our side for round 1

portentous

Veteran 10k Posts
Port Adelaide
Ok you people that were at the game tonight, name our round 1 side based on tonights' performance. What changes would you make?? The commentators seemed quite impressed with Shattock :p and Primus and Francou. Hopefully Tobes and Matty are Ok for round 1.

Name your side.

I wonder how Primus pulling up sore will effect the captaincy issue.

My round 1 side:

Bishop Wakelin S.Burgoyne

Monty C.Cornes Walsh

Cassisi K.Cornes P.Burgoyne

Dew Tredrea Wanganeen

Mahoney Primus Thurstans

Brogan Francou James

Kingsley Lade Surjan Salopek

But Mark Williams will probably Cochrane in the side to play on Pavlich.

Zombie said:
My round 1 side:

Bishop Wakelin S.Burgoyne

Monty C.Cornes Walsh

Dew Tredrea Wanganeen

Mahoney Primus Thurstans

Brogan Francou James

Kingsley Lade Surjan Salopek

Salopek won't be available for Round 1, so it will either be Shattock or Ebert.

agreed - salpoek will have a few games with the bays before being ready for afl. BTW Pavlich will play CHF this year & not on the ball

therefore round 1:

Bishop Wakelin Walsh

Monty C.Cornes S. Burgoyne

Dew Tredrea Mahoney

Wanganeen Primus Thurstans

Brogan Francou James

int: Kingsley Lade Surjan Shattock

em: pettigrew cochrane ebert

besides the team below

still to come back: pickett, wilson , salopek and white - makes a VERY competitive squad with the greatest depth of any club !

Bishop Wakelin Walsh

Monty C.Cornes S. Burgoyne

Dew Tredrea Mahoney

Wanganeen Primus Thurstans

Brogan Francou James

int: Kingsley Lade Surjan Shattock

em: pettigrew cochrane ebert

That is our first 22 v Freo Malcolm, you got it right imo. Watching the game last nite I thought Walsh is ahead of Shattock (disposal still a worry) at this stage but we can fit both in for the period Pickett and Wilbur are out. Didnt think Ebert did himself any favours with those errant cross field passes that resulted in turnovers. My advice to him will be: if in doubt ahead of centre, kick to the hotspot instead of cheap kicking across because teammates will be running forward with the play. But the boy has time to improve and prove himself anyway, good luck.

Have to agree with the 22 put up above.

Shattock will get the nod ahead of Ebert, who will probably play within the first 3-4 rounds IMO anyway. It is a tight call really for round 1. I still think Ebert despite his errant disposal on Friday night, has always provided value for time on the field and possessions, and that makes him a very useful interchange player. If he played well for the Maggies this week, I would reconsider sneaking him as our 22nd player.

Will be most interested to see where Dew lines up. Could start on HBF relegating Walsh to the bench and Surjan to the HF line. Who would be preferred to line up on Medhurst and Farmer? Perhaps JB and Wangas or JB and Walsh or JB and Surjan.
I don't think Monty or Dewy should get those specific jobs.

Well the pre-season games are complete so my current round 1 side is:

FF: Primus Thurstans Wanganeen
HF: Surjan Tredrea Mahoney
C: Cassisi P. Burgoyne K. Cornes
HB: Dew C. Cornes Montgomery
FB: Bishop Wakelin S. Burgoyne
1R: Brogan James Francou
Int: Lade Kingsley Shattock Walsh

Notes :
Ebert still a bit of fitness to get. By round 2 or 3, if in form, then takes Shattock or Walsh's place.
Francou has done better then expected pre-season, so starts on the ground, rather then on the interchange as in my previous round 1 sides.
Thurstans is on fire this pre-season, so allows Primus to go the forward pocket and be eased back rather then full forward.
Dew along the HB flank where he's recaptured form.

Match ups against Fremantle
Defense :

Monty vs. Farmer - Monty can play him tight and can handle any pseudo-toughness, the wife beater can try and dish up
Junior B. vs. Medhurst - Shaun can beat him for pace and hurt on the rebound.
Bishop vs. Pavlich - Bishop has the pace to match the seagull and this leaves Chad free to hurt in space.

These match-ups allow Dew and Chad to hurt on the rebound via Chad's marking and Dew's long kicking.

Centre :
Cassisi vs. Josh Carr - Josh is tough as nails, but speed isn't his strong suit, so I have Cassisi as his opponent.
K. Cornes vs. Bell - despite trying to buy a midfield Bell is still the best of the Freo. midfielders, so Kane gets the job on him.
The rest of our midfielders - they can try and match up on them

Forward :
Our forward line is a strength not a weakness and the Dockers don't have any defenders, like we have Chad, that we'd sacrifice a forward's game to shut them down.

As an interested onlooker, I see that everyone has named Surjan in their starting 22. I don't think he's played much senior AFL footy yet, but looks a likely type. Obviously you guys rate him pretty highly to be able to slot right in first game up ?

Also, how has Roger James been going pre-season ? Haven't heard much about him at all...

Rod Stroker said:
Also, how has Roger James been going pre-season ? Haven't heard much about him at all...
Only back from injury Friday against the Hawks, but immediately back to the form that was BOG in the preliminary final vs. the Saints last year. Until (if/when) Francou returns to his best form, still our best midfielder by a fair degree. And as his absence from Sheehan's top 50 players shows, still the most underrated player in the AFL. He should have a shave and dye his hair blond - maybe then he'd get some much deserved accolades.

Andre said:
Well the pre-season games are complete so my current round 1 side is:

FF: Primus Thurstans Wanganeen
HF: Surjan Tredrea Mahoney
C: Cassisi P. Burgoyne K. Cornes
HB: Dew C. Cornes Montgomery
FB: Bishop Wakelin S. Burgoyne
1R: Brogan James Francou
Int: Lade Kingsley Shattock Walsh

Notes :
Ebert still a bit of fitness to get. By round 2 or 3, if in form, then takes Shattock or Walsh's place.
Francou has done better then expected pre-season, so starts on the ground, rather then on the interchange as in my previous round 1 sides.
Thurstans is on fire this pre-season, so allows Primus to go the forward pocket and be eased back rather then full forward.
Dew along the HB flank where he's recaptured form.

Match ups against Fremantle
Defense :

Monty vs. Farmer - Monty can play him tight and can handle any pseudo-toughness, the wife beater can try and dish up
Junior B. vs. Medhurst - Shaun can beat him for pace and hurt on the rebound.
Bishop vs. Pavlich - Bishop has the pace to match the seagull and this leaves Chad free to hurt in space.

These match-ups allow Dew and Chad to hurt on the rebound via Chad's marking and Dew's long kicking.

Centre :
Cassisi vs. Josh Carr - Josh is tough as nails, but speed isn't his strong suit, so I have Cassisi as his opponent.
K. Cornes vs. Bell - despite trying to buy a midfield Bell is still the best of the Freo. midfielders, so Kane gets the job on him.
The rest of our midfielders - they can try and match up on them

Forward :
Our forward line is a strength not a weakness and the Dockers don't have any defenders, like we have Chad, that we'd sacrifice a forward's game to shut them down.

I agree with all of the above expect for Kane Cornes and Dom. I reckon Kane will get the job on JC, and Dom will go on Bell. The forward line of the Dockers is a farce, they dont know who to put where, Farmer & Medhurst niggle away at each other and always "why didnt you pass? didnt you see me?". And there backline will never match up to ours of Primus, Thurstans Wanganeen, Surjan, Tredrea, Mahoney and with ladey droppin down there as well. And if anyone knows how JC plays its Port Adelaide!!

So Andre, whos your tip now??

Andre said:
Only back from injury Friday against the Hawks, but immediately back to the form that was BOG in the preliminary final vs. the Saints last year. Until (if/when) Francou returns to his best form, still our best midfielder by a fair degree. And as his absence from Sheehan's top 50 players shows, still the most underrated player in the AFL. He should have a shave and dye his hair blond - maybe then he'd get some much deserved accolades.
Haha !! I hear you brother. I don't follow Port but I rate James very highly.

And your thoughts on Surjan ?

Rod Stroker said:
Haha !! I hear you brother. I don't follow Port but I rate James very highly.

And your thoughts on Surjan ?
As Andre is not here at present I thought I'd butt in. IMO the Surj showed some good signs last year in the limited games he played. In the Wizzer game v the Crows he impressed me with his ability to get to where the ball was, his aggression, speed and long kicking ability. He made some mistakes but did a lot of cleaning up across half back. He looks smaller than Josh Carr but has that same in your face mindset. He is faster and appears to have better foot skills. Josh would have it over him in body strength. If he can make the grade in AFL he will become a favourite of ours and detested by the opposition. As you noticed we are all pretty hopeful that he will be good for us.

Surjan's had a surprisingly consistent pre-season, something our younger players seldom show. And he seems the logical replacement for Wilson until he returns.

James seems very elusive to the media, but that's his style! Still one of the most skillful and consistent midfielders i've ever seen.

phatRedge said:
what about taggin haselby? not enough of a threat?
I'd have Dom on him instead of ding dong who will probably get the job on Josh. Little brothers can play on each other.

Based on Friday night, their forward 6 is probably:
Headland/McManus, Pav, Medhurst
Farmer, JLo/Sandi, Woods.

I'd go
Dew, Bish, Walsh
JB, Wakes, Chad

Monty on a wing, Peter HFF

RIPPER_46 said:
Nah leave him run free he won;t hurt you.

Hell Ripper your sign is a laughable, coming from a docker supporter.....they have more looses than you have final apperance's, 3 x more!!
But it was good to see them go down, quite a few cocky $hi!ts at work that I will be giving it to day.....pay back for all the cr@p I got 02,03 :D . Their final record is worse than ours ever was.....I guess I will just have to remind them of that today, and walk around going "arrrrhhhhh" hands around the throat :D ...love it!!!

So Ripper, where do you sit at the Game......you wont miss us, we will be Reining Premiers Supporters, you know the ones that where Silver, Teal, Black and White!!!

Andre said:
Centre :

I would love to see this match up. I reckon Cassisi would be a perfect match up for Carr. I reckon there might be a few fireworks too. :D

Last year Choco played Gav on Farmer for most of the match, which worked well excet when Freo's midfield were able to a) get the ball forward under no pressure and b) were able to pinpoint a pass, which, from memoy, happened twice. Given Gav's less than stellar pre-season form, he may land the role again. I'd expect him to spend at least half the match there.

In terms of tactics, it will be interesting to see whether CC tries what he did last year, i.e. starting with 2 extra players in defence. This meant that CC conceded Port would thump Freo in the midfield and would rely on the ol' "running the ball out from the defence" method of attack. Of course, with Port having 2 extra players down back too, the first half was the most uncontested contest I've ever seen. I think the stats said that there was only one ball-up during the first half, which meant that both teams played keepings off for most of it. With Freo's supposedly strengthened midfield, it will be interesting to see whether CC once again floods Port's backline, or whether he tries to pull another cat out of his bag-o-tricks (unlikely, as it's a small bag and only has room for one cat).

I wouldn't tag Josh, I'd try and have him go head to head with PB. Try and expose his pace and also lack of familiarity with the Freo `gameplan'.

Cornes on Haselby, Cassisi on Headland, Roach on Pavlich.

Wouldn't be a bad round to give Pettigrew a run in defense.