starts in this instance. You're basically saying in the Sharapova case that because he took it well it more or less makes it okay? So if Mel took it well and there were no issues between her and Gayle, would that have made what he did okay? The answer can only be yes using the above logic. And that goes completely against those who are up in arms about this.

You put a lot of words into my mouth there. I never said it was okay. I said on the surface it was inappropriate but talked about factors that muddied the waters.

You are reducing this to 1. At work 2. Sexual advances = same thing.

A key word you have to consider for sexual harassment is 'unwanted'.

A key word you have to consider for workplace harassment is 'humiliation'.

Yes they might both have violated workplace policies as to appropriate behaviour while at work but that's an individual workplace thing.

The key issue in the McLaughlin case is how it made her feel.

The key issue for me overall is that it belittled her job status and it's a problem that affects female journalists in general.

Oh. My. God. Did anyone listen to SEN the past hour when they were discussing this?

Admittedly it was Schibeci, Rodney Hogg, and a confused-sounding Smokey Dawson, so I wasn't exactly expecting a meeting of Mensa. But they managed to be sexist, racist, and virtually every other "ist" you can imagine.

Among the humdingers they came up with were:

* Asking Mel to go out was just the same as if he'd asked a male journo to go for a beer after the game.
* T20 is "fun and games", so Mel has to "expect" that kind of behaviour.
* Mel is an attractive female, so her primary function is eye candy and to be hit on.
* Gayle has form with being sleazy to women, so if Mel was surprised or upset, then it's her fault for not doing her research.
* Female journos shouldn't interview West Indies players "unless they know what they're getting in for". Cause, you know, all black men are randy womanisers who can't keep it in their pants for 5 minutes.

There was also a nice Audio Blackface with one of them pretending to be Gayle doing an interview with a male journo, to show how "harmless" it was.

Yeah. Real Classy. :thumbsu:

While all of that stuff is obviously a no go, Gayle was created by the Ten and BBL publicity machine. He was seen poolside with bikini clad girls, smoking cigars, drinking champagne, all part of the newly created "cricketing playboy" image. This was an incident just waiting to happen, i wonder if this isn't what Ten really wanted? Dwayne Bravo had a crack at Mel two years during an interview, virtually went unnoticed, but the BBL is a lot bigger now than it was in January 2014. Gayle has the reputation as a womaniser, Mel handled the move very well IMO, now Gayle is being dumped on by the very same people who created his persona in the first place? I doubt we will see Chris Gayle here again next year, not in prudish Australia. When it comes to whingeing, we have world-beating skills, what Chris Gayle failed to realise when accepting his role as cricketing playboy was, in Australia the new puritanism is alive, well and powerful. So he is now fined 10k for being flirtatious;), what fine will Dusty Martin cop now? On the Gayle scale somewhere close to 100k might be right?

I can't believe people here and the media are still going on about this.

A few stupid flippant remarks made in a brief boundary side interview in a hit and giggle cricket game and suddenly it's blown up into WW3.

The way this country over reacts to every minor non PC incident these days is both ridiculous and embarrassing, even Mel McLaughlin said she's accepted Gayle's apology and wants to move on while Gayle must be shaking his head at the media witchhunt of him which has resulted in him having to pay an unnecessary $10k fine just to appease the frothing media/PC brigade.

Good grief.

I can't believe people here and the media are still going on about this.

A few stupid flippant remarks made in a brief boundary side interview in a hit and giggle cricket game and suddenly it's blown up into WW3.

The way this country over reacts to every minor non PC incident these days is both ridiculous and embarrassing, even Mel McLaughlin said she's accepted Gayle's apology and wants to move on while Gayle must be shaking his head at the media witchhunt of him which has resulted in him having to pay an unnecessary $10k fine just to appease the frothing media/PC brigade.

Good grief.

The other thing is that the frothing media were the ones that played up his off field persona, then backed up the truck so fast your head will spin as soon as he played to the 'character' they'd helped create.

The whole incident and reaction is a load of crock

The guy was fooling around, no harm intended.

Mel, says this does not need the reaction or the air time it has received.

Move on people, nothing to see here.....
No she doesn't - Gayle did this.

But she said it is good people are talking about it. Her colleagues are standing up for her. His colleagues are standing up for her.