Polak

I see it has turned into a Polak is a champion thread.

I thought pick 11 was pretty reasonable. I guess not to supporters on here.

Jack-Packenham said:
Bartel - Essendon

Pick 7 (Essendon) - Fremantle

Polak + Crowley - Geelong

It'll never happen. Not sure why Geelong would want Polak. Harley, Scarlett, Milburne are doing fine. I wouldn;t have thought Geelon would need defenders.

I reckon if Freo would target anyone from Geelong it would be Joel Corey -- who is ex-WA boy.

As for Bulldogs, Polak would be a nice fit but we would need more than Farren Ray. It would probably be their first round pick.

mojo31 said:
I see it has turned into a Polak is a champion thread.

I thought pick 11 was pretty reasonable. I guess not to supporters on here.
didn't Jolly go for pick 11 last year?

Polak >>>>> Jolly.

The problem with trading Polak is that it could be yet another sell low, buy high strategy. McPhee, Brown, TLo, Sinclair, Holland, Clement, Croad were all sold when they weren't playing well. Headland, Bell, Carr all bought at their peak. A few exceptions, we got Simmonds, Cook, M Carr, H Black, McPharlin and Farmer fairly cheaply.

But maybe this is the year that we need to sell off a good player to get a good pick/player in return. Hope it aint Polak though.

ThePope said:
didn't Jolly go for pick 11 last year?

Polak >>>>> Jolly.

The problem with trading Polak is that it could be yet another sell low, buy high strategy. McPhee, Brown, TLo, Sinclair, Holland, Clement, Croad were all sold when they weren't playing well. Headland, Bell, Carr all bought at their peak. A few exceptions, we got Simmonds, Cook, M Carr, H Black, McPharlin and Farmer fairly cheaply.

But maybe this is the year that we need to sell off a good player to get a good pick/player in return. Hope it aint Polak though.

15. That was considered over the odds at the time. Very good idea about selling high and buying low. For that reason I would sell Whitnall and keep Fevola after there respective seasons.
Same for Polak and Medhurst they have had poor seasons and there value would be under what they are probably worth.

The thing with Polak is not that he is not talented but is Fremantle and Chris Connolly going to get the best out of him. Since CC is signed up for another 3 year (?) then the club has to make a decision about that.

If Polak was on the market, I expect that WC would probably express an interest.

But not if the asking price was a trade for Daniel Kerr as has been discussed previously.

Polak hasn't done his marketability any favours this year.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
It'll never happen. Not sure why Geelong would want Polak. Harley, Scarlett, Milburne are doing fine. I wouldn;t have thought Geelon would need defenders.

I reckon if Freo would target anyone from Geelong it would be Joel Corey -- who is ex-WA boy.

As for Bulldogs, Polak would be a nice fit but we would need more than Farren Ray. It would probably be their first round pick.

Ray would be as worthy as Polak - a 4th pick only two years ago, and has shown to be as much value at 4 as Polak was - being a KPP or not. Wont happen though as Ray and Coonney are best buddies and that will an important factor in the doggies being able to resign cooney in the future

polak is worth somewher bet 6-14 IMO

astro_toby said:
Ray would be as worthy as Polak - a 4th pick only two years ago, and has shown to be as much value at 4 as Polak was - being a KPP or not. Wont happen though as Ray and Coonney are best buddies and that will an important factor in the doggies being able to resign cooney in the future

polak is worth somewher bet 6-14 IMO
I agree with all that. Ray might not be what we need as others have said but his value is equal to Polaks.

raffrox said:
I agree with all that. Ray might not be what we need as others have said but his value is equal to Polaks.

Show me the year that Ray came 2nd in the rising star and i'll show you two equal players. Show me the year Ray stepped into the bulldogs midfield and was more than serviceable in a position he wasn't ready to play, and i'll show you two equal players. Tell me both players were struck down with injuries in 2005 and weren't playing their best footy and i'll show you two equal players.

rgauci said:
Show me the year that Ray came 2nd in the rising star and i'll show you two equal players. Show me the year Ray stepped into the bulldogs midfield and was more than serviceable in a position he wasn't ready to play, and i'll show you two equal players. Tell me both players were struck down with injuries in 2005 and weren't playing their best footy and i'll show you two equal players.

Ray competes with Cooney, West, Johnson, Smith, Cross, Hanh, Murphy, Gians-etc, eagleton, & Gilbee for the same position - all of which are older more mature bodie's. add Griffen to that mix, who is exceptional for his age - and above standard - and its a miracle that he is getting as much game time as he does. Farren is still slight of body, but when he has the ball - is excellent. sure to get better, and IMO on par to show he is worth selection 4 in that draft. Polak is still more talk than glory, despite all your reasons + excuse's.

rgauci said:

Good call. How quick it is to forget.

Also the suggestion that we trade for Kerr because of Polaks off field behaviour is odd given Kerrs history.

CC came out at the end of year making 2 statements, 1 was of all the 22 players that played in the final game vs Port would remain with the club in 2006 (Polak was not in the team). The 2nd was in naming the best back 6 at Freo, again Polak wasn't among them. So either he thinks his future is up forward in 2006 or his intention is to get rid of him.

Polak put on a lazy 4-5kg in muscle when injured mid season when he was off injured (in 3-4 weeks if i recall). He lost his way through injury, lack of confidence and frustration, but I think given a good pre-season of piling on more muscle and weight will see him ready to go in 2006. Hopefully that's with the dockers.

BB gun said:
you will have to let me in on your secret, how did you do it.

Geez this is a bit off topic, and i sense a little sarcasm, but be my guest and go look up google or go see a dietitian as everyone has different body types, and a different metablism, yada yada.

It's well known that your metabolism slows down over the course of the day, it's at its highest in the morning and lowest later in the evening. So I find putting on weight is VERY easy when having lots of dairy etc an hour or so after dinner. Drinking cartons of custard, eating cereal etc all works well. Go buy a 1.9kg tin of milo, lol. I just have one of those bodies, similar to Polaks I guess.

One example site you can look at is http://www.musclegaintips.com/.

theGav56 said:
Farren Ray and a 2nd round (yes I know Ray was an early pick)
OR
pick 5-8 to get one of the East Freo KKPs
OR
Polak is a good choice for us to keep
Get your hand off it, ray and a pick?

Ray will come on more next year with a bigger build and loves the club, himself and Griffen are now the new johnson.smith love in.

Polak for pick 11 and brad murphy/bowden/birss/skipper.

BB gun said:
Considering Polak was a top 5 draft pick in a very strong draft and this years draft is supposed to be weak, i would be somewhat dissapointed in trading pick 11 for polak. Having said that pick is 11 is probably roughly what polak is worth. I guess it is a bit like selling a losing stock on the stock market, on one hand you want to cut your loses, on the other, the stock my rebound and make you rich.

hehehe

fat wombat said:
Geez this is a bit off topic, and i sense a little sarcasm, but be my guest and go look up google or go see a dietitian as everyone has different body types, and a different metablism, yada yada.

It's well known that your metabolism slows down over the course of the day, it's at its highest in the morning and lowest later in the evening. So I find putting on weight is VERY easy when having lots of dairy etc an hour or so after dinner. Drinking cartons of custard, eating cereal etc all works well. Go buy a 1.9kg tin of milo, lol. I just have one of those bodies, similar to Polaks I guess.

we both understand that part mate, i think you meant a lazy 4-5k FAT not 4-5k Muscle - hard to gain actual muscle when your not training, thats all we meant by it. and extra 5k of fat is useless. it needs to be gained into protein and muscle, not fatty fat fat. ;)

fat wombat said:

I to heard that Polak had put on 4-5 kgs, however i think it is a load of crap. Everything i have heard and read suggest that it is virtually impossible to put on more the two Kgs of muscle a week, that is with the help of substances such as creatine, which i think is illegal at AFL level.

I believe that the average bloke may be able to put on 4-5 Kg of muscle in a month, but a bloke that spends at least 5 hours in the gym every week and has been doing so for at least two years would struggle to make those sought of improvements.

rgauci said:
Sounds like someone should be yelling 'amen brother!' after each of your sentences.

Ray is very highly regarded. Player A who plays for your team will always be better simply because the player is from your team.

Polak has stagnated... badly in my opinion. My opinion is also that we should keep him. But right now he would be traded on hype and promise and not too much else.

astro_toby said:
we both understand that part mate, i think you meant a lazy 4-5k FAT not 4-5k Muscle - hard to gain actual muscle when your not training, thats all we meant by it. and extra 5k of fat is useless. it needs to be gained into protein and muscle, not fatty fat fat. ;)

Speaking of which, Carltons fanta pants was rumoured to have been in Freo in the past week having talks. I wonder if this has anything to do with Polak? A clean trade for a man struggling to gain weight with a man struggling to lose it.

The hot Perth sun could do wonders for a big guy trying to lose a few kilos?