Our Best Tagger

Young Crow plays it smart against guns
By RICHARD EARLE
31may06

THINK big jobs - think diminutive Nathan van Berlo.

At just 19, 73kg West Australian van Berlo is Adelaide coach Neil Craig's problem solver.

The 183 cm, aspiring midfielder has minded Carlton's 98kg Adonis Anthony Koutoufides, Western Bulldogs' smiling assassin Brad Johnson and West Coast champion Chris Judd this season.

Intelligence is van Berlo's weapon of choice, scientist Craig' natural antidote for opposition stars.

"I have been reasonably pleased with my season so far and have been lucky enough to have been given a role in the side," said van Berlo, who has played every match this season after debuting last year.

Van Berlo replaces centreman Robert Shirley when he rests, running with dangerous rivals when required and has shined in spurts across half-back. The responsibility stimulates a young buck who only needs to be "told something once" according to Crows officials.

"It's really exciting to be able to play on the better players in the opposition, to be able to play alongside them and learn the way they go about getting the footy," said van Berlo, pick No. 24 at the 2004 national draft.

"It will hopefully hold me in good stead for the future when it comes my turn to play more of a key role in the midfield."

The subtle calling cards of the game's elite performers are noted in red by academic-minded van Berlo, who was studying for a bachelor of science, majoring in geophysics before joining Adelaide.

"It's the way they go about finding the football, their on-field leadership, geeing their team up and leading by example," said van Berlo of "Kouta" and company.

"I am also picking a few things up in terms of body work at the stoppages. It's really interesting."

The learning curve is steep on AFL's battle fields.

"You can be off your game for a slight second and he will rip you apart," van Berlo said.

"Brad Johnson works so hard off the ball to get the footy, he has also been a really tough opponent."

Van Berlo's monster IQ is backed by a massive motor - essential if he's to ice his dream of being a gun on-baller. Now he just has to build his body.

"Luckily enough I have been born with some running ability and at the moment that has managed to stay with me," he said.

"I am trying to find a spot in the side where I can play regular footy in a starting position."

The one challenge van Berlo can't meet in his whirlwind AFL apprenticeship is replacing Matty Clarke in ruck against the Bombers at AAMI Stadium on Friday night.

Ivan Maric will come into contention for his second AFL game after debuting in Showdown XX with Clarke unable to train at last night's main session at West Lakes due to Achilles soreness. Brett Burton is also in doubt to face Essendon due to hamstring soreness.

Skipper Mark Ricciuto was restricted to indoor bike work after wearing some heavy knocks against Carlton while midfield jewel Tyson Edwards also completed a light training session.
I have been under a lot of flack re who I think in the current team will be under threat from the new generation young guns.

I have been told he is our best tagging option, will not be replaced.

All I'll say (in Bigman language) is the drums are beating :D

I did pick this though a long way out from the post and there's still some water to go under the bridge before it happens but .........

The problem is, Shirley has moved beyond being 'just a tagger' - he is an integral part of our engine room.

He's not a statmagnet and a lot of his work goes unnoticed, but he's vital to our cause.

If the drums are beating it's not for Shirlos, Lord of Inandunderos.

Wayne's-World said:
I have been under a lot of flack re who I think in the current team will be under threat from the new generation young guns.

I have been told he is our best tagging option, will not be replaced.

All I'll say (in Bigman language) is the drums are beating :D

I did pick this though a long way out from the post and there's still some water to go under the bridge before it happens but .........

That's not the only thing that's been beaten for some considerable time now, WW. ;) :p

DT is right - and Craig would agree with him - Shirley is an integral part of our engine room.

The point you're missing with van Berlo IMO is that although he is currently learning the mid-field trade a la Kane Cornes style of learning, he has aspirations to be an elite mid-fielder, not just a good shut-down mid-fielder.

What's more, I have no doubt that this kid is our next Mark Bickley style mid-fielder with just a little more running power and polish than Bicks had.

The bad news for you WW out of all that is that we will still need Shirley to play his different, but vital role in the mid-field.

Cheers. :D

macca23 said:
That's not the only thing that's been beaten for some considerable time now, WW. ;) :p
:p LOL

macca23 said:
The bad news for you WW out of all that is that we will still need Shirley to play his different, but vital role in the mid-field.
:confused: different role???.......is that a new position or new terminolgy for tagger or shut down player....now we call it the "different" role ;)

Well Shirley's emergence from curly topped, patroller of the perrimeters who not even someone like Ian Downsborough would take seriously, to the lean mean, head shaven personification of "Blanket Man" has certainly shocked the shizen out of me. I'm not right all the time but I was certainly wrong on this one.....(take note Crow-mo...;) ).

Shirley has certainly relished the confidence and responsiblity that Craig and Ayres-head have handed him and he is steadily adding more facets to his game. Shirl the (un)Curl has a harder mind and body at this point and is our first choice tagger/runwith player.

"The Beast" (aka NVB) is certainly learning his trade nicely - but I think is a more naturally gifted player than Shirley, and so will end up with a different role in the team in the long run. At the moment the young Padawan is playing his role very well - and destroyed a once great champion in "The Money Pit" last weekend, but I reckon that says as much about Kouta as it does about The Beast....;) :)

I dont think Van Berlo is a long term tagging replacement for Shirley, as i see him having far greater potential than that. Eventually Van Berlo will make the move towards a full blooded attacking middie, its just part of his development to play on great players and try to learn as much about the way they play the game.

I was going to say that it would be a difficult choice, ... then I realised you lot were not talking about this board. :p

Stiffy_18 said:
Let me put it this way,

If Van Berlo is our tagger in two years time I would be bitterly disappointed with his lack of development.

Strongly agree there.

The wraps on this kid down at the club are ENORMOUS, I kid you not. When he puts some more weight on the club expects him to become a premier midfielder in the competition. Reminds me a bit of Harris from North Melbourne only his skills at extracting the pill aren't quite as good yet. While I doubt his hand skills will ever be at the level of Harris, his vision and poise are very good. He's always on the bottom of the pack and will become an extremely good inside midfielder for us.

Watch for him to become a vital leader at the club, our next Vice Captain and will be in the leadership group in 2 years.

Bookmark it :cool:

Southerntakeover said:
I dont think Van Berlo is a long term tagging replacement for Shirley, as i see him having far greater potential than that. Eventually Van Berlo will make the move towards a full blooded attacking middie, its just part of his development to play on great players and try to learn as much about the way they play the game.
Obviously as I said the tagging or "different" role is HUGELY overated...your saying "lets not waste a talented player in that role" (Shirley would grimace if he heard that)

Stiffy_18 said:
Let me put it this way,

If Van Berlo is our tagger in two years time I would be bitterly disappointed with his lack of development.
Ditto above post - lets only use hacks for the tagging role ...obviously not an important role to the team.

So is Shirley by your definition........?

passamore said:
Shirley by a mile. He hurts the oposition when he gets the ball.
He what :eek: no..no not true....he's a very handy player but no he doesn't hurt you ....otherwise the other posters would have been saying how talented he was and Van Berlo should strive to emulate his role.

Wayne's-World said:
Ditto above post - lets only use hacks for the tagging role ...obviously not an important role to the team.

So is Shirley by your definition........?

now now, you're not seriously trying to suggest that is what is being said are you WW? ;)

Fair dinkum WW, you sound like broken record and as thick as a brick on this issue.

Fact is, every coach in the AFL sees taggers as VITAL to the game yet you don't agree. Taggers get picked every week for very obvious reasons yet you don't think they are important.

What a load of crap. You will continue to bring up this issue of taggers but you will continue to be proven wrong by whats actually happening in football. Yet for some reason, everyone is wrong and you are right :rolleyes:

Stiffy_18 said:
Fair dinkum WW, you sound like broken record and as thick as a brick on this issue.

Fact is, every coach in the AFL sees taggers as VITAL to the game yet you don't agree. Taggers get picked every week for very obvious reasons yet you don't think they are important.

What a load of crap. You will continue to bring up this issue of taggers but you will continue to be proven wrong by whats actually happening in football. Yet for some reason, everyone is wrong and you are right :rolleyes:

i agree. Need to let this one go WW old son :thumbsu:

Stiffy_18 said:

Ahhh Stiffy you will hang on to paradigms....how frustrating you must have found it when the game changed to include zoning, flooding and midfield rotations.

Your obviously a believer in tradition and making no changes to the game.....the tagging role like the drop kick will be in the game forever says you....why?...because the CURRENT coaches say so.

The CURRENT coaches also said the new rules would destroy the game ....

FACT: there are only about 3-4 EFFECTIVE taggers in the AFL....the rest are taggers by name who try to "reduce" the opposition players effectiveness.

Gota stop believing everything you hear Stiffy and come up with your own ideas. ;)

The Crows Truth said:
i agree. Need to let this one go WW old son :thumbsu:
NEVER :p

Whats the difference between a defender looking after his forward opponent, and our forwrd line players harassing opposition defenders trying to clear the ball forward....NOTHING.

Defenders try to stop their opponents getting the ball
Forwards try and stop their opponents getting the ball
So called taggers try and stop their opponents getting the ball.

It all sounds the same to me

Wayne's-World said:
Your obviously a believer in tradition and making no changes to the game.....the tagging role like the drop kick will be in the game forever says you....why?...because the CURRENT coaches say so.

can you clarify? are you saying that tagging - which has already evolved into "run with" players, is soon to be lost to the game. Are you suggesting that Shirley will not have a place in the game, because it is already evolving away from that type of player?

the difference between visionaries and fantasists is always the same: evidence.
what makes you think this is 1. happening? 2. will happen in time to make redundant an established player in the prime of his career?

FACT: there are only about 3-4 EFFECTIVE taggers in the AFL....the rest are taggers by name who try to "reduce" the opposition players effectiveness.

is that a fact? ;)

Gota stop believing everything you hear Stiffy and come up with your own ideas. ;)

Please refer to earlier definition of fantasist vs. visionary.

given the trend to defensive minded strategy in football, it's quite a radical suggestion that the dedicated defensive player is being phased out. From Shane Heard to now, that's a good 20 years that this type of role has existed in it's current form; seems to me it's becoming more ingrained, not less.

Our coach is quite the radical thinker, let us know what he thinks of your proposal? :D

Crow-mo said:
can you clarify? are you saying that tagging - which has already evolved into "run with" players, is soon to be lost to the game. Are you suggesting that Shirley will not have a place in the game, because it is already evolving away from that type of player?

the difference between visionaries and fantasists is always the same: evidence.
what makes you think this is 1. happening? 2. will happen in time to make redundant an established player in the prime of his career?

is that a fact? ;)

Please refer to earlier definition of fantasist vs. visionary.

given the trend to defensive minded strategy in football, it's quite a radical suggestion that the dedicated defensive player is being phased out. From Shane Heard to now, that's a good 20 years that this type of role has existed in it's current form; seems to me it's becoming more ingrained, not less.

Our coach is quite the radical thinker, let us know what he thinks of your proposal? :D

:thumbsu:

I cant argue with any of that :( :D

dyertribe said:
WW, with your keen interest in the Saints, how would you rate Steven Baker?
Baker is a great tagger in that he is ALWAYS on you, sweating and pressuring.

I look at a lot of games and you see a star player get the ball at a stoppage, look to see where his tagger is, and a lot of the time he's trailing well behind.
So what good is he?

What is inhibiting the tagger these days is the screens (basketball style) that almost guarantee the the star player getting free.

The rules prohibiting taggers (or any player) facing the player at a stoppage, sheperding off the star player, or that little jumper pull is being policed more than ever.

These are why I believe the purely negative tagger will disappear and clubs are looking for more offensive taggers if that's what you want to call them who can close check the star players but most importantly run off the star player (who are generally trying to escape the tagger and thus are not defensively minded) and have a high hurt factor.

IMO Shirley is more the dour defender type doesn't have a strong enough offensive game to hurt the opposition by running off a Chris Judd as an example.

Baker is a tighter tagger and has a bigger offensive game than Shirley.

Ask 20 non Sth Australians who the top 6 taggers in the comp are and Shirley will not be mentioned.

Wayne's-World said:
Baker is a great tagger in that he is ALWAYS on you, sweating and pressuring.

I look at a lot of games and you see a star player get the ball at a stoppage, look to see where his tagger is, and a lot of the time he's trailing well behind.
So what good is he?

What is inhibiting the tagger these days is the screens (basketball style) that almost guarantee the the star player getting free.

The rules prohibiting taggers (or any player) facing the player at a stoppage, sheperding off the star player, or that little jumper pull is being policed more than ever.

These are why I believe the purely negative tagger will disappear and clubs are looking for more offensive taggers if that's what you want to call them who can close check the star players but most importantly run off the star player (who are generally trying to escape the tagger and thus are not defensively minded) and have a high hurt factor.

IMO Shirley is more the dour defender type doesn't have a strong enough offensive game to hurt the opposition by running off a Chris Judd as an example.

Baker is a tighter tagger and has a bigger offensive game than Shirley.

Ask 20 non Sth Australians who the top 6 taggers in the comp are and Shirley will not be mentioned.