Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 30

The easiest way to make the game slightly better is to bring back the glove.

People want big forwards clunking marks and kicking snags. Give them an advantage in doing that.

Let players wear NFL wide-receiver level grippy gloves, like Tredders and Travis Cloke among others used to wear.

About time ti be honest. He holds and blocks every game. Grub of a player.

They all do. It's the scraggiest defence that ever scragged. And they continually get away with it.

Can't believe I'm agreeing with Eddie.

Just on part 2(c) How I understood it is that there would still be 2 x Showdowns/Qclashes/Coll-Carl etc. per year? If so, would this way of doing the fixture get messed up by odd numbers of teams? How would Tassie get their extra game in without messing things up?
No to get to 214 games you need 21 rounds before the 2 qualifying rounds. The only way the numbers work is if you have 2 rivalry rounds not 1. Initially I though similiar to you but then I did the maths.

Remember collingwood have more than just 1 big rival.and therefore so do other big Vic teams. He knows the AFL wont give up that many big games.

Sydney’s Riak Andrew has been suspended five matches after he was found guilty of conduct unbecoming for directing a “highly offensive” homophobic slur at an opponent during a VFL match on July 19.

I somewhat agree and think they might get shown up but that's just purely hope at this point, they've got it all to win it , nobody is a huge standout. They never are.
The vast majority of this forum will be bed wetting some September if they win their first final, don't pretend you won't be.
And you will be celebrating running around the lounge room in you Crom undies.

Steven May’s charge has been upheld. He will miss the next three matches.

Some ripper games coming up this week
1753265317095.png
1753265336806.png
1753265362440.png
1753265379538.png
1753265395156.png
1753265412679.png
Well the other 3 should be close:
  • the 2 sydney teams - interest in victoria - nil
  • the 2 queensland teams - interest in victoria - nil
  • saints and melbourne - lol who cares

Add in 4 inches of rain and strong winds and this should be a round to remember.

McGuire on Footy Classified came up with a lot better alternative to improving the fixture than the stupid suggestion last week to have in season tournament to get some excitement back.

Basically he says to have almost the same number of games as currently have split home an away season into 3 parts.

1) 17 rounds so everyone plays each other once and its flipped the next year so home teams have to play away in year 2. Its better than current situation of playing some teams 4 years in a row either all home games or all away games like at Kardinia Park.

2) What he calls 4 exotic rounds;
a) Blockbuster in Round 1, 10 Vic teams play in Victoria and a nod to state of origin SA teams play WA teams and NSW teams play Qld teams ( scrap Round 0 / Opening Rd and have a big focus on Northern Markets with a round mid season)
b) Gather Round
c) 2 x Rivalry rounds to keep showdowns, derbies etc. The reason he says 2 and not 1 is to get enough games. So Port would play the crows in 1 rivalry round and then over the years rotate who the rival is for the 2nd rivalry game.

3) 2 x Qualifying Rounds before the finals.

Then you have the normal 9 game finals series.

In his graphics he assumed the the top rated team wins, but in week 2 of the qualifying rounds he forgets to include teams 13th and 14th who would play each other but not affect qualifying rounds. When you add that 13th v 14th game you get 214 games a season vs the current 216 games a season.

Its a lot better than what was suggested last week, and I like the fact that it guarantees over every 2 year cycle you play a home and away game against every other team as opposed the the current crap where one team might not play another team away from home for 5 or more years.

As I said above he left 13 v 14 playing in week 2 of qualifying round but they are out of running to make finals. Ill put just the first 2 graphics up so you get an idea before watching the 5 minute video.

View attachment 2374819

View attachment 2374822

Still trying to work out why Eddie gives the team who finished 4th a lower ranked opponent than the team that finished third...
Yeah I questioned some of the finals rankings set ups, but that can easily be tweaked.

Also he needs to explain what happens if the highest ranked teams lose in the 2 finals qualifying rounds and how that affects the ladder / rankings for the finals part of the season ie the last 9 games.

Before it would be implemented there would have to be some serious scenario planning sessions.

Ken McIntyre was Percy Page's assistant in 1930, when the Page final 4 system 1v4, 2v3 SFs then a PF, to remove the Challenge Final, but still give the minor premiers a double chance was devised and then implemented Australia wide in 1931.

McIntyre designed the final 5 in 1970, the final 6 in 1991 and final 8 in 1994 ie 1v8, 2v7, 3v6 and 4v5 before it was abandoned at end of 1999 season, because people couldn't easily understand it if the top 4 sides didn't win in week 1.

You would need to find a new Ken McIntyre to give McGuire's proposal some robust testing before it was approved for implementation, but its a decent start.

Its a better system than last week's proposed NBA style tournament within a season BS. As I have said above, I really like the fact that he proposes that there is a 17 game part of the season and each team play each other and the next season if team A plays B at home, then A plays B away. That helps make the FIXture less dodgy than we have now.

But that can only be implemented if enough block buster games happen via his proposal to keep broadcasters and stadium owners/managers happy. Under the current system its harder to implement that 17 games in year one and reverse venues in year 2.

Acemanjam the other reason to have 2 rivalry rounds is that when Tassie comes in, the 17 rounds become 18 where everyone plays each other once and rather than 2 rivalry rounds you only have 1, and you still have the non Vic derbies.

Eddie will come up with another idea next week to prove he is relevant and useful :rolleyes:

Poor bastard must be struggling to work out how to spend all his money.
At least he tries to come up with solutions rather than a slothful AFL who do nothing much, except for find new ways to fine players, coaches, clubs etc, and just kick the can down the road if an issue is too tough.

McGuire on Footy Classified came up with a lot better alternative to improving the fixture than the stupid suggestion last week to have in season tournament to get some excitement back.

Basically he says to have almost the same number of games as currently have split home an away season into 3 parts.

1) 17 rounds so everyone plays each other once and its flipped the next year so home teams have to play away in year 2. Its better than current situation of playing some teams 4 years in a row either all home games or all away games like at Kardinia Park.

2) What he calls 4 exotic rounds;
a) Blockbuster in Round 1, 10 Vic teams play in Victoria and a nod to state of origin SA teams play WA teams and NSW teams play Qld teams ( scrap Round 0 / Opening Rd and have a big focus on Northern Markets with a round mid season)
b) Gather Round
c) 2 x Rivalry rounds to keep showdowns, derbies etc. The reason he says 2 and not 1 is to get enough games. So Port would play the crows in 1 rivalry round and then over the years rotate who the rival is for the 2nd rivalry game.

3) 2 x Qualifying Rounds before the finals.

Then you have the normal 9 game finals series.

In his graphics he assumed the the top rated team wins, but in week 2 of the qualifying rounds he forgets to include teams 13th and 14th who would play each other but not affect qualifying rounds. When you add that 13th v 14th game you get 214 games a season vs the current 216 games a season.

Its a lot better than what was suggested last week, and I like the fact that it guarantees over every 2 year cycle you play a home and away game against every other team as opposed the the current crap where one team might not play another team away from home for 5 or more years.

As I said above he left 13 v 14 playing in week 2 of qualifying round but they are out of running to make finals. Ill put just the first 2 graphics up so you get an idea before watching the 5 minute video.

View attachment 2374819

View attachment 2374822

Its a really interesting idea to me and probably better than the system we've got.

Was he saying 17 games + 4 exotics = 21 H&A? Or 17 H&A that includes the 4 exotics? I heard it more as the former but your description is more the latter.

My big issue though is, and correct me if I'm wrong here as I'm not entirely sure I've got the details down, but assuming its a 17 game season:
Team A - W/L 16-1 in the regular season, ranked 1st
Team B - W/L 3-14 in the regular season, ranked 16th

Lets say week one of the preliminary finals the 1st and 9th ranked teams have a really off-week, they have a flu through the group or something like that. After one week of results, you could have 16th and 1st in essentially the same position? That just seems like way too big a jump off one week.

For comparison, the NBA's play-in tournament works so well because it doesn't impact the highest ranked teams. They've already proven they deserve to be there. So in an AFL environment it could be something like the top 4 are there, but 5-16 are battling it out. That doesn't work though because then what do the top 4 sides do for a couple of weeks? I'll admit I don't have a solution.

Feels like the core idea is good, but it needs some tweaks to work.

At least he tries to come up with solutions rather than a slothful AFL who do nothing much, except for find new ways to fine players, coaches, clubs etc, and just kick the can down the road if an issue is too tough.
Sounds like Government

Its a really interesting idea to me and probably better than the system we've got.

Was he saying 17 games + 4 exotics = 21 H&A? Or 17 H&A that includes the 4 exotics? I heard it more as the former but your description is more the latter.
I think you need to read my post again, I make it clear that he splits the season into 3 parts;
17 home and away games that are reversed the next season, and what he calls 4 exotic rounds, and 2 qualifying rounds to see who makes the finals.

Its basically a 23 round season + finals , only in week 2 of the qualifying rounds, 4 teams get a bye and that's why there is 214 games in his concept vs 216 currently.

I think you need to read my post again, I make it clear that he splits the season into 3 parts;
17 home and away games that are reversed the next season, and what he calls 4 exotic rounds, and 2 qualifying rounds to see who makes the finals.

Its basically a 23 round season + finals , only in week 2 of the qualifying rounds, 4 teams get a bye and that's why there is 214 games in his concept vs 216 currently.
Got it - we interpret what he said the same then.

I'm still not sure about doing the exotics as it still compromises the fixture, albeit less so. Any situation where a club is ranked based on playing different clubs to another is inherently "rigged". It does improve it though.

How does Adelaide defense go from a rabble to the best defense statistically since Geelong and Sydney in the past decade according to Hoyne. Anyone here writing them off is an idiot

To say Adelaide’s defense has been a rabble is an a bit over the top.
Last year Adelaide finished 15th but conceded less than Geelong who finished third.
I understand you’re trying to scare people into thinking how much Adelaide have improved and are a shoe in for the flag.

Got it - we interpret what he said the same then.

I'm still not sure about doing the exotics as it still compromises the fixture, albeit less so. Any situation where a club is ranked based on playing different clubs to another is inherently "rigged". It does improve it though.
He said he wasn't going to get rid of all the issues with the fixture because the demands of broadcasters and stadium deals prevent a lot less games being played, so locking in the 17 games against all other sides in year 1 and then in year 2 playing them at the reverse venue, is a bloody good improvement on the current situation, where team A plays team B only once a year, but for 4 or 5 straight years at the same venue eg a non Vic team at Kardinia Park, or a non SA team plays Port 4 or 5 years in a row only at AO.

To me that is the best part of his proposal and second best is keeping Rd 22 and Rd 23 alive for nearly all the teams.

He said he wasn't going to get rid of all the issues with the fixture because the demands of broadcasters and stadium deals prevent a lot less games being played, so locking in the 17 games against all other sides in year 1 and then in year 2 playing them at the reverse venue, is a bloody good improvement on the current situation, where team A plays team B only once a year, but for 4 or 5 straight years at the same venue eg a non Vic team at Kardinia Park, or a non SA team plays Port 4 or 5 years in a row only at AO.

To me that is the best part of his proposal and second best is keeping Rd 22 and Rd 23 alive for nearly all the teams.
Yep agree. Its not perfect, but its an improvement on what we have.

To say Adelaide’s defense has been a rabble is an a bit over the top.
Last year Adelaide finished 15th but conceded less than Geelong who finished third.
I understand you’re trying to scare people into thinking how much Adelaide have improved and are a shoe in for the flag.
He talks so much shit and for so long. It is beyond belief. Surely he could be permanently banned on stupidity alone.

Why not go to 20 teams and have 2 @10 team divisions?
The 10 teams in each division play each other twice = 18 games.

The top 8 teams in each division play a finals series like now.

The grand finalists in division 2 get swapped with the last two teams in division 1 each year.

• 18 x 10 = 180 games plus finals
  • gather round can just be one of those 18 rounds
  • if rivals are in different divisions then bad luck, they don't play each other twice, but it is a much cleaner option and not simply $ driven

- but boo hoo
{ Anzac Day Collingwood vs Essendon isn't guaranteed anymore }
{ Queens birthday game not guaranteed anymore }

• Division 1 Grand Final played at the MCG
  • Division 2 Grand Final played at the home ground of the team finishing higher

- Teams play at each others grounds every year, unlike Eddie's idea or the current situation.

Perhaps this has been suggested already, but it doesn't line Collingwood's pockets and artificially boost their attendances like the current situation.

Under Eddie's idea, why not gear your season towards finishing low and getting good draft picks, but having your team in form from July onwards, why push hard all season, just win 5 or 6 games at the end.