Pods V Fev

• Thread starter Thread starter Gooka

Benno From Berwick said:
Danny was a better player than Pods. I have seen him in a cople of games only. He is not what we should be looking for. The jump between the VFL anf the AFL is massive. He has had his opportunities. If he had anything that was attractive to an AFL club why didn't he get more chances prior to now. If he played at Sandy or Port we would not even be discussing him!!

havent seen the dude play, but playing devils advocate, are you giving this guy any credit for improving over the years? We only need to look as far as our own team to find guys that looked dodgy at best 2 years ago, yet now are established quality players. A bit more expereince, a bit of direction and an opportunity was all it needed.

We have had skipper, minson, bowden and street playing forward for us at times this year, and none of those guys have even impressed much at VFL level in that role, yet a guy who has done the job there isnt worth a look at?

I would like someone who has watched this guy play a fair bit, to give a frank assessment of Pod's strengths and weaknesses.

anyone?

I would like someone who has watched this guy play a fair bit, to give a frank assessment of Pod's strengths and weaknesses

Strengths:- Powerful off the mark and good on leads
- Beautiful, long, accurate left foot kick
- Strong as an ox. He won't lose too many one-on-one marking contests
- Has now played 6 years of good quality footy and has stepped up in 2005
- Tackles hard and tries really hard to keep the ball in the attacking zone

Weaknesses:
- Agility. Sometimes struggles a tad below his knees but he has worked on this area of his game considerably.
- Mark and kick player. He will lead up the ground and take solid marks, but won't be a agile tall forward player who will snap goals
- Crashing a pack to take a contested mark. He has to work harder here, but he has the ability, because I have seen him do it before.
- Won't take a flying speccy

I think we have seen that eade likes his forward line to be quick so it can pressure the opposition bringing the ball out. He refuses to play several lumbering dinosaurs in the same forward line.

sounds to me like pods has a bit of a burst on the lead, which is great, but will struggle to lay a finger on an elusive half back who is carrying the ball out of defence. granted, thats not a spearheads priority, but darce is fairly similar, not being fantastic below his knees and coming back from a knee injury he will have an even greater turning circle next year. if darce is rucking minson and street will be similarly agility challenged...

can we have those two in the same forward line? probably only if our CHF option is very quick and agile and works hard defensively. doesnt scream lance whitnall does it?

trizzles said:
Geez, the VFL is in trouble if this bloke is a hack. And, if you mean it as, 'he is a hack because he plays in the VFL,' well you have your opinion.
By the way, is Dale Morris still that VFL hack you talk about?

Dale Morris has taken his opportunity. Pod's had two chances at AFL and failed. Big differnece mate. Stop misusing the truth to make a point.

Hack maybe not the right word.....not up to it....might be a better way of putting it!

stefoid said:
We have had skipper, minson, bowden and street playing forward for us at times this year, and none of those guys have even impressed much at VFL level in that role, yet a guy who has done the job there isnt worth a look at?I

Minson is the only guy in the group likely to play 100 games.

As for PODs, I just don't rate him. He is far too limited to be considered.

He is a good VFL player. That doesn't mean he will make at AFL. Seriously doubt his ability to take the next big step!

Benno From Berwick said:
Danny was a better player than Pods. I have seen him in a cople of games only. He is not what we should be looking for. The jump between the VFL anf the AFL is massive. He has had his opportunities. If he had anything that was attractive to an AFL club why didn't he get more chances prior to now. If he played at Sandy or Port we would not even be discussing him!!

You raise some interesting points....

First of all, you clearly state that you have only seen Pods play in a couple of games, whats that....2,3 games? How on earth could you rate a player on 2 or 3 games? thats just silly.

The jump between AFL & VFL is massive, of course it is, but having said that, the Bulldog listed players playing at Werribee, and i include Bandy, Rawlings, Power, Skipper, etc, players young and old, yet from what i have seen this year, Pods clearly is a step above those AFL players i have mentioned, at AFL level, who knows ive never seen Pods play AFL, but at vfl level, absolutely.

How about the one about not taking his chances when he was on an AFL list, well for starters, he was only rookied by Collingwood & Essendon, 2 teams that have an abundance [spelling?] of KKP's especially forwards in Lloyd, Lucas, Rocca, Tarrant and so on, this is when Pods would have been in his teens - early 20's, besides that was then and this is now.

Libba was discarded once apon a time but he turned out ok, Morris, Boyd & Monty were taken from the VFL and they also turned out ok.

I'm not saying Pods is going to be a star at AFL level, but he definately deserves a chance to actually have a spot on an AFL list and not just rookied. Rodney Eade has also stated that had Pods been on our list this season, he definately would have played games in the Bulldog side this year, especially after Darcy went down, so is Rodney wrong?

Just my 2 cents worth! ;)

Benno From Berwick said:
Minson is the only guy in the group likely to play 100 games.

As for PODs, I just don't rate him. He is far too limited to be considered.

He is a good VFL player. That doesn't mean he will make at AFL. Seriously doubt his ability to take the next big step!

fair enuf.

what are your specific criticisms of him?

stefoid said:
fair enuf.

what are your specific criticisms of him?

The whole package falls short.

Not quick enough........
Not good enough below his knees.......
Not tall enough.....

Benno From Berwick said:
So he is better on 2 or 3 games you have seen?
Then why is the age running stories on him?

A lot of people down at werribee see them as the same sort of player who could come in and do a job, he has a great work rate and never gives in.

ou say he has had 2 chances, yes he has but as he said he did not work as hard as he could and if he gets a shot he will work his arse of, just like Dale Morris who was not a star in the vfl but is now a key to our side.

Pods is a great kick, a very good mark and kicks stright. He can play both ends which Danny could not, pods would also get a lot fitter being a full time footballer.

bogan4life said:

A lot of people down at werribee see them as the same sort of player who could come in and do a job, he has a great work rate and never gives in.

ou say he has had 2 chances, yes he has but as he said he did not work as hard as he could and if he gets a shot he will work his arse of, just like Dale Morris who was not a star in the vfl but is now a key to our side.

Pods is a great kick, a very good mark and kicks stright. He can play both ends which Danny could not, pods would also get a lot fitter being a full time footballer.

Danny kicked 70 goals in a season for the Bullies. If you are saying PODS can match that....I say sign him up.

IMO he will not cut it.....I base this on the games I have seen, the history of the lad, three other clubs have seen him and not pursued him.....

Can he be rookie listed with us or would he have to take a listed spot.

Where would Grant play if PODS was Full Forward?

Benno From Berwick said:

freeing up grant is a bonus, not a problem, and seeing as how grant is 30 something and pods is 23, even if you could call it a problem, its not a long term one.

so does anyone reckon Pods was shifted from FF to CHB for political reasons? was weribee that hard up for CHB options that they had to sacrifice their best FF option?

how many goals would he have kicked had he played the entire year at FF, and what would that have done for our chances of picking him up cheaply? also, that would have prevented a bulldogs player from being tried at FF in the bees.

Benno From Berwick said:
Danny kicked 70 goals in a season for the Bullies. If you are saying PODS can match that....I say sign him up.

IMO he will not cut it.....I base this on the games I have seen, the history of the lad, three other clubs have seen him and not pursued him.....

Can he be rookie listed with us or would he have to take a listed spot.

Pods would play CHF, CHB, BP, FP which ever tall spot you need, even FB.

can not be rookie listed but in a weak draft what is a 4th round pick.

Pods was moved to CHB because Walsh was not up to it down back, pods was a backman at first and if he had spent all of his time up forward he would have kicked 90 odd goals.

stefoid said:
freeing up grant is a bonus, not a problem, and seeing as how grant is 30 something and pods is 23, even if you could call it a problem, its not a long term one.

LOL.

Benno From Berwick said:
The whole package falls short.

Not quick enough........
Not good enough below his knees.......
Not tall enough.....

Agree with all your points.

However!

He has smarts, Takes a strong Mark and Kicks straight.

He is still ahead of Bandy & Rawlings as a forward prospect.

Benno From Berwick said:

I think you're wanting to pick up someone who's going to kick 70+ goals a year and be on every single newsaper in the country. That won't happen, with pods anyway. People are suggesting Pods for good reason. He's great one on one, he's a strong lead and a very good kick. He's ONLY 23 too - so what happened in the past in how he didn't make it really doesn't mean a lot. He's obviously worked a lot harder in the last year or two, and its showed.

In my opinion, we should trade Bowden for a third round draft pick and pick up Pods with that. No doubt about it; Pods is better than Bowden. Patrick struggles to even get a single kick in the VFL. Thing is, Pods would be a perfect 3rd Tall Forward. Darcy would take #1 Defender. If Grant plays in the forward line, he'd take the #2 Defender - or - whoever we recruit for CHF, they'll take the #2 defender. That would leaves Pods with the #3 - and I think at the very least he'd be serviceable.

Nobody is suggesting Pods be our "MAN" for the Forward Line. But he's definitely worth picking up and slotting into the forward line as a 3rd tall. Thing is, he CAN play back too. So I say, trade Bowden for a 3rd Rounder. :)

trizzles said:
I think that is a bit extreme. If you want to view it in this manner, I'd prefer to see Pods as the decent handicapper who gives his all and gets results at his level, while Fevola may be a Cox Plate runner, but he is one who runs greenly, plays up before races, is unreliable and simply a punters nightmare. That's what we would be doing if we took a punt on that big beast we call Fev - taking a punt. Can we afford to punt on him when we want him to be in our Group 1 brigade and a champion at the club? Or should we punt on the honest and handy type who tries all day and desperately wants to succeed? I know, I'd go for the latter, if he has any chance of being a serviceable member of the team.

As i said,a huge difference between a " decent handicapper ' and a Cox Plate runner.

Benno From Berwick said:

hey, I think the people who would rather be without pods are overlooking the number one attraction which is the potential for ammusing plays on words that he will bring to the club

stefoid said:
so does anyone reckon Pods was shifted from FF to CHB for political reasons? was weribee that hard up for CHB options that they had to sacrifice their best FF option?

how many goals would he have kicked had he played the entire year at FF, and what would that have done for our chances of picking him up cheaply? also, that would have prevented a bulldogs player from being tried at FF in the bees.
I was thinking that they might have moved him down back more often to show Eade his versatility.There is no way that Eade would draft as purely a FF.Any tall that plays in our side needs to be able to play more than one role and the fact that he did well down back would have massively improved his chnaces of being drafted.

Coondog 17 said:
Pods V Fev, please

That's like running a maiden from Warracknabeal against a cox Plate runner.

This poll is even stupider then the Cooney V Walker poll.
Agreed.

One has proven himself as a superstar at the most elite level,

The other is 23 and has not played one AFL game.

Oh please? If it came down to a selection between the two you would have to have your head fair and square up your own rectum to look over Fevola compared to a AFL wannabe.

bulldogtragic said:
Agreed.

One has proven himself as a superstar at the most elite level,

The other is 23 and has not played one AFL game.

Oh please? If it came down to a selection between the two you would have to have your head fair and square up your own rectum to look over Fevola compared to a AFL wannabe.

No doubt about that. But I think the meaning of this post is taking into account how much it'll cost to get Fevola to The Kennel as opposed to Pods. 3rd Rounder would definitely secure Pods .. And he'd be pretty handy as the 3rd Tall. Trade Bowden for a 3rd Round Draft Pick. That'd be our best bet, I think anyway. To get Fevola, we'd have to give up a lot. Draft picks AND a quality player, on top of paying him his huge contract.

I don't think anyone in their right mind would rather have Pods over Fevola. But considering what it'll cost to get them - Pods is probably the preferred option.

bogan4life said:

I'm with you Bogan - have seen Pods over the years at Werribee and he is up there. Far better with him giving it a crack than a Prima Donna!

The_Bulldogs_Bite said:
Nobody is suggesting Pods be our "MAN" for the Forward Line. But he's definitely worth picking up and slotting into the forward line as a 3rd tall. Thing is, he CAN play back too. So I say, trade Bowden for a 3rd Rounder. :)

But if you got Fev, he would be the man!!
Is this about who would help us win a flag or about what is the nicest thing to do cause the boy plays at Werribee?

Benno From Berwick said:
But if you got Fev, he would be the man!!
Is this about who would help us win a flag or about what is the nicest thing to do cause the boy plays at Werribee?

Indeed Fevola could lead us to a Premiership if he changed his attitude around, but he's gonna cost us a lot. We're talking 2 High Draft Picks + a Faulkner type. THEN his salary. Make no mistake about it, I'd love Fevola in our team. I believe he's got the potential to be the best FF in the business, but I don't think we should be giving up the world to get him.

Pods on the other hand can be picked up cheaply. He isn't gonna dominate the Forward Line, but he's one more big body that helps out. Remember, Darcy comes back. And for the last 6 weeks, we'd been kicking 20+ goals without him.

Fev at FF would be tremendous, but we don't exactly need that position filled because Darcy will more than likely be there. We need a CHF/CHB .. Polak fits the bill .. But by all means I DO think we should definitely target Fevola, because Full Forwards don't grow on trees, just not to the extent where we'd have to give up a hell of a lot.