gezza78

collingwood
Pick 5 in the national draft,we opted for Scott Pendlebury.He is only new to the game & therefore has lots of scope to improve.He showed alot of potential last season averaging over 20 possessions a game.
We had the opportunity to pick up the highly rated Patrick Ryder,who did'nt go until Pick7.He has got loads of potential & you can see him being in the Adam Goodes or Buddy Franklin mould.
Do you guys think we made the right choice here or was it yet ANOTHER recruiting blunder we will be sorry for in years to come??
In my own humble opinion,I would have taken Ryder :(

bucksisbest said:
Pointless and ridiculous discussing it at this point in time.

I'm sorry,I thought this was a footy forum where discussions take place!
I know its early days & wont be a while until both players make a impact in the AFL, but just wanted to get some different opinions on the issue!

I think it was very tough to pick! Everyone was saying go for best available, but hwo do you do that in a draft that is meant to be so even! i think we should have taken muston at 21 other than that im pretty happy considering there were no outstanding performers!

gezza78 said:
Pick 5 in the national draft,we opted for Scott Pendlebury.He is only new to the game & therefore has lots of scope to improve.He showed alot of potential last season averaging over 20 possessions a game.
We had the opportunity to pick up the highly rated Patrick Ryder,who did'nt go until Pick7.He has got loads of potential & you can see him being in the Adam Goodes or Buddy Franklin mould.
Do you guys think we made the right choice here or was it yet ANOTHER recruiting blunder we will be sorry for in years to come??
i think we could of picked Scott up at 120 nobody would have picked him up Before than we shown what we can pick in the draft before there all gone since mick being there i think we have blown it im happy with dale thomas and ryan cook i think we should have done better with 5th pick i don't known much about the other boys has any bobdy know about the others

gezza78 said:
I'm sorry,I thought this was a footy forum where discussions take place!
I know its early days & wont be a while until both players make a impact in the AFL, but just wanted to get some different opinions on the issue!

I know very little about either of them but like the bio and upside on Pendlebury , the Dons 'thought' Ryder was the best pick in the draft.
Probably come down to application now and see who develops the better.

samgarro said:
i think we could of picked Scott up at 120 nobody would have picked him up Before than we shown what we can pick in the draft before there all gone since mick being there i think we have blown it im happy with dale thomas and ryan cook i think we should have done better with 5th pick i don't known much about the other boys has any bobdy know about the others
We could've picked up Scott Pendlebury with pick #120?

Mate, just because you're completely ignorant of who he is doesn't make Pendles a bad choice.

He was always rated between #5 and #13, so we took him at the top end of that.

As a comparison with Ryder:

Footskills: Pendlebury's are undoubtedly better, although Ryder's aren't shabby for a guy his size.

Hands: Both good, Ryder might be a slightly better mark.

Pace: Pendlebury's is good for anyone, while again, Ryder's is just good for his height.

Evasion/Movement: Pendlebury by a country mile over pretty much anyone in the draft.

Footy Smarts: Ryder is probably the smarter player at this point due to having more footy experience, but Pendlebury's instincts are uncannily good for some who's player more basketball than football to this stage. Pendlebury's smarts on the field are nowhere near below average, as you might expect from someone who is newly returning to footy.

Versatility: Both can probably play KP in a pinch, but it wouldn't be preferred. Ryder would have the edge as a KP probably. Ryder otherwise is a short but talented ruckman, and Pendlebury is a midfielder/wingman.

Overall: Both have different skills and both are supremely talented with huge upside - two of the biggest upsides in the draft, without a doubt. So, due to that, the decision would really have to be on personal preference and which you feel you need more. We primarily needed midfielders, so we went with Pendlebury - There's nothing wrong with that.

I would've been happy to get Pendlebury at pick 21, but he wouldn't have been available. In a perfect world that would've been the scanerio, but in reality you can't always get what you want. I'm happy that we got him, I reckon he'll be quite handy.

i think we made the right choice, wont know for another few seasons, or get down to the willy games and see how the buys hold up in the VFL while pushing for a senior spot next year

Last edited by samgarro : Yesterday at 21:49. Reason: i wonted add a bit more

I thought this was an English speaking forum?

Cheers everyone for your thoughts,in particular vinnie-vegas 69,that was a great comparison between the two players :)

jabso said:
I thought this was an English speaking forum?
Ease up jabso,it ONLY took him 3years to make his first post!
I think it is fair to say,it was WORTH the wait :D

vinnie_vegas69 said:
Evasion/Movement: Pendlebury by a country mile over pretty much anyone in the draft.

I really do like the sound of this. It's like what you see in your Kerr's and your Griffins's. Obviously a guy needs a ton of other attributes as well, but this is the exact quality I was hoping we would draft some of.

I looked it up, and Pendlebury is definitely pick 5.

lenny&carl said:
I really do like the sound of this. It's like what you see in your Kerr's and your Griffins's. Obviously a guy needs a ton of other attributes as well, but this is the exact quality I was hoping we would draft some of.
There's little doubt that Pendlebury is just about the most physically talented midfielder in the draft. He's 190cm with above average pace, agility and athleticism, and he's as good at ground level as someone 10cm shorter than he is, and on top of that, he has big hands that he uses to grab the ball in one go.

Considering he also has excellent footskills (although reasonably one sided) he's definitely a talent worthy of pick #5.

The only thing that will hold him back is Scott Pendlebury - He's got all of the tools to succeed, so all that we're backing in drafting him is that he's got the determination to grow into the player he can be.

Ryder may be one of the biggest 'pure talents' in the draft but he is a skinny ruckman/forward which we already have in Fraser and to a lesser extent Richards. Our options were to pick the next best midfielder with potential/raw talent or the next best ruckman/forward with potential/raw talent. Both have their queries (Penders lack of footy and Ryder's height (too short for ruck?) and outsided nature).

Lol

6b8c71ab9fdad57fa1dc8170459533c0.336x252x126.gif

Pointless and ridiculous discussing it at this point in time.
Exactly, they've just been drafted and we actually need to give them time to get pre-seasons under their belt and develop. You might look back in ten years and see that Pendlebury turned out twice the player Ryder did. Just ridiculous after they've just both been drafted.

Im more surprised Buddy was being used as a comparison player in December 2005, and that there is a Collingwood Mod named Jabso.