Whatname

Lets all take a big deep breath, sure we lost yesterday and have lost our last two but we are still in the positive for our win loss record and still in the top 8. Yes it hurts losing to those fairies up the road but the pain of a bit of water cooler dribble will be gone by probably the weekend.

We have probably got a bit ahead of ourselves and need to put our situation into perspective, I know we all want success for our club but generally clubs who rebuild with youth like we are doing dont win premiership's immediately. Look at teams like Geelong and Collingwood who took 5 to 6 years to win a flag after starting a rebuild. This season was always going to be a consolidation year for us especially after our pre season. Unfortunately our injuries are also taking their toll but the biggest problem is the recognition our young players have brought on themselves with some very good early performances. Not only from outside the club but internally as well.

Stephen Hill is a case in point, not only does he cop a run with player each game he is also coming off an interupted pre season. This is because he has asked been to carry a very heavy workload over the past few seasons, this will hold him in good stead for the future but at the moment he has hit a bit of a wall as his body is struggling. Chris Mayne can no longer sneak under the radar and will often be double teamed and you can bet your bottom dollar Fyfey will start to attract some serious tags. I dont think you can underestimate also what effect losing experienced players like Hasleby, Headland and Tarrant has had on the group.

Are our KPP's a concern possibly, but with free agency coming in and our recruiting staff's record i think we can rectify that especially if we are seen as a team in contention. Clubs have also worked us out a bit, Broughton and Duffield are getting alot more attention, Sandi's taps are starting to get sharked again and teams seem to know we go the boundary on our kick ins. Im sure our coaches are more aware than anyone of the work to be done. Dont forget that we have also lost a fair bit of talent out of the coaches box with Chris Scott leaving.

I know we are on the right path but there will be pain along the way. I am not saying we have to enjoy it or not offer criticism of it, but we should remember the bigger picture. For at least the next five seasons, we should still have Sandi, Pav and McPharlin. Mundy, Hill, Fyfe, Morabito, Broughton, Barlow, Suban, Mayne and Ballantyne for possibly the next seven to ten years. Does that guarantee us a flag, no the AFL is a cruel competition but it gives us a bloody good chance if every thing goes our way. In the short term enjoy the simple things such as Fyfey's goal, the win against the doggies, the return of Mickey B and possibly making the finals two years in a row for the first time in our history. Remember we also get a chance against those fairies again this year, possibly in September.

Sorry if i sounded too preachy but I needed to do something to remind myself it's not all doom and gloom just because we lost one game.

Good Post.

Everything is not going to be rosy every game, we've had 5 shocking quarters of footy in a row. Happens to every team with or without the injuries we have.

Some of the OTT comments in here regarding coaching and selection are just ridiculous. No team wins when they don't want to run and work hard for the footy regardless of who's in the team or not.

Yes it hurts losing to those fairies up the road but the pain of a bit of water cooler dribble will be gone by probably the weekend.

F**k I'm copping it bad at work today - the only Freo supporter in a place full of eagles.

I knew I should have called in sick.

We didn't just lose one game, we lost a derby and weren't competetive at any stage. The lack of any sort of spirit was concerning, and some people are expressing that concern. That's my perspective.

The derby is just another 4 points. A nice four points to win, I'll grant you that. This is about one of the only sensible threads in here post derby compared to some of the rants. Like any club, we have some toxic "supporters".

While the derby is just another 4 points, it has also historically been something more. If some players can't get themselves up and going for a derby, alarm bells are justified.

If Dale Kickett watched that game yesterday, at some stage of proceedings he would have vomited.

We didn't just lose one game, we lost a derby and weren't competetive at any stage. The lack of any sort of spirit was concerning, and some people are expressing that concern. That's my perspective.

To be honest Reg I couldnt care less if it was a derby. As much as I hate the fairies a loss against any side hurts me just as much as a derby. I thought we were reasonably competitive in fact were in the game up until midway through the last quarter. Was there a lack of spirit, I dont know if spirit is the right word but definitely a lack of intensity and intent.

My post was not intended to have a go at people expressing their concerns in fact i thought a raised a few concerns myself in my OP. I was simply trying to explain that despite the loss our season is not over and it is not all doom and gloom. I guess you either look at the glass half empty or half full.

F**k I'm copping it bad at work today - the only Freo supporter in a place full of eagles.

I knew I should have called in sick.

same with me grrrrrrrrrrrrr

Its not just the last 2 games ive had a problem with i was worried about us even when we were at 4 an 1.
We have definantly changed our gameplan that made us succesful, to try an copy collingwoods gameplan.
Before last year where our gameplan clicked apparantly Harvey said he had been teaching it for a while its just only now they got the hang of it.

Now we are changing the gameplan again which means we will struggle for a year or so before they come to grips with it.

An if the geelong v collingwood game is anything to go by our old gameplan with players more experienced now an ofcourse less injuries would be good enough to give them a run for their money.

Good post...well thought out, informed and quite balanced....

However.....if you like perspective then Big Footy is not the place to come. Rmember that guy that got carded for posting that he thought Big Footy was a hub for the mentally ******ed?? I liked that guy.

Seriouslly....the amount of reactionary threads on the Freo board right now is embaressing.... There was a good 'Post Motem' thread setup early on which could have contained all the discussion that people wanted to have.... but NO, instead all these clowns had to go ahead and start a new reactionary BS thread.

This site has descended into a place where it's only value is for light comedic relief. Serious football discussion with perspective retained.....I think you've got the wrong department!!

Good post...well thought out, informed and quite balanced....

However.....if you like perspective then Big Footy is not the place to come. Rmember that guy that got carded for posting that he thought Big Footy was a hub for the mentally ******ed?? I liked that guy.

Seriouslly....the amount of reactionary threads on the Freo board right now is embaressing.... There was a good 'Post Motem' thread setup early on which could have contained all the discussion that people wanted to have.... but NO, instead all these clowns had to go ahead and start a new reactionary BS thread.
This site has descended into a place where it's only value is for light comedic relief. Serious football discussion with perspective retained.....I think you've got the wrong department!!

agreed on all points.

This place has slid in quality. The toxic garbage post defeat people type has gotten worse this year.

I reckon it's pretty much always like this. Not much goes on when we are going ok. A couple of bad losses and the doom & gloomers come out to play. Those like Memories that appear only to enjoy discussing the negatives, that's their prerogative. At least he's mostly rational (except on the subjects of Palmer and Mundy), it's the prophets of doom and the it's all our fault for accepting mediocrity mob that seem to really shine on in weeks like this. It's all part of the rich pageant that is BigFooty!

Oh so true.

I just don't take it in the BS anymore.

Good post, balancing post.

We have come some way from the dark old days, yet there is still some way til we walk in the sunlight.

All I hope is that through this shitty injury run we get some long term benefit - lets face it guys like Sibbo or Falkes are going to end up getting a run because the guy in the Dockers suit is probably not an option.

Whilst i appreciate the uplifting Op, good post mate, i have a horrible feeling Port will do a number on us this week, I expect Saints to get over the Dees then we will play them into form.:(

I have lost confidence for this year, It's not just injuries either.

We are playing shite, with no heart. I really do hope we can turn it around

Why not?

Supply me with some opium and I'll play plus stop being a doomsdayer.

JVB used to be in the Eagle outfit for school clinics so perhaps you are right.

Also Chops might do a knee but my guess is it will be done by driving it into one of the opposition during warm up.

Whilst i appreciate the uplifting Op, good post mate, i have a horrible feeling Port will do a number on us this week,

Have you not watched Port this season? Even our 0-17 2001 side would give them a run for their money.