Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 30

Flat track bullies?

Stk 71pts, Port 90pts, Ess 91pts, StK 72pts, Rich 79pts

Top 9 results -> Coll -6, Freo -16, Bris -21, GWS+32, GC -10, Gee -14, Haw -22 --> Bold = Darcy injured

My comment wasn't that we will definitely win, its more we can't (shouldn't) lose to a club that bad, and if we do, there should be consequences, but we know there won't be.

After I posted I sort of realised that....but was too lazy to delete or edit my comment.
Will be interesting this week I reckon the Blues will react to the all the comments so we have our excuses already lined up:
  • opposition fired up after criticism
  • 5 day break
  • injuries
  • it's a tough comp and somebody has to lose

"Level playing field"

Excited Happy Birthday GIF

"Level playing field"

Excited Happy Birthday GIF

The gift that keeps giving for the Hawks.

They had to raise over $70m to develop the Kennedy Community Centre at Dingley, after getting about $30+m of grants from the 3 levels of government, and say they will not tuck into the $40 odd million they netted from selling their pokies and venues at Caroline Springs and Mulgrave in 2022 and leave that as an investment pool. which gives them about $2m return in interest and dividends each year.

They will use about $30-35m of their $70m cash holding they had in 2022 as well as cash from future profits after 2022.

"The sale was completed on Tuesday for an undisclosed sum, which had been forecast as eight figures but well below the $20 million mooted."

Whether its $12m or $15m, its a great return for the Hawks, who got a multi-million dollar pay out from the AFL for their 20 year lease of Waverley Park in 2000/2001 and got the Sir Kenneth Luke Grandstand area and right to use the oval for $1, to build their club rooms, footy facilities, a fitness centre they leased out and a couple of other businesses leased part of the refurbished stand.

The deal chairman Ian Dicker did for Waverley in 2000/01 plus using his cheque book is why the Hawks were able to recover from a near merger in 1996 and become very stable financially and started to thrive.

Then when Kennet took over and did the huge windfall deal with Tassie in late 2007, which gets re-signed every 5 years for an increased amount, the cash rolled in, and then the cheap pokies they were able to buy in 2010 when the Vic government broke up the pokie duopoly in Victoria it was a rivers of gold type situation for the Hawks. Then throw in all those finals and flags in the '10's and they became the #2 Vic club financial powerhouse behind the Pies. Still a long way behind WCE.

Carn the West Adelaide Panthers

Yeah, because they are right next to each other like WWT.

If one needs to go, it goes, but a merger loses 2 teams.

Interesting podcast on the Troy Pannell situation from one of the better connected Crime journos in the country.

Major red flag being his appointment to the AFL umpires panel was against the advice of those who had anything to do with him as a developing junior umpire in Melbourne's western suburbs...

The Crows trying to reconnect with McLeod again seems like it is a PR push to try and minimise the Tex fall out and convince NWM.

It seems like AM thinks the same and this will probably have the opposite effect.
Also this bit of "news";

1750900887435.png

"I can't speak exactly for this situation (with Wanganeen-Milera), but situations in the past I know for a fact that a couple of players have come to (Adelaide) and expressed what other clubs have said to them around (the Crows), and the displeasure towards the club," Sloane told Nine's Footy Classified.

Yea it would have nothing to do with camps, racism & training on a building site that has put players off going there. PROT POWER SPREADING LIES!!

Episode 7 Rat Bastard GIF by Friends

Maybe Rory should ask why the players believed the claims. The comments to the tweet are priceless.

"... Players have rejected a move to South Australia ..."

So are there players that have rejected a move to Port Adelaide due to bad things said about the Camry Crows?

"... Players have rejected a move to South Australia ..."

So are there players that have rejected a move to Port Adelaide due to bad things said about the Camry Crows?

Steve Steve Steve you should understand crowspeak by now. South Australia is the crows. The team for all and all that. We are Mordor.

Maybe Rory should ask why the players believed the claims. The comments to the tweet are priceless.

Well he mentioned "other clubs" (plural).
So it must be several clubs doing it, not just one in particular.

If he's trying to target Port by inference, our self congratulatory pat-on-the-back head honchos better get on the media quick smart and infer themselves that legal action could be forthcoming if facts aren't made known to the club..