pie time

it has come to my attention that paul is having an injury free pre-season.
and having said that we have seen the best and worst of paul. is it possible with an injury free pre season to get back to AA honours or is it out of his reach at this point in his career?

Forget Medhurst; what about Luke Ball?:D

I am still a little cautious with making calls on Medhurst. Injury certainly played a part in derailing his year last year I am just not sure if some of it came down to not being a focal point as well.

He had some pretty good seasons with Freo and struggled more when he was playing as a less key target and had to share the foward 50. He has certainly added a fair bit to his game in terms of doing the team things and that means he will certainly be able to contribute better without being a key target. I think the 08 type output is unlikely though.

Forget Medhurst; what about Luke Ball?:D

LOL. I reckon pie time has been eating a fair bit of humble pie lately, so we should maybe cut him a wee bit of slack. At least the post have a bit of merit now.

Personally, I seem to remember hearing he was carrying a slight injury currently but can't remember where, but still think he has an important role in our forward line.
Last year we had a fairly disfunctional forward line and yet still managed to get the scores when required. Sometimes thorugh reasonably unorthodox means.
You can't deny that Rocca, Rusling and even Dawes were all intended to be options and their lack of availability for various reasons upset the apple cart a little. Jack stepped up fantastically despite his youth and inexperience and should be a hugely better player for it. Rocca's absence really effected Clokes performances as well I thought, not to mention his "anus horribilus" off-field Medders, fit and in a fully functioning forward line is a potent weapon and a real danger in every game he plays.

I can't see the forwards being as dysfunctional this season.

we've seen the best of paul when he was injury free in 2008 and we saw a less capable version in 2009 when he had injuries.

It is said that he doesnt have injuries now. He may return to his 2009 form or old age might kick in. It's all in the lap of the gods or in Paul's head.

From what I could see of him this year, he was still playing the instinctive play-on style that he wants to play but he wasnt doing the defensive stuff as much. I think Bucks - as forward's coach - is going to support a quick play-on style of moving the ball forward. I think Meds will like the coach's gameplan....but we shall see..

we've seen the best of paul when he was injury free in 2008 and we saw a less capable version in 2009 when he had injuries.

It is said that he doesnt have injuries now. He may return to his 2009 form or old age might kick in. It's all in the lap of the gods or in Paul's head.

From what I could see of him this year, he was still playing the instinctive play-on style that he wants to play but he wasnt doing the defensive stuff as much. I think Bucks - as forward's coach - is going to support a quick play-on style of moving the ball forward. I think Meds will like the coach's gameplan....but we shall see..

Bucks is only the forward coach, not head coach. He won't be responsible for the game style, just adherence to the game style and rotations, skills, etc in his area.

You can't have each coach in each part of the ground come up with their own game style, it will be a team game style and fed down to the component areas.

You're starting to get the hang of this! :thumbsu:

By all reports, he has been tearing the track up pre-season. I guess he is trying to prove to all and sundry that he was genuinely incapaciated last year. If he is up and firing, he creates scores whether goal assists or off his own boot. And those glue pots for hands is what makes him I reckon.

The Rus is also back to full training for the first time since 07.

If we manage to keep these two injury free we will go a long way.

The only reason Medhurst was out of form last year is because of the Ankle injury he sustained.
People here have no idea how serious and ankle is.
I tore my ankle ligaments a few years ago and the ankle is totally rooted. It's always sore and it feels loose.
Ankle injuries are one of the worst injuries you can get.
It would be very difficult for Medhurst to maneuver and turn while carrying such an injury. They do not just go away.
Providing he has fully recovered, he is good a small forward as any in the league.
He is the type of player that can change the outcome of matches like Chapman does for Geelong. ;)

I think people are reading far too much into his 2009 form. He was incapacitated a lot of the time. When he did play fit he was still outstanding, a matchwinner at the GABBA.

Write off '09 and have expectations in '10. He is a major reason why we can be improved this season. As for claims he might be too old, he is in his prime years. I am looking for a major influence from him

He is a dangerous little match winner when fit. But we do have a few players who could probably replace him if we need too. I wonder what he would have been worth during trade week or what we could have gotten for him?

Medhurst is also important to the balance of the side in that he releases Davis and Thomas -other players with that forward line X factor - to play more in the midfield. Without him we either lose forward potency, or deny the midfield of some creative flare. Dick doesn't offer the same scope as he is not as dangerous in the air, and so less versatile/difficult to match up.
I was worried that someone said (in another thread) he looked off the pace at training, because he does need to be fully fit. But if that was not correct, and he is training well, I think 09 will be well and truly behind him.

A fit and firing Medhurst = Genuine premiership contender.

I think our defence is up there with the best in the league and our midfield works very well together.

Our weakness on paper is our forward line, with Cloke who can't kick a goal to save himself leading up to the wing at every opportunity and Anthony being left one out at FF and often copping the best FB or 2 on 1 situations.
If Medhurst can fire he will take attention away from Anthony and he is extremely hard to match up on because he is so strong overhead for a small player.

Fingers Crossed!

Lack of pre-season and injuries ruined his 09 year, started slowly, just getting back to his dominant best when struck down again and then never got going after that.

Has had ops and a delayed start to this campaign which doesn't augur well at this stage but, its very early on at the minute.

As everyone says - a fit and in form Meddy is a vital cog in the Pies machine.

He is one of the few players we have that can take a game on and turn it our way. He can be super dangerous - hard to match up on as a small who can play tall, a great mark, a accurate kick and hugely unpredictable, as well as a proven big game performer.

I pray everyday at the altar of the footy gods that Medders can find his AA form again this year.