Port Adelaide
Woomera Centrals, Jazza
Cue Jaws music...

Clubs cut football departments as doubt grows over coaches’ future
Chris Cavanagh, Herald Sun
May 14, 2020 8:42pm

Clubs were tonight finalising their new-look football departments, with a host of coaches and staff told they were no longer required as brutal AFL-imposed cost cuts came to a head.

The hard conversations with club staff this week came after the AFL mandated on Tuesday that only 25 football department staff would be allowed to attend games when the season resumes.

Cuts of up to 40 per cent in football departments could remain next year, placing the futures of up to 60 coaches in doubt.

AFL Coaches’ Association chief executive Mark Brayshaw said while the cuts had been expected for some time, it had been a dark week for football’s coaching fraternity.

“The clubs have responded to the advice from the league about the headcount restrictions in footy departments when we reconvene and sadly that has meant several coaches and other people in footy departments have been let go,” Brayshaw told the Herald Sun.

“It’s sobering. People have been thinking this day would come for months but here it is, so it’s been a tough week.”

Dustin Martin’s utensil and balls the real winner tonight. Silver service all game.

Crows picked the worst possible year to bottom out.

Draft is shot to pieces with NGAs and FS picks, and there's minimal exposed form since the underage comps are all scaled back due to COVID.

Crows picked the worst possible year to bottom out.

Draft is shot to pieces with NGAs and FS picks, and there's minimal exposed form since the underage comps are all scaled back due to COVID.

I am just waiting for Luke Edwards to give them the finger and refuse to go there under father and son 😂😂

Tassie government sticking it to the AFL and not allowing in teams from QLD.

Payback for ignoring Tasmanian footy and a Tassie team?

If the GWS ball club had any soul at all they were always going to win that game.

Richmond are undermanned and a little dispirited but if we underestimate them for even a second they'll cream us like their VFL team did last year.

Richmond small forwards are a real quantity over quality arrangement. With Riewoldt and Lynch well held, they had mo one else step up.

With Cameron well held at the other end, Green kicks 5.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I havent read the article, but I understand that they targeted him last year and he signed with us any rate. Ladhams is the natural replacement for Westhoff. Why would he want to leave outside a ludicrous monetary offer?

Does Ladhams really look like a replacement for Westhoff? I haven't seen any sort of pace and agility and he hasn't really shown to be a good mark as yet. Maybe I just haven't seen that in him yet?

Don't reckon you've watched him enough. He's quite quick and agile for a big man. Remains to be seen if he is a replacement for Westhoff.

Though i'm not actually certain we need to 'replace' westhoff's role. Less swingmen, more specialists.

Don't reckon you've watched him enough. He's quite quick and agile for a big man. Remains to be seen if he is a replacement for Westhoff.

Though i'm not actually certain we need to 'replace' westhoff's role. Less swingmen, more specialists.
I think he's got a very small turning circle and is agile, so he is effective in congested areas. But I think he runs about as fast as Todd Goldstein or any other lumbering tall, let alone have the tank to run all day.

Ladhams moves very well for his size but he isn't Westhoff-esque athletically at all.

Not sure it matters TBH. Doesn't natter how athletic Hoff is if he's not getting anywhere near the footy. Ladhams can absolutely contribute more as second ruck than Hoff has done the last month or so.