Past Paul Bower

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Allo ALL.

Firstly - A big thanksyou to Jeremias and all others involved in getting this GREAT idea up and running. Its great to have all this info at our finger tips and looking forward to some great reading in 07'.
Thanks again.

GYNO

Paul was selected at position #20 in the 2005 AFL Draft
and will go to the Carlton Football Club. Some of Paul's career highlights

are :

* Played junior football with North Mandurah Football Club
* Member of WA Title winning State Under 16 team in 2004
* All Australian Selection at 2005 Under 18 Carnival
* Member of Peel Thunder Colts Premiership team in 2005
* Selected in WA Colts Team of the Year in 2005
* Invited to AFL Draft Camp in 2005

Career: 2006-
Debut: Round 21, 2006 vs Collingwood
Games: 2*

Goals: 1*
Height: 192cm ?
Weight: 87kg ?
Guernsey No. 18
DOB: 9 January, 1988
1096th Carlton Player

Paul Bower was drafted with Pick #20 in the 2005 National Draft, taken from the Peel Thunder Colts in the WAFL.

PB1.jpg

Starting from tonight in Tassie against the Hawks, Paul Bower will (??) begin his season with the seniors (played with the Bullants last week).

I've seen Bower at pre-season training a few times over the summer and his extra bulk is quite noticable (and has only just turned 19). Apart from the normal training work Paul's individual development has been a focus on holding down a position on the backline, one-on-one work against Fev and Kennedy.

I think the young backman needs to get some games under his belt but should still show some significant improvement on last years limited opportunities in the seniors with a solid effort tonight.

Some Old Info of Interest.

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]The draft biographies for Bower describe him as an attacking Centre Half Back. "To me, that means to back yourself in, and run off your opponent a lot. I like to create space." Another of the bios suggested that Bower has a good record against another of our draftees, Josh Kennedy. "I played on both Josh and Beau Dowler, but Josh was the best I played on. Josh always presents, he's got great hands. You can't give him an inch." Carlton fans should hope that we've recruited the only person who can draw even with Kennedy! The two West Australians are set to find an apartment together near Optus Oval in the new year.

10 Minutes with Paul Bower

12:00:00 AM Fri 2 February, 2007 | Back

Mike & Dan Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
News
Paul Bower ran out for the Blues in 2 games in his debut year, and we were all able to catch a glimpse of that hard-running defender in guernsey #18. We were also able to glimpse that hair cut! Now in his second season, Mike & Dan wanted to expand that glimpse a little more and had a chat to Bower.

Many thought that you were in line for an earlier debut last year, but then the knee injury. Would you agree with that?

Not sure to be honest – I just went out there and planned to play good footy for the Bullants. The plan was to hopefully get the opportunity to play for Carlton.

How's the knee been since the operation last year?

Knee’s all good. I’m still taking glucosamine as a precaution – some of the rehab boys use it.

Tell us about your debut – and that wobbly goal?

It was an awesome match – in front of 50 to 60,000 people. And I got my goal! I also had the family over for the game so it was pretty special.

We were up by a few goals, but then they got a rush of goals in the second, took the lead…but it was an exciting game.

Game 2 was a nice old introduction to playing in defence at the top level – O’Loughlin!

This game was an experience in itself – to play on someone like O’Loughlin was a really good experience. I’m glad I got on him, and it was even better that I got to stay on him all game.

So do you prefer that sort of match-up?

I think I can play on different sort of opponents to be honest – from the bigger bodies, to the fast and skilled ones. I can use my body on them and also my pace. I think I’ve got what it takes to take on all types.

Now that you've had a taste of senior football, what are your goals for 2007?

My goals are to crack the senior team; to keep my spot and to play as many games as I can.

Did you stick around Melbourne over the holiday period or did you go home for a few weeks?

Yeah, I went back home for a few weeks – saw my mates.

The club has high hopes for the players who made their debut last year (yourself, Murphy, Kennedy, Jackson, Blackwell). How hard is it to manage the expectations of the club and supporters who want Carlton to make significant leaps forward this year?

I don’ think so – I’ve probably got as much expectation on me as all the young players do. I don’t think there’s anything more on me than anyone else.

Can you tell us any senior players (Carlton or not) who you model your game on?

I like the way Chad Cornes plays – he runs it out of defence but plays as a tall defender. I enjoy watching him play.

Is your nickname still Aloisi?

Yes – it’s still there; still going strong.

Are you still living with Eddie Betts?

Yep, still with Eddie.

Which player has impressed you most over the past year in how they prepare themselves in training and present on gameday?

I’d say the 2 Irish boys – they are very well prepared. I’d put these guys up at the top of the list – they are always doing extra work and always the last to leave the training session.

You mentioned last year that Josh Kennedy was one of the harder match-ups in junior footy. In the pre-season, who has become the hardest match-up?

I have one-on-ones with a lot of the guys – with Fev, Waite and Fisher. They are all high class and really good players.

Every player has the aim of making the senior team and getting regular senior football. What do you think you personally need to improve on or develop to get regular senior action?

I think its all about consistency – consistency is the key to keep your spot in the team. You have to keep training well, keep beating your opponents and keep on performing. There’s no reason why I can’t keep my spot if I’m consistent.

Bower is an important cog for Carlton in 2007, someone who can play tall as required but also someone who can set up a lot of opportunities up-field. Together with Kennedy, Edwards and that Murphy fella you may have heard about, the 2005 National Draft looks like being a great one for the Blues.

Apologies to all as I havnt been able to find time to share some info on my buddy 'Paul Bower' (lots of work on the weekends and wedding plans to attend to). :o

Here's a little info from past Bullants games.

Rnd 1 - Paul was part of the best on ground group. A great first up win.
Rnd 4 - In a hard fought win "The unpredictable Bower was in everything and messed up a couple of times in between four or five freakish things" (online quote).

He seems to have been pretty consistant together with flashes of 'freakish play'. So with some injuries in the Carlton side he may now be due for a call up. It's definately great to have a little more depth this year, and hopefully Bower and some of the other young guys can get a couple of senior games under their belt.

He looks alright does Paul Bower, is raw and talented, but with some work could be a fine player.

Re: 18. Paul Bower - GYNO

i think he deserves a chance in the senior team.. would be great to see him swapping the ants for the CFC logo... for the next few games

My man is in this week!!! :thumbsu:
He deserves a crack i reckon.
Goodluck to Paul, shall be an interesting game for him, cement a spot if he performs.

(he'll play up and down the wings/down back a bit???)

yeah im excited to have him in the team, i thnk he will be around the back flank to wing region most of the game... good luck to him, and i hope pagan gives him more time on the field

My man is in this week!!! :thumbsu:
He deserves a crack i reckon.
Goodluck to Paul, shall be an interesting game for him, cement a spot if he performs.

(he'll play up and down the wings/down back a bit???)

Played a shocker ! Looked like a fish out of water ..not ready to play at this level

Bower reminds me Of Ian Aitken......that stutter when runs.........the way he thinks he is a midfielder but is too slow to play mid.............he is one of the kids I dont think will make it ( and stats show that more than half the kids drafted dont make it).

He does seem to find the footy but cant see him making it as a key back........and definately cant find another role for him
He'll play half back flank like Christou if he develops because he does have good speed and agility for his height. It's far too early to make this sort of call since tall players take longer to develop. Bower still skinny and developing his game since he was bottom age when he was drafted.

mark my words, this bloke will be a great rebound 50 player for the CFC. He has his doubters, but I reckon he will be an above par defender for many years to come.

Another great display today. Loved how Ratts used Paul in a pure defensive role rather than a running wingman type of role he has in the past.

Love, love looooooooveeeeeee Bower. Keep up the good work kid!

his one player im not sure about.. one of those players u get a bit nervous when in his hands unpredictable

Another very good game this week. He played a huge part in turning around the momentum in the final quarter. He took a good mark in defence, and then instead of slowing the game down, just took off, sprinted down the middle, 2 handballs later, Simpson kicks a goal to take us to a 13 point lead and hurt the Weagles momentum. All started by Bower and his attack on the footy. He's easily my favourite player

loved his game last night good run and a great spoiler -think hes going to be integral to the development down back
cant really believe the doubters with this kid
his passion for the game and the club is obvious and that is enough for me at this stage of his own personal development
goodonya pauly bower:thumbsu::)