rombosghost

CoburgTigers
After the Coburg game last Saturday I happened to meet the guy that everyone is raving about. I was hoping to say G'day and get a couple of things autographed. I found this so-called "superstar" to be very sulky and generally unfriendly. He needs to realise that he hasn't "made it" as yet and a friendly personality towards fans would not go astray. I decided not to ask him to sign anything and sought out another player instead who was more than accomodating. It kind of took the wind out of my sails a little.

I assume you are referring to Jack and if so thats very unusual behaviour in my experience. In fact cant speak highly enough of him and his attitude to "mere mortals".
I know it was a very strange day for him, playing at Bellerive against his old teammates and being booed and heckled by a few of the local tall poppy cutters, including some of the Tas coaching staff. Pretty confusing stuff for an 18yo who last year was a local legend in the making now apparently the villain just because he has been drafted and is now playing against Tassie. A few standing near me were pretty bloody disgraceful as I took the liberty of reminding them!
Try him again elsewhere, I doubt you will get a repeat of that.

I assume you are referring to Jack and if so thats very unusual behaviour in my experience. In fact cant speak highly enough of him and his attitude to "mere mortals".
I know it was a very strange day for him, playing at Bellerive against his old teammates and being booed and heckled by a few of the local tall poppy cutters, including some of the Tas coaching staff. Pretty confusing stuff for an 18yo who last year was a local legend in the making now apparently the villain just because he has been drafted and is now playing against Tassie. A few standing near me were pretty bloody disgraceful as I took the liberty of reminding them!
Try him again elsewhere, I doubt you will get a repeat of that.

well, I've heard overwise and have now seen it first hand unfortunately :) Very mind. The bugger sure can play though.

Personally I dont give a flying puck what he is like off the field, as long as he delivers on the field.

Perhaps he'd had a shit day. Give the kid a break.

Must admit I don't get the autograph thing myself. Sure, they're great players and play in the top league in the country, but I still don't understand why their name scribbled on something is important.

Personally I dont give a flying puck what he is like off the field, as long as he delivers on the field.

Sorry Nut but I actually disagree. I think its very bloody important how players conduct themselves with us Joe Public's and more especially the supporters and in particular the members. We are their bread and butter not the other way round! I think it was oxx that said recently, they are employees of the members and thats close to true.

Rombosghost has every right to grizzle and hopefully its a once off. A players public persona is an extension of the club as he is a key representative and recognised as such. Too many big headed pricks on the team is the last thing we need to grow a strong membership and even stronger club. I am not defending what Rombo experienced just recounting my own. Tall poppy syndrome is alive and well in Tassie too.

Sorry Nut but I actually disagree. I think its very bloody important how players conduct themselves with us Joe Public's and more especially teh supporters and in particular the members. We are their bread and butter not the other weay round! I think it was oxx that said recently, they are employees of the members and thats close to true.

Rombosghost has every right to grizzle and hopefully its a once off. A players public persona is an extension of the club as he is a key representative and recognised as such. Too many big headed pricks on the team is the last thing we need to grow a strong membership and even stronger club. I am not defending what Rombo experienced just recounting my own. Tall poppy syndrome is alive and well in Tassie too.

Yes it is important how they conduct themselves but FFS the kid is 18 and has all this attention thrust on him. Has no doubt spent a good deal of time recently fulfilling requests for others to sign something or have a chat, do and interview or whatever, yet the kid has not even played a game yet. As long as he was not directly rude to anyone then who cares.

I recall times where we have been at games and training and you see kids climbing over each other to get a photo or an autograph from their favourite player and after a while the player gets a little irritated and excuses themself. We should not expect them to be at our beck and call so to speak as long as they make themselves available from time to time then be greatful for that.

This is sad... Wallace has a big committment to public image and crowd support. Hence, being the first coach to introduce the signing of balls after the game for the kids.

I have seen many young kids wait up to 1 & 1/2 hours with the signature books and flags etc, with their mums, dads and grandparents just beside themselvs wanting to go home.. Then the players come out and just walk past them. This one kid, probably 6 or 7 cried and said to his mum "I didn't yell loud enough, he didn't hear me." But both i and his mum both looked at each other and knew he was simply brushed.

Mate, nobody is bigger than that... to do that to a kid is just not on.... Sorry, no excuses... because at the end of the day "No Fans = No Club."

Sorry Nut but I actually disagree. I think its very bloody important how players conduct themselves with us Joe Public's and more especially the supporters and in particular the members. We are their bread and butter not the other way round! I think it was oxx that said recently, they are employees of the members and thats close to true.

Yes they are employed by the memebers. But what is the job desciption?
As long as he gives as certain level respect to people off the field then thats fine.
We have to understand not everyone can be the person we want them to be.
My only concern is if he can play and wether or not he is a good bloke or not comes a long way back second.
Infact a bit of arrogance is what this club has lacked since 1980. More needed IMO. I'd rather be hated and win premierships then finnish the next 25 years like the last 25 years and be surrounded by good blokes.

This is sad... Wallace has a big committment to public image and crowd support. Hence, being the first coach to introduce the signing of balls after the game for the kids.

I have seen many young kids wait up to 1 & 1/2 hours with the signature books and flags etc, with their mums, dads and grandparents just beside themselvs wanting to go home.. Then the players come out and just walk past them. This one kid, probably 6 or 7 cried and said to his mum "I didn't yell loud enough, he didn't hear me." But both i and his mum both looked at each other and knew he was simply brushed.

Mate, nobody is bigger than that... to do that to a kid is just not on.... Sorry, no excuses... because at the end of the day "No Fans = No Club."

Yeah its no good however its 1 bloody game get over it already. I have seen many AFL players do the same thing pfft.

Well the parents can blame them selves for setting the poor kids up for dissapointment. After being beaten the last thing I would want to do spend a half hour sighning autographs, especially when you probably are commited to after game functions etc....
Tell the dumb ass parents to take the kids to the family days and club functions where the players are more than happy to sign anything.

Yeah its no good however its 1 bloody game get over it already. I have seen many AFL players do the same thing pfft.

I can undestand if it was Natahn Brown, who is a super star.. But Rewolt aint nobody yet... just a kid who everyone has wraps on..

I hope he can play half as good as what eveyone says he can....

Even Joel Bowden has done it.

Came out after training one day told a bunch of kids he will be back shortly to sign, then I saw him leave about 10 mins later via the Admin doors and hop into his nice shiny car and take off.

Luckily the kids didnt know better and forgot all about him when Richo came out. :D

maybe you were just a jerk?

LOL the big lovable doofus to the rescue again.

No doubt the crowd loves him and gets away with kicking 3 - 7 in a game because he is such a nice bloke off the field.

I know someone in the club who says he is a champion... aparently very well liked by all including other teams.

Well the parents can blame them selves for setting the poor kids up for dissapointment. After being beaten the last thing I would want to do spend a half hour sighning autographs, especially when you probably are commited to after game functions etc....
Tell the dumb ass parents to take the kids to the family days and club functions where the players are more than happy to sign anything.

Not all supporters live in melbourne brother... and when you have a flight to catch and you spend 1 hour waiting, you feel ripped.

Besides, what makes you think is was after a loss? It was when we pumped Collingwood by 10 goals last year. Anyway, we agree to disagree.

I can undestand if it was Natahn Brown, who is a super star.. But Rewolt aint nobody yet... just a kid who everyone has wraps on..

I hope he can play half as good as what eveyone says he can....

When Layton Hewitt started playing tennis he never did it eather. Look how he turned out haha. I bet ya if i went to training during the week I would get his name on some paper :) will email u a copy if needed.

I met Jack at the Rookie club function prior to round 1,

He was most pleasant and we chatted at length about his Coburg games thus far, his purple Kombie, surfing and if he was getting homesick.

He was in no way up himself or big headed.

I thought he was a good bloke in all honesty.

I met Jack at the Rookie club function prior to round 1,

He was most pleasant and we chatted at length about his Coburg games thus far, his purple Kombie, surfing and if he was getting homesick.

He was in no way up himself or big headed.

I thought he was a good bloke in all honesty.

Funny shade of purple...try pink! lmfao.

This has got off ther rails. Two topics have started from the one. What I was trying to convey was that:
(i) Despite the popular sport of tall poppy bashing, JR isnt usually how he was for Rombo on Saturday and I think there were understandbale reasons for that.
(ii) However, all players musn't take their responsibility to members and supporters lightly. Same applies to them in the media. They are ambassadors of the club and role models for kids, comes with the territory and the nice salary and is definitely on their job description.