Picola & District South East 2011 Thread

10 clubs would be way better... reckon the League should try and recruit back Congupna who are clearly struggling in the Murray League and also get All Blacks back from the Ovens & King who seem to back up and running again both would be great clubs to get back and start up some of that old friendly rivarly.... sounds like the old Tungamah League... HOW GOOD WOULD THAT BE.... thoughts?????

I have thought of that many times, I'd also add Tallygaroopna and Violet Town from the KDFL, the KDFL would then have 11 teams. That would allow Waaia and Katunga to return to their traditional rivals in Picola Utd & Yarroweyah, and more recently Strathy. That would leave both comps with 10.

SE: Benalla All Blacks, Congupna, Dookie United, Katamatite, Katandra, Rennie, Shepparton East, Tallygaroopna, Tungamah, Violet Town (VT to Rennie is about 115 km)

NW: Berrigan, Blighty, Deni Rovers, Jerilderie, Katunga, Mathoura, Picola United, Strathmerton, Waaia, Yarroweyah (Wunghnu in recess)

But as said previously, I think it is for clubs to instigate the move, not the leagues.

SE: Benalla All Blacks, Congupna, Dookie United, Katamatite, Katandra, Rennie, Shepparton East, Tallygaroopna, Tungamah, Violet Town (VT to Rennie is about 115 km)

NW: Berrigan, Blighty, Deni Rovers, Jerilderie, Katunga, Mathoura, Picola United, Strathmerton, Waaia, Yarroweyah (Wunghnu in recess)

But as said previously, I think it is for clubs to instigate the move, not the leagues.[/quote]

Sorry to say this Flag - but this just makes way too much sense for the VCFL!
Well thats a full round played and the league must be lcking their lips. What a great comp. Everyone on theiur day is capable of snatching a win. So hopefully the results keep throwing up a bit of everything to keep it right down to the wire for spots in the top 5!:thumbsu:
Lets hope the Eagles can keep up with their current form with a well drilled display against the tiges this week. the first round I thought the tiges really took it up to the eagles in the first qtr with their youthful exuberence and attack on the footy. They just couldn't sustain it. Hopefully we'll see an improvement in their youngsters from the last round.
Happy Footy!!!!

Not a lot of chat on here.
The comp continues to throw up interesting results. Surprised with the Waaia vs Katunga scoreline. Was Waaia great on the day or did Katunga just have a bad one? Also didn't expect the Dooks to beat Tunga. Despite the Dooks' momentum atm I thought the Bears (with their quick young blokes) would cancel out the Dooks speed. The Shepp East vs Katty scoreline looks ugly. Hope blokes stick with them and don't start jumping ship from Katty, otherwise the damage will extend past this season. Rennie got the result with the pressure well and truly on. Were down by 3 or 4 goals early then had the CHF given a 15 minute spell for swearing after missing a shot for goal (anyone ever seen that before except for in a juniors match)? Got themselves back into the match and held on. A few injuries to the Kats unfortunately with one in the ambulance. How are they iwantanotherflag?

Not a lot of chat on here.
The comp continues to throw up interesting results. Surprised with the Waaia vs Katunga scoreline. Was Waaia great on the day or did Katunga just have a bad one? Also didn't expect the Dooks to beat Tunga. Despite the Dooks' momentum atm I thought the Bears (with their quick young blokes) would cancel out the Dooks speed. The Shepp East vs Katty scoreline looks ugly. Hope blokes stick with them and don't start jumping ship from Katty, otherwise the damage will extend past this season. Rennie got the result with the pressure well and truly on. Were down by 3 or 4 goals early then had the CHF given a 15 minute spell for swearing after missing a shot for goal (anyone ever seen that before except for in a juniors match)? Got themselves back into the match and held on. A few injuries to the Kats unfortunately with one in the ambulance. How are they iwantanotherflag?

Think 5th spot on the ladder will be up for grabs..., reckon Tunga & Katandra will fight off for that spot, think we can safely say Katty and Katunga will struggle to play finals... my top 5 is Shepp East, Waaia, Rennie, Dookie, Tungamah... Katandra, Katunga Katty to miss out

Shepp east have been awesome the last two weeks but fair to say the Katunga game they were undermanned, as was Katty last week, big test for eagles over next few weeks with Tunga, General bye Dookie, Waaia, Rennie & Katandra... Dookie have been the surprise packet over last 6 weeks winning 6 straight... Think injuries will play a big part for most sides, at the minute the eagles are injury free which certainly helps, if everyone can get their full sides on the park it should be a good finals series...

Think 5th spot on the ladder will be up for grabs..., reckon Tunga & Katandra will fight off for that spot, think we can safely say Katty and Katunga will struggle to play finals... my top 5 is Shepp East, Waaia, Rennie, Dookie, Tungamah... Katandra, Katunga Katty to miss out

Shepp east have been awesome the last two weeks but fair to say the Katunga game they were undermanned, as was Katty last week, big test for eagles over next few weeks with Tunga, General bye Dookie, Waaia, Rennie & Katandra... Dookie have been the surprise packet over last 6 weeks winning 6 straight... Think injuries will play a big part for most sides, at the minute the eagles are injury free which certainly helps, if everyone can get their full sides on the park it should be a good finals series...

great 2 see the league so strong at the minute, every week atleast 2 blockbuster games, that could go either way on there day. shep east look like they have reacted pretty well after theloss to the bombers, but after playing two weaker sides the last 2 weeks i wonder whether they will be match hardened for this weeks big game.
tungas form a little bizzare of late, i think if they loose there leader they get a bit lost (dodd) excellent player.
waaia are very inconsistent at minute. big injury probs for last month. obviously with the coach crook and with half a shoulder hanging off hurts there strengths! cowan now up forward will take some stopping. reckon the bombers will hit some straps soon though.
the dookie rats are climbing and the kats are always a chance.
i reckon this weeks game between s.e and tunga is a final preview. s.e by 5 goals. ladder for me s.e,tun,d.u,ren,bombers,kat,swan,tige

I heard that Doddy went off some time in the game last week at Dookie not to return. They also got rolled, so the great player that he is, do they have trouble getting the pill forward without his leadership and skill? That would leave Payne with limited supply coz usually Dodd is one of the main culprits forcing the sherrin down his throat. If Payne is bnot kicking goals, who else can they rely on for a consistent 3-4? Will Doddy come up for the big clash against the eagles this week?

IMPORTANT DATES:
Junior Vote count at Waaia Recreation Reserve
South East Sunday 14th August Starting at 10am
North West Sunday 14th August Starting at 12.30pm
Senior Vote Count
South east Sunday 4th September at Barooga Sports Club
North West Monday 5th September at BSC
Grand Finals
South east Saturday 10th September at Barooga
North West Sunday 11th September at Berrigan
Thank You Evening
Friday 14th October, 7pm at the Barooga GOLF CLUB

Not much happening on here so I thought I would start a topic, it's halfway through the year let's do a review, who will play off in the grandfinal? Best in comp? Goal kicker? And even an interleague side? Should raise some good topics!

Grand Final: Shepp East v Waaia - Eagles to go Back 2 Back
Best Player: Currently - L.Cowan (W) & H.Best (SE) with M.Kitto (DU) very close behind
Leagu Medal: M.Kitto & D.O'Rielly (K) - the umps always love giving Katandra votes! A.Dodd (T) close second.
Goalkicker: Strawhorn (R) 92 before finals - get his ton in the prelim prior to Waiaa rolling them
Rising Star: L. Morrison (SE) a bit biased here but he is gaining consistency

Interleague Side: (on current form)
B: Burkitt (Katty) Dickins (DU) O'Rielly (Kat)
HB: Sidebottom (T) D.Gillespie (SE) Gilmour (W)
C: O'Donnell (DU) H.Best (SE) Briggs (Kat)
HF: J.Best (SE) Mangan (R) P.McMullin (DU)
F: L.Cowan (W) Strawhorn (R) Lewis (R)
Foll: R.Osborne (SE) R.Frapell (SE) Kitto (DU)
Int: J.Palmer (SE) O'Donnell (DU) Bertolli (Kat)
Coach: Rocket Eade (He'll be looking for a job very soon!!!!)

What do youse reckon???:thumbsu:

Best Player: Currently - L.Cowan (W) & H.Best (SE) with M.Kitto (DU) very close behind
Leagu Medal: M.Kitto & D.O'Rielly (K) - the umps always love giving Katandra votes! A.Dodd (T) close second.
Goalkicker: Strawhorn (R) 92 before finals - get his ton in the prelim prior to Waiaa rolling them

Hey nutta why doesnt the picola leauge have an interleauge game just like all the other leauges?? Im sure it would be a ripping contest between the SE V NW as there is some fantastic players in the NW comp and im sure the players involved would be all for it!! Someone with your pull and power around the traps i reckon you should organise the concept??

Sounds good there wash but i think the league wouldn't be keen on having to fork out the bill for 2 interleague outfits, but still worth a try??

Also i see there is some friendly rivallry out at the east between the best boys?? Having a bit ouf a shootout over the last 3weeks J 16 goals H 13 goals, a good spot 2 be in, maybe H might have 2 make the move & slot jarrod down half back to slow his goal tally up??:D:D

Also i see there is some friendly rivallry out at the east between the best boys?? Having a bit ouf a shootout over the last 3weeks J 16 goals H 13 goals, a good spot 2 be in, maybe H might have 2 make the move & slot jarrod down half back to slow his goal tally up??:D:D[/quote]

Last time I looked, Jarrods board magnet has a force field around it and can't be moved any further than the centre line.:D

With regard to NW v SE, I'm not sure whether the league would want this to occur as it still stands they are under the one banner and i don't think they would want the situation where one league mauls the other therefore creating (unfairly some would say) the perception that one league is superior to the other. For mine I reckon due to sheer location the SE would suitcase the NW just coz they have better access to recruiting b/c of the major centres they can draw from. (Shep/Yarra & even Melb to extent) Its open for debate though.
Maybe we should have an U/23 interleague between the two divisions. I reckon that would have merit. If the league wants to skimp on not outlaying for league jumpers, surely a two clubs could put there jumpers up for the game. Then (like in U/14 interleague days & yes Wash I did manage a game or two in the junior interleague side :p) the guys can keep the socks & shorts as a momento of representing the league.
And before I get flogged from someone on the NW thread, my opinion about the SE being stronger than the NW is backed by a player who has played in both divisions and he reckons the SE footy is far superior primarily due to the fact the bottom 10 in each side is far better in the SE than those in the NW. No doubt each side in the NW have their stars, but lack a little in depth.:thumbsu:

Hey mover you have played in both leauges and have a good idea of the players in both comps what are your thoughts on NW and there competetiveness ( hope that spelt right) if there was an interleauge?? I would think if all the class players played for NW then i think they would be very competitive, but if players pull out thats when people lose interest!!! Also good to see you in good form with a BOG mate, that bit of extra runnin i seen you doing the other week is payin off:D:D

I would agree the SE league would be the stronger out of the 2 and I play in the NW comp. Even when the league was combined the top half of the ladder was
predominantly SE teams. If you took the best players from each comp and had an interleague match I think it might be tight, but I agree with the comment re the depth, the SE comps bottom players from each side would be better than most of ours I reckon for obvious reasons (Closer to major towns hence having a bigger pool to draw players from). If the NW made an interleague side the majority of players would be from Jerilderie at the moment. I like the concept though, would be worth looking into.

Hey mover you have played in both leauges and have a good idea of the players in both comps what are your thoughts on NW and there competetiveness ( hope that spelt right) if there was an interleauge?? I would think if all the class players played for NW then i think they would be very competitive, but if players pull out thats when people lose interest!!! Also good to see you in good form with a BOG mate, that bit of extra runnin i seen you doing the other week is payin off:D:D

Yeah wash i think ramnuts comments were close, the SE league is at the moment in a stronger position overall, but the NW league is slowly closing the gap each year as they build, but dont think at this stage they will catch the SE league for a long time if ever!! & as mentioned i think it puerly comes down to "location & depth" as there is more 2 chose from & it stretches further down the team sheet in the SE, but would say like urself that if all the top flight players from each league made themselves available it would be closer than some think (which may not be a true indication on the 2 leagues overall strength tho), but still think if alot of players throw up different ideas the league might front up 2!

Yeah the extra running was needed as i only got back on the park, missed a few from a "re occurring injury" (old man syndrome:D) just glad 2 be back out there! Thought that was u running around over there haha

What about urself mate in some very good form this year 2, vintage!!!

Sounds good there wash but i think the league wouldn't be keen on having to fork out the bill for 2 interleague outfits, but still worth a try??

Also i see there is some friendly rivallry out at the east between the best boys?? Having a bit ouf a shootout over the last 3weeks J 16 goals H 13 goals, a good spot 2 be in, maybe H might have 2 make the move & slot jarrod down half back to slow his goal tally up??:D:D

u are on the money here smooth mover, last i heard was coach hayden tried to move jarrod's magnet only to find it had been glued and sticky taped to the board and was stuck just out of the goalsquare..interesting times out at shepp east with last years star cobey aynsley playing last 2 games inthe reserves in a attemp to get back and also some big rumours of a possible return of chris burke and also premiership hero trainaidas? chris burke would be a massive inclusion

Steady player that he was, his running style looked like he had two fence posts strapped to his legs tends to tell me the game has gone past him! I reckon Besty is better suited to keeping the group he has got b/c they seemed to be going along nicely at this stage. Although trigger for a cameo of 8 in the GF could be nice to watch:eek: With regard to J.Best, Dooks better name someone to line up in the carpark next week, coz thats where he gets most of his footy. Although I did see his season tally is up to 1.5 tackles this year an improvement of .5 already on last year.
Dooks v Eagles next week should be a ball tearer especally out on the hill.

A learned friend of mine has come up with this:
B: Wolfe (R) Frost (SE) O'Reilly (Kat)
HB: Gilmour (W) Cowan (W) McFarlane (D)
C: Marx (D) Frappell (SE) Woods (R)
HF: Dodd (T) McMillan (D) J Best (SE)
F: J Palmer (SE) Strawhorn (R) Calder (K)
Foll: Gillespie (SE) H Best (SE) Kitto (D)
Int: Carkeek (Kat) Bigg (Katty) Mangan (R) Scantleton (T)
(SE - 6, D - 4, R - 4, W - 2, T - 2, Kat - 2, K - 1, Katty - 1).

GF - Shepp East vs Rennie
Best Player - Cowan (W)
Medal - Kitto (D)
Goalkicker - Strawhorn (R)
Rising Star - Thewma (D)

Very quiet on here!! Where are you gambi????
Tips for this w,end
Katandra by 32 ( has dan o,reilly got the biggest calfs in pdfl??)
rennie by 134 ( strawhorn to snag 14)
shepp east by 19 ( will dooks continue to shine?)
waaia by 28 ( is tunga,s run of dominance finally over)

The next 3 wks should really sought the top 3 out i would think and who will be best placed to get that coveted double chance!! :cool:

I think the gap is widening between both divisions, within the senior grades .
Maybe a PDFL versus Ovens and King senior and under 21 game within the worksafe championships at Barooga , or a PDFL v KDFL curtain raiser to the GV's worksafe championship clash, at Deakin next year ?;)

Couple of massive games this week in the south east and can it be possible that tungamah may miss the finals at years end??? They have lost 4 in a row and play rennie this w,end and with katunga starting to get there early season form back it could be very interesting!! Shepp east come up against waaia and the boys out eagle land have really been lookin forward to this game since the bombers got over them in round 3!! Alot has changed since then and the bombers will be hoping to repeat that result and that makes for a ring a ding ding battle:D

tips for the w,end

rennie by 29 points ( mangan looking ominious)
katunga by 4 points ( full list certainly helps)
shepp east by 17 points ( will not let it slip again)
katandra by 65 points ( will the un committed players get back in)