Our Phantom Draft

scooter600x said:
I had no idea we could draft blokes on other clubs lists.

In that case

8 - WESTERN BULLDOGS - Chris Judd (West Coast)
Sorry scooter Kieran McGuinness got past me.I have edited the list and have given macca69 Andrew McGuinness (Sandringham Dragons) as he explained his error on the PSD PHantom thread.

desie said:
I wondered about this too, but figured that it meant only WCE couldn't re-rookie him. I stand to be corrected though.
I'm fairly sure that West Coast re-drafted him as a rookie last season and therefore had the right to leave him there for another 2 years if they had wanted.Provided he is not older than 23 next year he could be rookie listed by anyone again including West Coast but reallistically 4 years on a rookie list is highly unlikely.

Why is it that the only people who complain the Brisbane or Sydney have an advantage are the Vic clubs?
The Vic clubs who don't travel.
Who have had finals ground bias in their favour for years.
When Collingwood complain about salary cap favours but pay the second highest amount anyway.
When travel means having to change trams.
When the AFL supports half the clubs financially.
When those clubs get to keep all their money and don't have to support the state leagues who develop players for the draft.
Get a grip you lot.
:eek:

grub29 said:
I'm fairly sure that West Coast re-drafted him as a rookie last season and therefore had the right to leave him there for another 2 years if they had wanted.Provided he is not older than 23 next year he could be rookie listed by anyone again including West Coast but reallistically 4 years on a rookie list is highly unlikely.

nah West Coast had to delist him, he was on the rookie list for 2 years, then we delisted him and picked him up again, which is a total of 3 years on our list, which is the maximum amount of time allowed on a rookie list, unless you change clubs (I think)

grub29 said:
Pre-Season Draft Picks (2 only)

Pick 1-Carlton Dylan McLaren(Brisbane)
Pick 2-Hawthorn Llane Spaanderman(Brisbane)

ROOKIE DRAFT
1 CARLTON- Alipate Carlile (Murray Bushrangers)
2 COLLINGWOOD- Shane Neaves (Calder Cannons)
3 HAWTHORN- Angus Graham (Calder Cannons)
4 ESSENDON- Cameron Heise (Subiaco)
5 RICHMOND- Jackson Barling (Williamstown)
6 BRISBANE- PASS
7 FREMANTLE- Michael Coad (Sturt)
8 WESTERN BULLDOGS- Jacob McGuane (Geelong Falcons)
9 MELBOURNE- Paul Currie (Northern Knights)
10 KANGAROOS- Brennen Mills (Claremont)
11 PORT ADELAIDE- Daniel Roberts (Woodville-West Torrens)
12 GEELONG- Andrew Banjanin (Geelong Falcons)
13 ST.KILDA- Matthew Seal (East Perth)
14 ADELAIDE- Bernie Vince (Woodville-West Torrens)
15 WEST COAST- Andrew Ainger (Oakleigh Chargers)
16 SYDNEY- Robert Warnock (Sandringham Dragons)
17 COLLINGWOOD- Simon Buckley (Sandringham Dragons)
18 HAWTHORN- Greg Bentley (Dandenong Stingrays)
19 ESSENDON- Steven Greene (Hawthorn)
20 RICHMOND- Jonathan Simpkin (Geelong Falcons)
21 BRISBANE-Nate Roffey (Mt.Gravatt)
22 FREMANTLE- Scott Lewis (West Adelaide)
23 WESTERN BULLDOGS- Wayde Twomey (Werribee)
24 MELBOURNE- Brayden Shaw (Collingwood)
25 KANGAROOS- Kris Shore (Kangaroos)
26 PORT ADELAIDE- Ryan Gamble (Glenelg)
27 GEELONG- Simon Phillips (Sandringham Dragons)
28 ST.KILDA- Cathal Corr (Northern Knights)
29 ADELAIDE- Alwyn Davey (South Adelaide)
30 WEST COAST- Scott Bricknell (West Adelaide)
31 SYDNEY- Rees Thomas (Oakleigh Chargers)
32 COLLINGWOOD- Tom Davidson (Collingwood)
33 HAWTHORN- PASS
34 ESSENDON- Ben Jolley (Essendon Rookie)
35 RICHMOND- Jarrod Silvester (Coburg Tigers)
36 BRISBANE- Julian Kannis (Southport)
37 WESTERN BULLDOGS- Scott Meyer (Williamstown)
38 MELBOURNE- Gareth Bowes (Calder Cannons)
39 PORT ADELAIDE- Josh Sampson (South Adelaide)
40 GEELONG- Stephen O'Bryan (Gippsland Power)
41 ST.KILDA- Andrew McGuinness (Sandringham Dragons)
42 ADELAIDE- Scott Dutschke (Central Districts)
43 WEST COAST- Philip Raymond (Glenelg)
44 SYDNEY- Stephen Owen (North Ballarat Rebels)
45 HAWTHORN- PASS
46 ESSENDON- PASS
47 RICHMOND- Joel Rice (Marcellin)
48 BRISBANE- Sam Gilbert (Southport)
49 FREMANTLE- PASS
50 WESTERN BULLDOGS- Michael Sleeman (Werribee)
51 MELBOURNE- Marcus Crook (Geelong Falcons)
52 KANGAROOS- Aaron Edwards (West Coast)
53 PORT ADELAIDE- Ryan Bennett (West Adelaide)
54 ADELAIDE- Lucas Block (Glenelg)
55 SYDNEY- Drew Barnes (Murray Bushrangers)
56 HAWTHORN- PASS
57 ESSENDON- PASS
58 RICHMOND- Chris Dunne (Gippsland Power)
59 BRISBANE-Brendan Quigley (Ireland)
60 SYDNEY- Ryan Brabazon (Claremont)
61 BRISBANE-Colm Begley (Ireland)
62 SYDNEY-Dylan Addison (NSW/ACT Rams)
63 SYDNEY-James Bennett (NSW/ACT Rams)
64 SYDNEY-Adam Prior (Murray Bushrangers)

There it is all over.Thoughts?
Good work Grub. Happy on Brisbane picks. Might change if Mills doesn't get drafted, I'd then take Roffey out for him (Mills can also play Ruck)

missionpossible said:
Hurley, Grima, Stanley, Casserley and West go 42,43,44,45 and 46

appparently hurley did a 3.02 20m sprint, does that dispell any rumours agaisnt pace. not lighting but surely sufficient to survive at AFl.

missionpossible said:
I23. Collingwood - Tom Rischbeith -190/83 (Sturt) – Right foot – Draft camp - Strong at the marking contest with good hands. Does not appear to be big enough to be a key position player but could be effective as a third tall forward. Needs to improve his ground level work. A brilliant athlete as far as distance times are concerned, rather than that endearing him to me it has cemented in my mind that at this stage he does not have a football brain. Playing reserves in the SANFL. HFF
How can someone's athletic ability have a negative impact on their understanding of the game? they are completely independent. you seem so negative about rischbieth?! sure he's not tall enough for kpp but he can play the game!

missionpossible said:
24. Richmond - Nick Lower - 187/86 (Norwood) – Left foot – Draft camp - a good looking athlete, takes some good marks and looks clean when delivering the ball. Needs to get more involved in the play. Has made his senior debut in the SANFL. WING
Deserves to go, can play tall, small, forward back or mid, skilful and hard at it.
missionpossible said:
42. Fremantle – Tom Hurley – Bottom Aged – 180/73 (Sturt) – Right foot – collects a lot of football in close and forward of the centre but one rarely sees him backward of centre. His disposal appears to be quite good and he converts set shots on goal. Rarely waste the football. He appears to lack a yard in pace but is probably quick enough to survive in the AFL and his speed is what will stop him becoming a top notch AFL player. ROVER
played fantastically this year, consistently in the paper for best in sturt reserves(when he wasn't playing school football).
p.s. what do you think of phil raymond, nick smith,james mcleay and bernie vince's chances?

First18 said:
How can someone's athletic ability have a negative impact on their understanding of the game? they are completely independent. you seem so negative about rischbieth?! sure he's not tall enough for kpp but he can play the game!

Deserves to go, can play tall, small, forward back or mid, skilful and hard at it.

played fantastically this year, consistently in the paper for best in sturt reserves(when he wasn't playing school football).
p.s. what do you think of phil raymond, nick smith,james mcleay and bernie vince's chances?

Rischbieth - you are right I am quite negative about him. A one trick pony from what I have seen and I wouldn't draft him this year. I would like to see how he develops next year.
Your other question of how can ones atholetic ability effect ones understanding of the game? You are right they are independant items but from my side of the fence when I find out more about one characteristic of a player it effects conclusions about other sides of his game. Someone with his endurance result and height (187cm) should be carving it up on a wing not a strong marking forward who struggles to get the ground level ball.

Nick Lower is one I liked on first appearances but the more I have looked at him he doesn't lay his hands on the ball often enough for someone with his athletic ability which is where I start to question whether he pushes himself hard enough, another who I would not grab this year.

I do like Hurley and all that will probably stop him from going this year is the lack of hurt factor in his game. I rank him at about 40 but I have a lot of his type ranked above him. He is one that has really kicked on since the carnival which gets more impressive each time I watch it.

As for the others I have not watched them closely enough to comment although there seems to be interest in raymond

Ive seen enuff of Tommy R to conclude that he does have a football brain. He has spent most of his footy career playing wing and half-back as opposed to KP forward where he has only gone more recently due to the fact that he has grown a fair bit over the past few years to a height where he can compete more effectively in a KP forward possie at ressies and Nat Under 18's level. He is a leader, and bit of a cocky bloke but he has what it takes.

Clearly IMO he is a winger, thats where he can use his greatest asset, his endurance to expose opponents and run them ragged up and down the ground.

Versatile player who must go. Be mad to let him slip.

Thunderstruck said:
Ive seen enuff of Tommy R to conclude that he does have a football brain. He has spent most of his footy career playing wing and half-back as opposed to KP forward where he has only gone more recently due to the fact that he has grown a fair bit over the past few years to a height where he can compete more effectively in a KP forward possie at ressies and Nat Under 18's level. He is a leader, and bit of a cocky bloke but he has what it takes.

Clearly IMO he is a winger, thats where he can use his greatest asset, his endurance to expose opponents and run them ragged up and down the ground.

Versatile player who must go. Be mad to let him slip.

Interesting that you have him as a winger, which means we both think that is where he should play. I haven't been lucky enough to see him play that position and I would like to see him play up there before I would pick him up. If I had more time I would try and dig up the footage of the reserves game he played on the wing to make a more informed judgement.

great read.. top notch.. did u take into account rumours/truths about club interested in player x?? or was it purely where each player sits in the pecking order?

could rischbeith become a tagger/run with player when established or even starting out.. help him learn to find the footy. has done wonders for the young fella from bulldogs who played for aust (name escapes me)

Just a random question thought this was most appropraite place,
Missonpossible do you reckon McEntee has what it take to be a FF? Seems to have great pace over 20m, huge leap, and good hands - but can he take a contested mark? Just at 197cm thought maybe q on height to become elite ruckman (ie cox is 204cm with big leap) Just speculating that at his size and pace off the mark and leap not many fb's would be able to stop him on the lead. So could he make it as a FF or does he look primarily a ruckmen?

burner1 said:
Just a random question thought this was most appropraite place,
Missonpossible do you reckon McEntee has what it take to be a FF? Seems to have great pace over 20m, huge leap, and good hands - but can he take a contested mark? Just at 197cm thought maybe q on height to become elite ruckman (ie cox is 204cm with big leap) Just speculating that at his size and pace off the mark and leap not many fb's would be able to stop him on the lead. So could he make it as a FF or does he look primarily a ruckmen?

It is certainly something that which ever club will look at doing however I would not draft him with that in mind as I doubt he has the instinct of when to lead and when not to lead. His contested marking is OK but is one of the parts of his game that will need to be improved. His inability to kick the ball 50m is also a big negative to this.

The biggest advantage with Mcentee is his ability to palm the ball down the throat of his midfield, he has exceptional awareness of where everyone is around him and his ability to win clearences.

He has the leap to compensate for the height, I am not sure Ryder Does.

Just another quick question, Mission you appear to rate Lucas Markovic highly from reading this and other threads, espically his contested marking ability. How do you rate him (and why) compared to the other KPP prospects? ie in the (supposed ) top bracket of Dowler, Kennedy or a bit lower in the hughes, clarke mid 1st round or second roundish with grima etc. At afl level is he just a fwd or could he play chb? ie how does he read the play etc. Just interested as seems to have sliped under the guard but rated a steal by a few. Would say pick 22 be over the odds in ur opinion?

burner1 said:
Just another quick question, Mission you appear to rate Lucas Markovic highly from reading this and other threads, espically his contested marking ability. How do you rate him (and why) compared to the other KPP prospects? ie in the (supposed ) top bracket of Dowler, Kennedy or a bit lower in the hughes, clarke mid 1st round or second roundish with grima etc. At afl level is he just a fwd or could he play chb? ie how does he read the play etc. Just interested as seems to have sliped under the guard but rated a steal by a few. Would say pick 22 be over the odds in ur opinion?

In rating the key forwards I have them all over the place compared to others.

I rate them in the following order

Dowler
Hughes
Markovic
Clark
Grima
Kennedy

Dowler (at this point in time i haven't factored in his car accident) and Hughes I consider very good prospects to develop into CHFs. Markovic I think is a natural Full Forward which limits his worth but all 3 are in my top 10 so at 22 I would think he went cheaply but it is probably higher than I expect him to go. I expect him to go between 30 and 40 but if a recruiter loves him like I do he will go before that.

I dont think Markovic will make a CHB as I think the further up the ground he goes the more he gets lost and I dont think he is creative with his use of the ball.

An interesting one, he showed a lot of potential during the carnival and at that stage I had high hopes for him however since then I have seen two of his TAC games and in these games he was as usless as **** on a bull. He didnt get anywhere near the ball and thus I find it hard to rate him, it must be noted that when looking at his stats the 2 games I saw where his worst 2 of the year. I would pass on him this year and wouldn't even rookie list him but I would certainly keep an eye on what he did next year. I do however expect him to be rookied or if a recruiting officer saw a couple of his good games and missed the bad ones they would probably draft him. His performances fell away towards the end of the year so he may have been injured but I am not privy to that information.

missionpossible said:
I dont think Markovic will make a CHB as I think the further up the ground he goes the more he gets lost and I dont think he is creative with his use of the ball.
Interesting as Lukas thinks his best position is CHB

forcefield_36 said:
Interesting as Lukas thinks his best position is CHB

mission just put him up a couple of places with that info :D

missionpossible said:
An interesting one, he showed a lot of potential during the carnival and at that stage I had high hopes for him however since then I have seen two of his TAC games and in these games he was as usless as **** on a bull. He didnt get anywhere near the ball and thus I find it hard to rate him, it must be noted that when looking at his stats the 2 games I saw where his worst 2 of the year. I would pass on him this year and wouldn't even rookie list him but I would certainly keep an eye on what he did next year. I do however expect him to be rookied or if a recruiting officer saw a couple of his good games and missed the bad ones they would probably draft him. His performances fell away towards the end of the year so he may have been injured but I am not privy to that information.

i agree with giving him another year as he wasnt much chop last year however developed in leaps and bounds this year.. i think, however, he would be the sort of player who wouldnt develop at the same rate if he played against men every week..

grub29 said:
Will the rumours flying around at the moment I think a few of our rookie picks may go in the National Draft fellas.

My gets of Higgins at 29 and Dempsey at 34 looked like good value accoring to Burgan's phantom (picks 6 and 11 resp).

theorangeapple said:
My gets of Higgins at 29 and Dempsey at 34 looked like good value accoring to Burgan's phantom (picks 6 and 11 resp).

swallow still slides on everyones boards :confused:

mcentee continues to firm into a solid first rounder.............might even be pick 6 for the hawks??

with some luck we could snare ryder and mcentee. :D