List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

Thorp has played more as a free wheeling midfielder rather than a stay at home forward.

In saying that, he has done it very bloody well.

With the departure of Crameri & Gumbleton, Ben Brown fits a need of a developed KPF whilst he has some ability to ruck if required.
Forwards who can rotate through midfield, though, are required. Also, he was initially drafted as a key forward. I understand the need for another ruck-forward with the departures of Hille and NLM, but we'd have to be extremely unlucky to lose Ryder and TBell to injury simultaneously. Daniher could pinch hit at least. I suppose it's a question of which of the two has the potential to be a better forward.

On another note, to captain and coach a side to a premiership speaks volumes for his on and off-field leadership abilities. That would be Winders, Chappy and Thorp looking at JD (and Garlett, should we draft him.).

If Kommer is a dud and Browne, NOB et al are potential guns and better than him, why is it that he's played more games than them all in his first season?

Kommer made a bet with Hird in the pre season that if he beat him over 18 holes of golf, Hird would have to start him every game.

Little did Hird know....

Forwards who can rotate through midfield, though, are required. Also, he was initially drafted as a key forward. I understand the need for another ruck-forward with the departures of Hille and NLM, but we'd have to be extremely unlucky to lose Ryder and TBell to injury simultaneously. Daniher could pinch hit at least. I suppose it's a question of which of the two has the potential to be a better forward.

On another note, to captain and coach a side to a premiership speaks volumes for his on and off-field leadership abilities. That would be Winders, Chappy and Thorp looking at JD (and Garlett, should we draft him.).

Correct me if im wrong but Thorp is 194cm, tall enough for KPF but not enough to ruck hence why I would go for Ben Brown ahead of Thorp.

JD must be a dud too then??

Kommer 18 games >>>>>> JD 5 games

They play different roles to young Nicholas BB

I get drawn into this because the comments of Kommer's performances are based on some hypothetical, where the reasons for his cult status result in effective onfield performance consistent with a hardnut persona, as opposed to the reality of his mediocre (at absolute best) output.

Like I said, the tackling machine averages the same number of complete tackles Leroy Jetta did between 2010 and 2012. The knock on Jetta is that he can't play in the zone and tends to run around like a headless chook which means that he can't impact enough contests defensively. In all seriousness, this is exactly what Kommer does (treadding water in a no-mans land almost getting to contest rather than applying any real pressure - the difference is that he chases with much more intensity than Jetta does).

I've not written off his capacity to improve but I'd ask what it is that is going to improve and how is it going to compliment the side?

He is a midfielder who has been played out of position as a small forward where he doesn't appear to have the offensive weapons to do any real damage. It seems that there is almost agreement that he would not spend another season as a forward. Who does he replace in the midfield? What is he going to bring to the midfield that it doesn't already have? Plainly he doesn't have the skill (you just have to watch him kick the ball to a leading forward even when pressure is not an issue).

I've got no doubt that he is more than adequate depth as an inside midfielder and that, given his athleticism, he may even be worth a go as a tagger. I just can't stand reading the drivel about his on-field performances this year.

Kommer as EFC's Ryan Crowley = like.

If the priority is to draft a ruck, fine. I just think we have a stronger need for a KPF. That said, I don't know about Ben Brown. How does he compare as a key forward?

Think Tyrone Vickery

Good strong hands, accurate set shot for goal, aerobically sound. 80% forward/20% ruck (if required).

Because Browne is a HBF, O'Brien is being groomed as a midfielder and everybody makes mistakes, even our coaches box.

Wow, plays 18 games in a season where at one stage we were 13-3 and he's a "giant dud". And NOB, Browne and Dalglish have "shown more potential". Must have missed those games. Very harsh comments on a first year player.

Jack Package

Pick 26: Luke Reynolds
Pick 55: Cam Conlon

Try this one mate

Pick 26: Dayle Garlett
Pick 55: Ben Brown

Still get this innate feeling that we may see a surprise delisting unsigning before the draft that will give us a 3rd live pick in the National Draft (+ the Lauchlan Dalgleish rookie upgrade).

By the way mate, there is a young kid called Ben Sokol that for a later pick - rookie option could be a real nugget of gold if we managed to get him. Sokol and Hewatt are a couple i like the sounds of.

Just not convinced by garlett at 26, would be happy if we actually went that way, but I think we'll play it safe. Not that that's bad, 26 could still see us land a really talented player without any character issues, and then still get a pretty handy small forward in the rookie draft.

I've got Hewlett at 30, getting a fair bit of hype on here recently

Just not convinced by garlett at 26, would be happy if we actually went that way, but I think we'll play it safe. Not that that's bad, 26 could still see us land a really talented player without any character issues, and then still get a pretty handy small forward in the rookie draft.

I've got Hewlett at 30, getting a fair bit of hype on here recently

If you are to believe the Melbourne Herald Scum then he will be going to the Hawks at pick 24 anyways so perhaps that choice wont even be there.

The one player who I see keeps slipping down the draft order? Your man, Luke Reynolds. What is making him fall down the order?

If you are to believe the Melbourne Herald Scum then he will be going to the Hawks at pick 24 anyways so perhaps that choice wont even be there.

The one player who I see keeps slipping down the draft order? Your man, Luke Reynolds. What is making him fall down the order?

Reckon the hawks are a big show for Garlett at 38, not so much 24. They should really be prioritizing an inside midfielder like Cripps instead of another flanker/forward.

Not really sure why no one else likes Reynolds as much as I do. For the role he's likely to have at Afl level, he's got everything you want, he's tall, marks well overhead, leads to good spots and has a 60 metre leg on him.
Could even potentially play some half back as well because of that cannon like left foot.

Would be a handy player to step in to that Crameri void, and probably a better fit, because he plays a bit smaller when the ball is on the deck.

Still pretty bullish on 26 though, reckon there's about 12 smalls around the mark who could be very good players

Garlett.... he's like a big spliff

Yeah, whenever he's mentioned, I will giggle at anything, I get this insatiable hunger for Nachos and peanut M&M's, my eyes become bloodshot, equilibrium is shaken, paranoia ensues, lowered blood pressure, inhibition removed, I begin to ask myself life's big questions and I can't pass a pee test for a month.

Reckon the hawks are a big show for Garlett at 38, not so much 24. They should really be prioritizing an inside midfielder like Cripps instead of another flanker/forward.

Not really sure why no one else likes Reynolds as much as I do. For the role he's likely to have at Afl level, he's got everything you want, he's tall, marks well overhead, leads to good spots and has a 60 metre leg on him.
Could even potentially play some half back as well because of that cannon like left foot.

Would be a handy player to step in to that Crameri void, and probably a better fit, because he plays a bit smaller when the ball is on the deck.

Still pretty bullish on 26 though, reckon there's about 12 smalls around the mark who could be very good players

I'd agree with that summary on Reynolds. To be honest, I think Garlett will be the better footballer (everything pending) however Reynolds would probably be my 'next bet' with pick 26 so you aren't the only one.

Thought I heard some question marks on his leg speed, whilst some draft profiles question his decision making and consistency across 4 quarters, however as you say, has all those attributes you want in a player.

JKH.
Very mature young fella, appears to have all the tools to kick Del'Ollio off our list.
2 for 1, always winning.