Certified Legendary Thread Patrick Cripps and Ah Chee

It’s extremely important to me. I’ve supported Carlton my entire life and have followed Patrick Cripps since he joined the club to specifically make a Bigfooty account and participate in this thread in order to see these clips of Cripps performing dirty football actions. It’s my entire role in this universe. I was born to do this. So to say that I would really appreciate you to link these clips would be an understatement. Please help fulfil my destiny.

Now put some skin on it. You're asking me to go and show you what I've seen with my own eyes and I can, but what do I get when it's shown I'm right?

What do you give me?

2 weeks if High impact. If Ah Chee had to go to hospital then its Severe and 3 weeks.

Voss said he went for the ball but his arm was tucked for the bump. If both arms were outstretched then I think a defence could be made.

Correct. Before you can ask “was it reasonable for Cripps to contest the ball in this way?” you have to ask “was Cripps contesting the ball at all?”.

I would say “no”, and “probably but there’s no video evidence to support it”.

He jumped in the air and caught his head with a hip. His arms were close to his body and not inclined toward the ball at all. There is nothing reasonable about the way he contested.

People calling for 3-4+ are being emotional because it’s Carlton and everyone except Carlton supporters wants to see us finish 9th.

Careless/High/High. The fact that the AFL place so much value on the outcome of an event is absolute bullshit (if Cripps genuinely lines up Ah Chee and misses him nobody even talks about it despite the intent being far worse) but this is the system we operate in.

2 weeks. Carlton will challenge, then it’s anyones guess

People calling for 3-4+ are being emotional because it’s Carlton and everyone except Carlton supporters wants to see us finish 9th.

Careless/High/High. The fact that the AFL place so much value on the outcome of an event is absolute bullshit (if Cripps genuinely lines up Ah Chee and misses him nobody even talks about it despite the intent being far worse) but this is the system we operate in.

Richmond are in play for 9th, the football supporting public would absolutely prefer Richmond to finish there.

Disagree. Blues were 8-3, media jumped on the hype train, now we look rubbish and are probably odds on to miss the 8 given the Dogs run home vs ours. Trolling potential is endless

I've gone full 180 on this one.

AFL.com.au just published an article which includes the two specific considerations the MRO looks at before even applying the "carless/high/high" grading.

(1) Was the player contesting the ball? Arms are out signalling an an intent to take possession. Eyes don't deviate from the footy. Did actually touch the ball.

(2) Was it reasonable for the player to contest the ball in that way? Should be allowed to jump to contest a football in the air. Should be allowed to turn body sideways to shield the ball from opponent. Should be allowed to brace for impact.

Cripps gets off, either tonight or at the tribunal.

I've gone full 180 on this one.

AFL.com.au just published an article which includes the two specific considerations the MRO looks at before even applying the "carless/high/high" grading.

(1) Was the player contesting the ball? Arms are out signalling an an intent to take possession. Eyes don't deviate from the footy. Did actually touch the ball.

(2) Was it reasonable for the player to contest the ball in that way? Should be allowed to jump to contest a football in the air. Should be allowed to turn body sideways to shield the ball from opponent. Should be allowed to brace for impact.

Cripps gets off, either tonight or at the tribunal.

Hahaha. In what world were his arms ‘out with intent to get the ball’?

Cmon dude

Disagree. Blues were 8-3, media jumped on the hype train, now we look rubbish and are probably odds on to miss the 8 given the Dogs run home vs ours. Trolling potential is endless
C'mon mate, it's Richmond and 9th. If I started a poll they'd probably get 98% of the vote.
Not saying public sentiment is on your side but it's like saying the world would prefer to see Andy Murray to win 1 more Wimbledon as opposed to Roger Federer.

Cripps can be both a gun and a star and a bully too. Never seen him go after a ruckman, ever but he will get physical with smaller guys plenty.
To be fair, if he gets into a scrap it's almost certainly going to be a smaller player - he spends 90% of his time in the contest with midfielders and he's bigger than all of them.

It's not like he's going out his way on the field to find smaller players, he's not running down to the back pocket to smash a Weightman or Ginnivan. (not that I would I like to see either of those players smashed, th-that example was completely random.)

All can be true at once, the only thing that isn't true is the good guy defense for Cripps which is why this all started.
Yet you all make out as if half of your players are saints still? Is Andy a dirty player for his one disgraceful act on Berry... Or is it a one off that happened in the heat of a game? Cripps rarely does anything worthy of the MRO even looking at him yet Freo fans sook up week on week about him being some gutless sniper who's made a career out of bullying little blokes. Reality is he roughed up Andy and Serong like twice and made them look silly in a few games because they were 20 years old and he was 25 and twice the size of them.

In his almost 10 year career he's been in a few big hits here and there but was never found to have done anything worthy of a suspension until this weekend.

it’s Carlton and everyone except Carlton supporters wants to see us finish 9th.
I don't know why. Think of the lost meme potential. 'Ninthton' just doesn't work, it's clunky and looks terrible when written.

Hopefully Richmond do the right thing by the competition and assume their traditional position from before they got good.

Yet you all make out as if half of your players are saints still? Is Andy a dirty player for his one disgraceful act on Berry... Or is it a one off that happened in the heat of a game? Cripps rarely does anything worthy of the MRO even looking at him yet Freo fans sook up week on week about him being some gutless sniper who's made a career out of bullying little blokes. Reality is he roughed up Andy and Serong like twice and made them look silly in a few games because they were 20 years old and he was 25 and twice the size of them.

In his almost 10 year career he's been in a few big hits here and there but was never found to have done anything worthy of a suspension until this weekend.

I haven't made any claims about Freo players. Carlton fans have run around trying to minimise Cripps' thugish behavior with examples elsewhere.

You don't need to redefine the rules of the fight to bring in other examples, we are talking about Cripps and Cripps is a bully.

It's also ok that he is a bully, but he isn't Bontempelli who is a genuinely good bloke as evidenced by his actions on field.

I agree 3-4 weeks is excessive, but disagree with your point on how much value is placed on outcome.

I think there needs to be value placed on outcome. If a reportable offence results in a concussion it needs to be met with a fitting punishment, even if there is a stark difference between the intent and outcome.

The studies into the impacts of CTE are terrifying, and the AFL has a duty of care to minimise its ongoing presence in the game. If someone's careless conduct has knocked another player out, they simply have to pay the price, because the consequences (even if a few weeks) pales in comparison to the potential consequences for the victim.

Of course, someone whose intent is primarily to bump with no attempt to play the ball, they deserve more weeks than someone whose sole intent is to deck their opponent, and that's where we're at at the moment.

I haven't made any claims about Freo players. Carlton fans have run around trying to minimise Cripps' thugish behavior with examples elsewhere.

You don't need to redefine the rules of the fight to bring in other examples, we are talking about Cripps and Cripps is a bully.

It's also ok that he is a bully, but he isn't Bontempelli who is a genuinely good bloke as evidenced by his actions on field.
Well answer this... Is Andy a thug? To date his act on field is worse than anything Cripps has done.

Cripps has done more in one game, and I'm not talking about the game on the weekend, than Brayshaw in terms of thugary.

But if you're more comfortable, sure Brayshaw can be a thug and Cripps can be ten times the thug Brayshaw is.

Walsh however, is quite clean, not a thug.

I agree 3-4 weeks is excessive, but disagree with your point on how much value is placed on outcome.

I think there needs to be value placed on outcome. If a reportable offence results in a concussion it needs to be met with a fitting punishment, even if there is a stark difference between the intent and outcome.

The studies into the impacts of CTE are terrifying, and the AFL has a duty of care to minimise its ongoing presence in the game. If someone's careless conduct has knocked another player out, they simply have to pay the price, because the consequences (even if a few weeks) pales in comparison to the potential consequences for the victim.

Of course, someone whose intent is primarily to bump with no attempt to play the ball, they deserve more weeks than someone whose sole intent is to deck their opponent, and that's where we're at at the moment.
I am aware of the significance of CTE but the bolded is where I will disagree with you the most.

If Ah Chee jumps up like a rubber ball and plays on that doesn’t change Cripps’ decision to contest the way he did. If the AFL deem Cripps’ action to be a reportable offence and something they don’t want in the game then suspend him. Ah Chee being concussed or not shouldn’t change that if it’s the action they want removed

C'mon mate, it's Richmond and 9th. If I started a poll they'd probably get 98% of the vote.
Not saying public sentiment is on your side but it's like saying the world would prefer to see Andy Murray to win 1 more Wimbledon as opposed to Roger Federer.
I’ll take you up on that. I think if you asked the question “Who would you rather miss the finals - Carlton or Richmond” I don’t think the Tigers are getting 98% of the vote from the gen pop

I am aware of the significance of CTE but the bolded is where I will disagree with you the most.

If Ah Chee jumps up like a rubber ball and plays on that doesn’t change Cripps’ decision to contest the way he did. If the AFL deem Cripps’ action to be a reportable offence and something they don’t want in the game then suspend him. Ah Chee being concussed or not shouldn’t change that if it’s the action they want removed
Of course the outcome will be relevant in determining the appropriate punishment. But currently the scale is way too far towards it. Jai Culley last week commits one of the worse acts I've see on a field in a while. Just straight up elbows Anderson in the head, but only gets the two weeks because Anderson gets up and plays it out. Again, Rioli's hit is way harder then Cripps, but Rowell got up and played the game so who cares I guess. I genuinely believe that if Ah Chee didn't get concussed here, Cripps would get off. I'm comfortable with Cripps getting weeks here, but the AFL need to just focus on the merits of the actions first, and then consider the outcome.

I'm clearly in the minority here, I didn't think it's worthy of suspension. He was contesting the ball in the air, he didn't jump up to bump. If Willi Rioli got off I don't see how Cripps gets done.

I saw it in real time and thought it was a strong contest - I later saw a Melbourne supporters comments that Cripps would miss this week and went back to watch again and I still think it would be rough if he got weeks.

Certified Legendary Thread Patrick Cripps and Ah Chee