sumavich

The search for Fremantle's soul

By Patrick Smith
May 06, 2008
WHILE the AFL is considering new teams all about Australia it ought consider putting a second league team into Western Australia.
West Coast, three premierships from five grand finals, have more than done their bit since joining the AFL in 1987.
Since the AFL established Fremantle as a shelf club in 1995, the side has not played in one grand final and just one preliminary final in which it was beaten by 35 points. They have had five coaches in 12 years and barely win four out of every 10 games they play. They hardly deserves to be in the competition.
Presently, they have won a single game from the first seven rounds of this season and somehow managed to give up a 51-point lead against Melbourne, who had not won a match this season and just five of their past 29.
West Coast's insipid second quarter against Carlton on Friday night had been washed away by Sunday afternoon.
You can look for mitigating circumstances - the Dockers were knackered after pushing defending champions Geelong to within a kick the week before - but Melbourne had been appalling in the first half and promised to be appalling in the second. Somehow, Fremantle gave Melbourne a sniff of victory and a 51-point lead ended up as a six-point loss.
Between them, West Coast and Fremantle have won two of 14 games. In 2001 the two clubs had done no better. Fremantle would win just two matches for the year and West Coast five. Such was the state of football in Western Australia the AFL ordered then-general manager of football operations, Andrew Demetriou, to investigate.
His controversial and highly critical report considered the Fremantle board to be dysfunctional and the tension between the Western Australian Football Commission, the Dockers and the Eagles unhealthy. While these elements might not be in play now, both clubs are uncompetitive to the point of embarrassment.
West Coast is working through what no other club has endured. The players' self-respect has withered after 18 months of constant criticism, investigation and introspection. The players have the yips, unprepared to commit to actions because they fear the consequences - any consequences.
Fremantle have been a puzzle from the start. It began with Gerard Neesham as coach, a man of ideas and a water-polo background. He had a unique game plan that was at first beguiling but ultimately floundered because it paid little respect to conventional wisdom. For all his inventiveness, Neesham was eventually out-coached. He never won more than 10 games in a season, never fewer than seven.
In various trade deals and pick swaps, the club have delivered other sides Scott Lucas, Andrew McLeod, Phillip Matera, Luke Power, Brad Ottens, Luke Hodge, Jared Brennan and Sam Mitchell.
Players who have left the Dockers have become better footballers at their new homes - James Clement and Brodie Holland played in grand finals with Collingwood. Paul Medhurst, also at Collingwood, has never played better. Adam McPhee won a best and fairest at Essendon and was named All Australian in 2004. Peter Bell won the Kangaroos' best and fairest and played in two premiership sides before returning to the Dockers. Winston Abraham played in North Melbourne's 1999 premiership side.
The club had Jeff White, Trent Croad and Troy Simmonds at various stages but lost them. The club swooped on Croad in 2001 and offered Hawthorn pick No.1 (Hodge) and selection 36 (Mitchell). Croad was sent back to Hawthorn two years later and Fremantle picked up Riley Dunn at selection 10 in the deal. The word you are looking for is no-brainer.
There will be no AFL investigation of football in the west this time around. Both West Coast and Fremantle are financially secure and are controlled by efficient boards.
But there does seem something intrinsically wrong with Fremantle. One AFL heavy described the club as an enigma. Lately it has turned to Victorian nous to lift the club. Chris Connolly took the club to their only preliminary final and now Mark Harvey and Robert Shaw, two gruesomely tough competitors from Essendon, run the ship.
Football manager Shaw has told Melbourne radio that he does not know what is wrong with the club. Certainly, if there is a switch to flick he cannot find it. For coach Harvey the problem is equally perplexing. He could point to injuries - important defenders Anton Grover, Heath Black and Roger Hayden all missed and Luke McPharlin went down in play - but he doesn't.
Rather he is searching for Fremantle's soul. Leading Melbourne by 51 points and succumbing by a goal is not about skill and it shouldn't be about coaching. It is everything about personal pride. Ryan Crowley, who played a cracking game on Melbourne's midfielder Nathan Jones, walked off the ground in tears - embarrassed.
After the game Harvey made a curious comment. "We have to work out what we stand for as a football team and quickly. And if not I will sort it out," Harvey said.
The coach has set himself a task. Connolly was no fool but he could not unravel the mystery that is Fremantle.
The club lacked - still does - steely discipline, confusing courage with puffed-up toughness. Shaw and Harvey are both in their third year at the Dockers. You know what you get from good teams, you know what drives them. Aggression, courage, teamwork are givens. Nothing can grow without them. Speed, zone strategies, defensive pressure, tall forwards, myriad midfielders, numerous interchanges are the blooms.
The club has made no footprint on Australian football. It has remained stunted in the shadow of West Coast. Harvey says if the players will not define the club then he will. The coach will need to start afresh, keep the few jewels he has and barter away the rest. That will take time and a patient board. The coach needs to erase 13 years of pretending at being a football team.
He must right what went wrong at the start. Any group of people who thought the Dockers' club song was appropriate for a league club had no idea what AFL culture was and therefore no chance of building one. Harvey must remake Fremantle from the studs up.

And Robert Walls !!

Freo in the dock

Robert Walls | May 6, 2008

LAST year, Fremantle had more than 43,000 paid-up members. That put the Dockers in third place behind West Coast and Adelaide as the best-supported clubs in Australia. The numbers haven't been finalised for this year, but they will be well up there again.
A lot of members means a lot of support and a lot of dollars. Pity that the Fremantle membership is being sold short by the coaches, management and players.
That the Dockers have allowed former captain Peter Bell to live hundreds of kilometres away from Perth and train only once a week with the team smacks of compromises. You are either 100% in or 100% out.
That they thought 18 months ago that Chris Tarrant would be the solution to their forward-line problems shows a lack of nous. Tarrant has rarely fired in big games and question marks on his commitment to the cause at Collingwood continually surfaced.
That they traded Paul Medhurst and a first-round draft pick for Tarrant defies logic. As does their decision this year to draft and play former Essendon veteran Mark Johnson, 30 this month. And the Dockers have been too sentimental in playing favourite son Shaun McManus. While he plays, a youngster misses out. It's time to give him the gold watch he should have been given two years ago.
And the membership should be screaming at management about the complete lack of discipline the team shows. In the past 2½ seasons, Fremantle players have been on 49 reports and lost 29 games to suspension. That is at the top end of the scale.
Adelaide is at the bottom end in the same period with eight reports and three games lost to suspension. This is a serious flaw in the club culture and the responsibility lies with the coaches who set the standard for what is acceptable.
Missing from Sunday's loss to Melbourne was midfield veteran Josh Carr. Why? Because he was suspended for stupidly kneeing Gary Ablett the week before. It could well be argued that Carr has cost his team wins in successive weeks.
The Cats fiercely protect Ablett and you run the risk of ruffling their fur if you go after Gary. That's what Carr did, and the Cats responded magnificently to win a game they should have lost. So Carr, who returned to Perth a hero after being a Port Adelaide premiership player in 2004, gets reported for the eighth time in his 71 games with Fremantle. It is a disgrace.
So come Sunday, the Dockers are 50 points up at half-time. Melbourne rallies magnificently to win the game by a goal. Had Carr played and kept his mind on winning the hard ball at the clearances, his team wouldn't have lost. Dockers members must demand some answers. Why is Carr allowed to play without discipline, why has he lost focus on winning the ball (average disposals in '08 are only 14 a game), is he paying a financial price for his indiscretions, and what steps are being put in place to prevent what was once a very good career going down the drain?
Finally, if I was a Dockers member, I'd be saying it's time to have our own people leading the club. Many years ago, as a young coach, I learnt that you can live with your own mistakes, but not those of others.
Fremantle is a proud city with a proud football heritage. But a patchwork quilt of outsiders has run the club since it joined the AFL.
West Coast, Adelaide and Port Adelaide football clubs have locals in the chief executive and senior coaching positions.
Perth folk can relate to John Worsfold. Crows supporters love the fact that Neil Craig is one of their own. The names Williams and Port Adelaide go together.
But there is none of that at Fremantle. What does the club stand for? I don't know.
It's time the West Australians showed confidence in themselves and replaced outgoing chief executive Cameron Schwab with one of their own, and do likewise when Mark Harvey's days are numbered.

So, Patrick Smith thinks that Victorians are what's needed to fix our club? It's all up to Harvs to fix it, like it was up to eyebrows to fix it last time.

Maybe what Patrick Smith needs is to hang up the boots.

So, Patrick Smith thinks that Victorians are what's needed to fix our club? It's all up to Harvs to fix it, like it was up to eyebrows to fix it last time.

Maybe it is. Walls thinks West Ozzies are needed!!
Its a conundrum, thats for sure !!

Walls and Smith have no friggen idea.
Walls was a has been coach when he was sacked by Brisbane. he is past it, his ideas are out dated. He lost players at 2 clubs. he really is not a leader of men.

That's not really what he said is it. He said the club has already turned to Victorians and that it will now be up to them to fix the club.

That's the club's choice and in hindsight one that seems narrow-minded. Shaw and Harvey are obviously good, experienced football people, but what do they really know about the history and culture of South and East Freo that formed this club?

Harvey himself said "We have to work out what we stand for as a football team and quickly." That question shouldn't be asked after 13 years in existence. Someone with a lifetime of Fremantle involvement should be able to answer that question for him.

That's not really what he said is it. He said the club has already turned to Victorians and that it will now be up to them to fix the club.

That's the club's choice and in hindsight one that seems narrow-minded. Shaw and Harvey are obviously good, experienced football people, but what do they really know about the history and culture of South and East Freo that formed this club?

Harvey himself said "We have to work out what we stand for as a football team and quickly." That question shouldn't be asked after 13 years in existence. Someone with a lifetime of Fremantle involvement should be able to answer that question for him.

Yep, but sadly they aren't all that keen anymore surprisingly !

Finally, if I was a Dockers member, I'd be saying it's time to have our own people leading the club. Many years ago, as a young coach, I learnt that you can live with your own mistakes, but not those of others.
Fremantle is a proud city with a proud football heritage. But a patchwork quilt of outsiders has run the club since it joined the AFL.
West Coast, Adelaide and Port Adelaide football clubs have locals in the chief executive and senior coaching positions.
Perth folk can relate to John Worsfold. Crows supporters love the fact that Neil Craig is one of their own. The names Williams and Port Adelaide go together.
But there is none of that at Fremantle. What does the club stand for? I don't know.
It's time the West Australians showed confidence in themselves and replaced outgoing chief executive Cameron Schwab with one of their own, and do likewise when Mark Harvey's days are numbered.

I never thought in a million years would I ever agree with Walls but that quote is what I have been trying say for the last 10 years.

At the end of 2001, we had the chance to put more Fremantle into the FFC but the yuppie, the EFFC element of the board and the WA media all reckoned filling the club with Victorians was the way to go. The dirty birds up the road have always been more Fremantle than the FFC. Just look at the Freo names here: http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/TheClub/History/HonourRoll/tabid/7271/Default.aspx 2001, they went for Worsfold, Sumich and the draft while we looked for 3 wise men from the east.
The yuppie single handly took Fremantle out of the FFC.

Possibly a WA CEO, although I'd simply prefer they went for the best available, but where is a WA coach, with Dockers links going to come from?

It's not as if we have a bloke that used to play for us, captain the club (Worsfold) have a longstanding Freo history (Williams) with a coaching pedigree is it? The only person I could think of Scott Watters at Subi and quite frankly I reckon I could probably coach Subi to a flag they're that good.

I never thought in a million years would I ever agree with Walls but that quote is what I have been trying say for the last 10 years.

At the end of 2001, we had the chance to put more Fremantle into the FFC but the yuppie, the EFFC element of the board and the WA media all reckoned filling the club with Victorians was the way to go. The dirty birds up the road have always been more Fremantle than the FFC. Just look at the Freo names here: http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/TheClub/History/HonourRoll/tabid/7271/Default.aspx 2001, they went for Worsfold, Sumich and the draft while we looked for 3 wise men from the east.
The yuppie single handly took Fremantle out of the FFC.

I disagree , Scwabbie & CC actually made Freo more Freo by renaming the F & B the Doig medal and actually recruiting more EF & SF players.

It had to be that way as most locals were in awe of WC and we would have continued along as the WC no 2 team.

We now have 15 players who originated from SF & EF compared to just 3 when they arrived.

More could be done , of course but the biggest problem with putting more Freo into Freo is that one group reckons it should be more South Freo into Freo and that alarms the rest.

Who can forget Jalo letting the Bombres spies into subi before the EF in 2003?

Its the AFL not the WAFL guys.

You get the best available in all areas.

Also, I may get caned for this, but it Harvey safe? right now, could he be sacked, with a caretaker put in for the rest of the season.

like a voss.
or
someone with a huge passion for the game, and is not afraid to show it.

i dont know, and sorry for intruding, i will go quietly now.

Personally I think we went the wrong way back in 2001. I'm not saying CC and Schwab didn't do wonders with a floundering club but they chose to promote the image that Neesham and his cronies gave us back in 1995 rather than taking the chance to return to our heritage.

I FIRMLY believe our problems stem from our origins as a footy team. We stepped away from our heritage then and we are paying for it now.

The first article on here is right on the money - if you step away from tradition and make something out of nothing, unless you quickly create a winning culture on the field, you will eventually end up with nothing...

Why don't we embrace the 100 years of football history coming out of Fremantle and BECOME the Fremantle Football Club?????????????????

Then we'd have a soul. Then we'd have pride. Then we'd be playing, not for money, revenue, memberships, but for FREMANTLE.

Its not too late to right past wrongs but it will be soon.

Time to put Fremantle back into Freo. Drop the 'Dockers' coz we can't put it on merchandise anyway, drop the red and green, change the song and develop a culture from the heritage just waiting to be embraced!

More could be done , of course but the biggest problem with putting more Freo into Freo is that one group reckons it should be more South Freo into Freo and that alarms the rest.

Who can forget Jako letting the Bombres spies into subi before the EF in 2003?

You are correct Ripper, some of the South Freo people scare the shyte outta me. In the past, SFFC has gone out of it's way to hinder the FFC but ignoring Worsfold and Sumich because they were South Freo people was very norrow minded.

Funny that Walls uses the eagles as an example of why we need West Aussies in charge considering it was a Victorian who made that club.

Thats what I'm thinking..
I don't really give a toss where some on is from...
We're all Australian last time I checked..
Patrick Smith & Robert Walls articles fail to mention of Brisbane and Sydeny whom both had "outside" coaches to lead them to a premiership. Not sure about their business set up.
WTF - the next thing all players will have to be from the home state...
Well thats fine - give us the Fremantle zone players then ;)
Mind you we need a new President and CEO combo - if we can get skilled West Australains fI suppose thats fine - but it is no guarentee of success...

Thats what I'm thinking..
I don't really give a toss where some on is from...
We're all Australian last time I checked..
Patrick Smith & Robert Walls articles fail to mention of Brisbane and Sydeny whom both had "outside" coaches to lead them to a premiership. Not sure about their business set up.
WTF - the next thing all players will have to be from the home state...
Well thats fine - give us the Fremantle zone players then ;)
Mind you we need a new President and CEO combo - if we can get skilled West Australains fI suppose thats fine - but it is no guarentee of success...

Exactly, that's not the problem and never has been.

Neesham was West Aussie, look where that got us.

The problem is the vics who come in have nothing really to work with IMO.

If the culture is there you can promote it but if it is an empty egg shell with no depth than all you can do is keep propping it up...keep propping it up...until eventually it collapses...

To achieve success we basically have to overcome ourselves

The Patrick Smith article is very good IMO.

Robert Walls just goes on to prove his incompetence again, well done Bob.

Lets get it right, Connolly came in and ____ed us over with bad trades and player management. He was following on from coaches who did the same.

If you seriously think getting Tarrant here was important when our midfield is slow, short and incapable of kicking to a forward then you need a brain transplant. We were all deluded, CC also, at the end of 2006 and it COST us, just like the CROAD deal when we could have got Hodge or Judd!!!! Then people talk about how bottoming out is useless, only because the last time we did it we had a USELESS coach. I can only imagine what CC would have said on the TV shows last night, it would have been something I couldn't respect. At least with Harvey you know he's hurting and wants to fix this shithole, CC would just smile or say a joke and it's "all right".

Fat Prick is 100% right on this occasion.

This had better be a watershed moment in the clubs history or we are utterly doomed.

Neesham was West Aussie, look where that got us.

Geez it shits me when people blame Neesham for every thing that has gone wrong with this club. Neesham has more coaching ability than DD & CC combined. Give Harvey time and he will prove himself to be better than DD & CC

Cut and paste from 28th January 2008
Neesham wanted to build a club with a bit of soul & asked the AFL to be left out of the draft in return for the recruiting zones of EFFC & SFFC which was rejected. Instead we got the worst deal of any start up club entering the AFL. Remember, any un-contracted players we did get from other teams, they got the cream of the next years draft making the 1995 & 1996 drafts the weakest ever.

Cameron Schwab was employed to recruit un-contracted players living in Melbourne but there was no quality players that wanted to move west to a start up club with training facilities that resembled those of the Mukinbudin Football Club. (Apologies to the MFC, theirs were probably better.)

Had Neesham instead just gone after the best kids available at the time, we would have been fielding an under 21 side that would have been smashed every week & would have finished 1995 with out a win, possibly a couple of wins the second year & a new coach to start the third year.

Yes, Neesham made some monumental stuff ups in recruiting but how many coaches are asked to be the coach, recruiting officer, list development officer & marketing manager.

Lets get it right, Connolly came in and ____ed us over with bad trades and player management. He was following on from coaches who did the same.

If you seriously think getting Tarrant here was important when our midfield is slow, short and incapable of kicking to a forward then you need a brain transplant. We were all deluded, CC also, at the end of 2006 and it COST us, just like the CROAD deal when we could have got Hodge or Judd!!!! Then people talk about how bottoming out is useless, only because the last time we did it we had a USELESS coach. I can only imagine what CC would have said on the TV shows last night, it would have been something I couldn't respect. At least with Harvey you know he's hurting and wants to fix this shithole, CC would just smile or say a joke and it's "all right".

Have to agree. Harvey will look them in the eye and tell them to f off, that'll be a good thing.