49ers, Mavericks, Canucks,Cubs
just curious does anyone actually believe this theory

i think stkilda 3 years or so ago won 10 in a row and fell over in finals

hope this dosent happen to the catters

I believe it's a total heap of crap, but thanks for your good wishes.

No i dont beleive so, we havn't been playing at our absolute best lately yet still winning so this is a good thing, and i still think there is room for improvement left this year.
Winning form is good form and as long as the old one week at a time continues think we will be ok.:thumbsu:

This usually the impact of injuries. We have been fortunate up to this point. Different situation to Saints then!

Correct, this is the key. As long as we stay healthy,especially the spine there is no reason we can't just keep on winning.:thumbsu:

I think that in a day of complete professionalism, that 22 fit young guys can play good hard football consectutively for 26 odd weeks of the year. Injuries are probably the biggest factor affecting a teams performance through the year and we have been fortunate to have had a good run injury wise so far (touch wood) and also have the depth in the squad that keeps alot of guys in the senior squad on their toes.

It's not about pearking too early, it is just about the team staying focused and maintaining the level at which they're currently playing. There should be no reason why a good team can't maintain a high level of performance throughout the season, and there are examples of other clubs having done it in the past (Bombers in 2000). Fingers crossed they maintain the mentality which has seen them win the last 9 games.

Correct, this is the key. As long as we stay healthy,especially the spine there is no reason we can't just keep on winning.:thumbsu:

True, but when you think about it, is there one player in our senior side at the moment that can't be covered for at the moment? I agree if several go down with injury at once we might struggle, but let's hope that doesn't happen.

Mooney,Scarlett, Egan and Ottens would be hard to cover.

At least we have the capability to peak...........rest will look after itself.
Everyone says that Balme at the club has helped our season this year - i think a lot also has to do with the club doctor. Any Doc who can look after an EPL side will be a magiciain here - and ours came from Fulton.
How else are we getting up now, this far into the season, week after week?
Excellent work!

Mooney,Scarlett, Egan and Ottens would be hard to cover.

If Scarlett and Egan aren't injured at the same time, Harley could take a KPP and Sam Hunt could take Harley's role.

Ottens - maybe King if fit (and that's a big if), otherwise West or even pinch hit Mooney in the ruck, and have Nathan and Tomahawk up forward.

Mooney might be the hardest one, but you could probably use Milburn as a mobile CHF, which he's done in the past, or even Charlie leading up the ground creating space for Nathan or Tomahawk to lead into.

Two options:
1. We had our peak a number of rounds back, and are currently in our slump, but good enough to still win. Look out finals! :cool:

2. We haven't peaked yet! :thumbsu::D

Two options:
1. We had our peak a number of rounds back, and are currently in our slump, but good enough to still win. Look out finals! :cool:

2. We haven't peaked yet! :thumbsu::D

I've become an optimist this year. I'm thinking it's more number 2! :D

Personally? No. I think it's a load of bollocks. It's another part of the overwhelmingly negative culture of modern football. Right up there with "the loss we had to have", "need to bottom out to rebuild" and so on.

Brisbane in 2001 won 16 straight - and ended up premiers.
Essendon in 2000 won 20 straight - and ended up premiers.
Carlton in 1995 won 16 straight - and ended up premiers.
Richmond in 1980 won 11 straight - and ended up premiers.

Just a few examples. Success breeds success. Personally, I'm happy if they stop at 20, but for now getting to 10 (ie beating Collingwood tomorrow) will do for starters.

We have probably struggled for long periods in our last 3 games. Our players have been showing signs of fatigue and we have picked up a few injuries here and there. Just like all the other teams after 14 weeks of football.

This BS about peaking to early is just another way certain media people can put down the club for being successful this year. No-one would have dreamed after the Roos game that we would go on and win 9 in a row. Sides also have dominated seasons here and there and still won flags (Carlton 95, Essendon 2000)) as well as others who have dominated H&A and fell over in the finals (Crows 2006, PA 02?).

Whatever Geelong will finish off being only time will tell. But to say they have peaked now is total crap. They are playing a brand of footy that is adaptable to other teams gameplans. What may determine how well we go is the injury bogey and hopefully we wont get too many more bad ones like Rooke.

The questions about our year this year will only be answered in September it seems

If Scarlett and Egan aren't injured at the same time, Harley could take a KPP and Sam Hunt could take Harley's role.

Ottens - maybe King if fit (and that's a big if), otherwise West or even pinch hit Mooney in the ruck, and have Nathan and Tomahawk up forward.

Mooney might be the hardest one, but you could probably use Milburn as a mobile CHF, which he's done in the past, or even Charlie leading up the ground creating space for Nathan or Tomahawk to lead into.

Scarlett - Harley
Egan - Hunt
Ottens - King? West
Mooney - Milburn , Gardiner

Whist I agree with you Winty in they can be covered the level of talent certainly diminishes.

Problem with a player like Mooney is that he is such an inspiration on the field, as well as Gablett. If we lost any of them not only would we be losing a skilful player but also a spirited leader. Thankfully none of them are injury prone so we might be okay :P

If Adelaide hadn't gotten all those injuries late last year, they wouldn't have fallen in the hole they did and would have gone on to win the Premership. They didn't peak early, they were just unlucky. This peaking early is a bunch of crap; as long as you maintain your fitness and you don't get hit by huge amounts of bad luck, there is no reason why you can't win huge streaks and then go onto to win the GF.

Oh crap. They didn't did they?

HEY EVERYONE. We have no hope this year at all. May as well pack up the rest of the years effort and go on the end of season trip early. :rolleyes:

Oh, wait. It was a Richmond supporter. Anyone have a mirror? :D

Mate, you lost all credability when you mentioned Charlie.

Brisbane did it for three years.

Most of the past premiership teams havent lost more than 4 games in the year, thats why they are premiers.

Just becuase you have a good run of wins, doesn't make you a good side. In 2000 or 2001 we won seven on the trot, which looked great but when you studied the detail they were all wins against either crap teams or good teams that had some significant disadvantage, eg six day rest coming off a trip to subi. This year we have winning purely on our merits. Winning form is always better than losing form (except in the NAB cup)

It's not about pearking too early, it is just about the team staying focused and maintaining the level at which they're currently playing. There should be no reason why a good team can't maintain a high level of performance throughout the season, and there are examples of other clubs having done it in the past (Bombers in 2000). Fingers crossed they maintain the mentality which has seen them win the last 9 games.

This is what I reckon. If you're good enuff, there is absolutely no reason you can't go on with it.

I guess the other thing to think of is this. St Kilda in 2004 and Adelaide last year looked liked they were going to be unbeatable at this time of year in those seasons. Watching those sides, I always felt they were having to play at or very close to their best every week to get those kinds of results. I don't think we've been doing that. I also think that if you're having to play at that level for the whole season to get those results, you are more likely to have players breaking down heading into the finals.

People talk about luck with injuries, but I think it's more like how a horse trainer runs his stable during a campaign. You try to pace out the workload during the course of the season so that come the finals, you're battle hardened and in tune, but still feeling fresh. If you're having to run yourself into the ground every week to get a win, you're just not going to be as primed when the business end comes. Not only that but we are still a fairly young side across the board and there is no doubt this can make a difference to your injury situation.

Peaking plays a massive role in footy and all other sports. I always train my athletes to peak and taper at certain times.

The thing with AFL football is that teams aim to peak throughout finals time and the lead up rounds, so I don't think Geelong would have peaked yet. Their fitness staff would know what is going on and will have them primed and ready to really hit it come finals time without doubt!

You'd expect them to be training pretty hard right now and then taper off their training in the next couple of weeks as their fitness base will be good enough to hold them throughout the rest of the season on a maintenance program.

Peaking plays a massive role in footy and all other sports. I always train my athletes to peak and taper at certain times.

The thing with AFL football is that teams aim to peak throughout finals time and the lead up rounds, so I don't think Geelong would have peaked yet. Their fitness staff would know what is going on and will have them primed and ready to really hit it come finals time without doubt!

You'd expect them to be training pretty hard right now and then taper off their training in the next couple of weeks as their fitness base will be good enough to hold them throughout the rest of the season on a maintenance program.

Cheers, Didaka, thanks for the insight.