Player comparison thread

Yeh well if their werent other pressing matters for my team than i would probably try to upgrade to a gun premium. If he averages 80 though it will be a hard to decision as to whether to keep him or upgrade him as its kinda middle ground, but i think it will all depend on whats available.
I dont think people would be trading a 80+ avg Lucas. I know you say if their arnt other pressing matters, but their will be especially for the first 12 rounds. He will be one of the last you trade out that arnt keepers in your side. Similar to Porplyzia was in 08.

If Chad is a back then i think he will be in A LOT of teams being priced so well. If he is a midfielder only, then probably a lot less sides.

If Monty reads this perhaps he could confirm for us what percentage of teams Chad is in? (and of those teams i reckon atleast 90% of those would be as a defender).
I just regiged my side yesterday and put him in the mids, it added another keeper to my side IMO and my midfield now looks fairly strong and durable. I got rid of Cousins and brought in CHAD. I now have 3 keepers in the mids, so im hoping he's sort of only named as a mid now :D. I had Cuz, Haz, Rich, and Coughz/Danger starting it looked a litte suspect. I am going to try and make a team with 3 keepers in the mids (including CHAD) and hopefully i can sneak Cuz and Haz in their aswell with Rich the 6th mid.

He would certainly be a keeper in the backline too though. IF not a back then i will probably need to ponder upgrading chad to goddard, or downgrading him to a malceski/ibbotson.

You may be on the right track with 3 mids, i have 2 premiums and then haz,rich,dangerfield and skipworth (sidebottom and davenport).

So essentially relying on at least 3 out of rich, dangerfield, skipworth, sidebottom and davenport getting a game. I would think Rich and Dangerfield would get games though, and hopefully Davenport gets into the Port side.

I had Cuz, Haz, Rich, and Coughz/Danger starting it looked a litte suspect.

I still do have Cuz, Haz, Rich and Coughlan starting. Wouldn't surprise me if it came back to bite me on the arse but if you're gonna win you've gotta take some risks.

I dont think people would be trading a 80+ avg Lucas. I know you say if their arnt other pressing matters, but their will be especially for the first 12 rounds. He will be one of the last you trade out that arnt keepers in your side. Similar to Porplyzia was in 08.

haha take that back!!!!!:thumbsu:

Nice cheap shot DW:thumbsu:.

From what i have seen on the Melbourne board Buckley is right on the fringe of the best 22, lots of people seem to have included Petterd which is a good sign also (although i don't think any teams (maybe 1) i saw had both of Petterd and Grimes).
yep that one would've been mine, I have worked him out though. I thought Grimes is more a mid than a back, but i really havent seen him much to comment.:o

Also the thing with Lucas is that we may only need him to avg 75 over the first 8 rounds for him to be able to be traded to a fallen star. However if he continues to avg this i dont think many people will be getting rid of him before others in their side. Thus he will almost become a porplyzia type scoring (08) keeper. If he avgs over 80 i wont be getting rid of him. However if hes only avg 70 and theirs a premium to get than i will trade him but not before other forwards in my side. I think Lucas should be kept unless of injury and if hes really struggling until rounds 12-15. I see that as the time to trade him out for a premium if you have been lucky with your trades and have a few remaining for late injury.
I don't really see the point in having him average 80 until round 12-15, then trading him. You'd earn 200 points max. Either trade him earlier, or not at all for mine.

200 points sounds alright. Also it could be more say a Riewoldt and it could be 300 points. I agree with what your saying its better to trade someone earlier because you therefore make more points.

Lucas avg 80
Riewoldt avg 100
Trade at round 6 = 20 extra points for 16 rounds
20 x 16 = 320

Or trade at round 12 = 20 extra points for 10 rounds
10 x 20 = 200

Thus the earlier you trade them in the better, yes i agree with that. All i am saying with this is he will probably be one of your last players that you need to upgrade, therefore it will be later on. Like Porplyzia people couldve traded him out during rounds 6-8 but they had others scoring worst than him so he didnt get traded out till really later on.

From rounds 4-10 (is the trade in period) the period where the guns you want you try and get them in here for the cash cow upgrades. This means 12 trades can be used during this time period MAX. Meaning probably 6-8max gun/keepers can be traded in. Meaning you can choose to have a Lucas running around in your forward line for longer or Yarran ?? which one would you choose!!

True, but at 236k i think he is too good to pass on. Still capable of 75 average which is a small u pgrade to a premium that drops in price. At the moment I think Lucas has more upside than Higgins or Alwyn

I was actually referring to Cornes when i made that comment, hence the "Like Lucas the problem is his age"

I consider both a bargain ATM particularly if Cornes is a back (which i think you have to assume he won't be). If Cornes is a mid the decision becomes a little trickier with Cornes averaging 20 games a year, i think you have got to ask yourelf do you see Cornes recapturing his old form or do you see a "surprise packet" like a VanBerlo or Boak improving their respective averages and playing 22 games?

TBH i think Lucas is almost a "no strings attached option" given to us by the preverbial god/s of DT:D, Cornes is the riskier proposition.

I have Lucas locked in until the NAB cup at least. He has more upside (although that can be argued, but IMO he is definitely more likely to improve on his priced average more than Cornes) and is less risky.

If think that C.Cornes will play on the wing for the Port in 09. I heard him asking M.Williams if he could still be apart of the midfield and the wing was the only position that was open for him. ATM i have him as my 3rd best mid, which now means i will have to look into players such as Boak, Van Berlo, Sewell, Judd and others around that price range to see which is the better prospect. Im also really going for the safe, durable options and trying to eliminate as many mistakes as possible with my initial starting squad. I believe i have just about done that so far with a few uniques with high reward/risk. Also have been able to get rid of cousins to have a 400ish k player in my mids instead.

200 points sounds alright. Also it could be more say a Riewoldt and it could be 300 points. I agree with what your saying its better to trade someone earlier because you therefore make more points.

Lucas avg 80
Riewoldt avg 100
Trade at round 6 = 20 extra points for 16 rounds
20 x 16 = 320

Or trade at round 12 = 20 extra points for 10 rounds
10 x 20 = 200

Just had a random thought thats hard to explain. May not make much sense but here it is:

I think the value can sometimes become even higher as players (such as riewoldt) have great finishes to the year.

Riewoldt, for example, has ended the year strongly in recent years:

averaged 118 over last 10 rounds of 2008
averaged 113 over last 8 rounds of 2007
averaged 105 over last 10 rounds of 2006

Hence the value of the trade may not be 20 points, but actually closer to 30 or 35.

Sort of a different idea. I mean last year you could of traded in gibbs for the last 9 rounds and been rewarded with an average of 100.55. We have talked about how all the top ten coaches had their 6th midfielder averaging 90+, well while gibbs doesnt fit this category (averaged 87), i think it would be interesting to try this style of trading in players on form. Think about it, you could of traded in swan (442k) at the same time (for gibbs for example - 301k) and got a better average. Swan averaged 97.1 over the last 9 compared to gibbs 100.6

Imagine what you couldve done with the extra 140k.

Its very hard to pick though, but perhaps there is a way you could trade in cheaper players in good form (likely to improve) and come out better from it.

Kinda random and probably doesnt make any sense but yeh.

Just had a random thought thats hard to explain. May not make much sense but here it is:

I think the value can sometimes become even higher as players (such as riewoldt) have great finishes to the year.

Riewoldt, for example, has ended the year strongly in recent years:

averaged 118 over last 10 rounds of 2008
averaged 113 over last 8 rounds of 2008
averaged 105 over last 10 rounds of 2008

Hence the value of the trade may not be 20 points, but actually closer to 30 or 35.

Sort of a different idea. I mean last year you could of traded in gibbs for the last 9 rounds and been rewarded with an average of 100.55. We have talked about how all the top ten coaches had their 6th midfielder averaging 90+, well while gibbs doesnt fit this category (averaged 87), i think it would be interesting to try this style of trading in players on form. Think about it, you could of traded in swan (442k) at the same time (for gibbs for example - 301k) and got a better average. Swan averaged 97.1 over the last 9 compared to gibbs 100.6

Imagine what you couldve done with the extra 140k.

Its very hard to pick though, but perhaps there is a way you could trade in cheaper players in good form (likely to improve) and come out better from it.

Kinda random and probably doesnt make any sense but yeh.

It definitely does make sense apart from the 3 08's for Riewoldt:p.

It's one of those more outside the square strategies i guess, along similar lines to making a team with 500k left over at the start and then just make a lot of trades when there is value (lose points at the start but gives you a lot of trading freedom).

I think it just means you have to be wary of mid year role changes as they can definitely affect players scores, for instance small forward players could see more midfield time mid-way through the year if the clubs midfield is decimated by injury or if they have built up a large enough aerobic capacity.

Teams that are out of the race can blood rookies mid-year too, which can affect other players' roles.

In the Gibbs case, his spike in points was due to a role change where he was given more freedom and time in the midfield.

It's just a matter of whether you can pick the in form "value" players.

"Value players" are not just limited to your starting line-up, not every single upgrade in your team needs to be to a premium.

The problem with trading to players who are starting to find form is that everything can change quickly in footy and the selection could turn out to be horrific.

The risk is just as immanent when trading to a player who is expected a mid-season role change as there is a world of doubt over how the change will affect their scoring, even if the positional change/role change is to a traditionally high scoring DT position (i.e outside or inside midfielder)

I just made a short list of a few players that did well from about mid-year in 08.

Bartel – 125.9 over last 10 rounds (8 100’s)

Riewoldt (like L91 said) – 118 over last 10 rounds (9 100’s)

Bowden – 116.7 over last 10 rounds (5 100’s)

Corey – 118.2 over last 9 rounds (8 100’s)

Delidio – 107.9 over last 9 rounds (6 100’s)

Van Berlo – 107.85 over 7 of last 8 rounds (not including the injury) (5 100’s)

Gibbs (like lakey said) - 100.6 over last 9 rounds (5 100's)

There are plenty more as well, idealy you would like the change in form and/or role change to occur slightly earlier i.e round 10 but their are plenty of mid-season bolters who can be picked and save you plenty of dough while maintaining a score worthy of a premium.

But can you pick the right one/s?

You're on the right track Lakey but remember that with trading it's less about averages and more about the stars aligning with trading out whilst your player is highly priced and while the one you want is lowly priced.

Takes plenty of discipline to do. Ask yourself if Lucas was coming off 3 100s and Roo off 3 50s would you complete the trade. Very similar to Stevens last year when he got over 400K.

Also very hard to get the timing right for the exact player you want. More often than not it's simply a case of the best timing and best value to suit your lineup.

It definitely does make sense apart from the 3 08's for Riewoldt:p.

I just copy and pasted and forgot to change the years due to limited sleep. Edited now:thumbsu:

It's one of those more outside the square strategies i guess, along similar lines to making a team with 500k left over at the start and then just make a lot of trades when there is value (lose points at the start but gives you a lot of trading freedom).
I think it just means you have to be wary of mid year role changes as they can definitely affect players scores, for instance small forward players could see more midfield time mid-way through the year if the clubs midfield is decimated by injury or if they have built up a large enough aerobic capacity.

Teams that are out of the race can blood rookies mid-year too, which can affect other players' roles.

In the Gibbs case, his spike in points was due to a role change where he was given more freedom and time in the midfield.

It's just a matter of whether you can pick the in form "value" players.

"Value players" are not just limited to your starting line-up, not every single upgrade in your team needs to be to a premium.

The problem with trading to players who are starting to find form is that everything can change quickly in footy and the selection could turn out to be horrific.

The risk is just as immanent when trading to a player who is expected a mid-season role change as there is a world of doubt over how the change will affect their scoring, even if the positional change/role change is to a traditionally high scoring DT position (i.e outside or inside midfielder)

I just made a short list of a few players that did well from about mid-year in 08.

Bartel – 125.9 over last 10 rounds (8 100’s)

Riewoldt (like L91 said) – 118 over last 10 rounds (9 100’s)

Bowden – 116.7 over last 10 rounds (5 100’s)

Corey – 118.2 over last 9 rounds (8 100’s)

Delidio – 107.9 over last 9 rounds (6 100’s)

Van Berlo – 107.85 over 7 of last 8 rounds (not including the injury) (5 100’s)

Gibbs (like lakey said) - 100.6 over last 9 rounds (5 100's)

There are plenty more as well, idealy you would like the change in form and/or role change to occur slightly earlier i.e round 10 but their are plenty of mid-season bolters who can be picked and save you plenty of dough while maintaining a score worthy of a premium.

But can you pick the right one/s?

Thats the thing its hard to pick, im just thinking, but it would be hard to execute.

Theres heaps of strategies for DT, but i think if you tried this, you would end up with quite a unique team, yet scoring still quite highly (if you choose well).

Always keep a look out for players who finished the season strongly. Still doing my analysis of the way premiums tend to start/finish and thus when it has been previously best to buy them (shared a bit on chad starting well the other day)

Pretty much im just saying, you couldve had a player like gibbs or van berlo in your final lineup last year (even though ideally for the top DTers they like 6th mid to be 90+) and done very very well, particularly through saving the cash as mentioned.

You're on the right track Lakey but remember that with trading it's less about averages and more about the stars aligning with trading out whilst your player is highly priced and while the one you want is lowly priced.

Takes plenty of discipline to do. Ask yourself if Lucas was coming off 3 100s and Roo off 3 50s would you complete the trade. Very similar to Stevens last year when he got over 400K.

Also very hard to get the timing right for the exact player you want. More often than not it's simply a case of the best timing and best value to suit your lineup.

Yeh it was just an idea I was thinking about, nothing concrete or serious.

Trading is discipline, they say the best DTers are those that allow no emotional involvement in their decisions but just stick to their plan/quidelines.

I dont really check out this thread much so sorry if this is has been done but I think a good comparison would be;
Andrew Walker vs Chris Newman
ATM I have Newman, but reconsidering since I am a big fan of Walker. Newman may step up because of his new captain role.. im not sure.

I dont really check out this thread much so sorry if this is has been done but I think a good comparison would be;
Andrew Walker vs Chris Newman
ATM I have Newman, but reconsidering since I am a big fan of Walker. Newman may step up because of his new captain role.. im not sure.

Has Walker ever showed any promise?

What kind of comment is that? I think he has more upside than Newman with regards to DT, the issue which has always been apparent is his injury history. He can't string enough games together to get consistent form on the board. Newman is probably the better option because of Walkers inability to stay on the park consistently but average wise, i think Walker will score higher.

I see Walker as P.Chapman but in the backs. He always seems to miss plenty of games during the season but avg quite high. I think hes over priced ATM and doesnt show enough value.

If your willing to take a risk i would go for Walker but if your looking to play a safer game than Newman is probably the way to go. Newman also has upside but how much is another question? not much.

Newman is also on the rehab group which isnt a great sign for us Newman fans!!

Walker shows risk/reward

Newman displays consistancy/no risk

To Sante's question, he showed promise in his debut game :)

Walker seems to have great scoring potential - averaged 89.4 over lst five rounds of 2008 (once he got his fitness up in the two before that) showing his potenial.

Swallow v Cousins v Hasleby

Swallow appears to be smashing it at training, cousins is proven, but has massive injury concerns, reports of hasleby arnt strong. Thoughts?

Swallow v Cousins v Hasleby

Swallow appears to be smashing it at training, cousins is proven, but has massive injury concerns, reports of hasleby arnt strong. Thoughts?

Tough choice isn't it. Personally and without seeing pre-season, i would be leaning to Haselby. Walkup start in freo lineup, had been durable before knee reco, proven scorer as well. Will look at cousins though.

I have no problems in my backs, rucks or forwards.

Midfielders is a headache.

I have Kornes, Murphy and Deledio.
Just feel so uncertain.

Gibbs / J Selwood / Boak all in my thoughts.

Athomas ^^

Murphy, Lids and K.Cornes would be my dream if i could start with all them !! I see all of them with scope of improvment and all could avg 102-105. Well if i was to say i reckon the avgs of those players will go like this

Deledio, 105 avg
K.Cornes, 102 avg (could be as low as 98)
M.Murphy, 100-102 avg

All great picks IMO. I wouldnt be changing them.

Athomas ^^

Murphy, Lids and K.Cornes would be my dream if i could start with all them !! I see all of them with scope of improvment and all could avg 102-105. Well if i was to say i reckon the avgs of those players will go like this

Deledio, 105 avg
M.Murphy, 100-102 avg

Sweet, that's what my concern was as they are all young. Well not Kornes, but Murphy was my main worry because I'm biased towards Carlton and thus rate him highly.

Athomas ^^

Deledio, 105 avg
M.Murphy, 100-102 avg

Completely agree. Great setup. Question is, do i go kornes or Deledio?