76ers, Storm, Broad St.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24534025-19742,00.html

CARLTON'S past offenders have been threatened with humiliation if they return overweight or unfit to the first training session on Monday.
Blues were warned by coach Brett Ratten to keep in shape on their two-month holiday, with punishment awaiting those who fail.

The playing list has been split into groups of three, and if one player returns out of condition all three will be forced to train with VFL affiliate Northern Bullants.

Only when the player returns to the required fitness levels will the group be allowed back to Carlton training.

Carlton did not conduct fitness sessions during the break and has been let down in recent years by a number of individuals.

Carlton vice-captain Nick Stevens has admitted to returning to pre-season training overweight in 2006 and '08.

He had to undergo extra training last year as well as a rigorous boxing program in the Hall of Fame break.

"I thought last year we didn't come back in the greatest physical condition and I have told them and warned them, if that's our big stepping stone, that we need to get a really big start," Ratten said.

"They are grouped in threes, so if the players don't come back in the physical condition that is required, all of the three will train at a different venue at a different time."

Only the first-to-third year players will return on Monday, followed a week later by the fourth-to-seventh year players, with the rest back on November 10.

Ratten told CFC TV he would not make his judgment on his players' fitness until they all returned to the club.

Hmph.

The playing list has been split into groups of three, and if one player returns out of condition all three will be forced to train with VFL affiliate Northern Bullants.

A very bold move from Brett Ratten. Good and bad.

Good because it's an incentive to keep each player in shape - that they don't just have their own fate at their disposal for pre-season training.

Bad because the development and honing of skills of other players (potentially high-up players) could be stunted if it's more than a one week thing.

A very bold move from Brett Ratten. Good and bad.

Good because it's an incentive to keep each player in shape - that they don't just have their own fate at their disposal for pre-season training.

Bad because the development and honing of skills of other players (potentially high-up players) could be stunted if it's more than a one week thing.

I like the move. The good far outweighs the bad, IMO. It's easy to slack off when your the only one at risk, not so when your actions might adversely affect others.

You'd hope the repeat offenders (i.e. Stevens) were placed in a group with two fitness conscious players.

Could also be beneficial to our young mids to be placed alongside Chris Judd, and see what kind of work ethic is required to get to where he is (not that work ethic alone is enough).

We're not holding them to the Madonna diet though, hopefully.
I don't think there's any special requirements over the break, just regular exercise and good food - same as the AFL season.

Great idea by Ratts. Every year we've been ridiculed in the media for off-season fatties!

Do you reckon Stevo's been partnered with Juddy? :D

Great idea by Ratts. Every year we've been ridiculed in the media for off-season fatties!

Do you reckon Stevo's been partnered with Juddy? :D
If so, that'd be just about a sheer act of perfection.

You put your problem players in with senior players with a decent fitness regime.

I'd have Betts in with Juddy to start off with.

Stevo should be in with Carrazzo and Bannister. Nobody is more senior than Stevo except Juddy but Carrazzo is at least in the leadership group and if they are forced to go off and train elsewhere, those two will have enough voice to drive Stevo.

I like the move. Sick of starting preseason training on a bad note.

Stevens, Cloke and Fev should be grouped together..........oh wait, but then we might not see any of them at PP until January.........hmmm......challenging.:D

Momma Cass......yum ! gotta love the larger woman.

Thy,

Karen or Cass...your call?

Amazing ain't it. If Cass had of given her sandwich to Karen two ladies might still be alive today.

As for Ratten and the fat f___ers. Well, I reckon it shows a great bit of leadership and great leadership is always a prerequisite for premiership footy.:thumbsu:

At the end of the day we only have a few offenders;
Stevens
Betts
Fev
Cloke

Really can't think of many others that are of the big mac side of things.

I would partner them like this....Juddy's fantastic 4 and make all four be i a special group with Judd...watch how good shape they return.

Hopefully our boys stick better to the pre-pre-season fitness regime given to them then me and a few friends from my club do... cheeseburger and beer drinking competitions just arent great for the body fat index

Momma Cass......yum ! gotta love the larger woman.

Thy,

Karen or Cass...your call?

Depends what your requirements are, Cassius. Both great voices. If you were falling from a building Mama would be the girl you'd wanna land on. If you wanted a good night's sleep sharing a camp stretcher, KC every time. :thumbsu:

Carlton players to be punished if they return porky

• CARLTON'S past offenders have been threatened with humiliation if they return overweight or unfit to the first training session on Monday.
The Blues were warned by coach Brett Ratten to keep in shape on their two-month holiday, with punishment awaiting those who fail.
Only when the player returns to the required fitness levels will the group be allowed back to Carlton training.
Carlton did not conduct fitness sessions during the break and has been let down in recent years by a number of individuals.
Carlton vice-captain Nick Stevens has admitted to returning to pre-season training overweight in 2006 and '08.
He had to undergo extra training last year as well as a rigorous boxing program in the Hall of Fame break.
"I thought last year we didn't come back in the greatest physical condition and I have told them and warned them, if that's our big stepping stone, that we need to get a really big start," Ratten said.
"They are grouped in threes, so if the players don't come back in the physical condition that is required, all of the three will train at a different venue at a different time."
Only the first-to-third year players will return on Monday, followed a week later by the fourth-to-seventh year players, with the rest back on November 10.
Ratten told CFC TV he would not make his judgment on his players' fitness until they all returned to the club.

stevo
no happy meals for you mate