Our 2016 game style

There's only one style I like, and that's Greek style.
Really? I liked Demetriou as a player when I was a kid but he was more of an outside floater. Don’t think he'd go so well in Scott's contested-ball-first style.

Anyone believe that as the team gets more mature and experienced, you develop quality over the ground, that more often that not each of our players will beat their opponent? Then the gameplan is as simple as see ball, get ball, and get it down to our forwards who will finish off?
Sometimes gameplans are of the extreme to hide certain weaknesses about a side. For example Fremantle goes extra defensive to mark their inability to score.
Thoughts?

It's interesting listening to Crows supporters who were saying how easy we were moving it out of defence and how open our forward line was. We are all harsh critics on our own team.

What i saw was two teams who came to play hard aggressive football and we came out on top. Thevl result would have been different if played at Adelaide i think.
Maybe yes maybe no. I don't think either side would've played any differently. I just think North were better when it counted this time around. Not to sound arrogant but we shut down a few of their guys who carved us up last year and limited the influence of a few who they thought might. We did the same thing the year before in Tassie. It was a great game, we got the win, let's worry about Brisbane. No offence. :eek:

Anyone believe that as the team gets more mature and experienced, you develop quality over the ground, that more often that not each of our players will beat their opponent? Then the gameplan is as simple as see ball, get ball, and get it down to our forwards who will finish off?
Sometimes gameplans are of the extreme to hide certain weaknesses about a side. For example Fremantle goes extra defensive to mark their inability to score.
Thoughts?

I think Taz we have matured to the point we know what best suits us. A contested, slow paced gameplan as we lack acceleration across the ground (could count on one hand genuine fast players (off the mark at least)), and Boomer is still one of them!! We also have multiple quality players on all lines even if lacking in the 'elite' stakes bar a couple/few.

I don't think we are as negative as Fremantle, but probably playing that way for similar reasons. One might also say the reason Fremantle struggle to score is because of their gameplan, so I guess (like us under Laidley) it's a two-edged sword to a degree of what is 'better' or 'worse'.

We should be in for a better year than last so let's hope it plays out that way, teams improve and decline, lets hope we are one that improves :thumbsu:

What I hate seeing is ziebell and the likes just kick it out of the clearance. When in 80% of the time he doesn't have an opposition player that could tackle him I say Line a Higgins, wells, boomer, Gibson or dal santo on the wing and get them to just start running forward look for that handball after you get the clearance lower the eyes bang Waite Petrie or brown shot, it's easy put it into practice we will win, no need for the hack kicks it's ugly wish the midfield group fix that.

I noticed some major, subtle changes. There's no doubt Mr Scott has tweaked the game plan a touch. He's put us on the hoist and greased up our rear end. We looked slick. Real slick.

there was an article today in the age where Bernie Vince is quoted as saying about North "they're a really fast team and they go get the ball in quick to their forwards" it's interesting to see the difference in what opposition players notice as opposed to people on this board... take that as you will ;)

When we do, we do. It's balanced off 'nicely' with lots of fart-arsing around with balls on the ground and in packs until that fast break opportunity opens up.

First of all, I have to say it's bloody refreshing to read an entire thread talking about football and strategy without the inane repeat conversations that other threads are prone to!

Secondly, I watched a lot of the Hawks v West coast game and what I found most interesting is that both teams hacked it out of the centre square (Ziebell / Cunners style) quite a bit. The difference was, they were set up for it much better and it was usually a team mate who got on the end of the quick kick. But still, outside of centre clearances I think these two teams (particularly the Hawks) were a level above us in general ball movement so we've got to improve in that area on the first 2 weeks (admittedly poor) showing

they know how to shift from 1st gear to 2nd gear and then 3rd gear fast this year.
hope they'll find 4th gear to beat bulldogs by round 6.

When we get through a press we can move the ball fast (what players remember). At times we struggle to get through a press (what supporters remember).

Higgo spoke about the game tactics this afternoon with Maher and Connolly

http://www.sen.com.au/news/afl/04-16/added-fatigue-makes-footy-a-game-of-two-halves-higgins#0TvPdf2pyA94QYiY.97

Added fatigue makes footy a game of two halves: Higgins

The AFL’s new 90 rotations interchange cap is pushing footy towards games where the style of play vastly changes after half-time, says Shaun Higgins.

The North Melbourne forward believes that while the interchange cap, first introduced at 120 rotations in 2014, did not initially have a major effect on games, last season showed that backlines were starting to break open late in the contest.

Higgins says that the further reduction to rotations introduced this season has created the same result as soon as the third quarter, creating a situation where teams play highly defensive before half-time but score heavily after the main break.

“I think we’re seeing last year that games were opening up midway through the last quarter and that’s starting to get a little bit earlier now,” he said on SEN Afternoons.

“The heat has definitely increased and early on in games we’ve seen teams defend really well but on the flipside sides have had time now to prepare how they want to move the footy and that’s why games are beginning to open up a bit earlier now.

“There’s fatigue factor as well with the interchange. There’s probably almost two games in one with the first half and second half.”

Rohan Connolly took a different view, believing teams were finding it difficult score towards the end of games.

“My observation is that teams are actually finding it hard to score at the end of games because they’re so fatigued,” The Age football writer said.

However Higgins says that fatigue can definitely contribute towards high scoring second halves, pointing to last Friday night’s thriller between Collingwood and Richmond as a sign that heavy scoring late in the game can happen.

“I think it all depends on who has the momentum. No doubt the fatigue factor is causing more mistakes during games. You look at the game last Friday night and there was three goals to four at half time and then the game was opened up after that,” the former Bulldog said.

“Momentum does change footy a little bit but it impacts the way you can move the footy from the mistakes point of view but I think the ability to squeeze teams in the front half and defend, sometimes teams are getting caught out in the second half.”
http://www.sen.com.au/news/afl/04-1...ame-of-two-halves-higgins#0TvPdf2pyA94QYiY.97

Higgo spoke about the game tactics this afternoon with Maher and Connolly

Thanks GR. It was an interesting even though they didn't get Shaun to talk as much as I would have liked (a players perspective is much more interesting to me than another journalist waxing lyrical over the parts of the game that will never come back)

Spitta has his say also:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-04-...rth-reduce-training-loads-says-andrew-swallow

ANDREW Swallow says adjusting to the new interchange cap has been a lot tougher than he envisaged.

Interchange rotations were reduced from a maximum of 120 a team to 90 ahead of this season, as part of the AFL's push to promote more open and flowing games.

The North Melbourne captain told AFL.com.au the reduced cap had taken a toll on players in the first two rounds of 2016, prompting the Roos to reduce their training loads.

"It's been tough, probably a lot harder than I thought it was going to be," Swallow said.

"It's definitely taking a much bigger toll on the players. We're probably doing less work early in the week than what we have been in previous years.

"I think it's probably going to take another month for everyone to get used to the way the game's being played and for your body to adapt and cope with that load."

Swallow entered 2016 on the back on a limited pre-season, with off-season surgery on both knees delaying his return to North's main training group until February.

After "battling" through North's three NAB Challenge games, the Roos skipper is confident his body is coming good.

"I feel like the body is getting better," Swallow said.

"I played all three NAB Challenge games just because I needed the match fitness, so it was good to get through that.

"But it feels like it's starting to turn the corner. I'm starting to move a bit more freely out there and am in a lot less pain, which makes it a bit easier."

North's 2-0 opening to 2016 is its best start to a season since 2005.

Swallow says the Roos' fast start to the year has created a "much better" atmosphere around the club than at the same time in previous seasons.

But as pleasing as it was to get the four points against Adelaide and the Brisbane Lions (at the Gabba), Swallow said North still had plenty of room for improvement.

"I don't think we're playing great footy at the moment," he said.

"We're getting wins, which we probably have battled to do in the past couple of years when we're not at our best, so from that point of view it's been pleasing."But our ball movement probably hasn't been great. Our defending has been better, I think we've got a pretty good balance there.

"But I think there's plenty of room for improvement with the way we move the footy."

Looked like a few boys were labouring a bit against Brisbane.

Interesting that internally we feel we are defending well, I thought that was an area we could improve a bit.

It's easy to forget that Spitta missed a lot of pre season. His ability to find it in him to still tackle relentlessly is a testament to his leadership.