Phil Jaques

Lonie_from_50 said:
Jaques has to fit into selection first. It isn't about how he is going in domestic cricket, it is combining how he is going in domestic cricket and how ?? ?? is going in Int'l cricket.

He had his chance in both forms, and couldn't keep his spot. All he has to do is continue his amazing form and wait for a fallout.

Like the time he got dropped from the ODI team after making 94?

Jaymin said:
Like the time he got dropped from the ODI team after making 94?
what's he done in his ODI's since then and lets not overlook the fact NSWJaymin (despite being born and living in Victoria) that he was very lucky when he made that 94.

The selectors overly had the same opinion as Nippy T. (the / is for effect)

Good to see everyone's taken my light hearted comment well on a Friday arvo.

So, he's always looked ordinary except the times he's actually made a score when he's just been 'lucky'. :rolleyes:

Nip/Tuck said:
what's he done in his ODI's since then and lets not overlook the fact NSWJaymin (despite being born and living in Victoria) that he was very lucky when he made that 94.

Mate 94 is 94 no matter how lucky you are, i think Jaques is a great player but i cant see him playing regular cricket for Australia in the near future. You are judging him harshly.

Nip/Tuck said:

Lucky in the fact that he was given out caught behind when it hit his shoulder?

dont bowl there said:
Mate 94 is 94 no matter how lucky you are, i think Jaques is a great player but i cant see him playing regular cricket for Australia in the near future. You are judging him harshly.

Not only was he lucky when he made the 94 but the attack he faced had 2 blokes suffering jet lag from just having flown into Melbourne from SA, Steyn and VDW. He's only had 1 decent score in the tests and that was against the Bangers. He has a lot more convincing to do.

This thread has died quite spectacularly.

Replace Hayden and Langer? Not until they're good and ready.

is it just possible that he'll be named in the team for the first test ahead of langer? afterall jaques played in the last test the aussies played in.

yesterdays knock for the pm's XI hasn't hurt his chances. :thumbsu:

is it just possible that he'll be named in the team for the first test ahead of langer? afterall jaques played in the last test the aussies played in.

yesterdays knock for the pm's XI hasn't hurt his chances. :thumbsu:
no chance

this series may well be langers last though

I'll say it again, Jaques' technique is ******** and agaisnt quality bowling he has no chance

To an extent you're correct, I don't see him as an opener in Tests at all, he can be like Trescothick as far as going fishing's concerned. I see him more as a middle order Test batsman

I agree, he would be perfect to slot down if we needed him eg: post martyn era

If he plays this Ashes it should be in the number 6 spot, which is the unfilled place in our batting line up. Surprised he isn't mentioned there more often. I would prefer to see him playing to Clarke, not sure about Watson.

Phil Jaques just brought up his second century against the touring Poms in the space of three days.

I'm not going to say Jaques should be picked ahead of Langer for the First Test,, but who do you reckon would be more likely to score a century in that match?

One guy has the record and the experience, but quite ordinary form.

The other guy appears to be marking time before becoming a Test regular, and has scored a mountain of runs in the last year.

It's a tough call. I just wonder how much longer the selectors can keep picking Langer ahead of Jaques.

I get the feeling Langer will get this series, and be given the opportunity to either retire or get dropped.

If he plays this Ashes it should be in the number 6 spot, which is the unfilled place in our batting line up. Surprised he isn't mentioned there more often. I would prefer to see him playing to Clarke, not sure about Watson.
I agree. Stick him in the number 6 spot, he's definitely a better batsman than either of Clarke or Watson.

But, as mbuck says, his technique is crap and won't stand up against quality bowling. Somehow it can stand up against England's bowling though, because it already has twice out of two chances. I'd say pick him for the Ashes and drop him as soon as we're faced with some 'quality' bowling.