Pick 14

Those were what I was thinking about. Great attacking footy & showed a real instinct to create.
There was a play in the second quarter of the derby not that long before he got clocked when I seem to recall (haven't gone back to the replay to check) he did something like create a loose ball through pressure, win it himself and side step to create space so quickly it was almost like he teleported himself 4 feet to the right. What I do remember clearly, if not the play, was the smug feeling immediately afterwards for having previously talked him so much as a future A grader.

He does seem to have a magic sidestep.

I'm really glad Brayshaw is progressing as well as he has. He was by far my favourite player last draft and it was really our only chance to get him. I wanna make the call on future Brownlow, but it's a long road ahead

his first AFL goal in the first derby was pretty gud too. came at a big moment.

shame about the commentary though

I was at that game. He is an absolute legend in the making.

I'm a very emotionally wound person when it comes to footy but I absolutely love Brayshaw. I can't wait to see him develop into a midfield beast.

Guess who (from WAFL stats - actual in green vs league average in yellow)
Unfortunately pretty useless graphs because it only shows averages for the highest grade they played. So some of those are averages from just one or two games.

Is there a list of those 20 anywhere, or can you remember roughly what stage of his podcast that he went through them?

Sorry can’t recall when about it was mentioned. I listened during a car ride and the program is like 35 mins long.

BUT he did make a point of Hill not being invited. The inference I made was that he wasn’t viewed as top 20. There were a couple of ‘bolters’ invited. That McHenry bloke was one and he mentioned others.

That derby for him before the incident was just absolutely outstanding, probably would have ended with ~25+ touches. I reckon he was pretty close to our best on at half time.

I remember querying his rating a couple of years after when he revised his draft why Neale still didn't rate top 50 from his year while there were several Collingwood players above him who had done very little and his reply was very dismissive, said Neale had still no shown anything to say he can play.

This is his Phantom 1 week before draft last year

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/21381638/knightmare-november-phantom-draft-first-three-rounds

And then bingo it changes a lot the day before... the guy is a chameleon

#norespect

Not sure how much of Hill’s footy you have seen, but he predominantly plays as a small forward. In colts this year he pinch hit through the midfield, but was usually inside.

I don’t care if we take him or not but he has the best foot skills (left or right) that I have seen at colts level. He is a great grab, is hard at it and has good defensive pressure.

After his 16’s carnival he was probably the best player in country. Watch his highlights from the SA game. He kicked 2 goals in that game that would be goal of year in any comp.

This year I think he read some of his own press and he thought it would just come easy. Most colts games this year he had a shadow and struggled with that early.

He also likes a night out which is well known and could be part of his slide.

Do you have a link to that highlights package?

RCD for me, if available. Riley Collier-Dawkins is the one I want.
Earlier in the year it was Conner Rozee, back when we had pick 5 & he was looking like a pick 8 to 15 prospect, but he is no chance now.
Maybe it is the 3 pronged initials, if you consider I wanter LDU last year. I also wanted Stephenson, Bonar, Fogarty & others, mind you. I'll admit, I missed Cerra & he looks a ripper.
Come on Freo, get RCD & he can become the junior Fyfe with his wing-nut ears & big-bodied crash & bash midfield style.

Cal didn't mention us as a possible suitor

Tomorrow's Heroes: Big-bodied midfielder with loads of potential

Callum Twomey
Nov 8, 2018 6:45AM

It wasn't until a growth spurt in his 16th year – when he shot up about eight centimetres in the space of 12 months – that Collier-Dawkins had first call on the inside midfield role.

His new-found size took some getting used to this season, as he learnt ways to use his body at the stoppages and methods to make the most of his frame, and he was also used in the forward line while playing for Vic Metro at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

PHANTOM FORM GUIDE Cal Twomey's latest update

WhyTheyShouldPickHim.jpg

Collier-Dawkins can show his talent in flashes. It can be a tough pick-up at ground level, or a spinning handball in the middle of traffic, or standing up in a tackle and feeding the ball out. A lot of his best work is done under pressure because he's busy when the ball's there to be won.

His finals series for the Oakleigh Chargers showed his ability as a tall and strong midfield option for clubs.

He started with 20 disposals and a goal against the Western Jets in the elimination final, before he kicked a goal from 26 disposals in the preliminary final against Gippsland Power and had 19 touches and booted 1.2 in the Grand Final loss to the Dandenong Stingrays. His clearance work, power, size and speed from the stoppage means he has some genuine AFL traits.

TheQuery.jpg

Until the finals series, Collier-Dawkins had been an inside midfielder who had struggled to amass bigger numbers of the ball – which in theory should be his go-to trick.

He also much prefers handballing than kicking – he handballed twice for every one of his kicks in the TAC Cup this season – so could probably better balance that and have more confidence in his kicking which can also be sharpened up.

PlaysLike.jpg

Everyone looks at Carlton's Patrick Cripps as the player Collier-Dawkins should aspire to be. Cripps also went through a growth spurt in his teenage years before maturing into the commanding player he is now, but with their similar size and strengths, the likeness is obvious.

DraftRange.jpg

Collier-Dawkins has plenty of admirers in the first round of the NAB AFL Draft. Clubs looking to add to their midfield stocks, such as Greater Western Sydney, Port Adelaide, Adelaide and Richmond look likely to consider him with top-20 choices.

INDICATIVE DRAFT ORDER Your club's latest picks

BottomLine.jpg

You're not looking at the finished product just yet with Collier-Dawkins, which is the exciting part. There's so much scope for development with the 18-year-old that he could blossom in a full-time environment. You don't have to look hard to see moments in the clinches that will translate to the way AFL is played.

Graphic-Collier-Dawkins-1024.jpg

Vomit

Draft prospect Hill's slide may be West Coast's gain
Callum Twomey
Nov 8, 2018 10:19AM

606399-tlslargelandscape.jpg

Ian Hill may find himself staying at home with the Eagles
Related
WEST Coast could find itself in the box seat to land exciting local product Ian Hill after his injury-impacted season.

The speedy half-forward started the year nursing a shoulder injury after off-season surgery and ended his campaign with another shoulder operation.

Hill, who is a second cousin to Fremantle pair Stephen and Bradley Hill, was touted as a possible top-five pick at the beginning of 2018 but did not reach those heights this year.

The premiers don't enter the draft until pick No.20 but Hill is considered a chance to still be available, although Port Adelaide (pick 15) and Greater Western Sydney (pick 19) have also shown interest, and Fremantle (pick 14) also have been linked to the small forward.

NAB AFL DRAFT HUB Latest news, video and more

He would add to the Eagles' impressive stocks of small forwards, with premiership pair Willie Rioli and Liam Ryan starring last season and the club also having first call on Next Generation Academy prospect Jarrod Cameron, the younger brother of Brisbane's Charlie, at this year's draft.

The 18-year-old Hill was understood to not be on the AFL's original list of players invited to the NAB AFL Draft at Marvel Stadium in two weeks' time, before scoring a ticket. More than 20 players will be at the venue for the opening night of the draft.

PHANTOM FORM GUIDE Cal Twomey's latest update

Included in that group is Gippsland Power's rangy midfielder Xavier Duursma, who now shapes as a top-20 smokey, and small forward/midfielder Ned McHenry, who has been linked to the Tigers, Crows and Melbourne.

The Crows have four selections in the first 21 picks (No.8, 13, 16 and 21) and could also look to bolster their ruck stocks, with GWS academy prospect Kieren Briggs tipped to attract an early bid.

Rivals believe the Giants could look to trade up in the draft from their current position at No.19 to ensure they don't need to use their third top-20 pick to match a bid on the bullocking big man and instead match a bid with later picks.

BEST OF THE BEST Combine's standout performers

Clubs see St Kilda's pick No.4 as shaping the top group of selections. Sam Walsh, Jack Lukosius and Izak Rankine are widely tipped to be the first three players picked, because even if Carlton springs a surprise and grabs Lukosius at No.1, Gold Coast would follow by taking Walsh and then likely Rankine at No.2 and 3.

The Saints are considering a group of players for their choice, with key forward Max King and midfielder Bailey Smith seen as the most likely candidates.

Jye Caldwell, Ben King, Connor Rozee and Bailey Smith are in the next group of likely selections, with the Bulldogs in a strong position to take Smith at No.7 should he get past the Saints' choice.

I like him
PICK 17: FREMANTLE — ZAK BUTTERS

Clubs: Western Jets/Vic Metro

Position: Midfield

Size: 181cm, 70kg

Bio: The Western Jets midfielder had season-ending shoulder surgery after the Under 18 Championships, ending his season early. The zippy half forward can break the lines and win the ball in the contest. Butters isn’t an overly large ball-winner, but impacts the play and has the capabilities to hit up a target well inside 50.

In the mix: Ian Hill wasn’t on the original list of draft invites. However, is believed to have been invited to the draft meaning he could be in the mix for Dockers, but may not be their first choice. Vic Country pair Xavier Duursma and Ned McHenry are two other possible names.