pumped

I reckon it is human nature to go through cycles of moods.Also normal for people in walks of life to experience different output levels dependant upon what mood they are in. So it would also seem natural and normal for sports teams to cycle in mood and performance output.

Carlton would seem to be subject to mood changes and performance inconsistency. The difference between the first and second halves on Friday being one example. The question is can the moods and the performances become more under the conscious control of the team? I would think they can but it must come back to culture and leadership.

To my mind the big difference with St.Kilda and Geelong has come from drawing a line in the sand on discipline. I beleive that if Carlton make a similar priority then they have the talent to be very consistent and successful. In the second half once a few things went against Carlton their intensity to tackle , chase and pressure dropped right off. The catch 22 being that with these aspects less than acceptable the confidence of players dropped even more as there was so much more pressure on the Carlton players than on the Essendon ones.

Further people like Fev and Stevens who seem to be emotionally less in control than normal people have a great influence over the team as a whole in this area. When they are connected and composed their influence is enormously positive. However when they are down the follow on affect is equally destructive. Fev's lack of awareness with Setanta being one example and a very flashy attempted tap on in the middle of the ground just before half time another.

If Carlton are ever to become elite they must prioritise their individual and collective emotional stability. This will then have them play far more disciplined and effective footy in my opinion. I really believe that if they had of kept their defensive intensity up that they may have rolled Essendon on Friday. Against St.Kilda and Hawthorn no matter what happened they just kep doing the integrity things and nearly won against quality opposition. On Friday Essendon were great but if we played with integrity we would have matched them.

Would have to agree re Fev and the emotional baggage he brings to the game as often as not. Whether he or we like it or not Fev has a massive influence on the team and for that matter the rest of us. I understand that the reality is he's not a bad guy, even a great guy to be around but being the funny guy at training or the life of the party at the pub ain't going to win you footy games consistently.
The pay packet is supposed to go hand in hand with the output, both on and off the field and I don't believe he is providing value to himself, his club or us.

Don't get me wrong Fev is definately not on his own here but he is lager than life to the Carlton footy club and anyone who wants to see it do well. This reality probably sucks for him but it is the reality.

The sooner he responds more consistently with a positive mind set the better of we'll all be, particularly the young blokes down at the club who have talent and need him to be a positive role model for them to start playing f...... great football.

In the second quarter once a few things went against Carlton their intensity to tackle , chase and pressure dropped right off. The catch 22 being that with these aspects less than acceptable the confidence of players dropped even more as there was so much more pressure on the Carlton players than on the Essendon ones.
Good post.

One correction. The tide had turned well before half time. I spent the entire half time break trying to figure out how we were behind when in play we should have been 4-5 goals up.

I spent the 3/4 time break going through trade scenarios for Fev.

To Sydney - first round pick and Vespremi

By the end of the game it had gone to:

To Sydney with Stevens - first round pick, Second round pick and Vespremi.

By Saturday I had scrapped the trade idea and decided we missed that boat a couple of years back. We are stuck with a FF who mentally finds it too hard to do the things that can make him and his team great. We have made that bed. We must lie in it.

They have the integrity to ask for the paycheck of 200-600 thousand dollars though. i reckon for that they should be able to show up to "work" for at least the 2 hours a week that a game goes for.
How many people would have given almost anything to have the skill & luck to have played footy ? Us older guys would even go back to playing at mud filled cow paddocks where champions played footy, getting 9 colors of crap belted out of them by some hugefisted rock ape for a pie & a beer after a game & worked full time during the week as well. These soft players have all sorts of excuses thrown around for them. They arent saving a childs life operating on a brain tumor, they are there to play a game of footy, & are paid handsomely to do so. The sooner we stop treating them like they are doing something miraculous cos they play with a sore finger/toe etc & realise that a player on 300 grand gets paid 13g over 22 weeks to play footy the better. if Fevs on 500 grand then its around 22 thousand dollars a week for a 22 week season, shouldnt that be enough to get his full attention for those 2 hours gameday ?

ctacp
curlier than a catoggio pube

They have the integrity to ask for the paycheck of 200-600 thousand dollars though. i reckon for that they should be able to show up to "work" for at least the 2 hours a week that a game goes for.
How many people would have given almost anything to have the skill & luck to have played footy ? Us older guys would even go back to playing at mud filled cow paddocks where champions played footy, getting 9 colors of crap belted out of them by some hugefisted rock ape for a pie & a beer after a game & worked full time during the week as well. These soft players have all sorts of excuses thrown around for them. They arent saving a childs life operating on a brain tumor, they are there to play a game of footy, & are paid handsomely to do so. The sooner we stop treating them like they are doing something miraculous cos they play with a sore finger/toe etc & realise that a player on 300 grand gets paid 13g over 22 weeks to play footy the better. if Fevs on 500 grand then its around 22 thousand dollars a week for a 22 week season, shouldnt that be enough to get his full attention for those 2 hours gameday ?

ctacp

Er, Hammer says "You can't touch this". :thumbsu::thumbsu:

jargon3-1.jpg

You wont see any 'cycles of moods' from Cadel for the next 3 weeks - just guts and determination :rolleyes:

ctacp

Well constructed post....Cheers

ctacp

well put...

Professionalism in sports has killed the game they are attempting to help.

When you pay a small fortune to someone to play a sport, you would expect a bit of professionalism in return for that money. When you have players diving and trying to milk free kicks, it brings the whole scheme of things into disrepute.

We are constantly asking which of the players from the 60's, 70's and 80's would make it today... how about we ask the question of these so called professionals and say which of these lily livered babies could call themselves enough of a man to make it in the 60's, 70's and 80's before the game got turned into a spectator sport.

I cant think of one player from the nineties or the norties who could manage a single quarter without massive amounts of support.

Yes they are fitter and faster than the guys who used to play when I was a kid, but they are dead set wimps when it comes to being men.

I blame the AFL and the AFLPA for screwing around with our game and turning it into a spectators sport rather than trying to keep it as a game for the people.

well put...

When you pay a small fortune to someone to play a sport, you would expect a bit of professionalism in return for that money. When you have players diving and trying to milk free kicks, it brings the whole scheme of things into disrepute.

We are constantly asking which of the players from the 60's, 70's and 80's would make it today... how about we ask the question of these so called professionals and say which of these lily livered babies could call themselves enough of a man to make it in the 60's, 70's and 80's before the game got turned into a spectator sport.

I cant think of one player from the nineties or the norties who could manage a single quarter without massive amounts of support.

Yes they are fitter and faster than the guys who used to play when I was a kid, but they are dead set wimps when it comes to being men.

I blame the AFL and the AFLPA for screwing around with our game and turning it into a spectators sport rather than trying to keep it as a game for the people.

You can throw scumbag player managers in with that lot.

jargon3-1.jpg

You wont see any 'cycles of moods' from Cadel for the next 3 weeks - just guts and determination :rolleyes:

If Cadel were like Fev he would have long ago dismounted and thrown his bike at the teammates who refuse to climb for him

I guess the good news is that if we can carry "pussy boys" Fev and Stevo through the easiest run home and into the finals, they may show up because the occasion will be bigger than their egos.

well put...

Think you raise some great points here. I believe that many authority bodies such as the AFL are setting up an environment where younger people such as footballers are not encouraged to place character as no1. This being said some sides and some people go deeper than their society influences and perform from a deeper place and then are more successful anyway. I suppose much of this post is to encourage the leaders at Carlton to go deeper for inspiration. People from Carlton's past who I really admired for character at least on field were Andrew McKay, Peter Dean even Ratts himself. These were guys that you could go to the trenches with. We need to instill this sort of priority into the side if we are to ever do what the Saints and Cats are doing.

You can throw scumbag player managers in with that lot.

Another great point. In my business life I have regularly dealt with player managers. Whilst some have great character most were lost in the desperation of being seen as powerful. Don't believe they had the real interests of their players in the forefront. For players with strong character this was not such an issue but for many they were adversly affected by player managers that they had pedestalled and relied upon.

Player managers are there purely and simply to promote their clients best interests. And at the same time, line their own pockets with 10-15% of any and all income that the player makes.

So they will be constantly in their guys ear telling them that they heard that such and such club would be willing to offer x hundred k a year for their services if they wanted to leave.

Or in the case of soccer, x hundred k a week plus all the rest of it.

While they do have a part to play, they should be restricted from being able to field offers or even solicit offers from other clubs for their players.

Stevens has definately not had this kind of heat on him in his career so far and I think it may be just the thing he needs.

If he is dropped and we beat the dockers then he will know that unless he pulls his finger out he may see his days out down at the bullants.

As much as I hate matthew knights I admire the strength he has shown in dropping mcveigh this weel. I bet mcveigh comes out the following week breathing fire. Our question is will stevo do the same?

Think you raise some great points here. I believe that many authority bodies such as the AFL are setting up an environment where younger people such as footballers are not encouraged to place character as no1. This being said some sides and some people go deeper than their society influences and perform from a deeper place and then are more successful anyway. I suppose much of this post is to encourage the leaders at Carlton to go deeper for inspiration. People from Carlton's past who I really admired for character at least on field were Andrew McKay, Peter Dean even Ratts himself. These were guys that you could go to the trenches with. We need to instill this sort of priority into the side if we are to ever do what the Saints and Cats are doing.

The character that we are talking about got instilled into the past players in the 60's, 70's and 80's was because they had to work for a living and played the game because they loved playing the game. They got a pittance for match fee's and no salary from the clubs.

They learnt their character because they were normal blokes who on one day a week, became gods to their workmates because they were playing the sports.

They had heart and character and they did go the extra mile for their team mates because thats what they were... mates in a team... not a bunch of stars with a few lesser lights around them.

Barrassi and lethal leigh are inspirational speakers. They can motivate with their words because they have the type of character that they learnt from working for a living and playing the game for love. Could you really imagine Fev getting up to give a motivational speech? "yeah mate, well mate, this is how it is mate"... I would be slitting my wrists after the first 5 minutes.

The media has made the current crop of players into prima donna's who are famous because they are professional sports people. And if they dont get their own way, they sulk and throw the toys out of the pram.

Ratts is going to be a good coach if he can get over the bit where he is good mates with the players. He might have been rushed into the role of head coach a couple of years too early but he will get it right in the end so long as he gets someone who can mentor him in motivating the troops.

Even if he just gets Fev in his office and gives him a smack up the side of the head would get the rest of the team back in line.