Frustrated Tiger
Premium Platinum
Playing for Carlton will do that. ....He hasn't done anything. He looks nothing like the under 18 version of himself.

LIVE: Hawthorn v Geelong - Rd 4 - 3:15PM Mon
Squiggle tips Hawks at 65% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 4
SuperCoach Rd 4 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 4 AF Trades - AFF Talk - Capt/VC
Playing for Carlton will do that. ....He hasn't done anything. He looks nothing like the under 18 version of himself.
Astbury has shown he is a gun defender as well. Rance, Grimes and Astbury would make a mean defensive lineup against talls and mids.
Love these guys. Theyve been immense!!
Maybe if we can get astbury in as well some how we can get say a Bachelor, houli, vlastuin up the ground a bit more too. Although I know at thti stage dont want to mess around with whats working etc. But i like the options.
Still not a fan of chaplin. Does 1 really good thing then 3 really bad things. He always looks like hes going to go to ground and hes really not all that good 1 on 1. He can play well when hes zoning off but hes not really a good kick either. He does at least try and stay calm. I'd much rather astbury than him
Backline is looking very solid. I would like to see Dea play a bit at some stage, although he'll probably only get in if there's an injury. Unlike most others here I rate him. Need Astbury to come along and take Chaplin's spot in the next year or two.
Batch is going ok, he still needs to improve a bit though imo.
Vlastuin most people reckon he'll go into the middle at some stage, but to me he looks very natural in the backline and I can see him playing out a really good career there. One of my favourite players.
Actually it is.Was no coincidence we lost most games with Astbury in. He's alright one on one but too slow as part of a team defense helping out others imo. May replace Charlie Chaplin eventually but he struggles a bit nowadays
Actually it isn't.
When we were losing it sure as hell wasnt because of our defense. Sorry, but you are wrong.
No need to apologise mate, even I get it wrong sometimesWhen we were losing it sure as hell wasnt because of our defense. Sorry, but you are wrong.

I think you get it wrong all the time.No need to apologise mate, even I get it wrong sometimes
If Astbury is the gun you say he is, why isn't he playing AFL?
He played alright early last year, we lost most games though.I think you get it wrong all the time.
Ah because of injuries? He finally gets a chance, plays a few games then gets injured. When youre not in the team you have to push someone out, all of our backs are staying injury free and playing well. No space at the moment.
Maybe youre a goldfish and cant remember back to 2014. He had to cover when Rance was out and he played very, very well.
No, he played fantastic last year. We would have lost by a lot more if it wasnt for him. Us losing games had nothing to do with Astbury playing.He played alright early last year, we lost most games though.Ive never said he is shit, just not as good as the players in the backline at the moment and leaks goals due to his lack of speed. Alright 1 on 1 just not as a cog in our current cohesive back 6. Just because our opinions differ there is no need for the insults. Really highlights your maturity.
Agree to disagree. And no, they were not really 'personal insults'No, he played fantastic last year. We would have lost by a lot more if it wasnt for him. Us losing games had nothing to do with Astbury playing.
Hardwick - "He's been one of the shining lights this year. He's kept a lot of good players goalless."
Rance - ""He was probably one of the only shining lights for the start of the season and he's got an amazing ability to win one-on-one contests."
And yes hes better than Chaplin and Batch.
You think those are insults. Ha.
as such but not really required. Why resort to those tactics when not agreed with? Looking forward to your next reply which I'm sure you'll include some 'real insults' to reinforce your opinion which is all it is as is mine. Good night, sleep tight.Well I'll take Hardwick and Rance on my side and you take...ahhh...well you've got yours all to yourself.Agree to disagree. And no, they were not really 'personal insults'as such but not really required. Why resort to those tactics when not agreed with? Looking forward to your next reply which I'm sure you'll include some 'real insults' to reinforce your opinion which is all it is as is mine. Good night, sleep tight.
,I've been reading posters quoting it also. So like you I assumed Hunt, but knowing DH it's probably MorrisAnyone else keep hearing the club referring to the defence as the 'back 7'
Dimma mentioned it on the radio pregame along with Batcherlor mentioning it talking tigers..
So who is the back 7?
Rance
Chaplin
Grimes
Batcherlor
Vlastuin
Houli
Who is the 7th?
Hunt?

Yeah, Hunt is number 7.Anyone else keep hearing the club referring to the defence as the 'back 7'
Dimma mentioned it on the radio pregame along with Batcherlor mentioning it talking tigers..
So who is the back 7?
Rance
Chaplin
Grimes
Batcherlor
Vlastuin
Houli
Who is the 7th?
Hunt?
Its interesting that if you sort the ladder by Points For & Points Against rather than wins, when you order it by Points Against its very close to the actual ladder, however by Points For it is much more all over the place. Seems like we have the important part (defence) at the standard it needs to be to be a contender.The ladder says we have the fifth least points against. I know that's a combination of midfield and backline, but I'd say it agrees pretty well with my estimation. I'd maybe rate us fourth. That WCE press is covering for a backline that probably wouldn't cope with a one-on-one onslaught. (Until they get Brown and Mckenzie back, anyhow.)
Our backline are our strongest line, IMO, but they still have some improving to do before they look like a premiership back six (or seven).
I'm really impressed with Vlastuin. Have long thought another quality HBF was necessary. He is a big contributor to this year's improvement.
I reckon we could use a bit more attacking output from the pockets. Grimes and Batch are having great seasons defensively, but they are don't often give us much going the other way. Hunt's speed is fantastic, but his clangers can hurt. An upgrade there would help, too.
Good point.no pun intended.Its interesting that if you sort the ladder by Points For & Points Against rather than wins, when you order it by Points Against its very close to the actual ladder, however by Points For it is much more all over the place. Seems like we have the important part (defence) at the standard it needs to be to be a contender.
It goes both ways Spuddy Cats under Thompson ,lions under Mathews ,Tigers under Hafey and Hawks under Clarkson all filled their cupboards with silverware.Good point.no pun intended.
Scoring blowouts and dodgy draws skew Points For.
Consistently containing teams to low scores is a measure of a disciplined and well organised team.
When I look at teams that constantly kick big scores, I remember the Cats teams under Blight.
Attack at all costs, kick big scores, so exciting to watch but they won nothing.
The three teams you've quoted all had great back lines. Yeah, they also could score as well. The Swans, Eagles and Pies are three teams that recently(ish) won flags built primarily on defence. The Hawks would in all likelihood cut them to shreds though.It goes both ways Spuddy Cats under Thompson ,lions under Mathews ,Tigers under Hafey and Hawks under Clarkson all filled their cupboards with silverware.
Ask SRL how he's gone with over defensive sides????
They all had attaching backlinesThe three teams you've quoted all had great back lines. Yeah, they also could score as well. The Swans, Eagles and Pies are three teams that recently(ish) won flags built primarily on defence. The Hawks would in all likelihood cut them to shreds though.