Pods V Fev

It's all very, very simple.

If we could get Fevola to the dogs we would.

Cash, players, picks whatever, we would manage it. With a new coach, a new atmosphere (think of where Carlton is), a new team, playing for his club (yes he's a doggies supporter) - All this in Rocket's eyes would lead him to believe a new attitude would be had by Fevola - AS do I.

Fevola is an out & out gun player who could take us to a premiership as early as next year imo.

Pod's maybe wortha 4th round pick if nothing else happens. Pod's ain't gunna make an impact or take us to Grand Finals.

Talk about giving up picks or players and contract costs all you like.

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

I'd rather pay a bit more for a premiership. Dare to pick up a great player and go for a premiership for the 1st time in 52 years. - Rather than play safe and get a by-the-by player who wont do anything big at AFL level.

This is a such a redundant argument. I can't believe Pods is up by 3 atm. Fevola means goals and finals and potentially grand finals and premierships, Pods means depth of our talls and playing at the Bee's still.

For heaven's sake, think big, be brave go for the juggular and be aggressive in wanting this premiership we crave rather than playing safe and waiting back for things to happen. They don't, 52 years says so. So to reiterate, if Fevola can be got, i think we'll make a massive play for him. Rocket would do it in a heartbeat i think.

bulldogtragic said:
a new team, playing for his club (yes he's a doggies supporter) - All this in Rocket's eyes would lead him to believe a new attitude would be had by Fevola - AS do I.

Fevola is an out & out gun player who could take us to a premiership as early as next year imo.

Out and Out gun? 14th in the goalkicking this year. He's never done better than 66 in a season, and has only kicked more than 50 twice. Compare that with some stats of actual gun full forwards and you'll get a better idea where Fev sits in the scheme of things.

Where does this barracks for the dogs stuff come from? It has been mentioned and duly shot down by credible sources on this board previously.

Seven years is long enough to get your head around what it takes to be an AFL player. To think he'll all of a sudden be committed to the cause because of a change of clubs is extremely hopeful. He could come off in a big way if we got him, but the risk involved is massive, as would be the cost.

Anyone read the aticle on Pods in todays Hun ?

Well written by Rebecca Williams, interesting to see Pods said he isn't worried if he gets drafted or not and also the Bulldogs haven't contacted him yet at all.

Benno From Berwick said:
Pod's had two chances at AFL and failed.
Completely dismissing the long term potential of players based on their output at 17-18 is silly at the best of times, but doing it when they're clearly a long term project and barely have 15 games of footy at any level under their belt is just down right stupid.

He was picked up because two recruiting managers saw some AFL potential in him. Through a combination of being rookie listed (players on the main list are given more time and resources to show their wares), being at clubs with strength in their long term key forward stocks (Essendon with Lloyd/Lucas and Collingwood with Rocca/Tarrant), and probably not coming along as quickly as they had hoped (understandable given he was as raw as they came in footy terms), he was dropped. How being dropped from a rookie list somehow means that a player can never, ever possibly develop their game to a point where they're good enough to have another shot at AFL is beyond me.

His draft history means squat - is he good enough to play a role in an AFL finals side in 2006 and beyond? That's all that matters. Of all the arguments against picking him up (some quite valid, some less so), 'he was on a rookie list at 17/18 and failed' has got to be the dumbest.

My brother who works at the WRFL was talking to the Bees CEO who said that if the Dogs used 4 picks in the draft they would take Pods in the fourth round, if they had 3 they wouldn't

I've noticed there's a fine, mature aged player down at Werribee atm.
Has kicked 17 in 3 weeks (before today)....Bit of an unknown...Jade someone I think.
How about we grab him with a late draft pick...maybe rookie list him?

We could sure use a consistant goal kicker. :thumbsu:

Dry Rot said:
Re Fevola, is this the kind of player we want?

Fevola in new low at club function
By Caroline Wilson
September 13, 2005

CARLTON forward Brendan Fevola was heralded as the future face of his once-proud football club in June when the Blues put their misgivings aside and signed the erratic 24-year-old to a three-year deal worth close to $1.4 million.

At the time, it seemed a more than generous gesture. Risky, too, given Carlton's dreadful recent history with crippling long-term contracts but the club rightly said the deal — although not the ridiculous size of it — was forced because it otherwise would risk losing the talented forward for nothing at the end of the season.

But it was not so much the money that seemed scandalous, more the depths to which the club had plunged to clutch at a player like Fevola for stature in the football market place.

Never were those depths better underlined than at Carlton's best-and-fairest count five days ago.

It was a somewhat messy Fevola who wandered from his table to one alongside it, taking the seat of his club's communications director Ian Coutts shortly before Carlton legend John Nicholls presented Anthony Koutoufides with the best and fairest medal that bears Nicholls' name.

What followed was a stirring speech by the premiership captain directed at a group of footballers whom he asked to think not what the club could do for them but the reverse.

Loudly, and within earshot of most of his table — not to mention individuals nearby — Fevola made it clear what he thought of Nicholls and his fighting words.

The young forward, whose name is below that of Alex Jesaulenko on locker No. 25, used filthy language in demonstrating his lack of respect for Carlton's 328-game three-time flag winner, an official AFL legend and a ruckman in the team of the century.

When Nicholls, the one-time king of physical presence on the playing arena, referred to poor body language, Fevola, in what at least three people at the table deemed a sarcastic gesture, put his hand up and called "that's me".

Initial reports from a club desperately searching for a hero indicated Fevola had performed well on the night. It was said he went out of his way to make himself known to club sponsors and greet board members.

That this would be considered noteworthy for a player who will earn $400,000 next year for playing alone and take home a chunk of Carlton's marketing money is an indication of the Blues' low expectations of Fevola.

So much has been written of his on-field dummy spits and refusal to work for his teammates even when carrying an injury and, yes, this was not a football match. However, it was an official club function and while the odd tired and emotional display at the end of a season is no big deal, Fevola's verbal performance directed at Nicholls was inexcusable.

Blues chief executive Michael Malouf said last night he had been made aware of allegations regarding Fevola's words at the function. "There was some speculation about some comments made late the following night, which came to my attention," Malouf said. "But the report was second-hand and could not be substantiated. On the basis it was hearsay, we didn't follow it up at the time. If it is established that anything was said, yes, we would look at it. John Nicholls is a legend of the Carlton Football Club and well within his rights to speak the way he did.

"At this stage, Brendan's a contracted player. To trade him would require the agreement of Brendan and the approval of the board."

Coach Denis Pagan is in place for three years and Carlton continues to search for the right man — or men — to breathe new life and a strong influence into its football operation.

Pagan said of Fevola after a shocker late in the season: "We have had talks, Brendan and I, and we don't agree on the principles of football."

At the same time, Carlton is searching for a suitable trade for Fevola but history shows that, during trade week, a will does not always mean a way.

But while that search continues, decision-makers at Carlton should bear in mind that for all this club has lost in recent years, it should fight to preserve its self-respect — a self-respect that was not evident for several damaging minutes last Thursday at the third table from the stage in Telstra Dome's Victory Room.

This story was found at: http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/09/12/1126377257486.html

That is a disgrace. I am very glad when Carlton asked Melbourne would they like Fev we politely declined.

I think the dogs would be better off picking up Pods. Will barely cost the club anything compared to the hefty amount Fevola would require and that isn't what the Dogs need.

davey_magik said:
That is a disgrace. I am very glad when Carlton asked Melbourne would they like Fev we politely declined.

I think the dogs would be better off picking up Pods. Will barely cost the club anything compared to the hefty amount Fevola would require and that isn't what the Dogs need.

Thanks very much for your valued input!

Pod's is the new Nathan Saunders. If he gets drafted he will play a handful of games and contribute little to the premeirship chances of this club.

I would like to know the amount of time your have put into the study of our line up? This will allow me to evaluate your ability to make judgement about what we require or not!

Melbounre may not want Fev but he may have been handy in the first final for the Dee's.

I am sure with our delivery into the forward line he would be given plenty of opportunities.

Thanks for your interest in our Bulldog Board.

Benno From Berwick said:
i don't care what Meblourne fans think.

Pass the straw to Jeff White.

Footy Karma at its best!

Did you read the "Warning from the Moderators" here thread?

localyokel said:
2: We always welcome input from non Bulldog contributors.

There has been a noticeable increase with genuine contributors from other boards of late having their contributions attacked here. This is not acceptable and must cease immediately. We will not accept the fact that you might have traded insults with someone on another board as an acceptable reason for going on the attack here.

If someone from another board comes on just to stir or belittle the club and players then do not respond to it and report the offending post and it will be attended to promptly.

These rules will apply equally to visitors to our board as they will to bulldog/regular posters.

Davey_Magik was not trolling, and this response from one of us is inappropriate.

Dry Rot said:
Did you read the "Warning from the Moderators" here thread?

Davey_Magik was not trolling, and this response from one of us is inappropriate.

I beg your forgiveness.

Guido said:
Completely dismissing the long term potential of players based on their output at 17-18 is silly at the best of times, but doing it when they're clearly a long term project and barely have 15 games of footy at any level under their belt is just down right stupid.

He was picked up because two recruiting managers saw some AFL potential in him. Through a combination of being rookie listed (players on the main list are given more time and resources to show their wares), being at clubs with strength in their long term key forward stocks (Essendon with Lloyd/Lucas and Collingwood with Rocca/Tarrant), and probably not coming along as quickly as they had hoped (understandable given he was as raw as they came in footy terms), he was dropped. How being dropped from a rookie list somehow means that a player can never, ever possibly develop their game to a point where they're good enough to have another shot at AFL is beyond me.

His draft history means squat - is he good enough to play a role in an AFL finals side in 2006 and beyond? That's all that matters. Of all the arguments against picking him up (some quite valid, some less so), 'he was on a rookie list at 17/18 and failed' has got to be the dumbest.

My view is not just based on what he did as a rookie with either Collingwood or Essendon. It is based on a lot of other factor as well. There seems to be a lot of support based on the fact he plays for Werribee. If he played at Springvale or Willy would not be having this discussion!

Benno From Berwick said:
There seems to be a lot of support based on the fact he plays for Werribee. If he played at Springvale or Willy would not be having this discussion!
I couldn't care less where he was playing - that his performances this year have been with our VFL affiliate is merely coincidence.

I see him as the best established key forward outside of the AFL system - I'm not saying that we should definitely recruit him, but should we fail to lure someone like Fevola, rather than get desperate and overpay (both in draft and wage terms) for a middle of the road forward from another club, I reckon Podsiadly should be seen as a viable option.

IMO he'd be serviceable to solid at AFL level, and at the very least provide solid insurance cover should we have another horror run with injuries. Even if it's just a stop gap until next year's trading period when some more key forward options open up, all we've lost is a mid-to-late pick in what many say is a weak draft, and a base contract. Even if he turns out to be a dud, given that a base contract will be awarded to whoever we select at that pick anyway, the financial cost of picking him up is effectively zero.

The upside is that he could have even further improvement left him, get his body in tip top shape (and improve his agility a touch) with an AFL pre-season under his belt, and add another dimension to our forward line and kick 40 odd for the year. But as I said, a lot of it depends on the trade period. Personally, my money's on him getting picked up by Sydney.

ErnieSigley said:
Pods is better than Saunders. Who is the new Ben Hudson then, or Josh Mahoney or Aaron Davey?

Ben Hudson has hardly proven himself, plus he will now not play for 12 months. Josh is a very rare example. Davey is a good player....

So you have three examples to throw at me out of thousands of kids who don't get drafted.

drag this through again, but Watts is almost certainly coming home to Melbourne, with his personal preference no doubt being the sainters. however the sainters are way back on the PSD list, so they will have to come up with a trade.

Lets assume he is on the market and we are prepared to go harder for him than st kilda. that would almost certainly mean we couldnt also nab fevola.

do ya reckon

Pods (leading FF) + Watts (pack marking CHF) > Fev (leading FF)

I do.

stefoid said:
drag this through again, but Watts is almost certainly coming home to Melbourne, with his personal preference no doubt being the sainters. however the sainters are way back on the PSD list, so they will have to come up with a trade.

Lets assume he is on the market and we are prepared to go harder for him than st kilda. that would almost certainly mean we couldnt also nab fevola.

do ya reckon

I do.

Is Werribee after Watts and Fev......surely they could afford them......

stefoid said:

do ya reckon

I do.

I like it… for a couple of reasons. The $ factor as well as the vibe around the club and for the young fellas. I think having the younger, less ‘startstuck’ guys would be better for the place and I think the overall product is probably better for us. A good marking/goal kicking CHF is probably more needed at the moment than a FF (with Darcy able to pinch hit in that role and have some OK success). So I think the Pods/Watts combo could be cherry ripe.

Benno From Berwick said:
Ben Hudson has hardly proven himself, plus he will now not play for 12 months. Josh is a very rare example. Davey is a good player....

So you have three examples to throw at me
Sam Mitchell was recruited from the VFL. Now one of the league's elite onballers.

Firrito is doing well in a finals quality side.

Our very own Dale Morris wasn't exactly sticking out like a sore thumb at Werribee last year, but there's a role for him at AFL level.

That makes half a dozen mature aged players who've stepped up from VFL to be quite reasonable at the top level. I don't understand why it's so hard for people to believe that an outstanding player in the second best comp in the country can cut it at AFL level - is it so hard to believe the draft isn't always absolutely 100% efficient, and that players who have the capacity to make the grade at AFL occassionally do slip under the radar? Or will AFL potential always, without exception, begin and end in the under 18's?
Benno From Berwick said:
Ben Hudson has hardly proven himself,
Ben Hudson played a vital role in helping Adelaide to first, and was sorely missed in last week's finals loss to WC.
Benno From Berwick said:
plus he will now not play for 12 months.
You are the king of sophistry.

stefoid said:

I do.
Not arguing for one way or the other, but if we did end up recruiting both Watts and Podsiadly, I'd go with a mirror of Brisbane's set-up.

Darcy as our Lynch.

Podsiadly as our poor man's version of Bradshaw.

Watts as our beggar's version of Jon Brown.

Guido said:
You are the king of sophistry.

Sophistry implies I was trying to make people believe something that is not true? So I guess Hudson is a proven super star and isn't out for 12 months

I am not suggesting that is it not possible, just the POD's doesn't fit the bill mate. That is my view.

You can suggest and throw up who you like, I don't rate him!

That is just my view.

Benno From Berwick said:
Sophistry implies I was trying to make people believe something that is not true?
No, it suggests that the argument was factual but completely irrelevant.

The discussion was on the standard of current AFL players that have been recruited from the VFL - how Hudson being out injured for 12 months relates to that topic has me buggered. He busted a kneee - it has nothing to do with his ability, the quality of the other players that were listed, or anything or anyone for that matter.
Benno From Berwick said:
I am not suggesting that is it not possible, just the POD's doesn't fit the bill mate. That is my view.

You can suggest and throw up who you like, I don't rate him!

That is just my view.
Fair enough.

Guido said:
The discussion was on the standard of current AFL players that have been recruited from the VFL - how Hudson being out injured for 12 months relates to that topic has me buggered. He busted a kneee - it has nothing to do with his ability, the quality of the other players that were listed, or anything or anyone for that matter.

Fair enough.

the 12 months comment was an addition to the real comment that he had not proven himself! One swallow don't make a summer!!

Pods might have only kicked three goals last Sunday, but still like his chances at being drafted to the Billdogs or another club in a bid to reinvent himself at AFL level after attempts as a rookie listed player at Collingwood and Essendon.

An interesting general view, but could apply to Fev:

"As you search for the magic ingredient to this surprising Swans team, the man who put the pieces together, recruiting manager Rick Barham, provides the first clue: "You won't find a **************** on our list." That, Barham acknowledges, is due partly to the club's groundbreaking player welfare policy, something initiated not merely to keep players out of trouble but to keep them in Sydney.

But "no ****************s" is also recruiting policy. Many times, says Barham, potential recruits with superior skill have been overlooked in the draft because they have not had the right character.

"I won't name the names, but we've been laughed at sometimes for overlooking kids because they didn't have the qualities we wanted," Barham says. "A few years later, the same blokes are making headlines for the wrong sort of things. They're underperforming or getting traded. Sometimes they are even getting offered to us."

http://www.smh.com.au/news/afl/one-for-all-all-for-one/2005/09/22/1126982179230.html

Pods V Fev