Votes: 10 3.6%
  • Aiden Bonar

Votes: 15 5.4%
  • Nathan Murphy

Votes: 3 1.1%

To be honest I have NFI about these kids in the draft other than watching my nephew play live in two games for Marcellin against a few of them.

I don't judge these kids on a highlights package.

Can I just say I have loved your input Pie 4 Life. :thumbsu:

Time to put your balls on the line mate.........who are we picking at 6 in your opinion?
Only one choice mate.........yes I am bored :D
Clark score highly on the kicking test at the combine because as what was mentioned, he can kick on both feet. Now the test itself isn't under pressure, it's just repeat kicks at different difficulties on both feet, so he's good at that. But under pressure he throws it on the boot, it's not good.

I've stuck with Coffield since August so I'll keep it there, although murmurs have been around other players lately. It could still change depending on whispers that happen in the next week. Ie. they hear that Butts goes before 38 and they might take Naughton for example.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-11-14/road-to-the-draft-top30-mock-draft

Cal Twomey and Nat Edwards
  • AFL Academies manager Michael Ablett joins the show
  • The guys go through a top-30 mock draft based on club needs
  • Who do they think the Lions should take at No.1? What about the Saints with their two top-10 selections?
  • Where should bids come for Patrick Naish and Connor Ballenden? The guys predict where the father-son and academy prospects should fit in

Pick 1 (Brisbane): Cam Rayner
Pick 2 (Fremantle): Luke Davies-Uniacke
Pick 3 (Carlton): Paddy Dow
Pick 4 (North): Andrew Brayshaw
Pick 5 (Fremantle): Jaidyn Stephenson
Pick 6 (Collingwood): Darcy Fogarty
Pick 7 (Saints): Adam Cerra
Pick 8 (Saints): Hunter Clark
Pick 9 (Bulldogs): Nick Coffield
Pick 10 (Carlton): Aiden Bonar
Pick 11 (Giants): Ed Richards
Pick 12 (Adelaide): Jarrod Brander
Pick 13 (West Coast): Oscar Allen
Pick 14 (Sydney): Aaron Naughton
Pick 15 (Brisbane): Nathan Murphy
Pick 16 (Richmond): Patrick Naish (Match Bulldogs bid)
Pick 17 (Bulldogs): Lachlan Fogarty
Pick 18 (Brisbane): Jack Higgins
Pick 19 (Gold Coast): Jack Petrucelle
Pick 20 (Richmond): Charlie Constable
Pick 21 (West Coast): Lochie O'Brien
Pick 22 (Geelong): Sam Taylor
Pick 23 (North): Charlie Spargo
Pick 24 (Brisbane): Connor Ballenden (Match Geelongs bid)
Pick 25 (Geelong): Tom McCartin
Pick 26 (Richmond): Sam Hayes
Pick 27 (West Coast): Matt Ling
Pick 28 (Giants): Gryan Miers
Pick 29 (Giants): Zac Bailey
Pick 30 (Melbourne: Callum Coleman-Jones

Interesting that Cal Twomey doesn't have Noah Balta in the top 30. If he fell to our 38, he'd be well worth the punt.

Clark score highly on the kicking test at the combine because as what was mentioned, he can kick on both feet. Now the test itself isn't under pressure, it's just repeat kicks at different difficulties on both feet, so he's good at that. But under pressure he throws it on the boot, it's not good.

I've stuck with Coffield since August so I'll keep it there, although murmurs have been around other players lately. It could still change depending on whispers that happen in the next week. Ie. they hear that Butts goes before 38 and they might take Naughton for example.

I know our recruiters are "guns" because they already know who the other 16 teams are going to pick up in the second round in 2018 (sarcasm people....not) but do they really know Butts (who?) will be gone by pick 38?

One thing I have appreciated P 4 L is that the Club has let very few leaks come out during this review and it seems like pick 6 has got all "you" experts guessing what pick 6 will be. I think it's great.

By the way I personally still want the best KPP at 6 but if we get the next Pendles (selfish bastard :mad:) I won't be complaining.

Clark’s kicking isn’t really what makes him a good prospect. Dual sided yes but only hits targets when he has zero pressure on him. Hardness at the ball is top class though.

Exactly. When he has time and space his disposal by foot is first class. It's his disposal through the contest that lets him down and results in his high clanger numbers.

Same issue with some of highly credentialed kicks like O'Brien, who has shown under pressure his kicking is flawed. Except unlike Clark, O'Brien is never going to be the contested animal Clark is.

Personally I think if he can get the calmness he has in space across all facets of the game he will shine.

Interesting that Cal Twomey doesn't have Noah Balta in the top 30. If he fell to our 38, he'd be well worth the punt.

He be a Huge Steal at Pick 38

Honestly wouldn’t surprise. This Murphy talk has to be coming from somewhere.

I just want someone that can bloody kick! So I guess that means Cerra, Fog or maybe Coffield.

Naughton ticks a lot of boxes but unfortunately kicking ain’t one of them. Shame cos he looks the goods otherwise.
Yeah it's coming from the player management side of things. Agents think the Pies will pick Murphy. We were the first to interview him when he chose footy and have been keen ever since.

I know our recruiters are "guns" because they already know who the other 16 teams are going to pick up in the second round in 2018 (sarcasm people) but do they really know Butts (who?) will be gone by pick 38?

One thing I have appreciated P 4 L is that the Club has let very few leaks come out during this review and it seems like pick 6 has got all "you" experts guessing what pick 6 will be. I think it's great.

By the way I personally still want the best KPP at 6 but if we get the next Pendles (selfish bastard :mad:) I won't be complaining.
Nah they can't predict the entire draft, but just like us you hear things like "Geelong are going to go early on Player X" or "This player is bolting up the order" etc. They'll hear it before we do, so it can change as late as the day before. On draft night generally the top 10 is sorted and clubs know who each other is picking, then after that it can throw up a few surprises.

Yeah it's coming from the player management side of things. Agents think the Pies will pick Murphy. We were the first to interview him when he chose footy and have been keen ever since.

Geez. Does seem we are Huge Fans and I can see why they think we Pick him at 6.

Hine Rates him that High then he will Pick.

I be bit sad IF we Pick Murphy as to what other Prospects be There. I can just see Hine saying about Upside and his Little Time in the Elite AFL System gives him Huge Upside

Who's the best kick in the draft aside from O'Brien?
Coffield, Bonar, Paton, Farrell are the other ones I'd rank in the top five (no particular order).

EDIT: I'd probably have Ed Richards not far behind. Elite kick, but the others kick long most of the time, Richards is often short darts, so it's hard to compare. Better effectiveness than those guys, but less risks with short kicks.

Nah they can't predict the entire draft, but just like us you hear things like "Geelong are going to go early on Player X" or "This player is bolting up the order" etc. They'll hear it before we do, so it can change as late as the day before. On draft night generally the top 10 is sorted and clubs know who each other is picking, then after that it can throw up a few surprises.

Wonder IF there be any Leaks like what happened with Tigers when they Picked Conca or Someone hacked Essenson and put out a Page about them Drafting Ately

I think we need to recruit someone who from 2020 onwards can permanently replace what we've brought Wells in for. Who's the most likely?
We already have him, his name is Josh Daicos.

But going on your earlier reasoning, it won't matter because they will all be duds, coz...well, you know...its pick 6 and all that
Instead of stating why everyone else is wrong, why not tell us who you would pick at no 6. Or is it just easier to sit up your treetop and pick off, one by one, posters who do offer an opinion that differs from whatever it is your's might be?

1. Matt Balmer‏ @MattBalmer7

Matt Balmer Retweeted AFL Draft Central

Nathan Murphy has been one of the big risers in the last week or so. Talk continuing to grow that he'll warrant a top 10 pick - having been invited to the #AFLDraft event in Sydney.

I think they may just have the same source...
You reckon? ;)

Yeah DraftBalta I wouldn't bother telling me what Matt Balmer has said as I will know :p We do talk daily, and in fact are talking right now haha

FWIW don't think we will pick Murphy as it hasn't come from the club. I want to pick Coffield, but signs point to Naughton. But this does seem one of the strangest drafts leading up, where even pick one is still unknown!

Michael Ablett rates Darcy Fogarty as the best kick.
He's up there, but that's like saying Cal Twomey rates Jack Higgins as a top five pick with good speed. Certain people have favourites, we all have them, I do. You've just got to work out who they are and then take their opinions of those players with a grain of salt.

Richards bolting, Twomey now has him almost in the top ten... Wouldn't even be that much of a reach at 6 based on that!

Must be annoying being a recruiter. Say Dekka's been keen on someone like Murphy or Richards for a later pick all year, then they go ahead and have a blinder and now will require pick 6!