Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

really good interview.

would of liked Mike to ask him about the day he broke his arm against Carlton as it was one of the worst injuries i have ever seen.

Happy to see Barnesy get a bit of Fox cash. Sounds like it'll come in handy.

Bit of a meh interview.
I tend to agree there. Maybe it's a Geelong thing but Mike could have gone into a little more depth about some of our GF losses & Barnesy's thougths - weren't we up to it, cracked under pressure etc? I mean I have my own views but I'd like to hear a player's thoughts. Apart from Blight he's the first I think to be interviewed on this show from that era. Ablett will probably never do it, don't think Buddha Hocking will either. Barnesy also grew up with Buddha, no mention of that, recruitment etc.

Plus how dare Mike cut short an Ablett story!!! I could listen to Ablett stories all day. I'd rather that than 10 minutes spent on questions around drinking.

It might be asking a bit much of Mike but I guess sometimes I want a little of the depth & quality of player reflections that the Final Story series seems to be able to deliver.

Haven't watched the Barnes interview, but I think one thing that has to be kept in mind is that the interview itself at the time of filming would last longer than 30 minutes but then be edited down to fit the constraints of a 30-minute program. So I don't think it is necessarily a reflection on Mike, or his interview subject, that they don't cover a particular issue about which people are interested.

The show really should go for an hour (or at least 45 minutes) - most guests are interesting enough to have that amount of time dedicated to their story and the interview could delve into more detail without feeling so rushed.

That was probably my favourite episode thus far. Barnsey was very entertaining and down to earth. I felt a bit sorry for him during the interview, he comes across as a guy who doesn't get the respect he deserves (namely from the Geelong Football club) and has had an ordinary run of luck recently.

Surely some un-filmed footage doesn't go to air.

They do film a lot more. The only version they re-released as an hour version was the Sam Newman one.

Barnes interview was shocking ( nearly as bad as Nixon's ) - Spoke like a Bogan - It had to be 'show' - I've met Barnes, and though he is not the most articulate guy on the planet, he speaks much better in real life. Barnes was a very good player !

That was probably my favourite episode thus far. Barnsey was very entertaining and down to earth. I felt a bit sorry for him during the interview, he comes across as a guy who doesn't get the respect he deserves (namely from the Geelong Football club) and has had an ordinary run of luck recently.

Seems a bit like he got chewed up and spat out of the footy industry. With respect to the bloke, it doesn't seem like he's got much going for him outside of footy. Would be nice to see clubs do a bit more for guys like him, to stop them falling through the cracks.

I could go both ways on that. I only caught bits and pieces of the interview, but when Mike asked him what he was doing (or prompted him with what he was doing), Barnes seemed happy enough to say that he was a garbo. Still, it saddens me a bit that he feels somewhat disrespected by Geelong and estranged from the club (I missed this part of the interview). That was a real issue for players from the 70s, 80s and 90s, but I was under the impression that it had improved with past players, especially since the premierships.

Still, I loved watching Barnes play. A bit on the short side, but that aside, he was pretty much the prototype of what teams are looking for these days in a ruckman.

I didn't think Barnes seemed at all disappointed about his current lot in life. In fact he seemed quite enchanted to talk about his current lot in life, namely his kids.

It's a reflection of the commenters here, more so than Barnes or the footy industry, to suggest that Barnes should be doing better for himself post footy.

I didn't think Barnes seemed at all disappointed about his current lot in life. In fact he seemed quite enchanted to talk about his current lot in life, namely his kids.

It's a reflection of the commenters here, more so than Barnes or the footy industry, to suggest that Barnes should be doing better for himself post footy.

Hey look, if he's happy with his life, good luck to him. Just seems a bit like he's been thrown on the scrap heap (pardon the pun) after footy, is all.

Barnesy's interview was pretty good.
A few years ago i heard him speak. He came in after a night on the turps and spoke to us.
When it was time to go and get his autograph he kept on farting. But that's what he's like.
Saw him play for melton and he got injured in the reserves. Asked him what had happened and how did he break his arm? He told me that he was going for a mark and had landed on his arm.