Passengers

Are we really surprised that the team is not playing at 100% capability in Round 5?

Really?

Yes but some Hawks fans have become the Veruca Salt of footy fans. "Daddy I want the premiership now! Give it to me, don't care how, I want it now".

Where's luke hodge at?

But seriously, I think most on here are on the same page. Lewis hasn't hit his stride, Hartung isn't sticking the tackles. Shiels and Langers are giving so much grunt - they are a big part of why Sammy can get 30+ touches a week, because he doesn't have to be at the bottom of EVERY pack.

Hill should be given latitude. 3 more weeks to get back to his best.

Is there a point to posts like this or are you just announcing yourself as a superfan?

There is an art to framing bud. Using a hypothetical example, whilst unsavoury but assuming it was substantively correct, would you prefer if someone described your mum as a sl** or promiscuous? They both are substantively the same but the former is simply unnecessary and laced with derogatory connotations. Secondly, ask yourself, what is the sample size? And are you comparing like with like? Comparing your mum against a nun would seem hardly fair nor logical (the vast majority of the population would fall short by comparison). Food for thought mate

Also I reiterate, no malice is intended by the example.

Other than Mitchell no one has played their best overall this year.

We're getting by with enough intermittent brilliant play and a big of luck.

I don't think it's a case of certain players letting us down but rather everyone being 10-20% off and coming in and out of games.

Tackling, contested ball and fumbling especially need to improve.

Agreed. Hard to improve that.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
Pittard from port has managed to improve disposal this year (according to the port board anyway)

Are we really surprised that the team is not playing at 100% capability in Round 5?

Really?
I'm happy with where we're at but percentage is an issue.but to tell you the truth a year ago I was worried more.but what more can we ask of them they have fought out games..they've done the job in the end.i feel big rough not being around has affected the team greatly .. By the time he's back it'll be s bit late.I think he's so valuable to the team.I'm amazed we've won these games without him! I'm proud of the boys right about now.

Lewis hasn't been great but I'm with the "don't drop to VFL" school of thought.
Speaking from experience, having a new baby in the house can be tough. Sleep deprivation really takes its toll! Maybe he should invest in a night nurse to look after the kid
Well if he has not done anything to ensure there is minimal impact on his work performance then he can sort himself out while playing for Box Hill. People talk about Hartung & Hill being soft, well Lewis was not far behind and that performance from a vice captain!

Hill was good in the first half last night. Harsh to call him out after one game.

Lewis is not playing his best but has been crucial in two of the wins and the comeback against Geelong. Back him to find form.

Langford and Shiels are contested machines. People who use DE to evaluate these two are kidding themselves. They are generally the blokes winning the hard ball at stoppages or laying tackles. Langford is never going to be an elite kick nor is Shiels but we are a better side with both of them there.

Hartung has been disappointing other than Rounds 1 and 2. This is the longest run of full games he's played and could probably do with a rest.

Hill was good in the first half last night. Harsh to call him out after one game.

Lewis is not playing his best but has been crucial in two of the wins and the comeback against Geelong. Back him to find form.

Langford and Shiels are contested machines. People who use DE to evaluate these two are kidding themselves. They are generally the blokes winning the hard ball at stoppages or laying tackles. Langford is never going to be an elite kick nor is Shiels but we are a better side with both of them there.

Hartung has been disappointing other than Rounds 1 and 2. This is the longest run of full games he's played and could probably do with a rest.

If the coaches thought Lewis was playing that bad they would be the first to make this apparent to him, think back to Sewell the two times he came in late as a way to get him to lift his game.

You are absolutely correct about Billy, he's still very green, light and as you say the first time needed to play a series of games on end. Last year he was used as Sub came in to the game with the heat off and did his bit. Now that Hill is back in they may give him so time down the track to rest up/manage him.

No need to comment on Shiels or Langers they are integral, period...

They will be given a chance, especially the senior guys that have credits in the bank. But the fact remains that they need to lift.

No one is making personal attacks against them.

As several people have pointed out.

Assessment of Langford is just flat out wrong.

Hartung was no the best last night, but has played well in games this season. He is young, he is inconsistent. He is not Sam Mitchell..... yet

Hill...... first game for the year.

Lewis, yes needs to lift.

Hill was in everything until he got hurt.
First game back with a broken wrist (bone takes 6 weeks,its not 6 weeks)
He was going to be rusty and run out of steam .
He will get better and hopefully Smith will appreciate less focus on him and so will Hartung

Lewis is the new whipping boy needs to stay in so people don't change their focus
Langer's interrupted preseason and doing the hard yards to help get the ball out
Shiels coming back from a wrist injury and people complain about fumbles
Hill first game for the year cops a shin injury in the first and guts it out
Hartung probably his worst game this year, guess what he's a kid who played half his games as sub going to be up and down

Clarko has already talked about how the kids won't be consistent and he's juggling injuries and trying to get games into 7-10 kids under 50 that need them to progress while continuing to win enough games for top 4
Get used to us being pretty average a lot during the year

easily the worst game I've ever seen Hill play, but has good excuse for being dusty. couldn't do him any harm to find form at Box Hill for 1 week i reckon

Honestly, it his first game back, we have missed his run and carry.....do you not understand?

3 games in 12 days will effect players differently .....lets judge them when the our season starts to flow in a more consistent manor . The inpact of 6 day breaks so early can not be underestimated .

As Braveheart said ..
" Hold , hold .......hold " !!!!

Hill was in everything until he got hurt.
First game back with a broken wrist (bone takes 6 weeks,its not 6 weeks)
He was going to be rusty and run out of steam .
He will get better and hopefully Smith will appreciate less focus on him and so will Hartung
Yep - but all some care about is every player being a wrecking ball.

Willsmore cops it at Box Hill because he once didn't go hard enough at a contest, which then becomes exclusive to every good thing he does. Not surprisingly mainly by the same poster who calls Hill piss weak and everything else under the sun and wanted Hill shot during the game.

Where's luke hodge at?
Sure, I'll take the bait.

If people want Brand in for our structures then Luke is the odd man out at the moment. Fat chance of this happening, but maybe it'll stir some people up.

1. Lewis is the new whipping boy needs to stay in so people don't change their focus
Langer's interrupted preseason and doing the hard yards to help get the ball out
Shiels coming back from a wrist injury and people complain about fumbles
Hill first game for the year cops a shin injury in the first and guts it out
Hartung probably his worst game this year, guess what he's a kid who played half his games as sub going to be up and down

2. Clarko has already talked about how the kids won't be consistent and he's juggling injuries and trying to get games into 7-10 kids under 50 that need them to progress while continuing to win enough games for top 4
Get used to us being pretty average a lot during the year

1. Do you mean so they don't pick a new whipping boy? :)

2. A really good point. Fact is we are giving the 'kids' game time but still winning. Thats a bloody good thing.

1. Do you mean so they don't pick a new whipping boy? :)

2. A really good point. Fact is we are giving the 'kids' game time but still winning. Thats a bloody good thing.
Yes Lewis doing the team thing and bearing the brunt of BF angst