BotsMaster

2022 Sep Premiers
Everton, Cardinals
We can now breathe a sigh of relief ladies and gents, with the demise of St Kilda tonight, our record of 23 wins without a loss will last for another year.:thumbsu:

St.Kilda are showing some weakness to pace and free flowing game plans like Essendon's and our own.

Essendon took it right up to them in their previous encounter and have now taken points against them. Whilst the media would have you believe that Geelong failed to get within a loud yell of them in round 14, we only lost due to a great mark on the siren after giving away a lead in the first quarter.

We play Essendon's game better than they do, in fact i beleive we pioneerd it. Play on at all costs, keep doing it even if it runs us into trouble and we are in with a good chance!

Clutching at straws? or onto something?

Yaay

I'll be honest I've just about conceded the saints breaking our record as a mere formality after thumping the piss and poo maybloom flogs. Could not have foreseen the bummers, of all clubs, to prevent this from happening. MASSIVE LOL :D

Cats record is 26 in a row isn't it?? But there was a draw there somewhere..

Nah it's 23, but over the years the media have said anything from 22 to 26. Not sure why they never got it right.

I would have rathered the saints beat our record and go in the the grannie 24 - 0. The loss will do them good. Like ours in 07.

Somebody get around to Veedubs' place to make sure he's ok.

VEEDUB's perception of reality of St Kilda been an unbeatable unstoppable force has been shattered into a million little pieces. He won't be able to get out of bed for days from the sheer shock he/she'd receive from today's result. :D :thumbsu:

I would hate to see our record drop to this Saints team. I still think we have more justification to records...but as mentioned, flags are the only thing that counts!

The fortunate thing as has been pointed out is that the saints do have a slight weakness to fast moving sides of which we are one. We have played very well against St Kilda since 2004 so i don't see any reason why the boys would fear them. Bomber was very right in saying after the Sydney game that we are not taking enough risks with our ball movement - obviously he feels this is our best chance of September glory and i like our attitude of trying to correct this and go on the offence.

This years race has a few contenders, it will be a very good finals series and i am confident we will put up a strong showing.

The record is 23 straight wins however its also 26 without loss because of a draw.

Im still not sure if this loss is good or bad. If someone had offered me lose the record and get a flag, i would have taken it quick as a flash. Now the saints , have lost , just like Essendon in 2000 , it may just set them up for for the big one.

The only record I want is the record number of flags , all the rest are just fluff.

Fantastic, held that record for more then half a century and now hopefully we'll keep it for at least another fifty plus years.

Im still not sure if this loss is good or bad. ....... Now the saints , have lost , just like Essendon in 2000 , it may just set them up for for the big one.

Healy said during the broadcast that a loss would put the Saints in a better position to win the flag then if they got up and won today, personally think that's so much BS.

VEEDUB's perception of reality of St Kilda been an unbeatable unstoppable force has been shattered into a million little pieces. He won't be able to get out of bed for days from the sheer shock he/she'd receive from today's result. :D :thumbsu:
Thankyou Smoth and Randy for your genuine concern of a fellow cat supporter. If only you knew what went on here tonight when Riewoldt missed that goal--I was pushing for Essendon as if it was Geelong. Deep down I have a dislike for StKilda that goes back to the 70's or whenever John Greening played for Pies. Being a student at Monash, no car, no $, the nly games I could get to were at Waverley and Pies played there a lot, and Greening was unreal, felled behind play by a St thug.
Then in 2004? when Saints beat us in consecutive weeks, with all their #1 draft picks,I've always had an interest in their results, hoping we always had their measure after those games.
2006 not so good, 2007 awesome and then we gave away King to a team I didn't think needed charity. I've been dreading their climb to the top, as I know many Cat supporters can attest to. So even though I have been declaring their superiority all year, I am absolutely rapt they have at last lost a game, our record intact, and yes, all is well at our household!!!All my family follow Geelong, conditional to living here happily. My fear of St. Kilda being awesome is really to help some of the more cocky Cat supporters acknowledge that some team could do what we did in 07--it's not that ridiculous, and St Kilda look the team to do so. I sincerely have a paternal concern for fellow Cat supporters so myou don't suffer too badly this year IN CASE IT DOESN'T GO OUR WAY AGAIN. Last year was a shocker for me, my birthday on GF day, and my daughter had bought me some CATS Car number plates and organized a "celebratory" birthday dinner (CANCELLED at 1/2 time after Mooney missed). So for me nothing gets as bad as 2008 gf . Sorry to indulge with all this diatribe, but some explanation was owing.
FWIW, still think Saints are favourites to win it this year, and as have said before, if we can get past Pies/Blues etc and make it GF, we are going to win. The problem is getting there. Can we get everybody we need ready in time, and will St Kilda do what Ess 2000, and us 2007 did after late season shock losses?

My fear of St. Kilda being awesome is really to help some of the more cocky Cat supporters acknowledge that some team could do what we did in 07--it's not that ridiculous, and St Kilda look the team to do so. I sincerely have a paternal concern for fellow Cat supporters so myou don't suffer too badly this year IN CASE IT DOESN'T GO OUR WAY AGAIN.

Gee thanks pop, hope you won't take it personally if I declare that as the biggest backflip I've ever witnessed.

That's fine laddy, take it that way, but it's fact. If you think I don't rate Saints highly because of tonight-- WRONG. If you don't believe I have a vested interest in them losing as much as possible MORE WRONG. After 2008 when both us and Hawks thrashed them in finals, I keep thinking they are in 09 what we were in 07--improvement out of where??

Last year was a shocker for me, my birthday on GF day, and my daughter had bought me some CATS Car number plates and organized a "celebratory" birthday dinner (CANCELLED at 1/2 time after Mooney missed). So for me nothing gets as bad as 2008 gf .

For the record me too. Minus the daughter and number plates bit, but including the birthday and dinner cancellation (due to me crying all afternoon - yes I'll admit it)

Point being I think St. Kilda will enjoy not having the weight of expectation any longer, and feel more comfortable - which is a bad thing.

Having said this though, I have a feeling the Saints will choke in September, and I also have a feeling that IF Geelong make it to the Grand Final, they will win.

Also this really has nothing to do with our record being safe, but I saw the birthday thing and couldn't resist.

May you have a Happy Birthday on the Sunday this year VEEDUBS, hopefully hungover from the Grand Final celebrations! :D

That's fine laddy, take it that way, but it's fact. If you think I don't rate Saints highly because of tonight-- WRONG. If you don't believe I have a vested interest in them losing as much as possible MORE WRONG. After 2008 when both us and Hawks thrashed them in finals, I keep thinking they are in 09 what we were in 07--improvement out of where??

No you've got it wrong mate, I don't think you suddenly don't rate them or that you don't want to see them lose, as I'm sure you do, it's just that you've been declaring them practically unbeatable all year, "no weaknesses" "best team you've seen since you started following footy in 63" and now you say it was all a smokescreen to save us all from possibly disappointment, sorry but that's the part I ain't buying.

30-30. smokescreen rubbish. I still maintain they do not have a weakness. From tonight's result, they may be seen as "slow", but if you think this result helps us or any other team they play from now on, I don't buy that. Can you honestly say you weren't thinking they just might go through undefeated all the way before tonight? 43 points down in the 3rd/4 and still nearly pinched it after being off all night. When Port beat us late 07, I was shat, but in the end didn't do us any harm. Beware the top teams who lose late unexpected games. I'm sorry you can't accept my benevolence as genuine by the way.Maybe that part slightly tongue in.

30-30. smokescreen rubbish.

Come again?

I still maintain they do not have a weakness. From tonight's result, they may be seen as "slow", but if you think this result helps us or any other team they play from now on, I don't buy that. Can you honestly say you weren't thinking they just might go through undefeated all the way before tonight? 43 points down in the 3rd/4 and still nearly pinched it after being off all night. When Port beat us late 07, I was shat, but in the end didn't do us any harm. Beware the top teams who lose late unexpected games. I'm sorry you can't accept my benevolence as genuine by the way.

There hasn't been a team in the history of the game that has had no weaknesses whatsoever.

I don't think tonights result has any bearing on how we go against them next time we meet, not sure why you'd say that actually, and yes, I thought they were a good chance, excellent chance to be honest, of going into the finals undefeated, which doesn't mean they couldn't be beaten come September.

Sure they came back hard tonight, like a good side should, but less then a kick down with a fair bit of time to play and the Bombers just about out on their feet and depleated with injuries they should have run over the top of them but couldn't.

I'm willing to accept your benevolence as genuine, but I still think you just got a bit carried away with the Saints [ top side that they are no question ] and are now doing a bit of sleight of hand.

There are a few weaknesses that you can see with the saints:

1. Shut Hayes out of the game and they lose their main engine. A heavy tag by Ling on him is on the cards.

2. They aren't a quick team. On the wide open spaces of the MCG we have to run them off their feet. Wojcinski, Ablett, Varcoe, Enright, Mackie and Byrnes will have to run hard and all day.

3. Their backline is top heavy and aside from Baker they aren't really geared up to match up on small forwards. Ablett needs to be spending time down forward to exploit this.

Come again?

There hasn't been a team in the history of the game that has had no weaknesses whatsoever.

I don't think tonights result has any bearing on how we go against them next time we meet, not sure why you'd say that actually, and yes, I thought they were a good chance, excellent chance to be honest, of going into the finals undefeated, which doesn't mean they couldn't be beaten come September.

Sure they came back hard tonight, like a good side should, but less then a kick down with a fair bit of time to play and the Bombers just about out on their feet and depleated with injuries they should have run over the top of them but couldn't.

I'm willing to accept your benevolence as genuine, but I still think you just got a bit carried away with the Saints [ top side that they are no question ] and are now doing a bit of sleight of hand.
You make good points. The whole point of what I said was to try explain my negative obsession with St Kilda as I have been regarded this year as a Saint supporter in Cat clothing etc. Was planning to do so just b4 the finals. You are right about getting carried away with them as when I look back to Bombers mid 80's, they really had no weakness and still couldn't go through undefeated. I'll have to conclude that it is virtually impossible for a team to go through undefeated. Have never seen it and likely never will, and very glad Saints failed.
I can't see any weakness in their full list-Jones didn't play and he gives them grunt and speed. Their weakest yesterday was KING. It's easier to pick holes in our team as we watch them week after week, whereas the Saints really just what's on TV, which this year has been scarily impressive without the brilliance we had in 07. 40=40 deuce?

I can pick a few weaknesses

Jones - crap player
Riewoldt - chocker, crap finals player
milne - only good against crap opposition
dawson - crap player
Dal santo/ montagna - soft outside front runners
Kozi - slow and no awareness, line up a big bump and clean him up
Clarke - crap player

in all serious they have a backline that relies and flooding, sydney swans style. They have a good plan and coach but they play a bit to negative. will they go back in there shell? They are easily the team to beat

C. Jones is the second best tagger in the comp, plus his kicking is a good as Dane Swans.

You make good points. The whole point of what I said was to try explain my negative obsession with St Kilda as I have been regarded this year as a Saint supporter in Cat clothing etc. Was planning to do so just b4 the finals. You are right about getting carried away with them as when I look back to Bombers mid 80's, they really had no weakness and still couldn't go through undefeated. I'll have to conclude that it is virtually impossible for a team to go through undefeated. Have never seen it and likely never will, and very glad Saints failed.
I can't see any weakness in their full list-Jones didn't play and he gives them grunt and speed. Their weakest yesterday was KING. It's easier to pick holes in our team as we watch them week after week, whereas the Saints really just what's on TV, which this year has been scarily impressive without the brilliance we had in 07. 40=40 deuce?

I'd never question your loyalty to the Cats, it's just that I saw you as a "glass half empty" type of person [ not that it's hard to be impressed by the Saints this year ] and thought some of your comments reflected this.

As I say, they're good, but not "that" good; I can think of several teams over the period you mention [ from 64 ] that were quiet a bit better [ Cats sixties, Hawks eighties, Cats and Eagles nineties, Brisbane 3peat team just to name a few ]

Clarke, Baker just to name a couple I'd consider "weaknesses" I agree with goodoldcats when he says their back line relies on the team structure working for them to be effective, break that structure like Essendon did and they look very ordinary; of course being able to break that structure is bloody hard but it can be done, and Geelong have the game style [ at our best ] that can do it.