Hull City, Adelaide United, WCW
Hey guys, I'm a 16 year old kid looking to play footy next season because I know that next years probably my last chance. Mum's looked around a bit for a league but there doesn't seem to be one for kids my age. I've never played a full match before so I doubt I'm much good, but surely there's somewhere I can play? I'm on the North Shore near Chatswood.

Haha Duds all I mean is that next year is my last year at school and I wanna be able to do it before heading off to Uni where there'd be big blokes - though I do know there's a proper Sydney league where Sydney Uni - the Uni I'll be heading off to hopefully - has a team.

Nah Freo doesn't interest me, don't like the colour purple much.

Hey guys, I'm a 16 year old kid looking to play footy next season because I know that next years probably my last chance. Mum's looked around a bit for a league but there doesn't seem to be one for kids my age. I've never played a full match before so I doubt I'm much good, but surely there's somewhere I can play? I'm on the North Shore near Chatswood.

Shirley ...this is a piss take??:o

If serious contact Pennant Hills Demons FC or North Shore FC or NSW FL all on line and in phone book! There are heaps of comps in the Hills district! they will be able to put you on to feeder club

Start running at least 4km under 20mins 3 times per week, 1 Gym session, and get a real Sherrin from Santa and never let it out of your sight!

Good luck:)

Oh.. btw if your Mum is now single and blonde with big boobs under 80kg ....send her along to the next BF Meet up:thumbsu::D

There's a few teams round your area - they play in the Northern Sydney league. A full list of junior clubs, along with links to their websites, is available here. As you can see, there's a good number of clubs within 30 minutes of you: Willoughby, North Ryde, St Ives, Forrestville, Mosman, etc.

Back when I was playing in the comp, most clubs were tight on numbers (loaning players at half time, that sort of thing - I think I may have even got a run in Jarrad McVeigh's team [I absolutely carried the bloke]), so there were concessions that allowed a certain number of players to play in teams below their age bracket (eg, you could stick a 16/17 year old in the under 16's).

If you've never played before, you might want to investigate that option.

In terms of the senior league, a list of all the clubs is available here.

I'm not sure about the situation for, say, the North Shore Bombers, but I know that the uni clubs have plenty of inexperienced players in them, and are generally open to students and non-students alike. If you can't get a look in at one of the NS under 18 teams, maybe you could try Macquarie or Sydney Uni. Don't worry - the lower leagues aren't all full of massive units. Plenty of average (skinny, out of shapre, etc) guys getting a kick.

Thanks for the help guys, I've contacted the St Ives Saints, but a lot of the clubs seem to have a 16 year old cut off, and by the season next year I'd be 17, so I've asked about the age stuff and where I'd go if I am indeed too old, but thanks for pointing me in the right direction, much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Sorry ..wasn't sure you were serious!:o

LRT and Tadgh never played a game till they were 18!!!!!

Stick to my training programme;)... if you are keen even at 17 you will get a game somewhere:thumbsu:

Yeah I am, really keen. I've written up a table with that stuff in it and everything, and I'm going to start this Friday!! Need to put on a bit of muscle and massively improve fitness now, as I'm a pretty weedy bloke at the moment. :thumbsd:

Give Pennant Hills a go. Great Junior club and 2 teams in the 18s, a Premier Division Demons and a Challenge Cup Devils. 6 or more of the Devils this year hadn't played AFL before but still won a couple of games. My sons play in the 18s and 15s, who won their Grand Final last week. Great club in both Juniors and Seniors, and have produced heaps of senior AFL players (Jarrod/ Mark McVeigh, Ray Hall, Lenny Hayes etc) Go to their junior website
http://www.pennanthillsjafc.com.au/
or their seniors
http://www.pennanthillsafc.com.au/.
Go Penno!

Give Pennant Hills a go. Great Junior club and 2 teams in the 18s, a Premier Division Demons and a Challenge Cup Devils. 6 or more of the Devils this year hadn't played AFL before but still won a couple of games. My sons play in the 18s and 15s, who won their Grand Final last week. Great club in both Juniors and Seniors, and have produced heaps of senior AFL players (Jarrod/ Mark McVeigh, Ray Hall, Lenny Hayes etc) Go to their junior website
http://www.pennanthillsjafc.com.au/
or their seniors
http://www.pennanthillsafc.com.au/.
Go Penno!

it's a grand old flag eh!

I played for Penno in my jnr days, many moons ago...

I've contacted NS Bombers, I'll see how it goes. ;)

Haha:D

this will eventually get shunted to the sub board BUT

could be one of the most entertaining non Swans threads EVER!!!!!

You committed to start this Friday!!

I want da stats "Da machine"

starting

a Height
b Weight
c Vertical leap
d Kick length out of 10 average
e Kick spray metres average from centre
f. Max bench press weight 10 reps
g. How many pushups can you do
h How many chin ups
i How many sit ups
j. How fast can you run 4km ( get Mum to measure a road track!)

A monthly progress report will be required starting soon after preseason kick off tommorrow!!!

Find a mate (any mate) and cadge him in to playing too!!!! and meeting regularly for kicking practice

We will look forward to your first game and several of us will be there with bells on!!!!... just look for the wonky ol' bloke with the heavy esky:o

Good luck:thumbsu:

Btw first pep talk "I'll see how it goes" WTF is that shit????????:mad:

Don't think DO!:D

If you haven't been training, you'll be lucky to get to thirty seconds for push ups. And you may not even be able to do one chin up (if done properly with a wide, overhand grip). Don't worry if you can't, because that's where most people start off.

And a "rep" is a repetition. So ten reps means lifting the same weight 10 times without stopping. If you've never done it before and have no one to spot you, you should probably use a chest press machine rather than free bench, because you don't want your arms to suddenly give and end up with a bar on your face.

For PE to get into classes we had to do push ups for 30 seconds, but that was about all I could manage. :p

I can do a couple of chin ups, can't remember the number I did last time I tried though.

Ok thanks, I'll give it a go tomorrow and let you know the results. :thumbsu: