Opposition Obsession/Hypocrisy thread

Now and then, the way people see things differently really captures my attention.

In this thread:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=522296&page=2

We have Hodgepodge doing what he likes to do ... that is fantasise, use selective logic, make mismatch comparisons i.e troll Carlton. Well and good, no new formula, a little meh ... whatever. Inevitably he cops a bit back. The odd Hawk supporter starts to get apparently quite angry and abusive when it comes back which is kind of surprising since the Bay 13 numbers always favour whoever is against Carlton, so they should be able to wear a little comeback once in a while.

I digress. We then have a Hawks supporter throwing this line at a Carlton poster:

listen penetrator, why don't you pull up your ******** mates that post the absolute rubbish to start with?

Excuse me .... in a thread trolling Carlton started by a Hawks supporter .... well okay then.

Carlton supporters, please don't respond to Hodgepodge's trolling before he trolls and make it appear as though you responded afterwards. It upsets the other Hawks supporters on Bay 13.

Please do not start anything ... or end anything ... err ... or ... umm ... middle anything. :confused:

There's a few Blues supporters over there who are prone to some serious lameness I admit, but geez there are a few opposition frontrunners who can only work in the safety of a pack.

To all the thread subscribers whose hairs just stood up on end. Long time, no hear. *Yes yes, 'the Bay is beautiful and misunderstood' ... I know.

*Excerpt taken from 'Sitting on the Docker of the Bay' by S T Ronzo. Out now at all good book stores (and some pretty crap ones too). I recommend it to all, a great read right down to the last word, by one of BigFooty's finest.

One of BF's finest ay? :D

Flattery will get you everywhere..
:D

Come on Stronz ... admit it. You get just a little palpitation when this thread pops back up on your subscribed threads ... don't you? ;)

I'm wondering if an 'in-house' thread could be similarly useful in identifying the favourite whipping boys of certain Carlton posters.

Carazzo, Houlihan, Bannister, Cloke, Betts, Thornton, Stevens etc. tend to attract almost as much vitriol from the Carlton 'supporters' as they do from opposition supporters.

While I'm not suggesting that Carlton supporters don't have the right to question, critique or have negative opinions about Carlton players, surely you are all too well aware of those who always jump at any opporunity to sink their boot in in a manner which is way beyond constructive criticism.

At times I'm even convinced that the venom certain Carlton supporters can display towards our own players surpasses any that they have for opposition players (recent examples: TerryWallet's undying love for Thornton, wdgann's unconditional support of Eddie Betts).

Advance notice should assist other Cartlon posters to take these posters' comments about their whipping boys with a 10kg sack of salt and not be as likely to get baited into a spiteful exchange.

Why are Richmond nuffies so obsessed/convinced we are cheating the salary cap ?

Another muppet just wasted a whole lot of bandwidth saying Pratt hiring an Manhattedn penthouse for the Carlton players in the off-season is a rort ???

I swear those yellow and Black turds are paranoid and insecure ever since we swept the box seat from under their fat arses and got Chris Judd :D :D

****ing Russell - he's useless! Get rid of him! AAAAHHHHHHH! :mad:

You raise a valid point Tigs....how TF did I manage to leave Russell off that list of players?!?! :eek:

Pratt offered to fly 9 senior players to Macau by private jet. The club were told and said no. There is a common theme running through that offer, all Carlton related. Unlikely that Pratt was friends with them all.

With the Fevola thing, Pratt owns the apartment. There is no extra cost in Fev staying there a few days (aside from any possible cleaner visits) and Pratt did not fly him there or pay for his holiday. The stay at Pratt's apartment was just a portion of Fev's family holiday.

They are trying to draw a link between the two but one of the mods there deleted the thread before it could be refuted.

:D

Come on Stronz ... admit it. You get just a little palpitation when this thread pops back up on your subscribed threads ... don't you? ;)
Lets just say the tissue box is next to the monitor for a reason...

There are no successful Carlton trolls on Bay 13, because they are not allowed to be successful by virtue of the club they support, and our current standing amongst the other clubs.

ODN, respectfully I disagree with this.

Stronzo and I - to give but two examples - are significantly handicapped by our teams' lack of success. Even so, we are out there in Bay 13 having a crack with various degree of success (or failure).

True, there is a great deal of odium associated with the Carlton Football Club.

Nevertheless, a tier one poster should be able to transcend this constraint. Bay 13-wise, your tribe has simply not got the cattle or, to jump metaphors, the firepower to mount a real challenge as you should.

In lieu of this, you default to the likes of Peashooter and WeAreLimpAgain and the two turncoats you have to your name.

Stronzo, I would be interested to hear your opinion - oh to operate under such constraints !

Biffinator

Stronzo and I - to give but two examples - are significantly handicapped by our teams' lack of success. Even so, we are out there in Bay 13 having a crack with various degree of success (or failure).

Nevertheless, a tier one poster should be able to transcend this constraint. Bay 13-wise, your tribe has simply not got the cattle or, to jump metaphors, the firepower to mount a real challenge as you should.

In lieu of this, you default to the likes of Peashooter and WeAreLimpAgain and the two turncoats you have to your name.

Stronzo, I would be interested to hear your opinion - oh to operate under such constraints !

Biffinator

Fair dinkum, we don't rate in a kindergarten level pissing contest? Where's the gun, what's the point of living? What an absolute boneheaded irrelevance you'd be. :o

Nevertheless, a tier one poster should be able to transcend this constraint. Bay 13-wise...

Would have thought a tier one poster should be able to transcend the temptation to visit Bay 13.

You aren't handicapped by your lack of success......you are handicapped by the fact that your team of choice is irrelevant in the current environment. Carlton has had a lack of success over the last 7 years yet still generates the most interest on Bay 13.

I'm not sure what you mean by odium. Perhaps it is odious for Bay 13 Carlton posters to be continually responding to the same trolls over and over. Perhaps it is odious for Carlton posters to be responding in the same way each time a troll appears. I personally find your threads/posts odious as they are nothing but long winded diatribes on why Carlton is evil.

You must be disappointed not to find any intellectual heavyweights who support Carlton lurking in Bay 13 to match your wordy and self aggrandizing style of posting. Why would a Carlton supporter bother with initialising anything on Bay 13? We have a good enough time recognising that the club we support is pertinent in the eyes of all Bay 13 posters no matter what the issue being discussed.

Not sure what you mean by default? If your aim is to rid Bay 13 of all decent Carlton posters then perhaps in your eyes you have succeeded. You should be congratulated on that.

WeAreLimpAgain, thanks for the reply, which is quite lengthy by your normal standards. Here is a definition of the word odium for your edification:

1 : the state or fact of being subjected to hatred and contempt as a result of a despicable act or blameworthy circumstance

2 : hatred and condemnation accompanied by loathing or contempt

3 : disrepute or infamy attached to something

As you know, I am here to help.

Biffinator.

WeAreLimpAgain, thanks for the reply, which is quite lengthy by your normal standards. Here is a definition of the word odium for your edification:

1 : the state or fact of being subjected to hatred and contempt as a result of a despicable act or blameworthy circumstance

2 : hatred and condemnation accompanied by loathing or contempt

3 : disrepute or infamy attached to something

As you know, I am here to help.

Biffinator.

Despite my apparrent ignorance my response was intended to demonstrate how petty your odium towards Carlton is, has and can be.

Some Carlton supporters on Bay 13 may incite hatred with their responses as they merely repeat inanely what they have said again and again. Perhaps some responses lack originality and thought. Or is it that your deep seated hatred is reinforced by our inability to see that Carlton are in fact an evil organisation. Is it inaccurate then to think that the same threads appearing again and again will not stir up similar hatred amongst Carlton supporters?

No doubt your hatred is genuine as evidenced by the fact that 99% of your posts are anti-Carlton but is it unhealthy for you to concede to this emotion and let it consume you?

If your aim is to inform the masses that Carlton are worthy of hate then I think you have succeeded.

It's time to move on my friend.

If you feel it is not time to move on then I am afraid the odium will continue from both parties.

Biffinator
I'd suggest to you that the only Carlton posters who are respected on Bay 13 are those that both ignore Carlton related trolls and refrain from trolling other clubs (i.e Thrawn who might debate a Carlton point but not fire back as such) or those that are happy to send up their own club.
Those willing to take the piss out of their own club are happily embraced on Bay 13.

From my observations the same expectations are not saddled on supporters of most other teams. All supporters on Bay 13 defend their own club, and usually take things way too seriously where their own club are concerned. I refer to Hawks supporters who are big on trolling Carlton on Bay 13 but become indignant when the reverse happens. The reaction from the rest of Bay 13 usually differs though. Carlton supporters become indignant, they are sooks, girls, princesses, epic failures etc etc. If they troll at an equal quality to the group of supporters they are trolling, their trolls are not recognised as readily as their counterparts as the success of a troll is dictated by the masses. If the masses find a particular supporter group to be distasteful, they wouldn't recognise the greatest troll in the world. If the subject is close to home, they wouldn't recognise a good troll.

See, you may hate many teams, but if supporters of your second most hated team are ridiculing supporters of your most hated team, then the first group temporarily become your friends as you have a common goal.

That is how Bay 13 works for the most part. Whoever has the numbers decides what is good and what is to be ridiculed. 'Judd is a dud' .... haha, epic troll, let's jump on it and have fun with it and everyone comes up with 'funny' reasons why Judd is a dud. Carlton supporter says that a slightly lesser player from another club is a dud, he is coming from a reduced pecking order. Universally his troll is idiotic, a failure, based on rubbish.

Bay 13 picks and chooses what it considers funny and half the time it is not based on quality but based on common interests. When this happens it is just like a group of mates, holding some poor bloke back while he gets pummelled when one on one, he could hold his own.

Or perhaps it is more akin to a boxing match where the judges are paid off. You deliver a series of well aimed jibes at your opponent, who responds with something inane and the judges hold up scorecards indicating that the inferior quality opponent won the bout.

I'm not complaining about it. I just wanted to say that is what my perception is.

If you genuinely consider this a point of debate, I'd be happy to keep a running commentary about Bay 13 threads that are symptomatic of this over the coming weeks if you like (time permitting of course).

I consider myself an amateur study of human nature and like to sit back and watch people interract on occasion.

btw Bay 13 derogatory nicknames for Carlton supporters won't fly here. If you have decent intentions, then you should try to temper your natural tendencies while visiting.

Cheers

ODN, yes, it is hard to disagree with your analysis, which is insightful.

Yes, it is all about the convergence of common interests and temporary alliances - and all too often the Law of the Lowest Common Denominator prevails on Bay 13.

I also notice in myself - and I cannot be Robinson Crusoe in this regard - a tendency to avoid trolling teams where mates are involved (with me, say North)

Happy to conduct this discussion over the next few weeks.

And yes, I will curb my "natural tendencies" whilst on this forum.

Biffinator

Biffinator
Biff, I don't think we should upset the status quo for the blues fans, I think that is their job if they want it.
Despite my apparrent ignorance my response was intended to demonstrate how petty your odium towards Carlton is, has and can be.

Some Carlton supporters on Bay 13 may incite hatred with their responses as they merely repeat inanely what they have said again and again. Perhaps some responses lack originality and thought. Or is it that your deep seated hatred is reinforced by our inability to see that Carlton are in fact an evil organisation. Is it inaccurate then to think that the same threads appearing again and again will not stir up similar hatred amongst Carlton supporters?

No doubt your hatred is genuine as evidenced by the fact that 99% of your posts are anti-Carlton but is it unhealthy for you to concede to this emotion and let it consume you?

If your aim is to inform the masses that Carlton are worthy of hate then I think you have succeeded.

It's time to move on my friend.

If you feel it is not time to move on then I am afraid the odium will continue from both parties.
Wow you sound like someone I know...

Biffinator

Bay 13, home of the keyboard hero:rolleyes:
You obviously lead a fulfilling life :D

Bay 13, home of the keyboard hero:rolleyes:
You obviously lead a fulfilling life :D

:thumbsu:
If these 2 embarrassments have kids they should read some of their own work out at home. Sonny Jim would shake his head sadly (just like Sylvester the Cat's son - "Oh Father") and crawl from the room.

They'd be considered mildly clever themselves - if they were 12 years old. :o:o

No mod stuff though please.

Mate this is an embarrasing thread. Until we play finals that's when we should create threads like these. And to be fair, the mods on this forum have been precious when it comes to opposition trolls from previous times.

Lets start being cocky when we play finals, not when we get Judd and high draft picks.

:thumbsu:
If these 2 embarrassments have kids they should read some of their own work out at home. Sonny Jim would shake his head sadly (just like Sylvester the Cat's son - "Oh Father") and crawl from the room.

They'd be considered mildly clever themselves - if they were 12 years old. :o:o

Thylacine60 and WB - I am not here to argue with small fry. If ODN is happy enough to conduct this discussion, all well and good. I look forward to it.

And yes, I have children and here are some of the values that I endeavour to instill in them:

• Obey the law.
  • Obey the Moral Law.
  • Always be honest with yourself
  • Do not cheat.
  • Always try your very best.
  • Genuine success comes with hard work, not short cuts.
What do you think of these principles?

Biffinator.